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CHAPTER 77
CONDITIONS OF PARTICIPATION FOR PROVIDERS

OF MEDICAL AND REMEDIAL CARE
[Prior to 7/1/83, Social Services[770] Ch 77]
[Prior to 2/11/87, Human Services[498]]

441—77.1(249A) Physicians. All physicians (doctors of medicine and osteopathy) licensed to practice
in the state of lowa are eligible to participate in the program. Physicians in other states are also eligible
if duly licensed to practice in that state.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A .4.
[ARC 6310C, 1AB 5/4/22, effective 7/1/22]

441—77.2(249A) Retail pharmacies. Retail pharmacies are eligible to participate if they meet the
requirements of this rule.

77.2(1) Licensure. Participating retail pharmacies must be licensed in the state of lowa or duly
licensed in another state. Out-of-state retail pharmacies delivering, dispensing, or distributing drugs
by any method to an ultimate user physically located in Iowa must be duly licensed by Iowa as a
nonresident pharmacy for that purpose.

77.2(2) Survey participation. As a condition of participation, retail pharmacies are required to
make available drug acquisition cost invoice information, product availability information if known,
dispensing cost information, and any other information deemed necessary by the department to assist
in monitoring and revising reimbursement rates pursuant to 441—subrule 79.1(8) or for the efficient
operation of the pharmacy benefit.

a. A pharmacy shall produce and submit all requested information in the manner and format
requested by the department or its designee at no cost to the department or its designee.

b. A pharmacy shall submit information to the department or its designee within the time frame
indicated following receipt of a request for information unless the department or its designee grants an
extension upon written request of the pharmacy.

¢.  Any dispensing or acquisition cost information submitted to the department that specifically
identifies a pharmacy’s individual costs shall be held confidential.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A 4.
[ARC 0485C, IAB 12/12/12, effective 2/1/13; ARC 6310C, IAB 5/4/22, effective 7/1/22]

441—77.3(249A) Hospitals.

77.3(1) Qualifications. All hospitals licensed in the state of lowa or in another state and certified as
eligible to participate in Part A of the Medicare program (Title XVIII of the Social Security Act) are
eligible to participate in the medical assistance program, subject to the additional requirements of this rule.

77.3(2) Referral to health home services provider. As a condition of participation in the medical
assistance program, hospitals must establish procedures for referring to health home services providers
any members who seek or need treatment in the hospital emergency department and who are eligible for
health home services pursuant to 441—subrule 78.53(2).

77.3(3) Psychiatric bed tracking system. As a condition of participation in the medical assistance
program, hospitals must establish procedures for participating in and updating the statewide psychiatric
bed tracking system.

a. Definitions.

“Adult beds” means the number of staffed and available psychiatric beds ready for admission to
individuals 18 years of age to 60 years of age.

“Child beds” means the number of staffed and available psychiatric beds ready for admission to
individuals up to the age of 18.

“Gender” means female or male.

“Geriatric beds” means the number of staffed and available psychiatric beds ready for admission to
individuals 60 years of age and older.


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/section/249A.4.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/6310C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/441.79.1.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/section/249A.4.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/0485C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/6310C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/441.78.53.pdf
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“Hospital,” for purposes of this subrule, means any licensed hospital providing inpatient psychiatric
services and the state mental health institutes.

“Psychiatric bed tracking system” means a web-based electronic system managed by the department
that can be searched to locate inpatient psychiatric services at an lowa hospital.

b.  Hospitals are required to participate in the psychiatric bed tracking system.

c.  Hospitals shall update the psychiatric bed tracking system, at a minimum, two times per day.
The first update shall be entered between 12:00:01 a.m. and 9:59:59 a.m. each day; the second update
shall be entered between 8:00:00 p.m. and 11:59:59 p.m. each day.

d.  Each update must include the number of child beds by gender, the number of adult beds by
gender, and the number of geriatric beds by gender.

e. Failure to comply with the psychiatric bed tracking reporting may result in sanctions in
accordance with rule 441—79.2(249A).

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A .4.
[ARC 0198C, IAB 7/11/12, effective 7/1/12; ARC 3789C, IAB 5/9/18, effective 7/1/18]

441—77.4(249A) Dentists. All dentists licensed to practice in the state of lowa are eligible to participate
in the program. Dentists in other states are also eligible if duly licensed to practice in that state.
NOTE: DENTAL LABORATORIES —Payment will not be made to a dental laboratory.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A 4.
[ARC 6310C, TAB 5/4/22, effective 7/1/22]

441—77.5(249A) Podiatrists. All podiatrists licensed to practice in the state of Iowa are eligible to
participate in the program. Podiatrists in other states are also eligible if duly licensed to practice in that
state.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A.4.
[ARC 6310C, 1AB 5/4/22, effective 7/1/22]

441—77.6(249A) Optometrists. All optometrists licensed to practice in the state of lowa are eligible
to participate in the program. Optometrists in other states are also eligible if duly licensed to practice in
that state.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A 4.
[ARC 6310C, TAB 5/4/22, effective 7/1/22]

441—77.7(249A) Opticians. All opticians in the state of [owa are eligible to participate in the program.
Opticians in other states are also eligible to participate.

NOTE: Opticians in states having licensing requirements for this professional group must be duly
licensed in that state.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A.4.
[ARC 6310C, 1AB 5/4/22, effective 7/1/22]

441—77.8(249A) Chiropractors. All chiropractors licensed to practice in the state of lowa are eligible
to participate providing they have been determined eligible to participate in Title XVIII of the Social
Security Act (Medicare) by the Social Security Administration. Chiropractors in other states are also
eligible if duly licensed to practice in that state and determined eligible to participate in Title XVIII of
the Social Security Act.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A .4.
[ARC 6310C, 1AB 5/4/22, effective 7/1/22]

441—77.9(249A) Home health agencies. Home health agencies are eligible to participate providing
they are certified to participate in the Medicare program (Title XVIII of the Social Security Act) and,
unless exempted under subrule 77.9(5), have submitted a surety bond as required by subrules 77.9(1) to
77.9(6).

77.9(1) Definitions.
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IAC 6/29/22 Human Services[441] Ch 77, p.3

“Assets ” includes any listing that identifies Medicaid members to whom home health services were
furnished by a participating or formerly participating home health agency.

“Rider” means a notice issued by a surety that a change in the bond has occurred or will occur.

“Uncollected overpayment” means a Medicaid overpayment, including accrued interest, for which
the home health agency is responsible that has not been recouped by the department within 60 days from
the date of notification that an overpayment has been identified.

77.9(2) Parties to surety bonds. The surety bond shall name the home health agency as the principal,
the Iowa department of human services as the obligee and the surety company (and its heirs, executors,
administrators, successors and assignees, jointly and severally) as surety. The bond shall be issued by
a company holding a current Certificate of Authority issued by the U.S. Department of the Treasury in
accordance with 31 U.S.C. Sections 9304 to 9308 and 31 CFR Part 223 as amended to November 30,
1984, Part 224 as amended to May 29, 1996, and Part 225 as amended to September 12, 1974. The
bond shall list the surety’s name, street address or post office box number, city, state and ZIP code. The
company shall not have been determined by the department to be unauthorized in Iowa due to:

a. Failure to furnish timely confirmation of the issuance of and the validity and accuracy of
information appearing on a surety bond that a home health agency presents to the department that shows
the surety company as surety on the bond.

b.  Failure to timely pay the department in full the amount requested, up to the face amount of the
bond, upon presentation by the department to the surety company of a request for payment on a surety
bond and of sufficient evidence to establish the surety company’s liability on the bond.

c¢.  Other good cause.

The department shall give public notice of a determination that a surety company is unauthorized
in Iowa and the effective date of the determination by publication of a notice in the newspaper of
widest circulation in each city in lowa with a population of 50,000 or more. A list of surety companies
determined by the department to be unauthorized in lowa shall be maintained and shall be available for
public inspection by contacting the division of medical services of the department. The determination
that a surety company is unauthorized in Iowa has effect only in Iowa and is not a debarment,
suspension, or exclusion for the purposes of Federal Executive Order No. 12549.

77.9(3) Surety company obligations. The bond shall guarantee payment to the department, up to the
face amount of the bond, of the full amount of any uncollected overpayment, including accrued interest,
based on payments made to the home health agency during the term of the bond. The bond shall provide
that payment may be demanded from the surety after available administrative collection methods for
collecting from the home health agency have been exhausted.

77.9(4) Surety bond requirements. Surety bonds secured by home health agencies participating in
Medicaid shall comply with the following requirements:

a. Effective dates and submission dates.

(1) Home health agencies participating in the program on June 10, 1998, shall secure either an
initial surety bond for the period January 1, 1998, through the end of the home health agency’s fiscal
year or a continuous bond which remains in effect from year to year.

(2) Home health agencies seeking to participate in Medicaid and Medicare for the first time after
June 10, 1998, shall secure an initial surety bond for the period from Medicaid certification through the
end of the home health agency’s fiscal year or a continuous bond which remains in effect from year to
year.

(3) Medicare-certified home health agencies seeking to participate in Medicaid for the first time
after June 10, 1998, shall secure an initial surety bond for the period from Medicaid certification through
the end of the home health agency’s fiscal year or a continuous bond which remains in effect from year
to year.

(4) Home health agencies seeking to participate in Medicaid after purchasing the assets of or an
ownership interest in a participating or formerly participating agency shall secure an initial surety bond
effective as of the date of purchase of the assets or the transfer of the ownership interest for the balance
of the current fiscal year of the home health agency or a continuous bond which remains in effect from
year to year.


https://www.law.cornell.edu/cfr/text/31/part-223
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(5) Home health agencies which continue to participate in Medicaid after the period covered by an
initial surety bond shall secure a surety bond for each subsequent fiscal year of the home health agency
or a continuous bond which remains in effect from year to year.

b.  Amount of bond. Bonds for any period shall be in the amount of $50,000 or 15 percent of the
home health agency’s annual Medicaid payments during the most recently completed state fiscal year,
whichever is greater. After June 1, 2005, all bonds shall be in the amount of $50,000. At least 90
days before the start of each home health agency’s fiscal year, the department shall provide notice of
the amount of the surety bond to be purchased and submitted to the lowa Medicaid enterprise provider
services unit.

c.  Other requirements. Surety bonds shall meet the following additional requirements. The bond
shall:

(1) Guarantee that upon written demand by the department to the surety for payment under the
bond and the department’s furnishing to the surety sufficient evidence to establish the surety’s liability
under the bond, the surety shall within 60 days pay the department the amount so demanded, up to the
stated amount of the bond.

(2) Provide that the surety’s liability for uncollected overpayments is based on overpayments
determined during the term of the bond.

(3) Provide that the surety’s liability to the department is not extinguished by any of the following:

1.  Any action by the home health agency or the surety to terminate or limit the scope or term of
the bond unless the surety furnishes the department with notice of the action not later than 10 days after
the date of notice of the action by the home health agency to the surety and not later than 60 days before
the effective date of the action by the surety.

2. The surety’s failure to continue to meet the requirements in subrule 77.9(2) or the department’s
determination that the surety company is an unauthorized surety under subrule 77.9(2).

3. Termination of the home health agency’s provider agreement.

4.  Any action by the department to suspend, offset, or otherwise recover payments to the home
health agency.

5. Any action by the home health agency to cease operations, sell or transfer any assets or
ownership interest, file for bankruptcy, or fail to pay the surety.

6. Any fraud, misrepresentation, or negligence by the home health agency in obtaining the surety
bond or by the surety (or the surety’s agent, if any) in issuing the surety bond; except that any fraud,
misrepresentation, or negligence by the home health agency in identifying to the surety (or the surety’s
agent) the amount of Medicaid payments upon which the amount of the surety bond is determined shall
not cause the surety’s liability to the department to exceed the amount of the bond.

7. The home health agency’s failure to exercise available appeal rights under Medicaid or assign
appeal rights to the surety.

(4) Provide that if a home health agency fails to furnish a bond following the expiration date of an
annual bond or if a home health agency fails to furnish a rider for a year in which a rider is required or if
the home health agency’s provider agreement with the department is terminated, the surety shall remain
liable under the most recent annual bond or rider to a continuous bond for two years from the date the
home health agency was required to submit the annual bond or rider to a continuous bond or for two
years from the termination date of the provider agreement.

(5) Provide that actions under the bond may be brought by the department or by an agent designated
by the department.

(6) Provide that the surety may appeal department decisions.

77.9(5) Exemption from surety bond requirements for government-operated home health
agencies. A home health agency operated by a federal, state, local, or tribal government agency is
exempt from the bonding requirements of this rule if, during the preceding five years, the home health
agency has not had any uncollected overpayments. Government-operated home health agencies having
uncollected overpayments during the preceding five years shall not be exempted from the bonding
requirements of this rule.


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/441.77.9.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/441.77.9.pdf
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77.9(6) Government-operated home health agency that loses its exemption. A government-operated
home health agency which has met the criteria for an exemption under subrule 77.9(6) but is later
determined by the department not to meet the criteria shall submit a surety bond within 60 days of
the date of the department’s written notification to the home health agency that it no longer meets the
criteria for an exemption, for the period and in the amount required in the notice from the department.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A.4.
[ARC 6310C, 1AB 5/4/22, effective 7/1/22]

441—77.10(249A) Medical equipment and appliances, prosthetic devices and medical supplies. All
dealers in medical equipment and appliances, prosthetic devices and medical supplies in lowa or in other
states are eligible to participate in the program.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A.4.
[ARC 6310C, TAB 5/4/22, effective 7/1/22]

441—77.11(249A) Ambulance service. Providers of ambulance service are eligible to participate
providing they meet the eligibility requirements for participation in the Medicare program (Title XVIII
of the Social Security Act).

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A.4.
[ARC 6310C, 1AB 5/4/22, effective 7/1/22]

441—77.12(249A) Behavioral health intervention. A provider of behavioral health intervention is
eligible to participate in the medical assistance program when the provider is accredited by one of the
following bodies:

The Joint Commission accreditation (TJC), or

The Healthcare Facilities Accreditation Program (HFAP), or

The Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities (CARF), or

The Council on Accreditation (COA), or

The Accreditation Association for Ambulatory Health Care (AAAHC), or

Iowa Administrative Code 44 1—Chapter 24, “Accreditation of Providers of Services to Persons
with Mental Illness, Intellectual Disabilities, or Developmental Disabilities.”

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A 4.
[ARC 7741B, TAB 5/6/09, effective 7/1/09; ARC 9487B, IAB 5/4/11, effective 7/1/11; ARC 2361C, TAB 1/6/16, effective 1/1/16;
ARC 6310C, IAB 5/4/22, effective 7/1/22]

A

441—77.13(249A) Hearing aid dispensers. Hearing aid dispensers are eligible to participate if they are
duly licensed by the state of lowa. Hearing aid dispensers in other states will be eligible to participate if
they are duly licensed in that state.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A 4.

441—77.14(249A) Audiologists. Audiologists are eligible to participate in the program when they are
duly licensed by the state of lowa. Audiologists in other states will be eligible to participate when they
are duly licensed in that state. In states having no licensure requirement for audiologists, an audiologist
shall obtain a license from the state of lowa.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A 4.

441—77.15(249A) Community mental health centers. Community mental health centers are eligible
to participate in the medical assistance program when they comply with the standards for mental health
centers in the state of lowa established by the lowa mental health authority.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A 4.

441—77.16(249A) Screening centers. Public or private health agencies are eligible to participate
as screening centers when they have the staff and facilities needed to perform all of the elements
of screening specified in 441—78.18(249A) and meet the department of public health’s standards
for a child health screening center. The staff members must be employed by or under contract with


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/441.77.9.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/section/249A.4.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/6310C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/section/249A.4.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/6310C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/section/249A.4.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/6310C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/441.24.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/section/249A.4.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/7741B.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/9487B.pdf
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the screening center. Screening centers shall direct applications to participate to the lowa Medicaid
enterprise provider services unit.
This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A.4.

441—77.17(249A) Physical therapists. Physical therapists are eligible to participate when they are
licensed, in independent practice; and are eligible to participate in the Medicare program.
This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A 4.

441—77.18(249A) Orthopedic shoe dealers and repair shops. Establishments eligible to participate
in the medical assistance program are retail dealers in orthopedic shoes prescribed by physicians
or podiatrists and shoe repair shops specializing in orthopedic work as prescribed by physicians or
podiatrists.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A 4.

441—77.19(249A) Rehabilitation agencies. Rehabilitation agencies are eligible to participate
providing they are certified to participate in the Medicare program (Title XVIII of the Social Security
Act).

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A 4.

441—77.20(249A) Independent laboratories. Independent laboratories are eligible to participate
providing they are certified to participate as a laboratory in the Medicare program (Title XVIII of the
Social Security Act). An independent laboratory is a laboratory that is independent of attending and
consulting physicians’ offices, hospitals, and critical access hospitals.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A 4.

441—77.21(249A) Rural health clinics. Rural health clinics are eligible to participate providing they
are certified to participate in the Medicare program (Title XVIII of the Social Security Act).

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code section 249A 4.
[ARC 6310C, IAB 5/4/22, effective 7/1/22]

441—77.22(249A) Psychologists.

77.22(1) All psychologists licensed to practice in the state of lowa and meeting the current
credentialing requirements of the National Register of Health Service Psychologists are eligible to
participate in the medical assistance program. Psychologists in other states are eligible to participate
when they are duly licensed to practice in that state and meet the current credentialing requirements of
the National Register of Health Service Psychologists.

77.22(2) A psychologist provisionally licensed to practice in the state of lowa pursuant to lowa Code
section 154B.6 is eligible to participate in the medical assistance program when the person:

a. Possesses a doctoral degree in psychology from an institution approved by the board of
psychology; and

b.  Provides treatment under the supervision of a licensed psychologist pursuant to Iowa Code
section 154B.6. Claims for payment for such services must be submitted by the licensed psychologist.

77.22(3) A psychologist provisionally licensed in another state is eligible to participate when the
person:

a. Possesses a doctoral degree in psychology from an institution approved by the board of
psychology; and

b.  Provides treatment under the supervision of a licensed psychologist pursuant to lowa Code
section 154B.6. Claims for payment for such services must be submitted by the licensed psychologist
who is duly licensed to practice in that state.

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code sections 249A.4 and 249A.15.
[ARC 2165C, TAB 9/30/15, effective 12/1/15; ARC 4165C, TAB 12/5/18, effective 1/9/19]
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441—77.23(249A) Maternal health centers. A maternal health center is eligible to participate in the
Medicaid program if the center provides a team of professionals to render prenatal and postpartum care
and enhanced perinatal services (see rule 441—78.25(249A)). The prenatal and postpartum care shall
be in accordance with the latest edition of the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists,
Standards for Obstetric Gynecologic Services. The team must have at least a physician, a registered
nurse, a licensed dietitian and a person with at least a bachelor’s degree in social work, counseling,
sociology or psychology. Team members must be employed by or under contract with the center.
This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A 4.

441—77.24(249A) Ambulatory surgical centers. Ambulatory surgical centers that are not part of
hospitals are eligible to participate in the medical assistance program if they are certified to participate
in the Medicare program (Title XVIII of the Social Security Act). Freestanding ambulatory surgical
centers providing only dental services are also eligible to participate in the medical assistance program
if the board of dental examiners has issued a current permit pursuant to 650—Chapter 29 for any dentist
to administer deep sedation or general anesthesia at the facility.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A 4.
[ARC 6310C, IAB 5/4/22, effective 7/1/22]

441—77.25(249A) Home- and community-based habilitation services. To be eligible to participate
in the Medicaid program as an approved provider of home- and community-based habilitation services,
a provider shall meet the general requirements in subrules 77.25(2), 77.25(3), 77.25(4), and 77.25(5)
and shall meet the requirements in the subrules applicable to the individual services being provided.

77.25(1) Definitions.

“Certified employment specialist” or “CES” means a person who has demonstrated a sufficient
level of knowledge and skill to provide integrated employment support services to a variety of client
populations and has earned a CES certification through a nationally recognized accrediting body.

“Guardian” means a guardian appointed in probate or juvenile court.

“Individual placement and support” or “IPS” means the evidence-based practice of supported
employment that is guided by IPS practice principles outlined by the IPS Employment Center at Westat,
and as measured by its most recently published 25-item supported employment fidelity scale available
online at ipsworks.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/08/ips-fidelity-manual-3rd-edition 2-4-16.pdf. The
IPS practice principles are:

1. Focus on competitive employment: Agencies providing IPS services are committed to
competitive employment as an attainable goal for people with behavioral health conditions seeking
employment. Mainstream education and specialized training may enhance career paths.

2. Zero exclusion criteria based on client choice: People are not excluded on the basis of
readiness, diagnoses, symptoms, substance use history, psychiatric hospitalizations, homelessness, level
of disability, or legal system involvement.

