## 645—200.7(147) Licensure by endorsement.

**200.7(1)** An applicant who has been a licensed PT or PTA under the laws of another state or U.S. territory shall file an application for licensure by endorsement with the board office by completing the following steps:

*a.* Submit to the board a completed application;

b. Pay the licensure fee;

c. Show evidence of licensure requirements that are similar to those required in Iowa;

*d.* Submit a copy of the scores from the appropriate professional examination to be sent directly from the examination service to the board;

*e.* Submit two completed fingerprint cards and a signed waiver form to facilitate a national criminal history background check by the Iowa division of criminal investigation (DCI) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI). The cost of the criminal history background check by the DCI and the FBI shall be assessed to the applicant;

*f.* Provide official copies of the academic transcripts sent directly from the school to the board; and

*g.* Provide verification of license(s) from every jurisdiction in which the applicant has been licensed, sent directly from the jurisdiction(s) to the board office. Web-based verification may be substituted for verification direct from the jurisdiction's board office if the verification provides:

- (1) Licensee's name;
- (2) Date of initial licensure;
- (3) Current licensure status; and

(4) Any disciplinary action taken against the license.

200.7(2) In addition to the requirements of 200.7(1), a physical therapist applicant shall:

*a.* Have completed 40 hours of board-approved continuing education during the immediately preceding two-year period; or

*b.* Have practiced as a licensed physical therapist for a minimum of 2,080 hours during the immediately preceding two-year period; or

*c.* Have served the equivalent of one year as a full-time faculty member teaching physical therapy in an accredited school of physical therapy for at least one of the immediately preceding two years; or

*d.* Have successfully passed the examination within a period of two years from the date of examination to the time application is completed for licensure.

**200.7(3)** In addition to the requirements of 200.7(1), a physical therapist assistant applicant shall:

*a.* Have completed 20 hours of board-approved continuing education during the immediately preceding two-year period; or

*b.* Have practiced as a licensed physical therapist assistant for a minimum of 2,080 hours during the immediately preceding two-year period; or

c. Have successfully passed the examination for physical therapist assistants within a period of one year from the date of examination to the time application for licensure is completed.

**200.7(4)** Individuals who were issued their licenses by endorsement within six months of the license renewal date will not be required to renew their licenses until the next renewal two years later.

**200.7(5)** An applicant for licensure under subrule 200.7(1) must include with this application a sworn statement of previous physical therapy practice from an employer or professional associate, detailing places and dates of employment and verifying that the applicant has practiced physical therapy at least 2,080 hours or taught as the equivalent of a full-time faculty member for at least one of the immediately preceding years during the last two-year time period.

**200.7(6)** A person who is licensed in another jurisdiction but who is unable to satisfy the requirements for licensure by endorsement may apply for licensure by verification, if eligible, in accordance with rule 645—19.1(272C).

[ARC 3445C, IAB 11/8/17, effective 12/13/17; ARC 4102C, IAB 10/24/18, effective 1/1/19; ARC 4702C, IAB 10/9/19, effective 1/1/3/19; ARC 5758C, IAB 7/14/21, effective 8/18/21]