## 501—14.2(80B) Iowa law enforcement emergency care providers—certification, renewal standards and procedures, and fees.

**14.2(1)** Application and examination.

*a.* Applicants shall complete an ILEECP student registration form at the beginning of the course. ILEECP student registration forms are provided by the academy.

*b.* Upon satisfactory completion of the course and all training program requirements, including successful completion of the state certifying practical examination, the student shall be recommended by the training program to take the state certification written examinations. State certification must be obtained to perform appropriate skills.

*c*. The practical examination shall be administered by the training program using the standards and forms provided by the academy.

d. To be eligible to take the practical examination, the student shall first pass the written examination.

*e.* When a student's ILEECP registration is referred to the academy for investigation, the student shall not be certified until approved by the council.

*f*. The certifying written examinations shall be administered at times and places determined by the academy.

g. No oral certification examinations shall be permitted; however, candidates may be eligible for appropriate accommodations.

*h*. A student who fails the practical certification examination shall have two additional opportunities to attain a passing score. The student may repeat the failed examination on the same day as determined by the training program. A student who fails a practical station for the third time shall be required to repeat the entire course in order to be eligible for certification.

*i*. A student who fails to attain the appropriate overall score on the written certification examination shall have two additional opportunities to complete the entire examination and attain a passing score. Required overall passing score is 70 percent.

*j*. All examination attempts shall be completed within one year of the initial course completion date. If a student is unable to complete the testing within one year due to medical reasons, an extension may be granted upon submission of a signed statement from a physician and approval by the council.

*k*. Examination scores shall be confidential except that they may be released to the training program that provided the training or released in a manner that does not permit the identification of a student.

## 14.2(2) Renewal of certification.

*a.* A certificate shall be valid for two years from issuance unless specified otherwise on the certificate or unless sooner suspended or revoked.

*b.* All continuing education requirements shall be completed during the certification period prior to the certificate's expiration date. Failure to complete the continuing education requirements prior to the expiration date shall result in an expired certification.

*c.* The application for renewal of certification shall be submitted to the academy within the 90 days prior to the expiration date. Failure to submit a renewal application to the academy within the 90 days prior to the expiration date (based upon the postmark date) shall cause the current certification to expire. Iowa law enforcement emergency care providers shall not function on an expired certification.

*d.* An individual who has not completed the required continuing education during the certification period and is seeking to reinstate an expired certificate shall complete a refresher course approved by the academy and pass the practical and written certification examinations.

*e.* If an individual is unable to complete the required continuing education during the certification period due to an illness or injury, an extension of certification may be issued upon submission of a signed statement from a physician and approval by the council.

14.2(3) *Renewal standards*. To be eligible for renewal, the certificate holder shall:

*a.* Have signed and submitted an application for renewal of certification, provided by the academy, within the 90 days prior to the certificate's expiration date.

*b.* Have a current CPR course completion card or a signed and dated statement from a recognized CPR instructor that documents current course completion in CPR and AED.

*c.* Have completed four continuing education hours during the certification period including a minimum of one hour in each of the following topics:

- (1) Infectious diseases;
- (2) Trauma emergencies;
- (3) Medical emergencies.

*d.* Maintain a file containing documentation of continuing education hours accrued during each certification period and retain this file for four years from the end of each certification period. [ARC 5572C, IAB 4/21/21, effective 5/26/21]