3. Integration of rehabilitation and mental health services: IPS programs are closely integrated
with mental health treatment teams.

4. Attention to worker preferences: Services are based on each person’s preferences and choices,
rather than providers’ judgments.

5. Personalized benefits counseling: Employment specialists help people obtain personalized,
understandable, and accurate information about their social security, Medicaid, and other government
entitlements.

6. Rapid job search: IPS programs use a rapid job search approach to help job seekers obtain jobs
directly, rather than providing lengthy preemployment assessment, training, and counseling. If further
education is part of their plan, IPS specialists assist in these activities as needed.

7. Systematic job development: Employment specialists systematically visit employers, who are
selected based on job seeker preferences, to learn about their business needs and hiring preferences.

8. Time-unlimited and individualized support: Job supports are individualized and continue for
as long as each worker wants and needs the support.



https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/441.78.25.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/section/249A.4.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/650.29.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/section/249A.4.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/6310C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/441.77.25.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/441.77.25.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/441.77.25.pdf
http://ipsworks.org/wp-content/uploads/2017/08/ips-fidelity-manual-3rd-edition_2-4-16.pdf

Ch77,p.8 Human Services[441] IAC 6/29/22

“Intensive residential service homes” or “intensive residential services” means intensive,
community-based services provided 24 hours per day, 7 days per week, 365 days per year to individuals
with a severe and persistent mental illness who have functional impairments and may also have
multi-occurring conditions. Providers of intensive residential service homes are enrolled with Medicaid
as providers of HCBS habilitation or HCBS intellectual disability waiver supported community living
and meet additional criteria specified in 441—subrule 25.6(8).

“IPS 25-item supported employment fidelity scale” means the fidelity scale published by the IPS
Employment Center at Westat, resulting in scores of exemplary fidelity, good fidelity, fair fidelity, or not
supported employment.

“IPS implementation” means the process advocated by the IPS Employment Center at Westat, which
consists of the following phases:

1. Formation of IPS team steering group and one-day meeting with the IPS trainer and team
members.

2. Completion of the IPS Readiness Assessment developed by the IPS Employment Center at
Westat and individual review with the IPS trainer.

Completion of a one-day IPS kick-off team training with the IPS trainer and team members.
Participation in individual team training and monthly consultations as follows:
Two-and-a-half-day individual team training with the IPS trainer and team members.

Virtual training by the IPS Employment Center at Westat for at least three people per team.
Leadership training for two people per team at the IPS Employment Center at Westat.

Virtual monthly technical assistance for two hours per month per team.

Participation in the International Learning Collaborative, including:

Participation in the International Learning Collaborative annual conference by two people per
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state.

e  Virtual monthly technical assistance calls with the IPS Employment Center at Westat mentor
assigned to the team.

e  Participation in the prescribed data tracking and management activities.

6. Completion of one baseline fidelity review per IPS team, with two IPS reviewers on site for
two days per review.

7.  Evaluation and development of next steps, with an on-site half-day meeting for the IPS trainer
and the team.

“IPS reviewer” means a person who is qualified to complete fidelity reviews of IPS services and is
one of the following:

1. A person who has provided IPS services or has supervised an IPS team in Iowa which has
obtained a fidelity score of “good” or better, has completed the IPS Employment Center at Westat’s
training to become an IPS reviewer, and has shadowed one or more IPS fidelity reviews;

2. An existing IPS reviewer from a state which is a member of the IPS International Learning
Collaborative;

3. An IPS reviewer contracted directly from the IPS Employment Center at Westat;

4. A CES with a bachelor’s degree who has completed the IPS Employment Center at Westat’s
training to become an IPS reviewer and has shadowed one or more IPS fidelity reviews.

“IPS team” means, at a minimum, an IPS employment specialist, a behavioral health specialist,
Iowa Vocational Rehabilitation Services (IVRS) counselor, and a case manager or care coordinator.

“IPS trainer” means a person who is qualified to provide training and technical assistance for IPS
implementation and is one of the following:

1. A person who has provided IPS services or has supervised an IPS team in Iowa which has
obtained a fidelity score of “good” or better, and has completed the IPS Employment Center at Westat’s
training to become an IPS trainer;

2. An existing IPS trainer from a state which is a member of the IPS International Learning
Collaborative;

3. An IPS trainer contracted directly from the IPS Employment Center at Westat;
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4. A CES with a bachelor’s degree who has completed the IPS Employment Center at Westat’s
training to become an IPS trainer.

“Major incident” means an occurrence involving a member during service provision that:

1. Results in a physical injury to or by the member that requires a physician’s treatment or
admission to a hospital;

2. Results in the death of any person;

3. Requires emergency mental health treatment for the member;

4. Requires the intervention of law enforcement;

5. Requires a report of child abuse pursuant to lowa Code section 232.69 or a report of dependent
adult abuse pursuant to lowa Code section 235B.3;

6. Constitutes a prescription medication error or a pattern of medication errors that leads to the
outcome in paragraph “1,” “2,” or “3”; or

7. Involves a member’s location being unknown by provider staff who are assigned protective
oversight.

“Managed care organization” means an entity that (1) is under contract with the department to
provide services to Medicaid recipients and (2) meets the definition of “health maintenance organization”
as defined in Iowa Code section 514B.1.

“Member” means a person who has been determined to be eligible for Medicaid under 44 1—Chapter
75.

“Minor incident” means an occurrence involving a member during service provision that is not a
major incident and that:

1. Results in the application of basic first aid;

Results in bruising;

Results in seizure activity;

Results in injury to self, to others, or to property; or
Constitutes a prescr1pt1on medication error.

“Prospectlve IPS team” means a group that is forming an IPS team to deliver IPS services but who
has not yet completed implementation phase 4a.

“Provider-owned or controlled setting” means a setting where the HCBS provider owns the property
where the member resides, leases the property from a third party, or has a direct or indirect financial
relationship with the property owner that impacts either the care provided to or the financial conditions
applicable to the member. The unit or dwelling is a specific physical space that can be owned, rented,
or occupied under a legally enforceable agreement by the member receiving services, and the member
has, at a minimum, the same responsibilities and protections from eviction that tenants have under the
landlord/tenant law of the state, county, city, or other designated entity. For the settings in which landlord
tenant laws do not apply, the state must ensure that a lease, residency agreement or other form of written
agreement will be in place for each HCBS member and that the document provides protections that
address eviction processes and appeals comparable to those provided under the jurisdiction’s landlord
tenant law.

“Provisionally approved IPS team ” means a group that has (1) formed a team to deliver IPS services,
(2) completed implementation phase 4a, and (3) begun to deliver IPS services.

77.25(2) Organization and staff-

a. The prospective provider shall demonstrate the fiscal capacity to initiate and operate the
specified programs on an ongoing basis.

b.  The provider shall complete child abuse, dependent adult abuse, and criminal background
screenings pursuant to lowa Code section 249A.29 before employing a person who will provide direct
care.

¢. A person providing direct care shall be at least 16 years of age.

d. A person providing direct care shall not be an immediate family member of the member.

77.25(@3) Incident management and reporting. As a condition of participation in the medical
assistance program, HCBS habilitation service providers must comply with the requirements of lowa
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Code sections 232.69 and 235B.3 regarding the reporting of child abuse and dependent adult abuse and
with the incident management and reporting requirements in this subrule.

a.  Reporting procedure for minor incidents. Minor incidents may be reported in any format
designated by the provider. When a minor incident occurs or a staff member becomes aware of a minor
incident, the staff member involved shall submit the completed incident report to the staff member’s
supervisor within 72 hours of the incident. The completed report shall be maintained in a centralized
file with a notation in the member’s file.

b.  Reporting procedure for major incidents. When a major incident occurs or a staff member
becomes aware of a major incident:

(1) The staff member involved shall notify the following persons of the incident by the end of the
next calendar day after the incident:

1.  The staff member’s supervisor.

2. The member or the member’s legal guardian. EXCEPTION: Notification to the member is
required only if the incident took place outside of the provider’s service provision. Notification to the
guardian, if any, is always required.

3. The member’s case manager.

(2) By the end of the next calendar day after the incident, the staff member who observed or first
became aware of the incident shall also report as much information as is known about the incident to
the member’s managed care organization in the format defined by the managed care organization. If the
member is not enrolled with a managed care organization, the staff member shall report the information
to the department’s bureau of long-term care either:

1. By direct data entry into the lowa Medicaid Provider Access System, or

2. By faxing or mailing Form 470-4698, Critical Incident Report, according to the directions on
the form.

(3) The following information shall be reported:

1. The name of the member involved.

2. The date and time the incident occurred.

3. A description of the incident.

4. The names of all provider staff and others who were present at the time of the incident or who
responded after becoming aware of the incident. The confidentiality of other members or nonmembers
who were present must be maintained by the use of initials or other means.

5. The action that the provider staff took to manage the incident.

6. The resolution of or follow-up to the incident.

7. The date the report is made and the handwritten or electronic signature of the person making
the report.

(4) Submission of the initial report will generate a workflow in the Individualized Services
Information System (ISIS) for follow-up by the case manager. When complete information about the
incident is not available at the time of the initial report, the provider must submit follow-up reports until
the case manager is satisfied with the incident resolution and follow-up. The completed report shall be
maintained in a centralized file with a notation in the member’s file.

c¢.  Tracking and analysis. The provider shall track incident data and analyze trends to assess
the health and safety of members served and determine if changes need to be made for service
implementation or if staff training is needed to reduce the number or severity of incidents.

77.25(4) Restraint, restriction, and behavioral intervention. The provider shall have in place a
system for the review, approval, and implementation of ethical, safe, humane, and efficient behavioral
intervention procedures. All members receiving home- and community-based habilitation services
shall be afforded the protections imposed by these rules when any restraint, restriction, or behavioral
intervention is implemented.

a.  The system shall include procedures to inform the member and the member’s legal guardian of
the restraint, restriction, and behavioral intervention policy and procedures at the time of service approval
and as changes occur.
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b.  Restraint, restriction, and behavioral intervention shall be used only for reducing or eliminating
maladaptive target behaviors that are identified in the member’s restraint, restriction, or behavioral
intervention program.

¢.  Restraint, restriction, and behavioral intervention procedures shall be designed and
implemented only for the benefit of the member and shall never be used as punishment, for the
convenience of the staff, or as a substitute for a nonaversive program.

d.  Restraint, restriction, and behavioral intervention programs shall be time-limited and shall be
reviewed at least quarterly.

e.  Corporal punishment and verbal or physical abuse are prohibited.

77.25(5) Residential and nonresidential settings.  Effective March 17, 2022, all home- and
community-based services (HCBS), whether residential or nonresidential, shall be provided in
integrated, community-based settings that support full access of individuals receiving Medicaid HCBS
to the greater community, including opportunities to seek employment and work in competitive
integrated settings, engage in community life, control personal resources, and receive services in the
community, to the same degree of access as individuals not receiving Medicaid HCBS. Settings shall
optimize individual initiative, autonomy, and independence in making life choices, including but not
limited to daily activities, physical environment, and with whom to interact.

a. Nursing facilities, institutions for mental diseases, intermediate care facilities for persons with
an intellectual disability, and hospitals are not considered integrated, community-based settings.

b.  Any HCBS setting that is located in a building that is also a publicly or privately operated
facility, identified in paragraph 77.25(5)“a, ” that provides inpatient treatment or in a building on the
grounds of, or immediately adjacent to, a public institution, identified in paragraph 77.25(5) “a, ” or any
setting that has the effect of isolating members receiving Medicaid HCBS from the broader community
will be presumed to be a setting that has the qualities of an institution unless the department conducts a
site-specific review and determines otherwise.

c.  Residential services may be provided in provider-owned or controlled settings. In
provider-owned or controlled residential settings:

(1) The member selects the setting from among setting options, including non-disability-specific
settings and an option for a private unit in a residential setting.

(2) The setting options are identified and documented in the person-centered service plan and are
based on the member’s needs, preferences, and resources available for room and board.

(3) Members have choices regarding services and supports received and who provides them.

(4) Members are assured the rights of privacy, dignity, respect, and freedom from coercion and
undue restraint.

(5) Services and supports shall optimize, but not regiment, individual initiative, autonomy, and
independence in making life choices, including but not limited to daily activities, physical environment,
and with whom to interact.

(6) Each member shall be afforded privacy in the member’s sleeping and living unit. Living unit
entrance doors and bedroom doors may be locked by the member, and only appropriate staff shall have
keys. Staff access to keys must be identified in the member’s person-centered plan.

(7) Members shall have a choice of roommates in that setting.

(8) Members shall have the freedom to furnish and decorate their sleeping or living areas as desired
as permitted by any operative lease or other agreement.

(9) Members shall have the freedom and support to control their own schedules and activities and
shall have access to food at any time.

(10) Members may have visitors of their choosing at any time.

(11) The setting shall be physically accessible to the member.

77.25(6) Case management. A provider is eligible to participate in the home- and community-based
habilitation services program as a provider of case management services if accredited as a case
management provider pursuant to 441—Chapter 24.

77.25(7) Day habilitation.

a. The following providers may provide day habilitation:
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(1) An agency that is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities
to provide services that qualify as day habilitation under 441—subrule 78.27(8).

(2) Anagency that is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities to
provide other services and began providing services that qualify as day habilitation under 441—subrule
78.27(8) since the agency’s last accreditation survey. The agency may provide day habilitation services
until the current accreditation expires. When the current accreditation expires, the agency must qualify
under subparagraph 77.25(7) “a (1), 77.25(7) “a”’(4), or 77.25(7) “a”’(7).

(3) An agency that is not accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation
Facilities but has applied to the Commission within the last 12 months for accreditation to provide
services that qualify as day habilitation under 441—subrule 78.27(8). An agency that has not received
accreditation within 12 months after application to the Commission is no longer a qualified provider.

(4) An agency that is accredited by the Council on Quality and Leadership in Supports for People
with Disabilities.

(5) Anagency that has applied to the Council on Quality and Leadership in Supports for People with
Disabilities for accreditation within the last 12 months. An agency that has not received accreditation
within 12 months after application to the Council is no longer a qualified provider.

(6) An agency that is accredited under 441—Chapter 24 to provide day treatment or supported
community living services.

(7) An agency that is accredited by the International Center for Clubhouse Development.

(8) An agency that is accredited by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare
Organizations.

b.  Direct support staff providing day habilitation services shall meet the following minimum
qualifications in addition to other requirements outlined in administrative rule:

(1) A person providing direct support without line-of-sight supervision shall be at least 18 years
of age and possess a high school diploma or equivalent degree. A person providing direct support with
line-of-sight supervision shall be 16 years of age or older.

(2) A person providing direct support shall not be an immediate family member of the member.

(3) A person providing direct support shall, within six months of hire or within six months of
February 1, 2021, complete at least 9.5 hours of training in supporting members in the activities listed in
701—paragraph 78.27(8) “a, ” as offered through DirectCourse or Relias or other nationally recognized
training curriculum.

(4) A person providing direct support shall annually complete 4 hours of continuing education
in supporting members in the activities listed in 701—paragraph 78.27(8)“a,” as offered through
DirectCourse or Relias or other nationally recognized training curriculum.

77.25(8) Home-based habilitation.

a. The following agencies may provide home-based habilitation services:

(1) An agency that is certified by the department to provide supported community living services
under:

1. The home- and community-based services intellectual disability waiver pursuant to rule
441—77.37(249A); or

2. The home- and community-based services brain injury waiver pursuant to rule
441—77.39(249A).

(2) An agency that is accredited under 441—Chapter 24 to provide supported community living
services.

(3) An agency that is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities
as a community housing or supported living service provider.

(4) An agency that is accredited by the Council on Quality and Leadership in Supports for People
with Disabilities.

(5) An agency that is accredited by the Council on Accreditation of Services for Families and
Children.

(6) An agency that is accredited by the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare
Organizations.
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b.  Direct support staff providing home-based habilitation services shall meet the following
minimum qualifications in addition to the other requirements outlined in this rule:

(1) A person providing direct support shall be at least 18 years old and have a high school diploma
or its equivalent.

(2) A person providing direct support shall not be an immediate family member of the member
receiving services.

(3) A person providing direct support to members receiving intensive residential habilitation
services shall complete 48 hours of training within the first year of employment and 24 hours of training
each year thereafter in mental health and multi-occurring conditions pursuant to 441—subrule 25.6(8).

(4) A person providing direct support to members receiving home-based habilitation services shall
complete a minimum of 24 hours of training within the first year of employment in mental health and
multi-occurring conditions, including but not limited to the following topics:

1.  Mental health diagnoses, symptomology, and treatment;

2. Intervention strategies that may include applied behavioral analysis, motivational interviewing,
or other evidence-based practices;

3. Crisis management, intervention, and de-escalation;

4. Psychiatric medications, common medications, and potential side effects;

5. Member-specific medication protocols, supervision of self-administration of medication, and
documentation;

6. Substance use disorders and treatment;

7.  Other diagnoses or conditions present in the population served; and

8. Individual-person-centered service plan, crisis plan, and behavioral support plan
implementation.

(5) A person providing direct support to members receiving home-based habilitation services shall
complete a minimum of 12 hours of training annually on the topics listed in subparagraph 77.25(8) “b’(4)
or other topics related to serving individuals with severe and persistent mental illness.

c¢.  The department shall approve living units designed to serve up to four persons except as
necessary to prevent an overconcentration of supported community living units in a geographic area.

d.  The department shall approve a living unit designed to serve five persons if both of the following
conditions are met:

(1) Approval will not result in an overconcentration of supported community living units in a
geographic area; and

(2) The county in which the living unit is located provides to the bureau of long-term care
verification in writing that the approval is needed to address one or more of the following issues:

1. The quantity of services currently available in the county is insufficient to meet the need; or

2. The quantity of affordable rental housing in the county is insufficient to meet the need; or

3. Approval will result in a reduction in the size or quantity of larger congregate settings.

77.25(9) Prevocational habilitation.

a. The following providers may provide prevocational services:

(1) An agency that is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities
as an organizational employment service provider or a community employment service provider.

(2) An agency that is accredited by the Council on Quality and Leadership.

(3) An agency that is accredited by the International Center for Clubhouse Development.

(4) An agency that is certified by the department to provide prevocational services under:

1. The home- and community-based services intellectual disability waiver pursuant to rule
441—77.37(249A); or

2. The home- and community-based services brain injury waiver pursuant to rule
441—77.39(249A).

b.  Providers responsible for the payroll of members shall have policies that ensure compliance
with state and federal labor laws and regulations, which include, but are not limited to:

(1) Subminimum wage laws and regulations, including the Workforce Investment Opportunity Act.

(2) Member vacation, sick leave and holiday compensation.
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(3) Procedures for payment schedules and pay scale.

(4) Procedures for provision of workers’ compensation insurance.

(5) Procedures for the determination and review of commensurate wages.

c¢.  Direct support staff providing prevocational services shall meet the following minimum
qualifications in addition to other requirements outlined in administrative rule:

(1) A person providing direct support without line-of-sight supervision shall be at least 18 years
of age and possess a high school diploma or equivalent degree. A person providing direct support with
line-of-sight supervision shall be 16 years of age or older.

(2) A person providing direct support shall not be an immediate family member of the member.

(3) A person providing direct support shall, within 6 months of hire or within 6 months of May
4, 2016, complete at least 9.5 hours of employment service training as offered through DirectCourse or
through the Association of Community Rehabilitation Educators (ACRE) certified training program.

(4) Prevocational direct support staff shall complete 4 hours of continuing education in employment
services annually.

77.25(10) Supported employment habilitation.

a. The following agencies may provide supported employment services:

(1) Anagency that is certified by the department to provide supported employment services under:

1. The home- and community-based services intellectual disability waiver pursuant to rule
441—77.37(249A); or

2. The home- and community-based services brain injury waiver pursuant to rule
441—77.39(249A).

(2) An agency that is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities
as an organizational employment service provider or a community employment service provider.

(3) An agency that is accredited by the Council on Accreditation.

(4) An agency that is accredited by the Joint Commission.

(5) An agency that is accredited by the Council on Quality and Leadership.

(6) An agency that is accredited by the International Center for Clubhouse Development.

b.  Providers responsible for the payroll of members shall have policies that ensure compliance
with state and federal labor laws and regulations, which include, but are not limited to:

(1) Subminimum wage laws and regulations, including the Workforce Investment Opportunity Act.

(2) Member vacation, sick leave and holiday compensation.

(3) Procedures for payment schedules and pay scale.

(4) Procedures for provision of workers’ compensation insurance.

(5) Procedures for the determination and review of commensurate wages.

Direct support staff providing individual or small-group supported employment or long-term
job coaching services shall meet the following minimum qualifications in addition to other requirements
outlined in administrative rule:

(1) Individual supported employment: bachelor’s degree or commensurate experience, preferably
in human services, sociology, psychology, education, human resources, marketing, sales or business. The
person must also hold nationally recognized certification (ACRE or College of Employment Services
(CES) or similar) as an employment specialist or must earn this credential within 24 months of hire.

