IAC Ch 26, p.1

## 641—26.5(135K) Registration.

## **26.5(1)** *Initial registration.*

a. A person who has successfully completed an approved training course may register with the department within one year of course completion. A person who is certified may register with the department. The applicant must submit:

- (1) A completed application form provided by the department.
- (2) Documentation of successful completion of an approved training course or certification.
- (3) A nonrefundable fee of \$72.
- b. A person who has completed a course of training in another state may be registered in Iowa. The person will submit:
  - (1) A completed Iowa application form provided by the department.
  - (2) Documentation that:
- 1. The person has successfully completed a training course meeting the hour and subject requirements for an approved training course (if the person completed the training course more than 12 months before the date of the application, provide documentation that the person has attended an average of at least 2.5 hours of continuing education training per year since completing the course), or
  - 2. The person is certified, or
- 3. The person is registered as a backflow prevention assembly tester in a jurisdiction that has similar or greater requirements for training and continuing education than Iowa.
  - (3) A nonrefundable fee of \$72.
  - c. Registration expires two years after it is issued.

## **26.5(2)** Renewal registration.

- a. Registered testers may renew 60 days prior to registration expiration and include:
- (1) A completed registration renewal application form provided by the department.
- (2) Documentation that the registered tester has completed at least five hours of approved continuing education courses during the registration period or documentation that the registered tester is certified.
  - (3) A nonrefundable fee of \$72.

Registration renewal applications received after expiration will incur a \$10 penalty per month, to a maximum \$50 penalty.

- b. If a registration has lapsed greater than 24 months, the person applying for renewal shall demonstrate that one of the following is true:
- (1) The person has successfully completed an approved training course within the 12 months before applying for registration renewal, or
  - (2) The person is certified, or
- (3) The person is registered as a backflow prevention assembly tester in a jurisdiction that has similar or greater requirements for training and continuing education than does the state of Iowa. [ARC 7833C, IAB 4/17/24, effective 5/22/24]