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701—302.21(422) Additional deduction for wages paid or accrued for work done in Iowa by certain
individuals. For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 1984, but before January 1, 1989, a taxpayer
who operates a business which is considered to be a small business as defined in subrule 40.21(2) is
allowed an additional deduction for 50 percent of the first 12 months of wages paid or accrued during
the tax years for work done in Iowa by employees first hired on or after January 1, 1984, or after July
1, 1984, where the taxpayer first qualifies as a small business under the expanded definition of a small
business effective July 1, 1984, and meets one of the following criteria.

A handicapped individual domiciled in this state at the time of hiring.
An individual domiciled in this state at the time of hiring who meets any of the following conditions:
1. Has been convicted of a felony in this or any other state or the District of Columbia.
2. Is on parole pursuant to Iowa Code chapter 906.
3. Is on probation pursuant to Iowa Code chapter 907 for an offense other than a simple

misdemeanor.
4. Is in a work release program pursuant to Iowa Code chapter 247A.
An individual, whether or not domiciled in this state at the time of the hiring, who is on parole or

probation and to whom the interstate probation and parole compact under Iowa Code section 913.40
applies.

For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 1989, the additional deduction for wages paid or
accrued for work done in Iowa by certain individuals is 65 percent of the wages paid for the first 12
months of employment of the individuals, not to exceed $20,000 per individual. Individuals must meet
the same criteria to qualify their employers for this deduction for tax years beginning on or after January
1, 1989, as for tax years beginning before January 1, 1989.

For tax years ending after July 1, 1990, a taxpayer who operates a business which does not qualify
as a small business specified in subrule 40.21(2) may claim an additional deduction for wages paid or
accrued for work done in Iowa by certain convicted felons provided the felons are described in the four
numbered paragraphs above and the following unnumbered paragraph and provided the felons are first
hired on or after July 1, 1990. The additional deduction is 65 percent not to exceed $20,000 for the first
12 months of wages paid for work done in Iowa.

The qualifications mentioned in subrules 40.21(1), 40.21(4), 40.21(5) and 40.21(6) and in subrule
40.21(3), paragraphs “f” and “g,” apply to the additional deduction for work done in Iowa by a convicted
felon in situations where the taxpayer is not a small business as well as in situations where the taxpayer
is a small business.

The additional deduction applies to any individual hired on or after July 1, 2001, whether or not
domiciled in Iowa at the time of hiring, who is on parole or probation and to whom either the interstate
probation and parole compact under Iowa Code section 907A.1 or the compact for adult offenders under
Iowa Code chapter 907B applies. The amount of additional deduction for hiring this individual is equal
to 65 percent of the wages paid, but the additional deduction is not to exceed $20,000 for the first 12
months of wages paid for work done in Iowa.

302.21(1) The additional deduction shall not be allowed for wages paid to an individual who was
hired to replace an individual whose employment was terminated within the 12-month period preceding
the date of first employment. However, if the individual being replaced left employment voluntarily
without good cause attributable to the employer or if the individual was discharged for misconduct
in connection with the individual’s employment as determined by the department of workforce
development, the additional deduction shall be allowed.

The determination of whether an individual left employment voluntarily without good cause
attributable to the employer or if the individual was discharged for misconduct is a factual determination
which must be made on a case-by-case basis.

302.21(2) The term “small business” means a business entity organized for profit including but not
limited to an individual proprietorship, partnership, joint venture, association or cooperative. It includes
the operation of a farm, but not the practice of a profession. The following conditions apply to a business
entity which is a small business for purposes of the additional deduction for wages:

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/701.40.21.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/906.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/907.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/247A.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/section/913.40.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/701.40.21.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/701.40.21.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/701.40.21.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/701.40.21.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/701.40.21.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/701.40.21.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/section/907A.1.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/907B.pdf


Ch 302, p.2 IAC

a. The small business shall not have had more than 20 full-time equivalent employee positions
during each of the 26 consecutive weeks within the 52-week period immediately preceding the date on
which an individual for whom an additional deduction for wages is taken was hired. Full-time equivalent
position means any of the following:

1. An employment position requiring an average work week of 40 or more hours;
2. An employment position for which compensation is paid on a salaried full-time basis without

regard to hours worked; or
3. An aggregation of any number of part-time positions which equal one full-time position. For

purposes of this subrule each part-time position shall be categorized with regard to the average number
of hours worked each week as a one-quarter, half, three-quarter, or full-time position, as set forth in the
following table:

Average Number of Weekly Hours Category
More than 0 but less than 15 ¼
15 or more but less than 25 ½
25 or more but less than 35 ¾
35 or more 1 (full-time)

b. The small business shall not have more than $1 million in annual gross revenues, or after
July 1, 1984, $3 million in annual gross revenues or as the average of the three preceding tax years.
“Annual gross revenues” means total sales, before deducting returns and allowances but after deducting
corrections and trade discounts, sales taxes and excise taxes based on sales, as determined in accordance
with generally accepted accounting principles.