(2) Long-term job coaching: associate degree, or high school diploma or equivalent and 6 months’
relevant experience. A person providing direct support shall, within 6 months of hire or within 6
months of May 4, 2016, complete at least 9.5 hours of employment services training as offered through
DirectCourse or through the ACRE certified training program. The person must also hold or obtain,
within 24 months of hire, nationally recognized certification in job training and coaching.

(3) Small-group supported employment: associate degree, or high school diploma or equivalent
and 6 months’ relevant experience. A person providing direct support shall, within 6 months of hire or
within 6 months of May 4, 2016, complete at least 9.5 hours of employment services training as offered
through DirectCourse or through the ACRE certified training program. The person must also hold or
obtain, within 24 months of hire, nationally recognized certification in job training and coaching.
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(4) Supported employment direct support staff shall complete 4 hours of continuing education in
employment services annually.

d.  Providers qualified to offer IPS services shall meet the following requirements:

(1) Providers shall meet the provider qualifications listed in this subrule.

(2) Providers shall be accredited to provide supported employment and have provided supported
employment for a minimum of two years.

(3) Providers shall demonstrate adequate funding has been secured for the training and technical
assistance required for IPS implementation. Adequate funding is defined as at least the amount required
for the start-up of one IPS team to complete all phases of IPS implementation. Evidence of such funding
shall be made available to the department at the time of enrollment. Evidence may include a written
funding agreement or other documentation from the funder.

(4) Providers shall receive training and technical assistance throughout IPS implementation from
an IPS trainer. Evidence of the IPS team’s agreement for such training and technical assistance shall be
made available to the department at the time of enrollment.

(5) Prospective IPS teams shall complete IPS implementation as defined in subrule 77.25(1) and
as outlined by the IPS Employment Center at Westat.

(6) Prospective IPS teams are provisionally approved until the IPS team has obtained at least a
“fair” score on a baseline fidelity review completed by IPS reviewers.

(7) Provisionally approved IPS teams shall complete IPS implementation phases 1 through 4a
within 12 months of enrolling.

(8) Upon completion of IPS implementation phase 4a, provisionally approved IPS teams shall
deliver IPS services according to the IPS outcomes model.

(9) Upon completion of IPS implementation phase 7, IPS teams are qualified to deliver IPS services,
subject to the following:

1. IPS teams must obtain a baseline fidelity review score of “fair” or better within 14 months of
completion of IPS implementation phase 1. The fidelity review must be completed by IPS reviewers.
The fidelity reviews shall be provided to the department upon receipt by the IPS team.

2. In the event an IPS team fails to achieve a fidelity score of “fair” or better, the IPS team shall
receive technical assistance to address areas recommended for improvement as identified in the fidelity
review. If the subsequent fidelity review results in a score of less than “fair” fidelity, the IPS team will
be provisionally approved for no more than 12 months or until the fidelity score again reaches “fair”
fidelity, whichever date is earliest.

3. IPS teams who do not achieve a “fair” fidelity score within 12 months from being provisionally
approved will no longer be qualified to deliver IPS services until they again reach the minimum “fair”
fidelity score.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A 4.
[ARC 7936B, 1AB 7/1/09, effective 9/1/09; ARC 9314B, IAB 12/29/10, effective 3/1/11; ARC 0848C, IAB 7/24/13, effective 7/1/13;
ARC 1051C, IAB 10/2/13, effective 11/6/13; ARC 2361C, IAB 1/6/16, effective 1/1/16; ARC 2471C, 1AB 3/30/16, effective 5/4/16;
ARC 3184C, IAB 7/5/17, eftective 8/9/17; ARC 3874C, IAB 7/4/18, eftective 8/8/18; ARC 5307C, IAB 12/2/20, effective 2/1/21;
ARC 5809C, IAB 7/28/21, effective 9/1/21; ARC 5889C, 1AB 9/8/21, effective 11/1/21]

441—77.26(249A) Behavioral health services. The following persons are eligible to participate in the
Medicaid program as providers of behavioral health services.

77.26(1) Licensed marital and family therapists (LMFT). Any person licensed by the board
of behavioral science as a marital and family therapist pursuant to 645—Chapter 31 is eligible to
participate. A marital and family therapist in another state is eligible to participate when duly licensed
to practice in that state.

77.26(2) Temporarily licensed marital and family therapists. Any person who holds a temporary
license to practice marital and family therapy pursuant to lowa Code section 154D.7 is eligible to
participate when the temporarily licensed marital and family therapist provides treatment under the
supervision of a qualified marital and family therapist as determined by the board of behavioral science
by rule. Claims for payment for such services must be submitted by the supervising licensed marital
and family therapist.
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77.26(3) Licensed independent social workers (LISW). Any person licensed by the board of social
work as an independent social worker pursuant to 645—Chapter 280 is eligible to participate. An
independent social worker in another state is eligible to participate when duly licensed to practice in
that state.

77.26(4) Licensed master social workers (LMSW).

a. A person licensed by the board of social work as a master social worker pursuant to
645—Chapter 280 is eligible to participate when the person:

(1) Holds a master’s or doctoral degree as approved by the board of social work; and

(2) Provides treatment under the supervision of an independent social worker licensed pursuant to
645—Chapter 280.

b. A master social worker in another state is eligible to participate when the person:

(1) Is duly licensed to practice in that state; and

(2) Provides treatment under the supervision of an independent social worker duly licensed in that
state.

77.26(5) Licensed mental health counselors (LMC). Any person licensed by the board of behavioral
science as a mental health counselor pursuant to lowa Code chapter 154D and 645—Chapter 31 is eligible
to participate. A mental health counselor in another state is eligible to participate when duly licensed to
practice in that state.

77.26(6) Temporarily licensed mental health counselors. Any person temporarily licensed by the
board of behavioral science as a mental health counselor pursuant to lowa Code section 154D.7 is
eligible to participate when the temporarily licensed mental health counselor provides treatment under
the supervision of a qualified mental health counselor as determined by the board of behavioral science
by rule. Claims for payment for such services must be submitted by the supervising licensed mental
health counselor.

77.26(7) Certified alcohol and drug counselors. Any person certified by the nongovernmental lowa
board of substance abuse certification as an alcohol and drug counselor is eligible to participate.

77.26(8) Licensed behavior analysts. Any person licensed by the board of behavioral science as a
behavior analyst pursuant to lowa Code chapter 154D is eligible to participate. A licensed behavior
analyst in another state is eligible to participate when duly licensed to practice in that state.

77.26(9) Licensed assistant behavior analysts. A person licensed by the board of behavioral science
as an assistant behavior analyst pursuant to lowa Code chapter 154D is eligible to participate when the
licensed assistant behavior analyst:

a. Holds current certification as an assistant behavior analyst by a certifying entity; and

b.  Provides treatment under the supervision of a behavior analyst licensed pursuant to lowa Code
chapter 154D. Claims for payment for such services must be submitted by the supervising licensed
behavior analyst.

77.26(10) Registered behavior technicians.

a. A person is eligible to participate as a registered behavior technician when the person holds:

(1) A current certification from the Behavior Analyst Certification Board as a registered behavior
technician; or

(2) A bachelor’s degree.

b. A registered behavior technician must provide treatment under the supervision of a behavior
analyst or assistant behavior analyst licensed pursuant to lowa Code chapter 154D. Claims for payment
for such services must be submitted by the supervising licensed behavior analyst.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code chapter 249A.
[ARC 9649B, 1AB 8/10/11, effective 8/1/11; ARC 4165C, IAB 12/5/18, effective 1/9/19; ARC 6388C, IAB 6/29/22, effective 9/1/22]

441—77.27(249A) Birth centers. Birth centers are eligible to participate in the Medicaid program if
they are licensed or receive reimbursement from at least two third-party payors.
This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A .4.
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441—77.28(249A) Area education agencies. An area education agency is eligible to participate in the
Medicaid program when it has a plan for providing comprehensive special education programs and
services approved by the lowa department of education. Covered services shall be provided by personnel
who are licensed, endorsed, or registered as provided in this rule and shall be within the scope of the
applicable license, endorsement, or registration.

77.28(1) Personnel providing audiological or speech-language services shall be licensed by the
Iowa board of speech pathology and audiology as a speech pathologist or audiologist pursuant to
645—Chapters 299, 300 and 303 through 305.

77.28(2) Personnel providing physical therapy shall be licensed by the Iowa board of physical and
occupational therapy as a physical therapist pursuant to 645—Chapters 199 through 204.

77.28(3) Personnel providing occupational therapy shall be licensed by the Iowa board of physical
and occupational therapy as an occupational therapist pursuant to 645—Chapters 205 through 210.

77.28(4) Personnel providing psychological evaluations and counseling or psychotherapy services
shall be:

a. Endorsed by the Iowa board of educational examiners as a school psychologist pursuant to
282—subrule 27.3(3);

b.  Licensed by the Iowa board of psychology as a psychologist pursuant to 645—Chapters 239
through 243;

c¢.  Licensed by the lowa board of social work as a social worker pursuant to 645—Chapters 279
through 284;

d. Licensed by the Iowa board of medicine as a physician pursuant to 653—Chapters 9 through
11; or

e. Registered by the lowa nursing board as an advanced registered nurse practitioner pursuant to
655—Chapter 7.

77.28(5) Personnel providing nursing services shall be licensed by the lowa nursing board as a
registered or licensed practical nurse pursuant to 655—Chapters 3 through 6.

77.28(6) Personnel providing vision services shall be:

a. Licensed by the Iowa nursing board as a registered or licensed practical nurse pursuant to
655—Chapters 3 through 6;

b.  Licensed by the lowa board of medicine as a physician pursuant to 653—Chapters 9 through
11; or

c¢.  Licensed by the lowa board of optometry as an optometrist pursuant to 645—Chapter 180.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A.4.
[ARC 1807C, 1AB 1/7/15, effective 3/1/15]

441—77.29(249A) Case management provider organizations. Case management provider
organizations are eligible to participate in the Medicaid program provided that they meet the standards
for the populations being served. Providers shall meet the following standards:

77.291) Standards in 441—Chapter 24. Providers shall be accredited as case management
providers pursuant to 441—Chapter 24 as a condition of providing case management services to persons
with an intellectual disability, developmental disabilities or chronic mental illness.

77.29(2) Standards in 441—Chapter 186. Rescinded IAB 10/12/05, effective 10/1/05.

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code section 249A 4.
[ARC 3184C, IAB 7/5/17, effective 8/9/17; ARC 6310C, IAB 5/4/22, effective 7/1/22]

441—77.30(249A) HCBS health and disability waiver service providers. HCBS health and disability
waiver services shall be rendered by a person who is at least 16 years old (except as otherwise provided
in this rule) and is not the spouse of the member served or the parent or stepparent of a member aged
17 or under. People who are 16 or 17 years old must be employed and supervised by an enrolled
HCBS provider unless they are employed to provide self-directed personal care services through the
consumer choices option. A person hired for self-directed personal care services need not be supervised
by an enrolled HCBS provider. A provider hired through the consumer choices option for independent
support brokerage, self-directed personal care, individual-directed goods and services, or self-directed


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/645.299.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/645.300.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/645.303.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/282.27.3.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/655.7.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/645.180.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/section/249A.4.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/1807C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/441.24.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/bulletin/10-12-2005.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/section/249A.4.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/3184C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/6310C.pdf

Ch 77, p.18 Human Services[441] IAC 6/29/22

community support and employment is not required to enroll as a Medicaid provider. The following
providers shall be eligible to participate in the Medicaid HCBS health and disability waiver program if
they meet the standards in subrule 77.30(18) and the integrated, community-based settings standards in
subrule 77.25(5) and also meet the standards set forth below for the service to be provided:

77.30(1) Homemaker providers. Homemaker providers shall be agencies that are:

a. Certified as a home health agency under Medicare, or

b.  Authorized to provide similar services through a contract with the department of public health
(IDPH) for local public health services. The agency must provide a current IDPH local public health
services contract number.

77.30(2) Home health aide providers. Home health aide providers shall be agencies which are
certified to participate in the Medicare program.

77.30(3) Adult day care providers. Adult day care providers shall be agencies that are certified by the
department of inspections and appeals as being in compliance with the standards for adult day services
programs at 481—Chapter 70.

77.30(4) Nursing care providers. Nursing care providers shall be agencies which are certified to
participate in the Medicare program as home health agencies.

77.30(5) Respite care providers.

a. The following agencies may provide respite services:

(1) Home health agencies that are certified to participate in the Medicare program.

(2) Respite providers certified under the home- and community-based services intellectual
disability or brain injury waiver.

(3) Nursing facilities, intermediate care facilities for the mentally retarded, and hospitals enrolled
as providers in the lowa Medicaid program.

(4) Group living foster care facilities for children licensed by the department according to
441—Chapters 112 and 114 to 116 and child care centers licensed according to 441—Chapter 109.

(5) Camps certified by the American Camping Association.

(6) Home care agencies that meet the conditions of participation set forth in subrule 77.30(1).

(7) Adult day care providers that meet the conditions of participation set forth in subrule 77.30(3).

(8) Residential care facilities for persons with mental retardation licensed by the department of
inspections and appeals.

(9) Assisted living programs certified by the department of inspections and appeals.

b.  Respite providers shall meet the following conditions:

(1) Providers shall maintain the following information that shall be updated at least annually:

1. The consumer’s name, birth date, age, and address and the telephone number of each parent,
guardian or primary caregiver.

2. An emergency medical care release.

3. Emergency contact telephone numbers such as the number of the consumer’s physician and the
parents, guardian, or primary caregiver.

4. The consumer’s medical issues, including allergies.

5. The consumer’s daily schedule which includes the consumer’s preferences in activities or foods
or any other special concerns.

(2) Procedures shall be developed for the dispensing, storage, authorization, and recording of all
prescription and nonprescription medications administered. Home health agencies must follow Medicare
regulations for medication dispensing.

All medications shall be stored in their original containers, with the accompanying physician’s or
pharmacist’s directions and label intact. Medications shall be stored so they are inaccessible to consumers
and the public. Nonprescription medications shall be labeled with the consumer’s name.

In the case of medications that are administered on an ongoing, long-term basis, authorization shall
be obtained for a period not to exceed the duration of the prescription.

(3) Policies shall be developed for:
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1. Notifying the parent, guardian or primary caregiver of any injuries or illnesses that occur during
respite provision. A parent’s, guardian’s or primary caregiver’s signature is required to verify receipt of
notification.

2. Requiring the parent, guardian or primary caregiver to notify the respite provider of any injuries
or illnesses that occurred prior to respite provision.

3. Documenting activities and times of respite. This documentation shall be made available to the
parent, guardian or primary caregiver upon request.

4. Ensuring the safety and privacy of the individual. Policies shall at a minimum address threat
of fire, tornado, or flood and bomb threats.

c. A facility providing respite under this subrule shall not exceed the facility’s licensed capacity,
and services shall be provided in locations consistent with licensure.

d.  Respite provided outside the consumer’s home or the facility covered by the licensure,
certification, accreditation, or contract must be approved by the parent, guardian or primary caregiver
and the interdisciplinary team and must be consistent with the way the location is used by the general
public. Respite in these locations shall not exceed 72 continuous hours.

77.30(6) Counseling providers. Counseling providers shall be:

a. Agencies which are certified under the community mental health center standards established
by the mental health and developmental disabilities commission, set forth in 441—Chapter 24, Divisions
I and III.

b.  Agencies which are licensed as meeting the hospice standards and requirements set forth in
department of inspections and appeals rules 481—Chapter 53 or which are certified to meet the standards
under the Medicare program for hospice programs.

c.  Agencies which are accredited under the mental health service provider standards established
by the mental health and developmental disabilities commission, set forth in 441—Chapter 24, Divisions
I and IV.

77.30(7) Consumer-directed attendant care providers. The following providers may provide
consumer-directed attendant care service:

a.  An individual who contracts with the member to provide attendant care service and who is:

(1) At least 18 years of age.

(2) Qualified by training or experience to carry out the member’s plan of care pursuant to the
department-approved case plan or individual comprehensive plan.

(3) Not the spouse of the member or a parent or stepparent of a member aged 17 or under.

(4) Not the recipient of respite services paid through home- and community-based services on
behalf of a member who receives home- and community-based services.

b.  Agencies authorized to provide similar services through a contract with the department of public
health (IDPH) for local public health services. The agency must provide a current IDPH local public
health services contract number.

c¢.  Home health agencies which are certified to participate in the Medicare program.

d.  Chore providers subcontracting with area agencies on aging or with letters of approval from
the area agencies on aging stating that the organization is qualified to provide chore services.

e. Community action agencies as designated in lowa Code section 216A.93.

£~ Providers certified under an HCBS waiver for supported community living.

g Assisted living programs that are certified by the department of inspections and appeals under
481—Chapter 69.

h.  Adult day service providers that are certified by the department of inspections and appeals under
481—Chapter 70.

77.30(8) Interim medical monitoring and treatment providers.

a. The following providers may provide interim medical monitoring and treatment services:

(1) Home health agencies certified to participate in the Medicare program.

(2) Supported community living providers certified according to subrule 77.37(14) or 77.39(13).

b.  Staffrequirements. Staff members providing interim medical monitoring and treatment services
to members shall meet all of the following requirements:
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(1) Be at least 18 years of age.

(2) Not be the spouse of the member or a parent or stepparent of the member if the member is aged
17 or under.

(3) Not be a usual caregiver of the member.

(4) Be qualified by training or experience to provide medical intervention or intervention in a
medical emergency necessary to carry out the member’s plan of care. The training or experience
required must be determined by the member’s usual caregivers and a licensed medical professional on
the member’s interdisciplinary team and must be documented in the member’s service plan.

c.  Service documentation. Providers shall maintain clinical and fiscal records necessary to fully
disclose the extent of services furnished to members. Records shall specify by service date the procedures
performed, together with information concerning progress of treatment.

77.30(9) Home and vehicle modification providers. The following providers may provide home and
vehicle modification:

a. Area agencies on aging as designated in 17—4.4(231).

b.  Community action agencies as designated in lowa Code section 216A.93.

c¢.  Providers eligible to participate as home and vehicle modification providers under the elderly
waiver, enrolled as home and vehicle modification providers under the physical disability waiver, or
certified as home and vehicle modification providers under the home- and community-based services
intellectual disability or brain injury waiver.

d. Community businesses that have all necessary licenses and permits to operate in conformity
with federal, state, and local laws and regulations, and that submit verification of current liability and
workers’ compensation coverage.

77.30(10) Personal emergency response system providers. Personal emergency response system
providers shall be agencies that meet the conditions of participation set forth in subrule 77.33(2).

77.30(11) Home-delivered meals. The following providers may provide home-delivered meals:

a. Area agencies on aging as designated in 17—4.4(231). Home-delivered meals providers
subcontracting with area agencies on aging or with letters of approval from the area agencies on
aging stating the organization is qualified to provide home-delivered meals services may also provide
home-delivered meals services.

b.  Community action agencies as designated in lowa Code section 216A.93.

Nursing facilities licensed pursuant to lowa Code chapter 135C.

Restaurants licensed and inspected under lowa Code chapter 137F.

Hospitals enrolled as Medicaid providers.

Home health aide providers meeting the standards set forth in subrule 77.33(3).
Medical equipment and supply dealers certified to participate in the Medicaid program.
Home care providers meeting the standards set forth in subrule 77.33(4).

77 30(12) Nutritional counseling. The following providers may provide nutritional counseling by a
dietitian licensed under 645—Chapter 81:

a. Hospitals enrolled as Medicaid providers.

b.  Community action agencies as designated in lowa Code section 216A.93.

¢.  Nursing facilities licensed pursuant to lowa Code chapter 135C.

d.  Home health agencies certified by Medicare.

e. Independent licensed dietitians approved by an area agency on aging.

77.30(13) Financial management service. Members who elect the consumer choices option shall
work with a financial institution that meets the following qualifications.

a. The financial institution shall either:

(1) Be cooperative, nonprofit, member-owned and member-controlled, and federally insured
through and chartered by either the National Credit Union Administration (NCUA) or the credit union
division of the Iowa department of commerce; or

(2) Be chartered by the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, a bureau of the U.S. Department
of the Treasury, and insured by the Federal Deposit Insurance Corporation (FDIC).
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b. The financial institution shall complete a financial management readiness review and
certification conducted by the department or its designee.

c¢. The financial institution shall obtain an Internal Revenue Service federal employee
identification number dedicated to the financial management service.

d.  The financial institution shall enroll as a Medicaid provider.

