IAC Ch 3, p.1

655—3.5(17A,147,152,272C) Licensure by endorsement.

3.5(1) *Board application.* A graduate of an approved nursing program seeking licensure in Iowa who has been licensed in another state shall submit the following:

- a. A completed application for licensure by endorsement.
- b. Payment of the application fee.
- c. Two completed fingerprint cards and a signed waiver form to facilitate a national criminal history background check.
- d. If the applicant has a criminal history, copies of all documents required by rule 655—3.11(272C).
- *e*. Copies of relevant disciplinary documents if the applicant has had disciplinary action taken by another state.
- f. Verification of the license from the original state of licensure, which may be done through www.nursys.com or using the verification form depending on the requirements of the original state of licensure.
- g. Proof of active licensure in any jurisdiction within the previous five years from the date of application or proof of completion of a nurse refresher course in accordance with rule 655—3.10(152) taken within the 12 months prior to the date of application.
- h. Official transcript denoting the date of graduation and diploma or degree conferred sent directly to the board from the nursing program. An applicant may be excused from this requirement if the nursing program is closed and records are no longer available.
- **3.5(2)** Temporary license. An applicant who has submitted all documentation described in paragraphs 3.5(1) "a" to "g" may request a temporary license for up to 30 days to practice in Iowa pending receipt of official transcripts from the nursing program.
- **3.5(3)** *Licensure.* Upon satisfactory review of the documentation described in subrule 3.5(1), the applicant will be issued a certificate of license by endorsement and a current license to practice as a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse.
- **3.5(4)** Failure to complete the licensure process. Once an application is initiated, the applicant has 12 months to complete the licensure process. The board reserves the right to destroy any applications and supporting documents after 12 months if the applicant has not completed the licensure process. Applicants who fail to complete the licensure process within 12 months are required to start the application process anew.

[ÅRC 4413C, ÎAB 4/24/19, effective 5/29/19; ARC 5761C, IAB 7/14/21, effective 8/18/21]