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701—71.26(441) Assessor compliance.   The assessor shall determine the value of real property
in accordance with rules adopted by the department of revenue and in accordance with forms and
guidelines contained in the Iowa Real Property Appraisal Manual prepared by the department. The
assessor may use an alternative manual to value property if it is a unique type of property not covered
in the manual prepared by the department.

If the department finds that an assessor is not in compliance with the rules of the department relating
to valuation of property or has disregarded the forms and guidelines contained in the real property
appraisal manual, the department shall notify the assessor and each member of the conference board
for that assessing jurisdiction. The notice shall be mailed by restricted certified mail and shall specify
the areas of noncompliance and the steps necessary to achieve compliance. The notice shall also inform
the assessor and conference board that if compliance is not achieved, a penalty may be imposed.

The conference board shall respond to the department within 30 days of receipt of the notice of
noncompliance. The conference board may respond to the notice by asserting that the assessor is in
compliance with the rules, guidelines, and forms of the department or by informing the department that
the conference board intends to submit a plan of action to achieve compliance. If the conference board
responds to the notification by asserting that the assessor is in compliance, a hearing before the director
of revenue shall be held on the matter within 60 days of receipt of the notice of noncompliance. If it is
agreed that the assessor is not in compliance, the conference board shall submit a plan of action within
60 days of receipt of the notice of noncompliance.

The plan shall contain a time frame under which compliance shall be achieved, which shall be no
later than January 1 of the following assessment year. The plan of action shall contain the signature of
the assessor and of the chairperson of the conference board. The department shall review the plan to
determine whether the plan is sufficient to achieve compliance. Within 30 days of receipt of the plan,
the department shall notify the assessor and the chairperson of the conference board that it has accepted
the plan or that it is necessary to submit an amended plan of action.

By January 1 of the assessment year following the calendar year in which the plan was submitted to
the department, the conference board shall submit a report to the department verifying that the plan of
action was followed and compliance has been achieved. The department may conduct a field inspection
to ensure that the assessor is in compliance. By January 31, the department shall notify the assessor
and the conference board, by restricted certified mail, either that compliance has been achieved or
that the assessor remains in noncompliance. If the department determines that the assessor remains
in noncompliance, the department shall take steps to withhold up to 5 percent of the reimbursement
payment authorized in Iowa Code section 425.1 until the director of revenue determines that the
assessor is in compliance.

If the conference board disputes the determination of the department, the chairperson of the
conference board may appeal the determination to the state board of tax review.

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code Supplement section 441.21.