77.30(14) Independent support brokerage. Members who elect the consumer choices option shall
work with an independent support broker who meets the following qualifications.

a. The broker must be at least 18 years of age.

b.  The broker shall not be the member’s guardian, conservator, attorney in fact under a durable
power of attorney for health care, power of attorney for financial matters, trustee, or representative payee.

c¢.  The broker shall not provide any other paid service to the member.

d.  The broker shall not work for an individual or entity that is providing services to the member.

e.  The broker must consent to a criminal background check and child and dependent adult abuse
checks. The results shall be provided to the member.

£~ The broker must complete independent support brokerage training approved by the department.

77.30(15) Self-directed personal care. Members who elect the consumer choices option may choose
to purchase self-directed personal care services from an individual or business that meets the following
requirements.

a. A business providing self-directed personal care services shall:

(1) Have all the necessary licenses and permits to operate in conformity with federal, state, and
local laws and regulations; and

(2) Have current liability and workers’ compensation coverage.

b.  Anindividual providing self-directed personal care services shall have all the necessary licenses
required by federal, state, and local laws, including a valid driver’s license if providing transportation.

c.  All personnel providing self-directed personal care services shall:

(1) Be at least 16 years of age.

(2) Be able to communicate successfully with the member.

(3) Not be the recipient of respite services paid through home- and community-based services on
behalf of a member who receives home- and community-based services.

(4) Not be the recipient of respite services paid through the consumer choices option on behalf of
a member who receives the consumer choices option.

(5) Not be the parent or stepparent of a minor child member or the spouse of a member.

d.  The provider of self-directed personal care services shall:

(1) Prepare timecards or invoices approved by the department that identify what services were
provided and the time when services were provided.

(2) Submit invoices and timesheets to the financial management service no later than 30 calendar
days from the date when the last service in the billing period was provided. Payment shall not be made
if invoices and timesheets are received after this 30-day period.

77.30(16) Individual-directed goods and services. Members who elect the consumer choices option
may choose to purchase individual-directed goods and services from an individual or business that meets
the following requirements.

a. A business providing individual-directed goods and services shall:

(1) Have all the necessary licenses and permits to operate in conformity with federal, state, and
local laws and regulations; and

(2) Have current liability and workers’ compensation coverage.

b.  An individual providing individual-directed goods and services shall have all the necessary
licenses required by federal, state, and local laws, including a valid driver’s license if providing
transportation.

c.  All personnel providing individual-directed goods and services shall:

(1) Be at least 18 years of age.

(2) Be able to communicate successfully with the member.



Ch 77, p.22 Human Services[441] IAC 6/29/22

(3) Not be the recipient of respite services paid through home- and community-based services on
behalf of a member who receives home- and community-based services.

(4) Not be the recipient of respite services paid through the consumer choices option on behalf of
a member who receives the consumer choices option.

(5) Not be the parent or stepparent of a minor child member or the spouse of a member.

d.  The provider of individual-directed goods and services shall:

(1) Prepare timecards or invoices approved by the department that identify what services were
provided and the time when services were provided.

(2) Submit invoices and timesheets to the financial management service no later than 30 calendar
days from the date when the last service in the billing period was provided. Payment shall not be made
if invoices and timesheets are received after this 30-day period.

77.30(17) Self-directed community supports and employment. Members who elect the consumer
choices option may choose to purchase self-directed community supports and employment from an
individual or business that meets the following requirements.

a. A business providing community supports and employment shall:

(1) Have all the necessary licenses and permits to operate in conformity with federal, state, and
local laws and regulations; and

(2) Have current liability and workers’ compensation coverage.

b.  An individual providing self-directed community supports and employment shall have all the
necessary licenses required by federal, state, and local laws, including a valid driver’s license if providing
transportation.

c.  All personnel providing self-directed community supports and employment shall:

(1) Be at least 18 years of age.

(2) Be able to communicate successfully with the member.

(3) Not be the recipient of respite services paid through home- and community-based services on
behalf of a member who receives home- and community-based services.

(4) Not be the recipient of respite services paid through the consumer choices option on behalf of
a member who receives the consumer choices option.

(5) Not be the parent or stepparent of a minor child member or the spouse of a member.

d.  The provider of self-directed community supports and employment shall:

(1) Prepare timecards or invoices approved by the department that identify what services were
provided and the time when services were provided.

(2) Submit invoices and timesheets to the financial management service no later than 30 calendar
days from the date when the last service in the billing period was provided. Payment shall not be made
if invoices and timesheets are received after this 30-day period.

77.30(18) Incident management and reporting. As a condition of participation in the medical
assistance program, HCBS health and disability waiver service providers must comply with the
requirements of lowa Code sections 232.69 and 235B.3 regarding the reporting of child abuse and
dependent adult abuse and with the incident management and reporting requirements in this subrule.
EXCEPTION: The conditions in this subrule do not apply to providers of goods and services purchased
under the consumer choices option or providers of home and vehicle modification, home-delivered
meals, or personal emergency response.

a.  Definitions.

“Major incident” means an occurrence involving a consumer during service provision that:

1. Results in a physical injury to or by the consumer that requires a physician’s treatment or
admission to a hospital;

2. Results in the death of any person;

3. Requires emergency mental health treatment for the consumer;

4. Requires the intervention of law enforcement;

5. Requires a report of child abuse pursuant to lowa Code section 232.69 or a report of dependent
adult abuse pursuant to lowa Code section 235B.3;
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6. Constitutes a prescription medication error or a pattern of medication errors that leads to the
outcome in paragraph “1,” “2,” or “3”; or

7. Involves a consumer’s location being unknown by provider staff who are assigned protective
oversight.

“Minor incident” means an occurrence involving a consumer during service provision that is not a
major incident and that:

1. Results in the application of basic first aid;

Results in bruising;

Results in seizure activity;

Results in injury to self, to others, or to property; or
Constitutes a prescription medication error.

b.  Reporting procedure for minor incidents. Minor incidents may be reported in any format
designated by the provider. When a minor incident occurs or a staff member becomes aware of a minor
incident, the staff member involved shall submit the completed incident report to the staff member’s
supervisor within 72 hours of the incident. The completed report shall be maintained in a centralized
file with a notation in the consumer’s file.

¢.  Reporting procedure for major incidents. When a major incident occurs or a staff member
becomes aware of a major incident:

(1) The staff member involved shall notify the following persons of the incident by the end of the
next calendar day after the incident:

1.  The staff member’s supervisor.

2. The consumer or the consumer’s legal guardian. EXCEPTION: Notification to the consumer is
required only if the incident took place outside of the provider’s service provision. Notification to the
guardian, if any, is always required.

3. The consumer’s case manager.

(2) By the end of the next calendar day after the incident, the staff member who observed or first
became aware of the incident shall also report as much information as is known about the incident to
the member’s managed care organization in the format defined by the managed care organization. If the
member is not enrolled with a managed care organization, the staff member shall report the information
to the department’s bureau of long-term care either:

1. By direct data entry into the lowa Medicaid Provider Access System, or

2. By faxing or mailing Form 470-4698, Critical Incident Report, according to the directions on
the form.

(3) The following information shall be reported:

1. The name of the consumer involved.

2. The date and time the incident occurred.

3. A description of the incident.

4. The names of all provider staff and others who were present at the time of the incident or
who responded after becoming aware of the incident. The confidentiality of other waiver-eligible or
non-waiver-eligible consumers who were present must be maintained by the use of initials or other
means.

5. The action that the provider staff took to manage the incident.

6. The resolution of or follow-up to the incident.

7. The date the report is made and the handwritten or electronic signature of the person making
the report.

(4) Submission of the initial report will generate a workflow in the Individualized Services
Information System (ISIS) for follow-up by the case manager. When complete information about the
incident is not available at the time of the initial report, the provider must submit follow-up reports until
the case manager is satisfied with the incident resolution and follow-up. The completed report shall be
maintained in a centralized file with a notation in the consumer’s file.
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d.  Tracking and analysis. The provider shall track incident data and analyze trends to assess
the health and safety of consumers served and determine if changes need to be made for service
implementation or if staff training is needed to reduce the number or severity of incidents.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A .4.
[ARC 7936B, IAB 7/1/09, effective 9/1/09; ARC 9314B, IAB 12/29/10, effective 3/1/11; ARC 0757C, IAB 5/29/13, effective 8/1/13;
ARC 1149C, IAB 10/30/13, effective 1/1/14; ARC 2361C, IAB 1/6/16, effective 1/1/16; ARC 3874C, IAB 7/4/18, effective 8/8/18]

441—77.31(249A) Occupational therapists. Occupational therapists are eligible to participate if they
are licensed and in private practice independent of the administrative and professional control of an
employer such as a physician, institution, or rehabilitation agency. Licensed occupational therapists in
an independent group practice are eligible to enroll.

77.31(1) Occupational therapists in other states are eligible to participate if they are licensed in that
state and meet the Medicare criteria for enrollment.

77.31(2) Occupational therapists who provide services to Medicaid members who are also Medicare
beneficiaries must be enrolled in the Medicare program.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A 4.

441—77.32(249A) Hospice providers. Hospice providers are eligible to participate in the Medicaid
program providing they are certified to participate in the Medicare program.
This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A 4.

441—77.33(249A) HCBS elderly waiver service providers. HCBS elderly waiver services shall be
rendered by a person who is at least 16 years old (except as otherwise provided in this rule) and is
not the spouse of the consumer served or the parent or stepparent of a consumer aged 17 or under.
People who are 16 or 17 years old must be employed and supervised by an enrolled HCBS provider
unless they are employed to provide self-directed personal care services through the consumer choices
option. A person hired for self-directed personal care services need not be supervised by an enrolled
HCBS provider. A person hired through the consumer choices option for independent support brokerage,
self-directed personal care, individual-directed goods and services, or self-directed community support
and employment is not required to enroll as a Medicaid provider. The following providers shall be
eligible to participate in the Medicaid HCBS elderly waiver program if they meet the standards in subrule
77.33(22) and the integrated, community-based settings standards in subrule 77.25(5) and also meet the
standards set forth below for the service to be provided:

77.33(1) Adult day care providers. Adult day care providers shall be agencies that are certified by the
department of inspections and appeals as being in compliance with the standards for adult day services
programs at 481—Chapter 70.

77.33(2) Emergency response system providers. Emergency response system providers must meet
the following standards:

a. The agency shall provide an electronic component to transmit a coded signal via digital
equipment over telephone lines to a central monitoring station. The central monitoring station must
operate receiving equipment and be fully staffed by trained attendants, 24 hours a day, seven days per
week. The attendants must process emergency calls and ensure the timely notification of appropriate
emergency resources to be dispatched to the person in need.

b.  The agency, parent agency, institution or corporation shall have the necessary legal authority to
operate in conformity with federal, state and local laws and regulations.

c¢.  There shall be a governing authority which is responsible for establishing policy and ensuring
effective control of services and finances. The governing authority shall employ or contract for an agency
administrator to whom authority and responsibility for overall agency administration are delegated.

d.  The agency or institution shall be in compliance with all legislation relating to prohibition of
discriminatory practices.

e.  There shall be written policies and procedures established to explain how the service operates,
agency responsibilities, client responsibilities and cost information.
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77.33(3) Home health aide providers. Home health aide providers shall be agencies certified to
participate in the Medicare program as home health agencies.

77.33(4) Homemaker providers. Homemaker providers shall be agencies that are:

a. Certified as a home health agency under Medicare, or

b.  Authorized to provide similar services through a contract with the department of public health
(IDPH) for local public health services. The agency must provide a current IDPH local public health
services contract number.

77.33(5) Nursing care. Nursing care providers shall be agencies which are certified to participate in
the Medicare program as home health agencies.

77.33(6) Respite care providers.

a. The following agencies may provide respite services:

(1) Home health agencies that are certified to participate in the Medicare program.

(2) Nursing facilities and hospitals enrolled as providers in the lowa Medicaid program.

(3) Camps certified by the American Camping Association.

(4) Respite providers certified under the home- and community-based services intellectual
disability waiver.

(5) Home care agencies that meet the conditions of participation set forth in subrule 77.33(4).

(6) Adult day care providers that meet the conditions set forth in subrule 77.33(1).

(7) Assisted living programs certified by the department of inspections and appeals.

b.  Respite providers shall meet the following conditions:

(1) Providers shall maintain the following information that shall be updated at least annually:

1. The consumer’s name, birth date, age, and address and the telephone number of the spouse,
guardian or primary caregiver.

2. An emergency medical care release.

3. Emergency contact telephone numbers such as the number of the consumer’s physician and the
spouse, guardian, or primary caregiver.

4. The consumer’s medical issues, including allergies.

5. The consumer’s daily schedule which includes the consumer’s preferences in activities or foods
or any other special concerns.

(2) Procedures shall be developed for the dispensing, storage, authorization, and recording of all
prescription and nonprescription medications administered. Home health agencies must follow Medicare
regulations for medication dispensing.

All medications shall be stored in their original containers, with the accompanying physician’s or
pharmacist’s directions and label intact. Medications shall be stored so they are inaccessible to consumers
and the public. Nonprescription medications shall be labeled with the consumer’s name.

In the case of medications that are administered on an ongoing, long-term basis, authorization shall
be obtained for a period not to exceed the duration of the prescription.

(3) Policies shall be developed for:

1. Notifying the spouse, guardian, or primary caregiver of any injuries or illnesses that occur
during respite provision. A spouse’s, guardian’s or primary caregiver’s signature is required to verify
receipt of notification.

2. Requiring the spouse, guardian or primary caregiver to notify the respite provider of any injuries
or illnesses that occurred prior to respite provision.

3. Documenting activities and times of respite. This documentation shall be made available to the
spouse, guardian or primary caregiver upon request.

4. Ensuring the safety and privacy of the individual. Policies shall at a minimum address threat
of fire, tornado, or flood and bomb threats.

c. A facility providing respite under this subrule shall not exceed the facility’s licensed capacity,
and services shall be provided in locations consistent with licensure.

d. Respite provided outside the consumer’s home or the facility covered by the licensure,
certification, accreditation, or contract must be approved by the spouse, guardian or primary caregiver
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and the interdisciplinary team and must be consistent with the way the location is used by the general
public. Respite in these locations shall not exceed 72 continuous hours.

77.33(7) Chore providers. The following providers may provide chore services:

a. Home health agencies certified under Medicare.

b.  Community action agencies as designated in lowa Code section 216A.93.

c.  Agencies authorized to provide similar services through a contract with the department of public
health (IDPH) for local public health services. The agency must provide a current IDPH local public
health services contract number.

d.  Nursing facilities licensed pursuant to lowa Code chapter 135C.

e. Providers that were enrolled as chore providers as of June 30, 2010, based on a subcontract
with or letter of approval from an area agency on aging.

£ Community businesses that are engaged in the provision of chore services and that:

(1) Have all necessary licenses and permits to operate in conformity with federal, state, and local
laws and regulations, and

(2) Submit verification of current liability and workers’ compensation coverage.

77.33(8) Home-delivered meals. The following providers may provide home-delivered meals:

a. Area agencies on aging as designated in 17—4.4(231). Home-delivered meals providers
subcontracting with area agencies on aging or with letters of approval from the area agencies on
aging stating the organization is qualified to provide home-delivered meals services may also provide
home-delivered meals services.

b.  Community action agencies as designated in lowa Code section 216A.93.

Nursing facilities licensed pursuant to lowa Code chapter 135C.

Restaurants licensed and inspected under lowa Code chapter 137F.

Hospitals enrolled as Medicaid providers.

Home health aide providers meeting the standards set forth in subrule 77.33(3).
Medical equipment and supply dealers certified to participate in the Medicaid program.
Home care providers meeting the standards set forth in subrule 77.33(4).

77 33(9) Home and vehicle modification providers. The following providers may provide home and
vehicle modification:

a.  Area agencies on aging as designated in 17—4.4(231).

b.  Community action agencies as designated in lowa Code section 216A.93.

c¢.  Providers eligible to participate as home and vehicle modification providers under the health
and disability waiver, enrolled as home and vehicle modification providers under the physical disability
waiver, or certified as home and vehicle modification providers under the home- and community-based
services intellectual disability or brain injury waiver.

d. Community businesses that have all necessary licenses and permits to operate in conformity
with federal, state, and local laws and regulations, and that submit verification of current liability and
workers’ compensation coverage.

77.33(10) Mental health outreach providers. Community mental health centers or other mental
health providers accredited by the mental health and developmental disabilities commission pursuant
to 441—Chapter 24 may provide mental health outreach services.

77.33(11) Transportation providers. The following providers may provide transportation:

a. Areaagencies on aging as designated in 17—4.4(231). Transportation providers subcontracting
with area agencies on aging or with letters of approval from the area agencies on aging stating the
organization is qualified to provide transportation services may also provide transportation services.

b.  Community action agencies as designated in lowa Code section 216A.93.

¢.  Regional transit agencies as recognized by the lowa department of transportation.

d. Rescinded TAB 3/10/99, effective 5/1/99.

e.  Nursing facilities licensed pursuant to lowa Code chapter 135C.

£~ Transportation providers contracting with the nonemergency medical transportation contractor.

77.33(12) Nutritional counseling. The following providers may provide nutritional counseling by a
dietitian licensed under 645—Chapter 81:
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Hospitals enrolled as Medicaid providers.

Community action agencies as designated in lowa Code section 216A.93.
Nursing facilities licensed pursuant to lowa Code chapter 135C.

Home health agencies certified by Medicare.

. Independent licensed dietitians.

77.33(13) Assistive device providers. The following providers may provide assistive devices:

a. Medicaid-enrolled medical equipment and supply dealers.

b.  Area agencies on aging as designated according to department on aging rules 17—4.4(231) and
17—4.9(231).

c¢.  Providers that were enrolled as assistive device providers as of June 30, 2010, based on a
contract with or letter of approval from an area agency on aging.

d.  Community businesses that are engaged in the provision of assistive devices and that:

(1) Have all necessary licenses and permits to operate in conformity with federal, state, and local
laws and regulations, and

(2) Submit verification of current liability and workers’ compensation coverage.

77.33(14) Senior companions. Senior companion programs designated by the Corporation for
National and Community Service may provide senior companion service.

77.33(15) Consumer-directed attendant care providers. The following providers may provide
consumer-directed attendant care service:

a.  An individual who contracts with the member to provide attendant care service and who is:

(1) At least 18 years of age.

(2) Qualified by training or experience to carry out the member’s plan of care pursuant to the
department-approved case plan or individual comprehensive plan.

(3) Not the spouse of the member or a parent or stepparent of a member aged 17 or under.

(4) Not the recipient of respite services paid through home- and community-based services on
behalf of a member who receives home- and community-based services.

b.  Agencies authorized to provide similar services through a contract with the department of public
health (IDPH) for local public health services. The agency must provide a current IDPH local public
health services contract number.

c¢.  Home health agencies which are certified to participate in the Medicare program.

d.  Chore providers subcontracting with area agencies on aging or with letters of approval from
the area agencies on aging stating that the organization is qualified to provide chore services.

e. Community action agencies as designated in lowa Code section 216A.93.

f- Providers certified under an HCBS waiver for supported community living.

g Assisted living programs that are certified by the department of inspections and appeals under
481—Chapter 69.

h.  Adult day service providers that are certified by the department of inspections and appeals under
481—Chapter 70.

77.33(16) Financial management service. Consumers who elect the consumer choices option shall
work with a financial institution that meets the qualifications in subrule 77.30(13).

77.33(17) Independent support brokerage. Consumers who elect the consumer choices option shall
work with an independent support broker who meets the qualifications in subrule 77.30(14).

77.33(18) Self-directed personal care. Consumers who elect the consumer choices option may
choose to purchase self-directed personal care services from an individual or business that meets the
requirements in subrule 77.30(15).

77.33(19) Individual-directed goods and services. Consumers who elect the consumer choices
option may choose to purchase individual-directed goods and services from an individual or business
that meets the requirements in subrule 77.30(16).

77.33(20) Self-directed community supports and employment. Consumers who elect the consumer
choices option may choose to purchase self-directed community supports and employment from an
individual or business that meets the requirements in subrule 77.30(17).
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77.33(21) Case management providers. A case management provider organization is eligible to
participate in the Medicaid HCBS elderly waiver program if the organization meets the following
standards:

a. The case management provider shall be an agency or individual that:

(1) Is accredited by the mental health, mental retardation, developmental disabilities, and brain
injury commission as meeting the standards for case management services in 441—Chapter 24; or

(2) Is accredited through the Joint Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations
(JCAHO) to provide case management; or

(3) Is accredited through the Council on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities (CARF) to
provide case management; or

(4) Is accredited through the Council on Quality and Leadership in Supports for People with
Disabilities (CQL) to provide case management; or

(5) Isapproved by the department on aging as meeting the standards for case management services
in 17—Chapter 21; or

(6) Is authorized to provide similar services through a contract with the department of public health
(IDPH) for local public health services and that:

1.  Meets the qualifications for case managers in 641—subrule 80.6(1); and

2. Provides a current IDPH local public health services contract number.

b. A case management provider shall not provide direct services to the consumer. The department
and the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services deem the provision of direct services to case
management consumers to be a conflict of interest. A person cannot be the first-line supervisor of both
case managers and direct service staff who are providing services to elderly waiver consumers. The
provider must have written conflict of interest policies that include, but are not limited to:

(1) Specific procedures to identify conflicts of interest.

