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653—17.7 (147,148E,272C) Biennial renewal of license required.   Pursuant to Iowa Code section
148E.2, a license is renewed every two years on November 1 for a fee of $300 with documented evidence
that the licensee has completed the 30 hours of continuing education required by the board. Beginning
June 1, 2004, renewal shall require evidence of the licensee’s current active status as a diplomate in
acupuncture or oriental medicine from NCCAOM.

17.7(1)  Expiration date. Certificates of licensure to practice acupuncture shall expire on October
31 in even years.

17.7(2)  Prorated fees. The renewal fee for a license shall be prorated on a monthly basis according
to the date of issue.

17.7(3)  Renewal requirements and penalties for late renewal. Each licensee shall be sent a renewal
notice at least 60 days prior to the expiration date.

a. Pursuant to Iowa Code section 147.10, application for renewal shall be made in writing to the
board accompanied by the required fee at least 30 days prior to the expiration date.

b. Every renewal shall be displayed in connection with the original certificate of licensure.
c. A $50 penalty shall be assessed for renewal in the grace period, a period up until January 1

when the license lapses if not renewed.
17.7(4)  Inactive license. Failure of a licensee to renew by January 1 will result in invalidation of

the license and the license will become inactive.
a. Licensees are prohibited from engaging in the practice of acupuncture once the license is lapsed.
b. Having an acupuncturist license in lapsed status does not preclude the board from taking

disciplinary actions authorized in Iowa Code section 147.55 or 148E.8.
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