IAC Ch 30, p.1

641—30.2 (105) Continuing education requirements.

30.2(1) The biennial continuing education compliance period shall begin on the license issue date and end two years later on the license expiration date.

30.2(2) Each biennium:

- a. A master or journey licensee shall be required to complete a minimum of 8 hours of board-approved continuing education, of which 4 hours shall be in the prescribed practice discipline. A minimum of 2 hours of the 8 hours shall be in the content area of the applicable Iowa plumbing or mechanical codes, and 2 hours of the 8 hours shall be in the content area of the Iowa Occupational Safety and Health Act.
- b. A master or journey licensee holding licenses in multiple disciplines shall obtain a minimum of 14 hours of board-approved continuing education, of which 8 hours shall be in any of the prescribed practice disciplines. A minimum of 2 hours of the 14 hours shall be in each of the content areas of the applicable Iowa plumbing code, Iowa mechanical code, or both, and 4 hours of the 14 hours shall be in the content area of the Iowa Occupational Safety and Health Act.
- **30.2(3)** Up to 2 hours of board-approved continuing education required by subrule 30.2(2) each biennium may be obtained through completion of computer-based continuing education programs/activities approved by the board.
 - **30.2(4)** It is the responsibility of each licensee to finance the cost of continuing education.
- **30.2(5)** A licensee who is a presenter of a board-approved continuing education program may receive credit once per biennium for the presentation of the program. The licensee may receive the same number of hours granted the attendees.

[ARC 8270B, IAB 11/4/09, effective 10/16/09]