(2) Procedures to eliminate any conflict of interest that is identified.

(3) Procedures for handling complaints of conflict of interest, including written documentation.

c. If the case management provider organization subcontracts case management services to
another entity:

(1) That entity must also meet the provider qualifications in this subrule; and

(2) The contractor is responsible for verification of compliance.

77.33(22) Incident management and reporting. As a condition of participation in the medical
assistance program, HCBS elderly waiver service providers must comply with the requirements of lowa
Code sections 232.69 and 235B.3 regarding the reporting of child abuse and dependent adult abuse and
with the incident management and reporting requirements in this subrule. EXCEPTION: The conditions in
this subrule do not apply to providers of assistive devices, chore service, goods and services purchased
under the consumer choices option, home and vehicle modification, home-delivered meals, personal
emergency response, or transportation.

a.  Definitions.

“Major incident” means an occurrence involving a consumer during service provision that:

1. Results in a physical injury to or by the consumer that requires a physician’s treatment or
admission to a hospital;

2. Results in the death of any person;

3. Requires emergency mental health treatment for the consumer;

4. Requires the intervention of law enforcement;

5. Requires a report of child abuse pursuant to lowa Code section 232.69 or a report of dependent
adult abuse pursuant to lowa Code section 235B.3;

6. Constitutes a prescription medication error or a pattern of medication errors that leads to the
outcome in paragraph “1,” “2,” or “3”; or

7. Involves a consumer’s location being unknown by provider staff who are assigned protective
oversight.

“Minor incident” means an occurrence involving a consumer during service provision that is not a
major incident and that:
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Results in the application of basic first aid;

Results in bruising;

Results in seizure activity;

Results in injury to self, to others, or to property; or
Constitutes a prescription medication error.

b.  Reporting procedure for minor incidents. Minor incidents may be reported in any format
designated by the provider. When a minor incident occurs or a staff member becomes aware of a minor
incident, the staff member involved shall submit the completed incident report to the staff member’s
supervisor within 72 hours of the incident. The completed report shall be maintained in a centralized
file with a notation in the consumer’s file.

¢.  Reporting procedure for major incidents. When a major incident occurs or a staff member
becomes aware of a major incident:

(1) The staff member involved shall notify the following persons of the incident by the end of the
next calendar day after the incident:

1. The staff member’s supervisor.

2. The consumer or the consumer’s legal guardian. EXCEPTION: Notification to the consumer is
required only if the incident took place outside of the provider’s service provision. Notification to the
guardian, if any, is always required.

3. The consumer’s case manager.

(2) By the end of the next calendar day after the incident, the staff member who observed or first
became aware of the incident shall also report as much information as is known about the incident to
the member’s managed care organization in the format defined by the managed care organization. If the
member is not enrolled with a managed care organization, the staff member shall report the information
to the department’s bureau of long-term care either:

1. By direct data entry into the lowa Medicaid Provider Access System, or

2. By faxing or mailing Form 470-4698, Critical Incident Report, according to the directions on
the form.

(3) The following information shall be reported:

1. The name of the consumer involved.

2. The date and time the incident occurred.

3. A description of the incident.

4. The names of all provider staff and others who were present at the time of the incident or
who responded after becoming aware of the incident. The confidentiality of other waiver-eligible or
non-waiver-eligible consumers who were present must be maintained by the use of initials or other
means.

5. The action that the provider staff took to manage the incident.

6. The resolution of or follow-up to the incident.

7. The date the report is made and the handwritten or electronic signature of the person making
the report.

(4) Submission of the initial report will generate a workflow in the Individualized Services
Information System (ISIS) for follow-up by the case manager. When complete information about the
incident is not available at the time of the initial report, the provider must submit follow-up reports until
the case manager is satisfied with the incident resolution and follow-up. The completed report shall be
maintained in a centralized file with a notation in the consumer’s file.

d.  Tracking and analysis. The provider shall track incident data and analyze trends to assess
the health and safety of consumers served and determine if changes need to be made for service
implementation or if staff training is needed to reduce the number or severity of incidents.

77.33(23) Assisted living on-call service. Assisted living on-call service providers shall be assisted
living programs that are certified by the department of inspections and appeals under 481—Chapter 69.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A.4.
[ARC 7936B, IAB 7/1/09, effective 9/1/09; ARC 9314B, IAB 12/29/10, effective 3/1/11; ARC 0545C, IAB 1/9/13, effective 3/1/13;
ARC 0757C, 1AB 5/29/13, effective 8/1/13; ARC 1071C, IAB 10/2/13, effective 10/1/13; ARC 2361C, IAB 1/6/16, effective
1/1/16; ARC 3874C, TAB 7/4/18, effective 8/8/18]
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441—77.34(249A) HCBS AIDS/HIV waiver service providers. HCBS AIDS/HIV waiver services
shall be rendered by a person who is at least 16 years old (except as otherwise provided in this rule) and
is not the spouse of the consumer served or the parent or stepparent of a consumer aged 17 or under.
People who are 16 or 17 years old must be employed and supervised by an enrolled HCBS provider
unless they are employed to provide self-directed personal care services through the consumer choices
option. A person hired for self-directed personal care services need not be supervised by an enrolled
HCBS provider. A person hired through the consumer choices option for independent support brokerage,
self-directed personal care, individual-directed goods and services, or self-directed community support
and employment is not required to enroll as a Medicaid provider. The following providers shall be
eligible to participate in the Medicaid HCBS AIDS/HIV waiver program if they meet the standards in
subrule 77.34(14) and the integrated, community-based settings standards in subrule 77.25(5) and also
meet the standards set forth below for the service to be provided:

77.34(1) Counseling providers. Counseling providers shall be:

a. Agencies which are certified under the community mental health center standards established
by the mental health and developmental disabilities commission, set forth in 441—Chapter 24, Divisions
I and IIL

b.  Agencies which are licensed as meeting the hospice standards and requirements set forth in
department of inspections and appeals rules 481—Chapter 53 or which are certified to meet the standards
under the Medicare program for hospice programs.

c.  Agencies which are accredited under the mental health service provider standards established
by the mental health and developmental disabilities commission, set forth in 441—Chapter 24, Divisions
I and IV.

77.34(2) Home health aide providers. Home health aide providers shall be agencies which are
certified to participate in the Medicare program.

77.34(3) Homemaker providers. Homemaker providers shall be agencies that are:

a. Certified as a home health agency under Medicare, or

b.  Authorized to provide similar services through a contract with the department of public health
(IDPH) for local public health services. The agency must provide a current IDPH local public health
services contract number.

77.34(4) Nursing care providers. Nursing care providers shall be agencies which are certified to
meet the standards under the Medicare program for home health agencies.

77.34(5) Respite care providers.

a. The following agencies may provide respite services:

(1) Home health agencies that are certified to participate in the Medicare program.

(2) Nursing facilities, intermediate care facilities for the mentally retarded, or hospitals enrolled as
providers in the lowa Medicaid program.

(3) Respite providers certified under the home- and community-based services intellectual
disability or brain injury waiver.

(4) Group living foster care facilities for children licensed by the department according to
441—Chapters 112 and 114 to 116 and child care centers licensed according to 441—Chapter 109.

(5) Camps certified by the American Camping Association.

(6) Home care agencies that meet the conditions of participation set forth in subrule 77.34(3).

(7) Adult day care providers that meet the conditions of participation set forth in subrule 77.34(7).

(8) Assisted living programs certified by the department of inspections and appeals.

b.  Respite providers shall meet the following conditions:

(1) Providers shall maintain the following information that shall be updated at least annually:

1. The consumer’s name, birth date, age, and address and the telephone number of each parent,
guardian or primary caregiver.

2. An emergency medical care release.

3. Emergency contact telephone numbers such as the number of the consumer’s physician and the
parents, guardian, or primary caregiver.

4. The consumer’s medical issues, including allergies.
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5. The consumer’s daily schedule which includes the consumer’s preferences in activities or foods
or any other special concerns.

(2) Procedures shall be developed for the dispensing, storage, authorization, and recording of all
prescription and nonprescription medications administered. Home health agencies must follow Medicare
regulations for medication dispensing.

All medications shall be stored in their original containers, with the accompanying physician’s or
pharmacist’s directions and label intact. Medications shall be stored so they are inaccessible to consumers
and the public. Nonprescription medications shall be labeled with the consumer’s name.

In the case of medications that are administered on an ongoing, long-term basis, authorization shall
be obtained for a period not to exceed the duration of the prescription.

(3) Policies shall be developed for:

1. Notifying the parent, guardian or primary caregiver of any injuries or illnesses that occur during
respite provision. A parent’s, guardian’s or primary caregiver’s signature is required to verify receipt of
notification.

2. Requiring the parent, guardian, or primary caregiver to notify the respite provider of any injuries
or illnesses that occurred prior to respite provision.

3. Documenting activities and times of respite. This documentation shall be made available to the
parent, guardian or primary caregiver upon request.

4. Ensuring the safety and privacy of the individual. Policies shall at a minimum address threat
of fire, tornado, or flood and bomb threats.

c. A facility providing respite under this subrule shall not exceed the facility’s licensed capacity,
and services shall be provided in locations consistent with licensure.

d. Respite provided outside the consumer’s home or the facility covered by the licensure,
certification, accreditation, or contract must be approved by the parent, guardian or primary caregiver
and the interdisciplinary team and must be consistent with the way the location is used by the general
public. Respite in these locations shall not exceed 72 continuous hours.

77.34(6) Home-delivered meals. The following providers may provide home-delivered meals:
Home health aide providers meeting the standards set forth in subrule 77.34(2).

Home care providers meeting the standards set forth in subrule 77.34(3).

Hospitals enrolled as Medicaid providers.

Nursing facilities licensed pursuant to lowa Code chapter 135C.

Restaurants licensed and inspected under lowa Code chapter 137F.

Community action agencies as designated in Iowa Code section 216A.93. Home-delivered
meals providers subcontracting with community action agencies or with letters of approval from the
community action agencies stating the organization is qualified to provide home-delivered meals services
may also provide home-delivered meals services.

g Area agencies on aging as designated in 17—4.4(231). Home-delivered meals providers
subcontracting with area agencies on aging or with letters of approval from the area agencies on
aging stating the organization is qualified to provide home-delivered meals services may also provide
home-delivered meals services.

h.  Medical equipment and supply dealers certified to participate in the Medicaid program.

77.34(7) Adult day care providers. Adult day care providers shall be agencies that are certified by the
department of inspections and appeals as being in compliance with the standards for adult day services
programs at 481—Chapter 70.

77.34(8) Consumer-directed attendant care providers. The following providers may provide
consumer-directed attendant care service:

a.  An individual who contracts with the member to provide attendant care service and who is:

(1) At least 18 years of age.

(2) Qualified by training or experience to carry out the member’s plan of care pursuant to the
department-approved case plan or individual comprehensive plan.

(3) Not the spouse of the member or a parent or stepparent of a member aged 17 or under.
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(4) Not the recipient of respite services paid through home- and community-based services on
behalf of a member who receives home- and community-based services.

b.  Agencies authorized to provide similar services through a contract with the department of public
health (IDPH) for local public health services. The agency must provide a current IDPH local public
health services contract number.

c.  Home health agencies which are certified to participate in the Medicare program.

d.  Chore providers subcontracting with area agencies on aging or with letters of approval from
the area agencies on aging stating that the organization is qualified to provide chore services.

e.  Community action agencies as designated in lowa Code section 216A.93.

£ Providers certified under an HCBS waiver for supported community living.

g Assisted living programs that are certified by the department of inspections and appeals under
481—Chapter 69.

h.  Adult day service providers that are certified by the department of inspections and appeals under
481—Chapter 70.

77.34(9) Financial management service. Consumers who elect the consumer choices option shall
work with a financial institution that meets the qualifications in subrule 77.30(13).

77.34(10) Independent support brokerage. Consumers who elect the consumer choices option shall
work with an independent support broker who meets the qualifications in subrule 77.30(14).

77.34(11) Self-directed personal care. Consumers who elect the consumer choices option may
choose to purchase self-directed personal care services from an individual or business that meets the
requirements in subrule 77.30(15).

77.34(12) Individual-directed goods and services. Consumers who elect the consumer choices
option may choose to purchase individual-directed goods and services from an individual or business
that meets the requirements in subrule 77.30(16).

77.34(13) Self-directed community supports and employment. Consumers who elect the consumer
choices option may choose to purchase self-directed community supports and employment from an
individual or business that meets the requirements in subrule 77.30(17).

77.34(14) Incident management and reporting. As a condition of participation in the medical
assistance program, HCBS AIDS/HIV waiver service providers must comply with the requirements
of Towa Code sections 232.69 and 235B.3 regarding the reporting of child abuse and dependent adult
abuse and with the incident management and reporting requirements in this subrule. EXCEPTION: The
conditions in this subrule do not apply to providers of goods and services purchased under the consumer
choices option or to home-delivered meals.

a.  Definitions.

“Major incident” means an occurrence involving a consumer during service provision that:

1. Results in a physical injury to or by the consumer that requires a physician’s treatment or
admission to a hospital;

2. Results in the death of any person;

3. Requires emergency mental health treatment for the consumer;

4. Requires the intervention of law enforcement;

5. Requires a report of child abuse pursuant to lowa Code section 232.69 or a report of dependent
adult abuse pursuant to lowa Code section 235B.3;

6. Constitutes a prescription medication error or a pattern of medication errors that leads to the
outcome in paragraph “1,” “2,” or “3”; or

7. Involves a consumer’s location being unknown by provider staff who are assigned protective
oversight.

“Minor incident” means an occurrence involving a consumer during service provision that is not a
major incident and that:

1. Results in the application of basic first aid;

2. Results in bruising;

3. Results in seizure activity;

4. Results in injury to self, to others, or to property; or
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5. Constitutes a prescription medication error.

b.  Reporting procedure for minor incidents. Minor incidents may be reported in any format
designated by the provider. When a minor incident occurs or a staff member becomes aware of a minor
incident, the staff member involved shall submit the completed incident report to the staff member’s
supervisor within 72 hours of the incident. The completed report shall be maintained in a centralized
file with a notation in the consumer’s file.

¢.  Reporting procedure for major incidents. When a major incident occurs or a staff member
becomes aware of a major incident:

(1) The staff member involved shall notify the following persons of the incident by the end of the
next calendar day after the incident:

1. The staff member’s supervisor.

2. The consumer or the consumer’s legal guardian. EXCEPTION: Notification to the consumer is
required only if the incident took place outside of the provider’s service provision. Notification to the
guardian, if any, is always required.

3. The consumer’s case manager.

(2) By the end of the next calendar day after the incident, the staff member who observed or first
became aware of the incident shall also report as much information as is known about the incident to
the member’s managed care organization in the format defined by the managed care organization. If the
member is not enrolled with a managed care organization, the staff member shall report the information
to the department’s bureau of long-term care either:

1. By direct data entry into the lowa Medicaid Provider Access System, or

2. By faxing or mailing Form 470-4698, Critical Incident Report, according to the directions on
the form.

(3) The following information shall be reported:

1. The name of the consumer involved.

2. The date and time the incident occurred.

3. A description of the incident.

4. The names of all provider staff and others who were present at the time of the incident or
who responded after becoming aware of the incident. The confidentiality of other waiver-eligible or
non-waiver-eligible consumers who were present must be maintained by the use of initials or other
means.

5. The action that the provider staff took to manage the incident.

6. The resolution of or follow-up to the incident.

7. The date the report is made and the handwritten or electronic signature of the person making
the report.

(4) Submission of the initial report will generate a workflow in the Individualized Services
Information System (ISIS) for follow-up by the case manager. When complete information about the
incident is not available at the time of the initial report, the provider must submit follow-up reports until
the case manager is satisfied with the incident resolution and follow-up. The completed report shall be
maintained in a centralized file with a notation in the consumer’s file.

d.  Tracking and analysis. The provider shall track incident data and analyze trends to assess
the health and safety of consumers served and determine if changes need to be made for service
implementation or if staff training is needed to reduce the number or severity of incidents.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A 4.
[ARC 7936B, IAB 7/1/09, effective 9/1/09; ARC 9314B, IAB 12/29/10, eftective 3/1/11; ARC 1149C, IAB 10/30/13, effective 1/1/14;
ARC 2361C, IAB 1/6/16, effective 1/1/16; ARC 3874C, IAB 7/4/18, effective 8/8/18]

441—77.35(249A) Federally qualified health centers. Federally qualified health centers are eligible to
participate in the Medicaid program when the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services has notified
the Medicaid program of their eligibility as allowed by Section 6404(b) of Public Law 101-239.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A 4.


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/section/249A.4.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/7936B.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/9314B.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/1149C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/2361C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/3874C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/section/249A.4.pdf

Ch 77, p.34 Human Services[441] IAC 6/29/22

441—77.36(249A) Advanced registered nurse practitioners. Advanced registered nurse practitioners
are eligible to participate in the Medicaid program if they are duly licensed and registered by the state
of Towa as advanced registered nurse practitioners certified pursuant to board of nursing rules 655—
Chapter 7.

77.36(1) Advanced registered nurse practitioners in another state shall be eligible to participate
if they are duly licensed and registered in that state as advanced registered nurse practitioners with
certification in a practice area consistent with board of nursing rules 655—Chapter 7.

77.36(2) Advanced registered nurse practitioners who have been certified eligible to participate in
Medicare shall be considered as having met these guidelines.

77.36(3) Licensed nurse anesthetists who have graduated from a nurse anesthesia program meeting
the standards set forth by a national association of nurse anesthetists within the past 18 months and who
are awaiting initial certification by a national association of nurse anesthetists approved by the board of
nursing shall be considered as having met these guidelines.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A.4.

441—77.37(249A) Home- and community-based services intellectual disability waiver service
providers. Providers shall be eligible to participate in the Medicaid HCBS intellectual disability waiver
program if they meet the requirements in this rule and the subrules applicable to the individual service.

The standards in subrule 77.37(1) apply only to providers of supported employment, respite
providers certified according to subparagraph 77.37(15) “a ”(8), and providers of supported community
living services that are not residential-based. The standards and certification processes in subrules
77.37(2) through 77.37(7) and 77.37(9) through 77.37(12) apply only to supported employment
providers and non-residential-based supported community living providers.

The requirements in subrule 77.37(13) apply to all providers. EXCEPTION: A person hired
through the consumer choices option for independent support brokerage, self-directed personal care,
individual-directed goods and services, or self-directed community support and employment is not
required to enroll as a Medicaid provider and is not subject to the review requirements in subrule
77.37(13). Also, services must be rendered by a person who is at least 16 years old (except as otherwise
provided in this rule) and is not the spouse of the consumer served or the parent or stepparent of a
consumer aged 17 or under. People who are 16 or 17 years old must be employed and supervised by
an enrolled HCBS provider unless they are employed to provide self-directed personal care services
through the consumer choices option. A person hired for self-directed personal care services need not
be supervised by an enrolled HCBS provider. Consumer-directed attendant care and interim medical
monitoring and treatment providers must be at least 18 years of age.

The integrated, community-based settings standards in subrule 77.25(5) apply to all HCBS
intellectual disability waiver service providers.

77.37(1) Organizational standards (Outcome 1). Organizational outcome-based standards for
home- and community-based services intellectual disability providers are as follows:

a. The organization demonstrates the provision and oversight of high-quality supports and services
to consumers.

b.  The organization demonstrates a defined mission commensurate with consumer’s needs,
desires, and abilities.

c¢.  The organization establishes and maintains fiscal accountability.

d.  The organization has qualified staff commensurate with the needs of the consumers they serve.
These staff demonstrate competency in performing duties and in all interactions with clients.

e.  The organization provides needed training and supports to its staff. This training includes at a
minimum:

(1) Consumer rights.

(2) Confidentiality.

(3) Provision of consumer medication.

(4) Identification and reporting of child and dependent adult abuse.

(5) Individual consumer support needs.
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f- The organization has a systematic, organizationwide, planned approach to designing,
measuring, evaluating, and improving the level of its performance. The organization:

(1) Measures and assesses organizational activities and services annually.

(2) Gathers information from consumers, family members, and staff.

(3) Conducts an internal review of consumer service records, including all major and minor incident
reports according to subrule 77.37(8).

(4) Tracks incident data and analyzes trends annually to assess the health and safety of consumers
served by the organization.

(5) Identifies areas in need of improvement.

(6) Develops a plan to address the areas in need of improvement.