c. The small business shall not be an affiliate or subsidiary of a business which is dominant in its
field of operation. “Dominant in its field of operation” means having more than 20 full-time equivalent
employees and more than $1 million of annual gross revenues, or after July 1, 1984, $3 million of
annual gross revenues or as the average of the three preceding tax years. “Affiliate or subsidiary of a
business dominant in its field of operations” means a business which is at least 20 percent owned by a
business dominant in its field of operation, or by partners, officers, directors, majority stockholders, or
their equivalent, of a business dominant in that field of operation.

d. “Operation of a farm” means the cultivation of land for the production of agricultural crops,
the raising of poultry, the production of eggs, the production of milk, the production of fruit or other
horticultural crops, grazing or the production of livestock. Operation of a farm shall not include the
production of timber, forest products, nursery products, or sod and operation of a farm shall not include
a contract where a processor or distributor of farm products or supplies provides spraying, harvesting or
other farm services.

e. “The practice of a profession” means a vocation requiring specialized knowledge and
preparation including but not limited to the following: medicine and surgery, podiatry, osteopathy,
osteopathic medicine and surgery, psychology, psychiatry, chiropractic, nursing, dentistry, dental
hygiene, optometry, speech pathology, audiology, pharmacy, physical therapy, occupational therapy,
mortuary science, law, architecture, engineering and surveying, and accounting.

302.21(3) Definitions.
a. The term “handicapped person” means any person who has a physical or mental impairment

which substantially limits one or more major life activities, has a record of such impairment, or is
regarded as having such an impairment.

The term handicapped does not include any person who is an alcoholic or drug abuser whose
current use of alcohol or drugs prevents the person from performing the duties of employment or
whose employment, by reason of current use of alcohol or drugs, would constitute a direct threat to the
property or the safety of others.

b. The term “physical or mental impairment” means any physiological disorder or condition,
cosmetic disfigurement, or anatomical loss affecting one or more of the following body systems:
neurological; musculoskeletal; special sense organs; respiratory, including speech organs;
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cardiovascular; reproductive; digestive; genitourinary; hemic and lymphatic; skin and endocrine; or
any mental or psychological disorder, such as intellectual disability, organic brain syndrome, emotional
or mental illness, and specific learning disabilities.

c. The term “major life activities” means functions such as caring for one’s self, performing
manual tasks, walking, seeing, hearing, speaking, breathing, learning, and working.

d. The term “has a record of such impairment” means has a history of, or has been misclassified
as having, a mental or physical impairment that substantially limits one or more major life activities.

e. The term “is regarded as having such an impairment” means:
1. Has a physical or mental impairment that does not substantially limit major life activities but

that is perceived as constituting such a limitation;
2. Has a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits major life activities only as a result

of the attitudes of others toward such impairment; or
3. Has none of the impairments defined as physical or mental impairments, but is perceived as

having such an impairment.
f. The term “successfully completing a probationary period” includes those instances where the

employee quits without good cause attributable to the employer during the probationary period or was
discharged for misconduct during the probationary period.

g. The term “probationary period” means the period of probation for newly hired employees, if
the employer has a written probationary policy. If the employer has no written probationary policy for
newly hired employees, the probationary period shall be considered to be six months from the date of
hire.

302.21(4) If a newly hired employee has been certified as either a vocational rehabilitation referral
or an economically disadvantaged ex-convict for purposes of qualification for the work opportunity tax
credit under Section 51 of the Internal Revenue Code, that employee shall be considered to have met the
qualifications for the additional wage deduction.

A vocational rehabilitation referral is any individual certified by a state employment agency as
having a physical or mental disability which, for the individual constitutes or results in a substantial
handicap to employment. In addition, the individual must have been referred to the employer after
completion or while receiving rehabilitation services pursuant to either a state or federal approved
vocational rehabilitation program.

For all other newly hired employees, the employer has the burden of proof to show that the employees
meet the qualifications for the additional wage deduction.

302.21(5) The taxpayer shall include a schedule with the filing of its tax return showing the name,
address, social security number, date of hiring and wages paid of each employee for which the taxpayer
claims the additional deduction for wages.

302.21(6) If the employee for which an additional deduction for wages was allowed fails to
successfully complete a probationary period and the taxpayer has already filed an Iowa individual
income tax return taking the additional deduction for wages, the taxpayer shall file an amended return
adding back the additional deduction for wages. The amended return shall state the name and social
security number of the employee who failed to successfully complete a probationary period.

This rule is intended to implement 2011 Iowa Code Supplement section 422.7 as amended by 2012
Iowa Acts, Senate File 2247.
[ARC 7761B, IAB 5/6/09, effective 6/10/09; ARC 0337C, IAB 9/19/12, effective 10/24/12; Editorial change: IAC Supplement 11/2/22]

https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/section/2011/422.7.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/7761B.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/0337C.pdf

