IAC Ch 102, p.1

701—102.26(441) Assessor compliance.

102.26(1) The assessor shall determine the value of real property in accordance with rules adopted by the department of revenue and in accordance with forms and guidelines contained in the Iowa Real Property Appraisal Manual prepared by the department. The assessor may use an alternative manual to value property if it is a unique type of property not covered in the manual prepared by the department.

102.26(2) If the department finds that an assessor is not in compliance with the rules of the department relating to valuation of property or has disregarded the forms and guidelines contained in the real property appraisal manual, the department shall notify the assessor and each member of the conference board for that assessing jurisdiction. The notice shall be mailed by restricted certified mail and shall specify the areas of noncompliance and the steps necessary to achieve compliance. The notice shall also inform the assessor and conference board that if compliance is not achieved, a penalty may be imposed.

102.26(3) The conference board shall respond to the department within 30 days of receipt of the notice of noncompliance. The conference board may respond to the notice by asserting that the assessor is in compliance with the rules, guidelines, and forms of the department or by informing the department that the conference board intends to submit a plan of action to achieve compliance. If the conference board responds to the notification by asserting that the assessor is in compliance, a hearing before the director of revenue shall be held on the matter within 60 days of receipt of the notice of noncompliance. The director's decision is subject to judicial review in accordance with Iowa Code chapter 17A. If it is agreed that the assessor is not in compliance, the conference board shall submit a plan of action within 60 days of receipt of the notice of noncompliance.

102.26(4) The plan of action shall contain a time frame under which compliance shall be achieved, which shall be no later than January 1 of the following assessment year. The plan shall contain the signature of the assessor and of the chairperson of the conference board. The department shall review the plan to determine whether the plan is sufficient to achieve compliance. Within 30 days of receipt of the plan, the department shall notify the assessor and the chairperson of the conference board that it has accepted the plan or that it is necessary to submit an amended plan of action.

102.26(5) By January 1 of the assessment year following the calendar year in which the plan of action was submitted to the department, the conference board shall submit a report to the department verifying that the plan was followed and compliance has been achieved. The department may conduct a field inspection to ensure that the assessor is in compliance. By January 31, the department shall notify the assessor and the conference board, by restricted certified mail, either that compliance has been achieved or that the assessor remains in noncompliance. If the department determines that the assessor remains in noncompliance, the department shall take steps to withhold up to 5 percent of the reimbursement payment authorized in Iowa Code section 425.1 until the department determines that the assessor is in compliance.

102.26(6) If the conference board disputes the determination of the department, the chairperson of the conference board may appeal the determination to the director of revenue under 701—Chapter 7.

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code section 441.21. [ARC 2657C, IAB 8/3/16, effective 9/7/16; Editorial change: IAC Supplement 11/2/22]