(7) Implements the plan and documents the results.

g Consumers and their legal representatives have the right to appeal the provider’s
implementation of the 20 outcomes, or staff or contractual person’s action which affects the consumer.
The provider shall distribute the policies for consumer appeals and procedures to consumers.

h.  The provider shall have written policies and procedures and a staff training program for
the identification and reporting of child and dependent adult abuse to the department pursuant to
441—Chapters 175 and 176.

i.  The governing body has an active role in the administration of the agency.

j. The governing body receives and uses input from a wide range of local community interests
and consumer representation and provides oversight that ensures the provision of high-quality supports
and services to consumers.

77.37(2) Rights and dignity. Outcome-based standards for rights and dignity are as follows:
(Outcome 2) Consumers are valued.

(Outcome 3) Consumers live in positive environments.

(Outcome 4) Consumers work in positive environments.

(Outcome 5) Consumers exercise their rights and responsibilities.

(Outcome 6) Consumers have privacy.

(Outcome 7) When there is a need, consumers have support to exercise and safeguard their
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rights.
(Outcome 8) Consumers decide which personal information is shared and with whom.
(Outcome 9) Consumers make informed choices about where they work.

(Outcome 10) Consumers make informed choices on how they spend their free time.
(Outcome 11) Consumers make informed choices about where and with whom they live.
(Outcome 12) Consumers choose their daily routine.

(Outcome 13) Consumers are a part of community life and perform varied social roles.
(Outcome 14) Consumers have a social network and varied relationships.

(Outcome 15) Consumers develop and accomplish personal goals.

(Outcome 16) Management of consumers’ money is addressed on an individualized basis.
(Outcome 17) Consumers maintain good health.

(Outcome 18) The consumer’s living environment is reasonably safe in the consumer’s home
and community.

7. (Outcome 19) The consumer’s desire for intimacy is respected and supported.

5. (Outcome 20) Consumers have an impact on the services they receive.

71.37(3) Contracts with consumers. The provider shall have written procedures which provide for
the establishment of an agreement between the consumer and the provider.

a. The agreement shall define the responsibilities of the provider and the consumer, the rights of
the consumer, the services to be provided to the consumer by the provider, all room and board and copay
fees to be charged to the consumer and the sources of payment.

b.  Contracts shall be reviewed at least annually.

77.37(4) The right to appeal. Consumers and their legal representatives have the right to appeal
the provider’s application of policies or procedures, or any staff or contractual person’s action which
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affects the consumer. The provider shall distribute the policies for consumer appeals and procedures to
consumers.

77.37(5) Storage and provision of medication. If the provider stores, handles, prescribes, dispenses
or administers prescription or over-the-counter medications, the provider shall develop procedures for the
storage, handling, prescribing, dispensing or administration of medication. For controlled substances,
procedures shall be in accordance with department of inspections and appeals rule 481—63.18(135).

If the provider has a physician on staff or under contract, the physician shall review and document the
provider’s prescribed medication regime at least annually in accordance with current medical practice.

77.37(6) Research. If the provider conducts research involving human subjects, the provider shall
have written policies and procedures for research which ensure the rights of consumers and staff.

71.37(7) Abuse reporting requirements. The provider shall have written policies and procedures and
a staff training program for the identification and reporting of child and dependent adult abuse to the
department pursuant to 441—Chapters 175 and 176.

77.37(8) Incident management and reporting. As a condition of participation in the medical
assistance program, HCBS intellectual disability waiver service providers must comply with the
requirements of Iowa Code sections 232.69 and 235B.3 regarding the reporting of child abuse and
dependent adult abuse and with the incident management and reporting requirements in this subrule.
EXCEPTION: The conditions in this subrule do not apply to providers of goods and services purchased
under the consumer choices option or providers of home and vehicle modification, personal emergency
response, and transportation.

a.  Definitions.

“Major incident” means an occurrence involving a consumer during service provision that:

1. Results in a physical injury to or by the consumer that requires a physician’s treatment or
admission to a hospital;

2. Results in the death of any person;

3. Requires emergency mental health treatment for the consumer;

4. Requires the intervention of law enforcement;

5. Requires a report of child abuse pursuant to lowa Code section 232.69 or a report of dependent
adult abuse pursuant to lowa Code section 235B.3;

6. Constitutes a prescription medication error or a pattern of medication errors that leads to the
outcome in paragraph “1,” “2,” or “3”; or

7. Involves a consumer’s location being unknown by provider staff who are assigned protective
oversight.

“Minor incident” means an occurrence involving a consumer during service provision that is not a
major incident and that:

1. Results in the application of basic first aid;

Results in bruising;

Results in seizure activity;

Results in injury to self, to others, or to property; or
Constitutes a prescription medication error.

b.  Reporting procedure for minor incidents. Minor incidents may be reported in any format
designated by the provider. When a minor incident occurs or a staff member becomes aware of a minor
incident, the staff member involved shall submit the completed incident report to the staff member’s
supervisor within 72 hours of the incident. The completed report shall be maintained in a centralized
file with a notation in the consumer’s file.

¢.  Reporting procedure for major incidents. When a major incident occurs or a staff member
becomes aware of a major incident:

(1) The staff member involved shall notify the following persons of the incident by the end of the
next calendar day after the incident:

1. The staff consumer’s supervisor.
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2. The consumer or the consumer’s legal guardian. EXCEPTION: Notification to the consumer is
required only if the incident took place outside of the provider’s service provision. Notification to the
guardian, if any, is always required.

3. The consumer’s case manager.

(2) By the end of the next calendar day after the incident, the staff member who observed or first
became aware of the incident shall also report as much information as is known about the incident to
the member’s managed care organization in the format defined by the managed care organization. If the
member is not enrolled with a managed care organization, the staff member shall report the information
to the department’s bureau of long-term care either:

1. By direct data entry into the lowa Medicaid Provider Access System, or

2. By faxing or mailing Form 470-4698, Critical Incident Report, according to the directions on
the form.

(3) The following information shall be reported:

1. The name of the consumer involved.

2. The date and time the incident occurred.

3. A description of the incident.

4. The names of all provider staff and others who were present at the time of the incident or
who responded after becoming aware of the incident. The confidentiality of other waiver-eligible or
non-waiver-eligible consumers who were present must be maintained by the use of initials or other
means.

5. The action that the provider staff took to manage the incident.

6. The resolution of or follow-up to the incident.

7. The date the report is made and the handwritten or electronic signature of the person making
the report.

(4) Submission of the initial report will generate a workflow in the Individualized Services
Information System (ISIS) for follow-up by the case manager. When complete information about the
incident is not available at the time of the initial report, the provider must submit follow-up reports until
the case manager is satisfied with the incident resolution and follow-up. The completed report shall be
maintained in a centralized file with a notation in the consumer’s file.

d.  Tracking and analysis. The provider shall track incident data and analyze trends to assess
the health and safety of consumers served and determine if changes need to be made for service
implementation or if staff training is needed to reduce the number or severity of incidents.

77.37(9) Intake, admission, service coordination, discharge, and referral.

a.  The provider shall have written policies and procedures according to state and federal laws for
intake, admission, service coordination, discharge and referral. Service coordination means activities
designed to help individuals and families locate, access, and coordinate a network of supports and
services that will allow them to live a full life in the community.

b.  The provider shall ensure the rights of persons applying for services.

77.37(10) Certification process. Reviews of compliance with standards for initial certification and
recertification shall be conducted by the department of human services’ bureau of long-term care quality
assurance staff. Certification carries no assurance that the approved provider will receive funding.

a. Rescinded TAB 9/1/04, effective 11/1/04.

b. Rescinded TAB 9/1/04, effective 11/1/04.

c.  Rescinded IAB 9/1/04, effective 11/1/04.

d. The department may request any information from the prospective service provider which is
considered pertinent to arriving at a certification decision. This may include, but is not limited to:

(1) Current accreditations, evaluations, inspections and reviews by regulatory and licensing
agencies and associations.

(2) Fiscal capacity of the prospective provider to initiate and operate the specified programs on an
ongoing basis.
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77.37(11) Initial certification. The department shall review the application and accompanying
information to see if the provider has the necessary framework to provide services in accordance with
all applicable requirements and standards.

a. The department shall make a determination regarding initial certification within 60 days of
receipt of the application and notify the provider in writing of the decision unless extended by mutual
consent of the parties involved. Providers shall be responsible for notifying the appropriate county and
the appropriate central point of coordination of the determination.

b.  The decision of the department on initial certification of the providers shall be based on all
relevant information, including:

(1) The application for status as an approved provider according to requirements of rules.

(2) A determination of the financial position of the prospective provider in relation to its ability to
meet the stated need.

(3) The prospective provider’s coordination of service design, development, and application with
the applicable region and other interested parties.

(4) The prospective provider’s written agreement to work cooperatively with the state, counties
and regions to be served by the provider.

c.  Providers applying for initial certification shall be offered technical assistance.

77.37(12) Period of certification. Provider certification shall become effective on the date identified
on the certificate of approval and shall terminate in 270 calendar days, one year, or three calendar
years from the month of issue. The renewal of certification shall be contingent upon demonstration of
continued compliance with certification requirements.

a. Initial certification. Providers eligible for initial certification by the department shall be issued
an initial certification for 270 calendar days based on documentation provided.

b. Recertification. After the initial certification, the level of certification shall be based on an
on-site review unless the provider has been accredited for similar services by the Joint Commission on
Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO), the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation
Facilities (CARF), the Council on Quality and Leadership in Supports for People with Disabilities (The
Council), or the Council on Accreditation of Services for Families and Children (COA). The on-site
reviews for supported community living and supported employment use interviews with consumers and
significant people in the consumer’s life to determine whether or not the 20 individual value-based
outcomes set forth in subrules 77.37(1) and 77.37(2) and corresponding processes are present for the
consumer. Respite services are required to meet Outcome 1 and participate in satisfaction surveys.

Once the outcomes and processes have been determined for all the consumers in the sample, a review
team then determines which of the 20 outcomes and processes are present for the provider. A specific
outcome is present for the provider when the specific outcome is determined to be present for 75 percent
or more of the consumers interviewed. A specific process is present for the provider when the process
is determined to be present for 75 percent or more of the consumers interviewed. Since the processes
are in the control of the provider and the outcomes are more in the control of the consumer, length of
certification will be based more heavily on whether or not the processes are in place to help consumers
obtain desired outcomes.

An exit conference shall be held with the organization to share preliminary findings of the
certification review. A review report shall be written and sent to the provider within 30 calendar days
unless the parties mutually agree to extend that time frame.

Provider certification shall become effective on the date identified on the Certificate of Approval,
Form 470-3410, and shall terminate in 270 calendar days, one year, or three calendar years from the
month of issue. The renewal of certification shall be contingent upon demonstration of continued
compliance with certification requirements.

¢.  The department may issue four categories of recertification:

(1) Three-year certification with excellence. An organization is eligible for certification with
excellence if the number of processes present is 18 or higher and the number of outcomes and
corresponding processes present together is 12 or higher. Both criteria need to be met to receive
three-year certification with excellence. Corrective actions may be required which may be monitored
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through the assignment of follow-up monitoring either by written report, a plan of corrective actions
and improvements, an on-site review, or the provision of technical assistance.

(2) Three-year certification with follow-up monitoring. An organization is eligible for this type
of certification if the number of processes present is 17 or higher and the number of outcomes and
corresponding processes present together are 11 or higher. Both criteria need to be met to receive
three-year certification. Corrective actions are required which may be monitored through the assignment
of follow-up monitoring either by written report, a plan of corrective actions and improvements, an
on-site review, or the provision of technical assistance.

(3) One-year certification. An organization is eligible for this type of certification when the number
of processes present is 14 or higher and the number of outcomes and processes together is 9 or higher.
Both criteria need to be met to receive one-year certification. One-year certification may also be given
in lieu of longer certification when previously required corrective actions have not been implemented or
completed. Corrective actions are required which may be monitored through the assignment of follow-up
monitoring either by written report, a plan of corrective actions and improvements, an on-site review, or
the provision of technical assistance.

(4) Probational certification. A probational certification may be issued to those providers who
cannot meet requirements for a one-year certification. This time period shall be granted to the provider
to establish and implement corrective actions and improvement activities. During this time period the
department may require monitoring of the implementation of the corrective actions through on-site visits,
written reports or technical assistance. Probational certification issued for 270 calendar days shall not
be renewed or extended, and shall require a full on-site follow-up review to be completed. The provider
shall be required to achieve at least a one-year certification status at the time of the follow-up review in
order to maintain certification.

d.  During the course of the review, if a team member encounters a situation that places a member
in immediate jeopardy, the team member shall immediately notify the provider, the department, and
other team members. “Immediate jeopardy” refers to circumstances where the life, health, or safety of a
member will be severely jeopardized if the circumstances are not immediately corrected.

(1) The provider shall correct the situation within 24 to 48 hours. If the situation is not corrected
within the prescribed time frame, that portion of the provider’s services that was the subject of the
notification shall not be certified. The department shall be notified immediately to discontinue funding
for that provider’s service. If a member is in immediate jeopardy, the case manager or department service
worker shall notify the county or region in the event the county or region is funding a service that may
assist the member in the situation.

(2) If this action is appealed and the member, legal guardian, or attorney in fact under a durable
power of attorney for health care wants to maintain the provider’s services, funding can be reinstated. At
that time the provider shall take appropriate action to ensure the life, health, and safety of the members
deemed to be at risk as a result of the provider’s inaction.

e.  As amandatory reporter, each team member shall be required to follow appropriate procedure
in all cases where a condition reportable to child and adult protective services is observed.

/- The department may grant an extension to the period of approval for the following reasons:

(1) A delay in the department’s approval decision which is beyond the control of the provider or
department.

(2) A request for an extension from a provider to permit the provider to prepare and obtain
department approval of corrective actions. The department shall establish the length of extensions on
a case-by-case basis.

g The department may revoke the provider’s approval at any time for any of the following reasons:

(1) Findings of a site visit indicate that the provider has failed to implement the corrective actions
submitted pursuant to paragraph 77.37(13) “e.”

(2) The provider has failed to provide information requested pursuant to paragraph 77.37(13) “f.”

(3) The provider refuses to allow the department to conduct a site visit pursuant to paragraph
77.37(13)“h.”
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(4) There are instances of noncompliance with the standards which were not identified from
information submitted on the application.

h.  Anapproved provider shall immediately notify the department, applicable county, or region, the
applicable mental health and developmental disabilities planning council, and other interested parties of a
decision to withdraw from a home- and community-based services intellectual disability waiver service.

i.  Following certification, any provider may request technical assistance from the department
to bring into conformity those areas found in noncompliance with HCBS requirements. If multiple
deficiencies are noted during a review, the department may require that technical assistance be provided
to a provider to assist in the implementation of the provider’s corrective actions. Providers may be given
technical assistance as needed.

j. Appeals. Any adverse action can be appealed by the provider under 441—Chapter 7.

77.37(13) Review of providers. Reviews of compliance with standards as indicated in this chapter
shall be conducted by designated members of the HCBS staff.

a. This review may include on-site case record audits; review of administrative procedures,
clinical practices, personnel records, performance improvement systems and documentation; and
interviews with staff, consumers, the board of directors, or others deemed appropriate, consistent with
the confidentiality safeguards of state and federal laws.

b. A review visit shall be scheduled with the provider with additional reviews conducted at the
discretion of the department.

¢.  The on-site review team will consist of designated members of the HCBS staff.

d.  Following a certification review, the certification review team leader shall submit a copy of the
department’s written report of findings to the provider within 30 working days after completion of the
certification review.

e. The provider shall develop a plan of corrective action, if applicable, identifying completion
time frames for each review recommendation.

1 Providers required to make corrective actions and improvements shall submit the corrective
action and improvement plan to the Bureau of Long-Term Care, 1305 East Walnut Street, Des Moines,
Iowa 50319-0114, within 30 working days after the receipt of a report issued as a result of the review
team’s visit. The corrective actions may include: specific problem areas cited, corrective actions to be
implemented by the provider, dates by which each corrective measure will be completed, and quality
assurance and improvement activities to measure and ensure continued compliance.

g The department may request the provider to supply subsequent reports on implementation of a
corrective action plan submitted pursuant to 77.37(13) “e” and 77.37(13)’f.”

h.  The department may conduct a site visit to verify all or part of the information submitted.

77.37(14) Supported community living providers.

a. The department will contract only with public or private agencies to provide the supported
community living service. The department does not recognize individuals as service providers under the
supported community living program.

b.  Providers of services meeting the definition of foster care shall also be licensed according to
applicable 441—Chapters 108, 112, 114, 115, and 116.

c¢.  Providers of service may employ or contract with individuals meeting the definition of foster
family homes to provide supported community living services. These individuals shall be licensed
according to applicable 441—Chapters 112 and 113.

d.  All supported community living providers shall meet the following requirements:

(1) The provider shall demonstrate how the provider will meet the outcomes and processes in rule
441—77.37(249A) for each of the consumers being served. The provider shall supply timelines showing
how the provider will come into compliance with rules 441—77.37(249A), 441—78.41(249A), and
441—83.60(249A) to 441—83.70(249A) and 441—subrule 79.1(15) within one year of certification.
These timelines shall include:

1. Implementation of necessary staff training and consumer input.

2. Implementation of provider system changes to allow for flexibility in staff duties, services based
on what each individual needs, and removal of housing as part of the service.
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(2) The provider shall demonstrate that systems are in place to measure outcomes and processes
for individual consumers before certification can be given.

e. The department shall approve living units designed to serve up to four persons except as
necessary to prevent an overconcentration of supported community living units in a geographic area.

£ The department shall approve a living unit designed to serve five persons if both of the following
conditions are met:

(1) Approval will not result in an overconcentration of supported community living units in a
geographic area.

(2) The county in which the living unit is located provides to the bureau of long-term care
verification in writing that the approval is needed to address one or more of the following issues:

1.  The quantity of services currently available in the county is insufficient to meet the need;

2. The quantity of affordable rental housing in the county is insufficient to meet the need; or

3. Approval will result in a reduction in the size or quantity of larger congregate settings.

77.37(15) Respite care providers.

a. The following agencies may provide respite services:

(1) Group living foster care facilities for children licensed by the department according to
441—Chapters 112 and 114 to 116 and child care centers licensed according to 441—Chapter 109.

(2) Nursing facilities, intermediate care facilities for persons with an intellectual disability, and
hospitals enrolled as providers in the lowa Medicaid program.

(3) Residential care facilities for persons with an intellectual disability licensed by the department
of inspections and appeals.

(4) Home health agencies that are certified to participate in the Medicare program.

(5) Camps certified by the American Camping Association.

(6) Adult day care providers that meet the conditions of participation set forth in subrule 77.37(25).

(7) Agencies authorized to provide similar services through a contract with the department of public
health (IDPH) for local public health services. The agency must provide a current IDPH local public
health services contract number.

(8) Agencies certified by the department to provide respite services in the consumer’s home that
meet the requirements of 77.37(1) and 77.37(3) through 77.37(9).

(9) Assisted living programs certified by the department of inspections and appeals.

b.  Respite providers shall meet the following conditions:

(1) Providers shall maintain the following information that shall be updated at least annually:

1. The consumer’s name, birth date, age, and address and the telephone number of each parent,
guardian or primary caregiver.

2. An emergency medical care release.

3. Emergency contact telephone numbers such as the number of the consumer’s physician and the
parents, guardian, or primary caregiver.

4. The consumer’s medical issues, including allergies.

5. The consumer’s daily schedule which includes the consumer’s preferences in activities or foods
or any other special concerns.

(2) Procedures shall be developed for the dispensing, storage, authorization, and recording of all
prescription and nonprescription medications administered. Home health agencies must follow Medicare
regulations for medication dispensing.

All medications shall be stored in their original containers, with the accompanying physician’s or
pharmacist’s directions and label intact. Medications shall be stored so they are inaccessible to consumers
and the public. Nonprescription medications shall be labeled with the consumer’s name.

In the case of medications that are administered on an ongoing, long-term basis, authorization shall
be obtained for a period not to exceed the duration of the prescription.

(3) Policies shall be developed for:

1. Notifying the parent, guardian or primary caregiver of any injuries or illnesses that occur during
respite provision. A parent’s, guardian’s or primary caregiver’s signature is required to verify receipt of
notification.
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2. Requiring the parent, guardian or primary caregiver to notify the respite provider of any injuries
or illnesses that occurred prior to respite provision.

3. Documenting activities and times of respite. This documentation shall be made available to the
parent, guardian or primary caregiver upon request.

4. Ensuring the safety and privacy of the individual. Policies shall at a minimum address threat
of fire, tornado, or flood and bomb threats.

c¢. A facility providing respite under this subrule shall not exceed the facility’s licensed capacity,
and services shall be provided in locations consistent with licensure.

d. Respite provided outside the consumer’s home or the facility covered by the licensure,
certification, accreditation, or contract must be approved by the parent, guardian or primary caregiver
and the interdisciplinary team and must be consistent with the way the location is used by the general
public. Respite in these locations shall not exceed 72 continuous hours.

