## 191-15.14(505,507B) Enforcement section-cease and desist and penalty orders.

**15.14(1)** If, after hearing, the commissioner determines that a person has engaged in an unfair trade practice in violation of these rules, an unfair method of competition, or an unfair or deceptive act or practice in violation of Iowa Code chapter 507B, the commissioner shall reduce the findings to writing and shall issue and cause to be served upon the person charged with the violation a copy of such findings and an order requiring the person to cease and desist from engaging in such method of competition, act or practice. The commissioner also may order one or more of the following:

*a.* Payment of a civil penalty of not more than \$1,000 for each act or violation, but not to exceed an aggregate penalty of \$10,000, unless the person knew or reasonably should have known that the actions were in violation of these rules or of Iowa Code chapter 507B, in which case the penalty shall be not more than \$5,000 for each act or violation, but not to exceed an aggregate penalty of \$50,000 in any one six-month period. If the commissioner finds that a violation of these rules or of Iowa Code chapter 507B was directed, encouraged, condoned, ignored, or ratified by the employer of the person or by an insurer, the commissioner shall also assess a fine to the employer or insurer;

*b.* Suspension or revocation of an insurer's certificate of authority or the producer's license if the insurer or producer knew or reasonably should have known that it was in violation of these rules or of Iowa Code chapter 507B;

c. Payment of interest at the rate of 10 percent per annum if the commissioner finds that the insurer failed to pay interest as required under Iowa Code section 507B.4(3) "p";

d. Full disclosure by the insurer of all terms and conditions of the policy to the policyowner;

*e.* Payment of the costs of the investigation and administrative expenses related to any act or violation. The commissioner may retain funds collected pursuant to any settlement, enforcement action, or other legal action authorized under federal or state law for the purpose of reimbursing costs and expenses of the division.

**15.14(2)** Any person who violates a cease and desist order of the commissioner while such order is in effect may, after notice and hearing and upon order of the commissioner, be subject at the discretion of the commissioner to one or both of the following:

a. A civil penalty of not more than \$10,000 for each and every act or violation.

*b.* Suspension or revocation of such person's license.

[ARC 7734C, IAB 3/20/24, effective 4/24/24]