721—1.1(17A) Central organization.

1.1(1) The secretary of state is the head of the agency. The secretary is an elected official elected for a term of four years. The secretary's office is on the first floor of the Statehouse, Des Moines, Iowa 50319, telephone number (515)281-6230. The secretary is assisted by the following appointed officials who are responsible to the secretary.

1.1(2) The deputy secretary of state is appointed by the secretary and performs such duties as the secretary may prescribe, including general supervision of all matters and personnel pertaining to the office. During the absence or disability of the secretary, or as directed by the secretary, the deputy possesses most of the powers and performs the duties of the secretary.

1.1(3) The secretary of state's office is an administrative and ministerial office performing the duties in the following rules.

[ARC 7059C, IAB 8/23/23, effective 9/27/23]