77.37(16) Supported employment providers.

a. The following agencies may provide supported employment services:

(1) Anagency that is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities as
an organizational employment service provider, a community employment service provider, or a provider
of a similar service.

(2) An agency that is accredited by the Council on Accreditation for similar services.

(3) An agency that is accredited by the Joint Commission for similar services.

(4) An agency that is accredited by the Council on Quality and Leadership for similar services.

(5) An agency that is accredited by the International Center for Clubhouse Development.

b.  Providers responsible for the payroll of members shall have policies that ensure compliance
with state and federal labor laws and regulations, which include, but are not limited to:

(1) Subminimum wage laws and regulations, including the Workforce Investment Opportunity Act.

(2) Member vacation, sick leave and holiday compensation.

(3) Procedures for payment schedules and pay scale.

(4) Procedures for provision of workers’ compensation insurance.

(5) Procedures for the determination and review of commensurate wages.

Individuals may not provide supported employment services except when the services are
purchased through the consumer choices option.

d.  Direct support staff providing individual or small-group supported employment or long-term
job coaching services shall meet the following minimum qualifications in addition to other requirements
outlined in administrative rule:

(1) Individual supported employment: bachelor’s degree or commensurate experience, preferably
in human services, sociology, psychology, education, human resources, marketing, sales or business. The
person must also hold a nationally recognized certification (ACRE or College of Employment Services
(CES) or similar) as an employment specialist or must earn this credential within 24 months of hire.

(2) Long-term job coaching: associate degree, or high school diploma or equivalent and 6 months’
relevant experience. A person providing direct support shall, within 6 months of hire or within 6
months of May 4, 2016, complete at least 9.5 hours of employment services training as offered through
DirectCourse or through the ACRE certified training program. The person must also hold or obtain,
within 24 months of hire, nationally recognized certification in job training and coaching.

(3) Small-group supported employment: associate degree, or high school diploma or equivalent
and 6 months’ relevant experience. A person providing direct support shall, within 6 months of hire or
within 6 months of May 4, 2016, complete at least 9.5 hours of employment services training as offered
through DirectCourse or through the ACRE certified training program. The person must also hold or
obtain, within 24 months of hire, nationally recognized certification in job training and coaching.

(4) Supported employment direct support staff shall complete 4 hours of continuing education in
employment services annually.

77.37(17) Home and vehicle modification providers. The following providers may provide home
and vehicle modification:
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a. Providers certified to participate as supported community living service providers under the
home- and community-based services intellectual disability or brain injury waiver.

b.  Providers eligible to participate as home and vehicle modification providers under the elderly
or health and disability waiver, enrolled as home and vehicle modification providers under the physical
disability waiver, or certified as home and vehicle modification providers under the brain injury waiver.

c.  Community businesses that have all necessary licenses and permits to operate in conformity
with federal, state, and local laws and regulations and that submit verification of current liability and
workers’ compensation insurance.

77.37(18) Personal emergency response system providers. Personal emergency response system
providers shall be agencies which meet the conditions of participation set forth in subrule 77.33(2) to
maintain certification.

77.37(19) Nursing providers. Nursing providers shall be agencies that are certified to participate in
the Medicare program as home health agencies.

77.37(20) Home health aide providers. Home health aide providers shall be agencies which are
certified to participate in the Medicare program as home health agencies and which have an HCBS
agreement with the department.

77.37(21) Consumer-directed attendant care providers. The following providers may provide
consumer-directed attendant care service:

a.  An individual who contracts with the member to provide attendant care service and who is:

(1) At least 18 years of age.

(2) Qualified by training or experience to carry out the member’s plan of care pursuant to the
department-approved case plan or individual comprehensive plan.

(3) Not the spouse of the member or a parent or stepparent of a member aged 17 or under.

(4) Not the recipient of respite services paid through home- and community-based services on
behalf of a member who receives home- and community-based services.

b.  Agencies authorized to provide similar services through a contract with the department of public
health (IDPH) for local public health services. The agency must provide a current IDPH local public
health services contract number.

c¢.  Home health agencies which are certified to participate in the Medicare program.

d.  Chore providers subcontracting with area agencies on aging or with letters of approval from
the area agencies on aging stating that the organization is qualified to provide chore services.

e. Community action agencies as designated in lowa Code section 216A.93.

£ Providers certified under an HCBS waiver for supported community living.

g Assisted living programs that are certified by the department of inspections and appeals under
481—Chapter 69.

h.  Adult day service providers that are certified by the department of inspections and appeals under
481—Chapter 70.

77.37(22) Interim medical monitoring and treatment providers.

a.  The following providers may provide interim medical monitoring and treatment services:

(1) Home health agencies certified to participate in the Medicare program.

(2) Supported community living providers certified according to subrule 77.37(14) or 77.39(13).

b.  Staffrequirements. Staff members providing interim medical monitoring and treatment services
to members shall meet all of the following requirements:

(1) Be at least 18 years of age.

(2) Not be the spouse of the member or a parent or stepparent of the member if the member is aged
17 or under.

(3) Not be a usual caregiver of the member.

(4) Be qualified by training or experience to provide medical intervention or intervention in a
medical emergency necessary to carry out the member’s plan of care. The training or experience
required must be determined by the member’s usual caregivers and a licensed medical professional on
the member’s interdisciplinary team and must be documented in the member’s service plan.
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c¢.  Service documentation. Providers shall maintain clinical and fiscal records necessary to fully
disclose the extent of services furnished to members. Records shall specify by service date the procedures
performed, together with information concerning progress of treatment.

77.37(23) Residential-based supported community living service providers.

a. The department shall contract only with public or private agencies to provide residential-based
supported community living services.

b.  Subject to the requirements of this rule, the following agencies may provide residential-based
supported community living services:

(1) Agencies licensed as group living foster care facilities under 441—Chapter 114.

(2) Agencies licensed as residential facilities for children with an intellectual disability or brain
injury under 441—Chapter 116.

(3) Other agencies providing residential-based supported community living services that meet the
following conditions:

1. The agency must provide orientation training on the agency’s purpose, policies, and procedures
within one month of hire or contracting for all employed and contracted treatment staff and must
provide 24 hours of training during the first year of employment or contracting. The agency must
also provide at least 12 hours of training per year after the first year of employment for all employed
and contracted treatment staff. Annual training shall include, at a minimum, training on children’s
intellectual disabilities and developmental disabilities services and children’s mental health issues.
Identification and reporting of child abuse shall be covered in training at least every three years, in
accordance with lowa Code section 232.69.

2. The agency must have standards for the rights and dignity of children that are age-appropriate.
These standards shall include the following:

e  Children, their families, and their legal representatives decide what personal information is
shared and with whom.

e  Children are a part of family and community life and perform varied social roles.

Children have family connections, a social network, and varied relationships.
Children develop and accomplish personal goals.

Children are valued.

Children live in positive environments.

Children exercise their rights and responsibilities.

Children make informed choices about how they spend their free time.
Children choose their daily routine.

The agency must use methods of self-evaluation by which:

Past performance is reviewed.

Current functioning is evaluated.

Plans are made for the future based on the review and evaluation.

4. The agency must have a governing body that receives and uses input from a wide range of local
community interests and consumer representatives and provides oversight that ensures the provision of
high-quality supports and services to children.

5. Children, their parents, and their legal representatives must have the right to appeal the service
provider’s application of policies or procedures or any staff person’s action that affects the consumer.
The service provider shall distribute the policies for consumer appeals and procedures to children, their
parents, and their legal representatives.

c.  As acondition of participation, all providers of residential-based supported community living
services must have the following on file:

(1) Current accreditations, evaluations, inspections, and reviews by applicable regulatory and
licensing agencies and associations.

(2) Documentation of the fiscal capacity of the provider to initiate and operate the specified
programs on an ongoing basis.

(3) The provider’s written agreement to work cooperatively with the department.
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d.  As a condition of participation, all providers of residential-based supported community living
services must develop, review, and revise service plans for each child, as follows:

(1) The service plan shall be developed in collaboration with the social worker or case manager,
child, family, and, if applicable, the foster parents, unless a treatment rationale for the lack of involvement
of one of these parties is documented in the plan. The service provider shall document the dates and
content of the collaboration on the service plan. The service provider shall provide a copy of the service
plan to the family and the case manager, unless otherwise ordered by a court of competent jurisdiction.

(2) Initial service plans shall be developed after services have been authorized and within 30
calendar days of initiating services.

(3) The service plan shall identify the following:

1. Strengths and needs of the child.

2. Goals to be achieved to meet the needs of the child.

3. Objectives for each goal that are specific, measurable, and time-limited and include indicators
of progress toward each goal.

4. Specific service activities to be provided to achieve the objectives.

5. The persons responsible for providing the services. When daily living and social skills
development is provided in a group care setting, designation may be by job title.

6. Date of service initiation and date of individual service plan development.

7. Service goals describing how the child will be reunited with the child’s family and community.

(4) Individuals qualified to provide all services identified in the service plan shall review the
services identified in the service plan to ensure that the services are necessary, appropriate, and
consistent with the identified needs of the child, as listed on the Supports Intensity Scale® (SIS)
assessment.

(5) The service worker or case manager shall review all service plans to determine progress toward
goals and objectives 90 calendar days from the initiation of services and every 90 calendar days thereafter
for the duration of the services.

At a minimum, the provider shall submit written reports to the service worker or case manager at
six-month intervals and when changes to the service plan are needed.

(6) The individual service plan shall be revised when any of the following occur:

1. Service goals or objectives have been achieved.

2. Progress toward goals and objectives is not being made.

3. Changes have occurred in the identified service needs of the child, as listed on the Supports
Intensity Scale® (SIS) assessment.

4. The service plan is not consistent with the identified service needs of the child, as listed in the
service plan.

(7) The service plan shall be signed and dated by qualified staff of each reviewing provider after
each review and revision.

(8) Any revisions of the service plan shall be made in collaboration with the child, family, case
manager, and, if applicable, the foster parents and shall reflect the needs of the child. The service provider
shall provide a copy of the revised service plan to the family and case manager, unless otherwise ordered
by a court of competent jurisdiction.

e. The residential-based supportive community living service provider shall also furnish
residential-based living units for all recipients of the residential-based supported community living
services. Except as provided herein, living units provided may be of no more than four beds. Service
providers who receive approval from the bureau of long-term care may provide living units of up
to eight beds. The bureau shall approve five- to eight-bed living units only if all of the following
conditions are met:

(1) Rescinded IAB 8/7/02, effective 10/1/02.

(2) There is a need for the service to be provided in a five- to eight-person living unit instead of a
smaller living unit, considering the location of the programs in an area.


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/bulletin/08-07-2002.pdf

Ch 77, p.46 Human Services[441] IAC 6/29/22

(3) The provider supplies the bureau of long-term care with a written plan acceptable to the
department that addresses how the provider will reduce its living units to four-bed units within a
two-year period of time. This written plan shall include the following:

1. How the transition will occur.

2. What physical change will need to take place in the living units.

3. How children and their families will be involved in the transitioning process.

4. How this transition will affect children’s social and educational environment.

/- Certification process and review of service providers.

(1) The certification process for providers of residential-based supported community living services
shall be pursuant to subrule 77.37(10).

(2) The initial certification of residential-based supported community living services shall be
pursuant to subrule 77.37(11).

(3) Period and conditions of certification.

1. Initial certification. Providers eligible for initial certification by the department shall be issued
an initial certification for 270 calendar days, effective on the date identified on the certificate of approval,
based on documentation provided.

2. Recertification. After the initial certification, recertification shall be based on an on-site review
and shall be contingent upon demonstration of compliance with certification requirements.

An exit conference shall be held with the provider to share preliminary findings of the recertification
review. A review report shall be written and sent to the provider within 30 calendar days unless the
parties mutually agree to extend that time frame.

Recertification shall become effective on the date identified on the Certificate of Approval, Form
470-3410, and shall terminate one year from the month of issuance.

Corrective actions may be required in connection with recertification and may be monitored
through the assignment of follow-up monitoring either by written report, a plan of corrective actions
and improvements, an on-site review, or the provision of technical assistance.

3. Probational certification. Probational certification for 270 calendar days may be issued to a
provider who cannot demonstrate compliance with all certification requirements on recertification review
to give the provider time to establish and implement corrective actions and improvement activities.

During the probational certification period, the department may require monitoring of the
implementation of the corrective actions through on-site visits, written reports, or technical assistance.

Probational certification shall not be renewed or extended and shall require a full on-site follow-up
review to be completed. The provider must demonstrate compliance with all certification requirements
at the time of the follow-up review in order to maintain certification.

4. Immediate jeopardy. If, during the course of any review, a review team member encounters
a situation that places a member in immediate jeopardy, the team member shall immediately notify
the provider, the department, and other team members. “Immediate jeopardy” refers to circumstances
where the life, health, or safety of a member will be severely jeopardized if the circumstances are not
immediately corrected.

The provider shall correct the situation within 24 to 48 hours. If the situation is not corrected
within the prescribed time frame, the provider shall not be certified. The department shall immediately
discontinue funding for that provider’s service. If this action is appealed and the member or legal
guardian wants to maintain the provider’s services, funding can be reinstated. At that time the provider
shall take appropriate action to ensure the life, health, and safety of the members deemed to be at risk.
The case manager or department service worker shall notify the county or region in the event the county
or region is funding a service that may assist the member in the situation.

5. Abuse reporting. As a mandatory reporter, each review team member shall follow appropriate
procedure in all cases where a condition reportable to child and adult protective services is observed.

6. Extensions. The department shall establish the length of extensions on a case-by-case basis.
The department may grant an extension to the period of certification for the following reasons:

e A delay in the department’s approval decision exists which is beyond the control of the provider
or department.
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e A request for an extension is received from a provider to permit the provider to prepare and
obtain department approval of corrective actions.

7.  Revocation. The department may revoke the provider’s approval at any time for any of the
following reasons:

e The findings of a site visit indicate that the provider has failed to implement the corrective
actions submitted pursuant to paragraph 77.37(13) “e” and numbered paragraph 77.37(23) “f”(3)“4.”

e  The provider has failed to provide information requested pursuant to paragraph 77.37(13) “f”
and numbered paragraph 77.37(23) “f”(3)“4.”

e The provider refuses to allow the department to conduct a site visit pursuant to paragraph
77.37(13) “h” and subparagraph 77.37(23) “f(3).

e There are instances of noncompliance with the standards that were not identified from
information submitted on the application.

8. Notice of intent to withdraw. An approved provider shall immediately notify the department,
applicable county, the applicable mental health and developmental disabilities planning council, and
other interested parties of a decision to withdraw as a provider of residential-based supported community
living services.

9. Technical assistance. Following certification, any provider may request technical assistance
from the department regarding compliance with program requirements. The department may require that
technical assistance be provided to a provider to assist in the implementation of any corrective action
plan.

10. Appeals. The provider can appeal any adverse action under 441—Chapter 7.

(4) Providers of residential-based supported community living services shall be subject to reviews
of compliance with program requirements pursuant to subrule 77.37(13).

77.37(24) Transportation service providers. The following providers may provide transportation:
Accredited providers of home- and community-based services.

Regional transit agencies as recognized by the lowa department of transportation.
Transportation providers that contract with county governments.

Community action agencies as designated in lowa Code section 216A.93.

Nursing facilities licensed under lowa Code chapter 135C.

Area agencies on aging as designated in rule 17—4.4(231), subcontractors of area agencies
on aging, or organizations with letters of approval from the area agencies on aging stating that the
organization is qualified to provide transportation services.

g Transportation providers contracting with the nonemergency medical transportation contractor.

77.37(25) Adult day care providers. Adult day care providers shall be agencies that are certified
by the department of inspections and appeals as being in compliance with the standards for adult day
services programs at 481—Chapter 70.

77.37(26) Prevocational service providers.

a.  Providers of prevocational services must be accredited by one of the following:

(1) The Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities as an organizational employment
service provider or a community employment service provider.

(2) The Council on Quality and Leadership accreditation in supports for people with disabilities.

b.  Providers responsible for the payroll of members shall have policies that ensure compliance
with state and federal labor laws and regulations, which include, but are not limited to:

(1) Subminimum wage laws and regulations, including the Workforce Investment Opportunity Act.

(2) Member vacation, sick leave and holiday compensation.

(3) Procedures for payment schedules and pay scale.

(4) Procedures for provision of workers’ compensation insurance.

(5) Procedures for the determination and review of commensurate wages.

Direct support staff providing prevocational services shall meet the following minimum
quahﬁcatlons in addition to other requirements outlined in administrative rule:

B


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/441.77.37.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/441.77.37.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/441.77.37.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/441.77.37.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/441.77.37.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/441.77.37.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/441.7.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/441.77.37.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/section/216A.93.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/chapter/135C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/17.4.4.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/481.70.pdf

Ch 77, p.48 Human Services[441] IAC 6/29/22

(1) A person providing direct support without line-of-sight supervision shall be at least 18 years of
age and possess a high school diploma or equivalent. A person providing direct support with line-of-sight
supervision shall be 16 years of age or older.

(2) A person providing direct support shall not be an immediate family member of the member.

(3) A person providing direct support shall, within 6 months of hire or within 6 months of May 4,
2016, complete at least 9.5 hours of employment services training as offered through DirectCourse or
through the Association of Community Rehabilitation Educators (ACRE) certified training program.

(4) Prevocational direct support staff shall complete 4 hours of continuing education in employment
services annually.

77.37(27) Day habilitation providers. Day habilitation services may be provided by agencies
meeting the qualifications in subrule 77.25(7).

77.37(28) Financial management service. Consumers who elect the consumer choices option shall
work with a financial institution that meets the qualifications in subrule 77.30(13).

77.37(29) Independent support brokerage. Consumers who elect the consumer choices option shall
work with an independent support broker who meets the qualifications in subrule 77.30(14).

77.37(30) Self-directed personal care. Consumers who elect the consumer choices option may
choose to purchase self-directed personal care services from an individual or business that meets the
requirements in subrule 77.30(15).

77.37(31) Individual-directed goods and services. Consumers who elect the consumer choices
option may choose to purchase individual-directed goods and services from an individual or business
that meets the requirements in subrule 77.30(16).

71.37(32) Self-directed community supports and employment. Consumers who elect the consumer
choices option may choose to purchase self-directed community supports and employment from an
individual or business that meets the requirements in subrule 77.30(17).

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A 4.
[ARC 7936B, IAB 7/1/09, effective 9/1/09; ARC 9314B, IAB 12/29/10, effective 3/1/11; ARC 0191C, IAB 7/11/12, effective 7/1/12;
ARC 0359C, IAB 10/3/12, effective 12/1/12; ARC 0757C, IAB 5/29/13, effective 8/1/13; ARC 1071C, IAB 10/2/13, effective 10/1/13;
ARC 1149C, IAB 10/30/13, effective 1/1/14; ARC 2361C, IAB 1/6/16, effective 1/1/16; ARC 2471C, IAB 3/30/16, effective 5/4/16;
ARC 3874C, IAB 7/4/18, effective 8/8/18; ARC 5307C, IAB 12/2/20, effective 2/1/21; ARC 5361C, IAB 12/30/20, effective 3/1/21]

441—77.38(249A) Assertive community treatment. Services in the assertive community treatment
(ACT) program shall be rendered by a multidisciplinary team composed of practitioners from the
disciplines described in this rule. The team shall be under the clinical supervision of a psychiatrist. The
program shall designate an individual team member who shall be responsible for administration of the
program, including authority to sign documents and receive payment on behalf of the program.

77.38(1) Minimum composition. At a minimum, the team shall consist of a nurse, a mental health
service provider, and a substance abuse treatment professional.

77.38(2) Psychiatrists. A psychiatrist on the team shall be a physician (MD or DO) who:

a. Is licensed under 653—Chapter 9,

b.  Is certified as a psychiatrist by the American Board of Medical Specialties’ Board of Psychiatry
and Neurology or by the American Osteopathic Board of Neurology and Psychiatry, and

c.  Has experience treating serious and persistent mental illness.

77.38(3) Registered nurses. A nurse on the team shall:

a. Belicensed as a registered nurse under 655—Chapter 3, and

b.  Have experience treating persons with serious and persistent mental illness.

77.38(4) Mental health service providers. A mental health service provider on the team shall be:

a. A mental health counselor or marital and family therapist who:

(1) Is licensed under 645—Chapter 31, and

(2) Has experience treating persons with serious and persistent mental illness; or

b. A social worker who:

(1) Is licensed as a master or independent social worker under 645—Chapter 280, and

(2) Has experience treating persons with serious and persistent mental illness.

77.38(5) Psychologists. A psychologist on the team shall:
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a. Be licensed under 645—Chapter 240, and

b.  Have experience treating persons with serious and persistent mental illness.

