IAC Ch 500, p.1

701—500.4(422) Cancellation of authority to do business. If a corporation required by Iowa Code section 422.40 to file any report or return (including returns of information at source) or to pay any tax or fee, fails to do so within 90 days after the time prescribed for making such returns or payment, the director may certify such fact to the secretary of state, who shall thereupon cancel the articles of incorporation or certificate of authority (as the case may be) of such corporation, and the rights to such corporation to carry on business in the state of Iowa as a corporation shall thereupon cease. The statute provides for a penalty of not less than \$100 nor more than \$1,000 for any person or persons who continue to exercise or attempt to exercise any powers, privileges, or franchises granted under articles of incorporation or certificate of authority after cancellation of the same.

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code section 422.40. [Editorial change: IAC Supplement 11/2/22]