IAC Ch 1, p.1

61—1.3(13) Organization—bureaus established. The attorney general has established three bureaus to carry out the duties of the attorney general. In addition, the office of consumer advocate is a separate statutory office within the department under the supervision of the attorney general. The bureaus are each directed by a deputy attorney general. Each bureau consists of one or more divisions or other units. The name and a brief summary of matters handled by each bureau, together with its location and telephone number, are as follows:

- **1.3(1)** *Civil justice bureau.* The civil justice bureau is located on the Second Floor, Hoover State Office Building, Des Moines, Iowa 50319, telephone (515)281-5164. The civil justice bureau represents various state departments and agencies and coordinates the department's amicus representation activities in the United States Supreme Court and performs such other duties as may be assigned by the attorney general. The civil justice bureau consists of the following divisions:
- a. Regents and human services division. This division is located in the Hoover State Office Building, Des Moines, Iowa 50319, telephone (515)281-8330. The division defends and prosecutes cases relating to welfare assistance programs, mental health, day care, and juvenile court appeals and advises and represents the director and the department of human services. The division also counsels and represents the board of regents and regents institutions.
- b. Revenue division. This division is located in Executive Hills East, 1223 Court Avenue, Des Moines, Iowa 50319, telephone (515)281-5846. It furnishes legal guidance and advice to the department of revenue prepares opinions on revenue matters and represents the director and department in litigation and in administrative proceedings.
- c. Transportation division. The location of this division is at the Department of Transportation, General Counsel Division, 800 Lincoln Way, Ames, Iowa 50010, telephone (515)239-1521. The division is responsible for eminent domain litigation, counseling and advising the department of transportation and its staff, construction claims and other contract litigation, tort claims defense, administrative hearings and judicial review proceedings.
- d. Special litigation division. The special litigation division is located on the Second Floor, Hoover State Office Building, Des Moines, Iowa 50319, telephone (515)281-5881. The division is responsible for the investigation and defense of tort claims against the state, cases arising from the institutions operated by the department of corrections, advice to that department and such other special litigation matters as assigned by the attorney general.
- **1.3(2)** Public protection bureau. The public protection bureau is located on the Second Floor, Hoover State Office Building, Des Moines, Iowa 50319, telephone (515)281-3349. The public protection bureau consists of those divisions within the office providing direct public protection activities in the civil law area and representing professional licensing agencies of state government in regulating activities in order to protect the public. The divisions within the bureau are as follows:
- a. Environmental law division. This division is located in Executive Hills East, 1223 Court Avenue, Des Moines, Iowa 50319, telephone (515)281-5351. This division represents state agencies in the protection of natural resources and pollution control. The division furnishes legal representation and advice to the department of natural resources, the agriculture and land stewardship department and related agencies. It initiates and conducts litigation involving environmental, conservation and agricultural matters.
- b. Consumer protection division. This division is located on the Second Floor, Hoover State Office Building, Des Moines, Iowa 50319, telephone (515)281-5926. It handles complaints regarding violations of the Iowa consumer fraud Act and the Iowa consumer credit code. The division staff warns the public of questionable practices affecting consumers and farmers and prosecutes lawsuits to prevent or halt illegal sales and business practices. Citizens are encouraged to file their complaints in writing but may also file by telephone or in person at the consumer protection division office.
- c. Licensing and administrative law division. This division is located on the Second Floor, Hoover State Office Building, Des Moines, Iowa 50319, telephone (515)281-8760. The departments of education, public safety, public health, general services, auditor's office, treasurer of state, secretary of state, the department of commerce licensing boards, division of banking, division of savings and loan associations, division of credit unions, insurance division, the Iowa college student aid commission,

department of health licensing boards, and other professional licensing boards and agencies not otherwise represented by another division of the attorney general's office are provided legal counsel by this division. The division prosecutes professional licensing disciplinary cases on behalf of the public.

- d. Underground storage tank unit. This unit is located in Executive Hills East, 1223 Court Avenue, Des Moines, Iowa 50319, telephone (515)281-5351. This unit is responsible for the underground storage tank fund litigation.
- **1.3(3)** *Criminal justice bureau*. This bureau is located on the Second Floor, Hoover State Office Building, Des Moines, Iowa 50319, telephone (515)281-3349. The criminal justice bureau includes those divisions and areas of activity within the office in the criminal law field. The principal responsibility for the development of the attorney general's positions on criminal justice policy issues is within this bureau. The divisions and units within the bureau are as follows:
- a. Area prosecutions division. This division is located on the Second Floor, Hoover State Office Building, Des Moines, Iowa 50319, telephone (515)281-3648. The division provides experienced, full-time prosecutors upon request of a county attorney when additional assistance is required or when the county attorney experiences a conflict of interest. The division provides services from informal advice to the complete undertaking of complex felony cases.
- b. Crime victim assistance division. The crime victim assistance division of the criminal justice bureau is located in the Old Historical Building, Des Moines, Iowa 50319, telephone (515)281-5044. This division is responsible for various crime victim assistance programs.
- c. Criminal appeals division. This division is located on the Second Floor, Hoover State Office Building, Des Moines, Iowa 50319, telephone (515)281-5976. The responsibilities of the criminal appeals division are to represent the state in appeals in criminal cases; certiorari proceedings related to criminal cases; appeals in postconviction relief cases under Iowa Code chapter 822; applications for discretionary review; and federal habeas corpus cases. This division advises the governor's office on extradition matters and provides advice to county attorneys in criminal matters.
- d. Prosecuting attorneys training coordinator. This division of the department of justice is located in the Old Historical Building, Des Moines, Iowa 50319, telephone (515)281-5428. It provides reference materials, support services and continuing legal education for all prosecuting attorneys in the state.
- e. Civil rights. The civil rights unit is a separate unit within the criminal justice bureau. The attorneys assigned to this unit are located in the Colony Building, Des Moines, Iowa 50319, telephone (515)281-4121. It furnishes legal advice to the civil rights commission and its staff, prosecutes civil rights cases, and represents the commission in cases in which it is a party or is interested.

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code section 13.2.