IAC Ch 50, p.1

## 191—50.61(502) Registration of small corporate offerings.

**50.61(1)** Form U-7 may be obtained by contacting the Iowa Securities and Regulated Industries Bureau, 340 East Maple Street, Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0066; via E-mail at <a href="iowa.sec.@iid.state.ia.us">iowa.sec.@iid.state.ia.us</a>; or from the division Web site at <a href="http://www.iid.state.ia.us/division/securities">http://www.iid.state.ia.us/division/securities</a>. Form U-7 has been developed under the Small Business Investment Incentive Act of 1980 which prescribes state and federal cooperation in furthering the policies of the Act: diminishing the burden of raising investment capital and minimizing interference with the business of capital formation.

**50.61(2)** To be eligible to use Form U-7, the issuer shall comply with each of the following requirements:

- a. The issuer shall:
- (1) Be a corporation or limited liability company organized under the laws of the United States or Canada, or any state, province, or territory or possession thereof, or the District of Columbia and have its principal place of business in one of the foregoing;
- (2) Not be subject to the reporting requirements of Section 13 or 15(d) of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934;
- (3) Not be an investment company registered or required to be registered under the Investment Company Act of 1940;
- (4) Not be engaged in or propose to be engaged in petroleum exploration and production, mining, or other extractive industries;
- (5) Not be a development stage company that either has no specific business plan or purpose or has indicated that its business plan is to engage in a merger or acquisition with an unidentified company or companies or other entity or person; and
  - (6) Not be disqualified under subrule 50.61(3).
- b. The offering price for common stock or common ownership interests (hereinafter, collectively referred to as "common stock"), the exercise price for options, warrants, or rights to common stock, or the conversion price for securities convertible into common stock must be greater than or equal to U.S. \$1 per share or unit of interest. The issuer must agree with the administrator that the issuer will not split its common stock, or declare a stock dividend for two years after the effective date of the registration if such action has the effect of lowering the price below U.S. \$1.
- c. Commissions, fees or other remuneration for soliciting any prospective purchaser in connection with the offering in the state are only paid to persons who, if required to be registered or licensed, the issuer believes, and has reason to believe, are appropriately registered or licensed in the state.
- d. Financial statements shall be prepared in accordance with either U.S. or Canadian generally accepted accounting principles. If appropriate, a reconciliation note should be provided. If the company has not conducted significant operations, statements of receipts and disbursements shall be included in lieu of statements of income. Interim financial statements may be unaudited. All other financial statements shall be audited by independent certified public accountants, provided, however, that if each of the following four conditions are met, such financial statements in lieu of being audited may be reviewed by independent certified public accountants in accordance with the Accounting and Review Service Standards promulgated by the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants or the Canadian equivalent:
- (1) The company shall not have previously sold securities through an offering involving the general solicitation of prospective investors by means of advertising, mass mailings, public meetings, "cold call" telephone solicitation, or any other method directed toward the public;
- (2) The company has not been previously required under federal, state, provincial or territorial securities laws to provide audited financial statements in connection with any sale of its securities;
- (3) The aggregate amount of all previous sales of securities by the company (exclusive of debt financing with banks and similar commercial lenders) shall not exceed U.S. \$1 million; and
- (4) If the offering is a Rule 504 offering, the amount of the present offering does not exceed U.S. \$1 million
- e. The offering shall be made in compliance with Rule 504 of Regulation D, Regulation A, or Section 3(a)(11) of the Securities Act of 1933.

Ch 50, p.2 **IAC** 

The issuer shall comply with the General Instructions to SCOR in Part I of the NASAA SCOR Issuer's Manual.

## **50.61(3)** Disqualifications.

- a. Unless the administrator determines that it is not necessary under the circumstances that the disqualification under this subrule be applied, application for registration referred to in subrule 50.61(2) shall be denied if the issuer, any of its officers, directors, stockholders who own 10 percent or greater of the issuer, promoters, or selling agents, or any officer, director or partner of any selling agent:
- (1) Has filed a registration statement which is subject to a currently effective stop order entered pursuant to any state or provincial securities laws within five years prior to the filing of the registration statement;
- (2) Has been convicted, within five years prior to the filing of the registration statement, of any felony or misdemeanor in connection with the offer, purchase, or sale of securities, or of any felony involving fraud or deceit including, but not limited to, forgery, embezzlement, obtaining money under false pretenses, larceny, or conspiracy to defraud;
- (3) Is currently subject to any state or provincial administrative enforcement order or judgment entered by that state's or province's securities administrator within five years prior to the filing of the registration statement;
- (4) Is subject to any state or provincial administrative enforcement order or judgment in which fraud or deceit including, but not limited to, making untrue statements of material facts and omitting to state material facts, was found, and the order or judgment was entered within five years prior to the filing of the current application for registration;
- (5) Is subject to any state or provincial administrative enforcement order or judgment which prohibits, denies, or revokes the use of any exemption from registration in connection with the offer, purchase or sale of securities;
- (6) Is currently subject to any order, judgment, or decree of any court of competent jurisdiction that temporarily, preliminarily, or permanently restrains or enjoins such party from engaging in or continuing any conduct or practice in connection with the purchase or sale of any security, or involving the making of any false filing with the state, entered within five years prior to the filing of the registration statement; or
- (7) Has violated the law of a foreign jurisdiction governing or regulating any aspect of the business of securities or banking or, within the past five years, has been the subject of an action of a securities regulator of a foreign jurisdiction denying, revoking or suspending the right to engage in the business of securities as a broker-dealer, agent or investment adviser or is the subject of an action of any securities exchange or self-regulatory organization operating under the authority of the securities regulator of a foreign jurisdiction suspending or expelling such person from membership in such exchange or self-regulatory organization.
- The prohibitions of subparagraphs (1) to (3) and (5) of paragraph 50.61(3) "a" shall not apply if the person subject to the disqualification is duly registered or licensed to conduct securities-related business in the state or province in which the administrative order or judgment was entered against such person, or if the broker-dealer employing such person is registered or licensed in the state and the Form BD filed in the state discloses the order, conviction, judgment or decree relating to such person.
- No person disqualified shall act in any capacity other than the capacity for which the person is registered or licensed.
- Disqualification is automatically waived if the jurisdiction which created the basis for disqualification determines upon a showing of good cause that it is not necessary under the circumstances that registration be denied.

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code section 502.304.