11—20.3(81GA,ch90) Membership of the board.

20.3(1) *Composition.* The technology governance board is composed of ten members as follows:

a. The director.

b. The director of the department of management, or the designee of the director of the department of management.

c. Eight members appointed by the governor as follows:

- (1) Three representatives from large agencies.
- (2) Two representatives from medium-sized agencies.
- (3) One representative from a small agency.

(4) Two public members who are knowledgeable and have experience in information technology matters.

d. A director, deputy director, chief financial officer or the equivalent is preferred as an appointed representative for each of the agency categories of membership pursuant to paragraph "*c*."

e. Appointments of public members to the board are subject to Iowa Code sections 69.16 and 69.16A governing balance in political affiliation and gender of members of appointed boards.

20.3(2) Length of term. Members appointed to the board pursuant to paragraph 20.3(1) "c" shall serve two-year fixed terms.

a. Initial member terms. In order to stagger terms of board members so that one-half of the terms expire each year, four of the eight members appointed by the governor shall serve initial terms of no longer than one year. Designation of which members are appointed to the initial staggered terms shall be at the discretion of the governor.

b. Agency member terms. Terms of the agency members appointed pursuant to paragraph 20.3(1) "c" shall expire on April 30 of the last year of the member's term. New terms shall begin on May 1.

c. Public member terms. The public members of the board are subject to Iowa Code section 69.19, requiring senate confirmation and terms that expire on April 30 of the year of term expiration. New terms of the public members shall begin on May 1.