77.38(6) Substance abuse treatment professionals. A substance abuse treatment professional on the
team shall:

a. Be an appropriately credentialed counselor pursuant to 641—paragraph 155.21(8) “i, ” and

b.  Have at least three years of experience treating substance abuse.

77.38(7) Peer specialists. A peer specialist on the team shall be a person with serious and persistent
mental illness who has met all requirements of a nationally standardized peer support training program,
including at least 30 hours of training and satisfactory completion of an examination.

77.38(8) Community support specialists. A community support specialist on the team shall be a
person who:

a. Has a bachelor’s degree (BA or BS) in a human services field (sociology, social work,
counseling, psychology, or human services), and

b.  Has experience supporting persons with serious and persistent mental illness.

77.38(9) Case managers. A case manager on the team shall be a person who:

a. Has a bachelor’s degree (BA or BS) in a human services field (sociology, social work,
counseling, psychology, or human services),

b.  Has experience managing care for persons with serious and persistent mental illness, and

¢.  Meets the qualifications of “qualified case managers and supervisors” in rule 441—24.1(225C).

77.38(10) Advanced registered nurse practitioners. An advanced registered nurse practitioner on
the team shall:

a. Be licensed under 655—Chapter 7,

b. Have a mental health certification, and

c.  Have experience treating serious and persistent mental illness.

77.38(11) Physician assistants. A physician assistant on the team shall:

a. Be licensed under 645—Chapter 326,

b.  Have experience treating persons with serious and persistent mental illness, and

¢.  Practice under the supervision of a psychiatrist.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A.4.
[ARC 9440B, IAB 4/6/11, effective 4/1/11]

441—77.39(249A) HCBS brain injury waiver service providers. Providers shall be eligible to
participate in the Medicaid brain injury waiver program if they meet the requirements in this rule
and the subrules applicable to the individual service. Beginning January 1, 2015, providers initially
enrolling to deliver BI waiver services and each of their staff members involved in direct consumer
service must have completed the department’s brain injury training modules one and two within 60 days
from the beginning date of service provision, with the exception of staff members who are certified
through the Academy of Certified Brain Injury Specialists (ACBIS) as a certified brain injury specialist
(CBIS) or certified brain injury specialist trainer (CBIST), providers of home and vehicle modification,
specialized medical equipment, transportation, personal emergency response, financial management,
independent support brokerage, self-directed personal care, individual-directed goods and services, and
self-directed community supports and employment. Providers enrolled to provide BI waiver services
and each of their staff members involved in direct consumer service on or before December 31, 2014,
shall be deemed to have completed the required training.

Services shall be rendered by a person who is at least 16 years old (except as otherwise provided
in this rule) and is not the spouse of the consumer served or the parent or stepparent of a consumer
aged 17 or under. People who are 16 or 17 years old must be employed and supervised by an enrolled
HCBS provider unless they are employed to provide self-directed personal care services through the
consumer choices option. A person hired for self-directed personal care services need not be supervised
by an enrolled HCBS provider. A person hired through the consumer choices option for independent
support brokerage, self-directed personal care, individual-directed goods and services, or self-directed
community support and employment is not required to enroll as a Medicaid provider and is not subject
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to review under subrule 77.39(11). Consumer-directed attendant care and interim medical monitoring
and treatment providers must be at least 18 years of age.

In addition, behavioral programming, supported community living, and supported employment
providers shall meet the outcome-based standards set forth below in subrules 77.39(1) and 77.39(2)
evaluated according to subrules 77.39(8) to 77.39(10), and the requirements of subrules 77.39(3) to
77.39(7). Respite providers shall also meet the standards in subrule 77.39(1).

The integrated, community-based settings standards in subrule 77.25(5) apply to all HCBS brain
injury waiver service providers.

77.39(1) Organizational standards (Outcome 1). Organizational outcome-based standards for
HCBS BI providers are as follows:

a.  The organization demonstrates the provision and oversight of high-quality supports and services
to consumers.

b.  The organization demonstrates a defined mission commensurate with consumers’ needs,
desires, and abilities.

c.  The organization establishes and maintains fiscal accountability.

d.  The organization has qualified staff commensurate with the needs of the consumers they serve.
These staff demonstrate competency in performing duties and in all interactions with clients.

e.  The organization provides needed training and supports to its staff. This training includes at a
minimum:

(1) Consumer rights.

(2) Confidentiality.

(3) Provision of consumer medication.

(4) Identification and reporting of child and dependent adult abuse.

(5) Individual consumer support needs.

f- The organization has a systematic, organizationwide, planned approach to designing,
measuring, evaluating, and improving the level of its performance. The organization:

(1) Measures and assesses organizational activities and services annually.

(2) Gathers information from consumers, family members, and staff.

(3) Conducts an internal review of consumer service records, including all major and minor incident
reports according to subrule 77.37(8).

(4) Tracks incident data and analyzes trends annually to assess the health and safety of consumers
served by the organization.

(5) Identifies areas in need of improvement.

(6) Develops a plan to address the areas in need of improvement.

(7) Implements the plan and documents the results.

g Consumers and their legal representatives have the right to appeal the provider’s
implementation of the 20 outcomes, or staff or contractual person’s action which affects the consumer.
The provider shall distribute the policies for consumer appeals and procedures to consumers.

h.  The provider shall have written policies and procedures and a staff training program for
the identification and reporting of child and dependent adult abuse to the department pursuant to
441—Chapters 175 and 176.

i.  The governing body has an active role in the administration of the agency.

j. The governing body receives and uses input from a wide range of local community interests
and consumer representation and provides oversight that ensures the provision of high-quality supports
and services to consumers.

77.39(2) Rights and dignity. Outcome-based standards for rights and dignity are as follows:
(Outcome 2) Consumers are valued.

(Outcome 3) Consumers live in positive environments.
(Outcome 4) Consumers work in positive environments.
(Outcome 5) Consumers exercise their rights and responsibilities.
(Outcome 6) Consumers have privacy.
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" (Outcome 7) When there is a need, consumers have support to exercise and safeguard their
rights.
(Outcome 8) Consumers decide which personal information is shared and with whom.
(Outcome 9) Consumers make informed choices about where they work.

(Outcome 10) Consumers make informed choices on how they spend their free time.
(Outcome 11) Consumers make informed choices about where and with whom they live.
(Outcome 12) Consumers choose their daily routine.

(Outcome 13) Consumers are a part of community life and perform varied social roles.
(Outcome 14) Consumers have a social network and varied relationships.

(Outcome 15) Consumers develop and accomplish personal goals.

(Outcome 16) Management of consumers’ money is addressed on an individualized basis.
(Outcome 17) Consumers maintain good health.

(Outcome 18) The consumer’s living environment is reasonably safe in the consumer’s home
and community.

7. (Outcome 19) The consumer’s desire for intimacy is respected and supported.

5. (Outcome 20) Consumers have an impact on the services they receive.

77.39(3) The right to appeal. Consumers and their legal representatives have the right to appeal
the provider’s application of policies or procedures, or any staff or contractual person’s action which
affects the consumer. The provider shall distribute the policies for consumer appeals and procedures to
consumers.

77.39(4) Storage and provision of medication. If the provider stores, handles, prescribes, dispenses
or administers prescription or over-the-counter medications, the provider shall develop procedures for the
storage, handling, prescribing, dispensing or administration of medication. For controlled substances,
procedures shall be in accordance with department of inspections and appeals rule 481—63.18(135).

77.39(5) Research. If the provider conducts research involving consumers, the provider shall have
written policies and procedures addressing the research. These policies and procedures shall ensure that
consumers’ rights are protected.

77.39(6) Incident management and reporting. As a condition of participation in the medical
assistance program, HCBS brain injury waiver service providers must comply with the requirements
of Towa Code sections 232.69 and 235B.3 regarding the reporting of child abuse and dependent adult
abuse and with the incident management and reporting requirements in this subrule. EXCEPTION:
The conditions in this subrule do not apply to providers of goods and services purchased under the
consumer choices option or providers of home and vehicle modification, personal emergency response,
and transportation.

a. Definitions.

“Major incident” means an occurrence involving a consumer during service provision that:

1.  Results in a physical injury to or by the consumer that requires a physician’s treatment or
admission to a hospital;

2. Results in the death of any person;

3. Requires emergency mental health treatment for the consumer;

4. Requires the intervention of law enforcement;

5. Requires a report of child abuse pursuant to lowa Code section 232.69 or a report of dependent
adult abuse pursuant to lowa Code section 235B.3;

6. Constitutes a prescription medication error or a pattern of medication errors that leads to the
outcome in paragraph “1,” “2,” or “3”; or

7. Involves a consumer’s location being unknown by provider staff who are assigned protective
oversight.

“Minor incident” means an occurrence involving a consumer during service provision that is not a
major incident and that:

1. Results in the application of basic first aid;

2. Results in bruising;

3. Results in seizure activity;
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4. Results in injury to self, to others, or to property; or

5. Constitutes a prescription medication error.

b.  Reporting procedure for minor incidents. Minor incidents may be reported in any format
designated by the provider. When a minor incident occurs or a staff member becomes aware of a minor
incident, the staff member involved shall submit the completed incident report to the staff member’s
supervisor within 72 hours of the incident. The completed report shall be maintained in a centralized
file with a notation in the consumer’s file.

¢.  Reporting procedure for major incidents. When a major incident occurs or a staff member
becomes aware of a major incident:

(1) The staff member involved shall notify the following persons of the incident by the end of the
next calendar day after the incident:

1.  The staff member’s supervisor.

2. The consumer or the consumer’s legal guardian. EXCEPTION: Notification to the consumer is
required only if the incident took place outside of the provider’s service provision. Notification to the
guardian, if any, is always required.

3. The consumer’s case manager.

(2) By the end of the next calendar day after the incident, the staff member who observed or first
became aware of the incident shall also report as much information as is known about the incident to
the member’s managed care organization in the format defined by the managed care organization. If the
member is not enrolled with a managed care organization, the staff member shall report the information
to the department’s bureau of long-term care either:

1. By direct data entry into the lowa Medicaid Provider Access System, or

2. By faxing or mailing Form 470-4698, Critical Incident Report, according to the directions on
the form.

(3) The following information shall be reported:

1. The name of the consumer involved.

2. The date and time the incident occurred.

3. A description of the incident.

4. The names of all provider staff and others who were present at the time of the incident or
who responded after becoming aware of the incident. The confidentiality of other waiver-eligible or
non-waiver-eligible consumers who were present must be maintained by the use of initials or other
means.

5. The action that the provider staff took to manage the incident.

6. The resolution of or follow-up to the incident.

7. The date the report is made and the handwritten or electronic signature of the person making
the report.

(4) Submission of the initial report will generate a workflow in the Individualized Services
Information System (ISIS) for follow-up by the case manager. When complete information about the
incident is not available at the time of the initial report, the provider must submit follow-up reports until
the case manager is satisfied with the incident resolution and follow-up. The completed report shall be
maintained in a centralized file with a notation in the consumer’s file.

d.  Tracking and analysis. The provider shall track incident data and analyze trends to assess
the health and safety of consumers served and determine if changes need to be made for service
implementation or if staff training is needed to reduce the number or severity of incidents.

77.39(7) Intake, admission, service coordination, discharge, and referral.

a.  The provider shall have written policies and procedures according to state and federal laws for
intake, admission, service coordination, discharge and referral.

b.  The provider shall ensure the rights of persons applying for services.

77.39(8) Certification process. Reviews of compliance with standards for initial certification and
recertification shall be conducted by the department of human services’ bureau of long-term care quality
assurance staff. Certification carries no assurance that the approved provider will receive funding.

a. Rescinded TAB 9/1/04, effective 11/1/04.
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b. Rescinded IAB 9/1/04, effective 11/1/04.

c. Rescinded TAB 9/1/04, effective 11/1/04.

d.  The department may request any information from the prospective service provider which is
considered pertinent to arriving at a certification decision. This may include, but is not limited to:

(1) Current accreditations, evaluations, inspections and reviews by regulatory and licensing
agencies and associations.

(2) Fiscal capacity of the prospective provider to initiate and operate the specified programs on an
ongoing basis.

77.39(9) Initial certification. The department shall review the application and accompanying
information to see if the provider has the necessary framework to provide services in accordance with
all applicable requirements and standards.

a. The department shall make a determination regarding initial certification within 60 days of
receipt of the application and notify the provider in writing of the decision unless extended by mutual
consent of the parties involved.

b.  The decision of the department on initial certification of the providers shall be based on all
relevant information, including:

(1) The application for status as an approved provider according to requirements of rules.

(2) A determination of the financial position of the prospective provider in relation to its ability to
meet the stated need.

c.  Providers applying for initial certification shall be offered technical assistance.

77.39(10) Period of certification. Provider certification shall become effective on the date identified
on the certificate of approval and shall terminate in 270 calendar days, one year, or three calendar
years from the month of issue. The renewal of certification shall be contingent upon demonstration of
continued compliance with certification requirements.

a. Initial certification. Providers eligible for initial certification by the department shall be issued
an initial certification for 270 calendar days based on documentation provided.

b. Recertification. After the initial certification, the level of certification shall be based on an
on-site review unless the provider has been accredited for similar services by the Joint Commission on
Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO), the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation
Facilities (CARF), the Council on Quality and Leadership in Supports for People with Disabilities (The
Council), or the Council on Accreditation of Services for Families and Children (COA). The on-site
reviews for supported community living and supported employment use interviews with consumers and
significant people in the consumer’s life to determine whether or not the 20 individual value-based
outcomes set forth in subrules 77.39(1) and 77.39(2) and corresponding processes are present for the
consumer. Respite services are required to meet Outcome 1 and participate in satisfaction surveys.

Once the outcomes and processes have been determined for all the consumers in the sample, a review
team then determines which of the 20 outcomes and processes are present for the provider. A specific
outcome is present for the provider when the specific outcome is determined to be present for 75 percent
or more of the consumers interviewed. A specific process is present for the provider when the process
is determined to be present for 75 percent or more of the consumers interviewed. Since the processes
are in the control of the provider and the outcomes are more in the control of the consumer, length of
certification will be based more heavily on whether or not the processes are in place to help consumers
obtain desired outcomes.

An exit conference shall be held with the organization to share preliminary findings of the
certification review. A review report shall be written and sent to the provider within 30 calendar days
unless the parties mutually agree to extend that time frame.

Provider certification shall become effective on the date identified on the Certificate of Approval,
Form 470-3410, and shall terminate in 270 calendar days, one year, or three calendar years from the
month of issue. The renewal of certification shall be contingent upon demonstration of continued
compliance with certification requirements.

c.  The department may issue four categories of recertification:


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/bulletin/09-01-2004.pdf
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(1) Three-year certification with excellence. An organization is eligible for certification with
excellence if the number of processes present is 18 or higher and the number of outcomes and
corresponding processes present together is 12 or higher. Both criteria need to be met to receive
three-year certification with excellence. Corrective actions may be required which may be monitored
through the assignment of follow-up monitoring either by written report, a plan of corrective actions
and improvements, an on-site review, or the provision of technical assistance.

(2) Three-year certification with follow-up monitoring. An organization is eligible for this type
of certification if the number of processes present is 17 or higher and the number of outcomes and
corresponding processes present together is 11 or higher. Both criteria need to be met to receive
three-year certification. Corrective actions are required which may be monitored through the assignment
of follow-up monitoring either by written report, a plan of corrective actions and improvements, an
on-site review, or the provision of technical assistance.

(3) One-year certification. An organization is eligible for this type of certification when the
number of processes present is 14 or higher and the number of outcomes and processes present together
is 9 or higher. Both criteria need to be met to receive one-year certification. One-year certification
may also be given in lieu of longer certification when previously required corrective actions have not
been implemented or completed. Corrective actions are required which may be monitored through
the assignment of follow-up monitoring either by written report, a plan of corrective actions and
improvements, an on-site review, or the provision of technical assistance.

(4) Probational certification. A probational certification may be issued to those providers who
cannot meet requirements for a one-year certification. This time period shall be granted to the provider
to establish and implement corrective actions and improvement activities. During this time period the
department may require monitoring of the implementation of the corrective actions through on-site visits,
written reports or technical assistance. Probational certification issued for 270 calendar days shall not
be renewed or extended and shall require a full on-site follow-up review to be completed. The provider
shall be required to achieve at least a one-year certification status at the time of the follow-up review in
order to maintain certification.

d.  During the course of the review, if a team member encounters a situation that places a consumer
in immediate jeopardy, the team member shall immediately notify the provider, the department, and
other team members. “Immediate jeopardy” refers to circumstances where the life, health, or safety of a
member will be severely jeopardized if the circumstances are not immediately corrected.

(1) The provider shall correct the situation within 24 to 48 hours. If the situation is not corrected
within the prescribed time frame, that portion of the provider’s services that was the subject of the
notification shall not be certified. The department shall immediately discontinue funding for that
provider’s service.

(2) If this action is appealed and the member, legal guardian, or attorney in fact under a durable
power of attorney for health care wants to maintain the provider’s services, funding can be reinstated. At
that time the provider shall take appropriate action to ensure the life, health, and safety of the members
deemed to be at risk as a result of the provider’s inaction.

e. Asamandatory reporter, each team member shall be required to follow appropriate procedure
in all cases where a condition reportable to child and adult protective services is observed.

f- The department may grant an extension to the period of approval for the following reasons:

(1) A delay in the department’s approval decision which is beyond the control of the provider or
department.

(2) A request for an extension from a provider to permit the provider to prepare and obtain
department approval of corrective actions. The department shall establish the length of extensions on
a case-by-case basis.

g The department may revoke the provider’s approval at any time for any of the following reasons:

(1) Findings of a site visit indicate that the provider has failed to implement the corrective actions
submitted pursuant to paragraph 77.39(11) “d.”

(2) The provider has failed to provide information requested pursuant to paragraph 77.39(11) “e. ”
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(3) The provider refuses to allow the department to conduct a site visit pursuant to paragraph
77.39(11) "

(4) There are instances of noncompliance with the standards which were not identified from
information submitted on the application.

h.  An approved provider shall immediately notify the department, applicable county, or region,
the applicable mental health and developmental disabilities planning council, and other interested parties
of a decision to withdraw from an HCBS BI waiver service.

i.  Following certification, any provider may request technical assistance from the department
to bring into conformity those areas found in noncompliance with HCBS requirements. If multiple
deficiencies are noted during a review, the department may require that technical assistance be provided
to a provider to assist in the implementation of the provider’s corrective actions. Providers may be given
technical assistance as needed.

j. Appeals. Any adverse action can be appealed by the provider under 441—Chapter 7.

77.39(11) Departmental reviews. Reviews of compliance with standards as indicated in this chapter
shall be conducted by the division of mental health and developmental disabilities quality assurance
review staff. This review may include on-site case record audits, administrative procedures, clinical
practices, and interviews with staff, consumers, and board of directors consistent with the confidentiality
safeguards of state and federal laws.

a. Reviews shall be conducted annually with additional reviews conducted at the discretion of the
department.

b.  Following a departmental review, the department shall submit a copy of the department’s
determined survey report to the service provider, noting service deficiencies and strengths.

c.  The service provider shall develop a plan of corrective action identifying completion time
frames for each survey deficiency.

d. The corrective action plan shall be submitted to the Division of Mental Health and
Developmental Disabilities, 5Sth Floor, Hoover State Office Building, Des Moines, lowa 50319-0114,
and include a statement dated and signed, if applicable, by the chief administrative officer and president
or chairperson of the governing body that all information submitted to the department is accurate and
complete.

e.  The department may request the provider to supply subsequent reports on implementation of a
corrective action plan submitted pursuant to paragraphs 77.39(11) “c” and “d.”

£~ The department may conduct a site visit to verify all or part of the information submitted.

77.39(12) Case management service providers. Case management provider organizations are
eligible to participate in the Medicaid HCBS brain injury waiver program provided that they meet the
standards in 441—Chapter 24 and they are the department of human services, a county or consortium
of counties, or a provider under subcontract to the department or a county or consortium of counties.

77.39(13) Supported community living providers.

a. The department shall certify only public or private agencies to provide the supported community
living service. The department does not recognize individuals as service providers under the supported
community living program.

b.  Providers of services meeting the definition of foster care shall also be licensed according to
applicable 441—Chapters 108, 112, 114, 115, and 116, which deal with foster care licensing.

c¢.  Providers of service may employ or contract with individuals meeting the definition of foster
family homes to provide supported community living services. These individuals shall be licensed
according to applicable 441—Chapters 112 and 113, which deal with foster care licensing.

d.  The department shall approve living units designed to serve four consumers if the geographic
location of the program does not result in an overconcentration of programs in an area.

(1) and (2) Rescinded IAB 8/7/02, effective 10/1/02.

e. The department shall approve living units designed to serve up to four persons except as
necessary to prevent an overconcentration of supported community living units in a geographic area.

f- The department shall approve a living unit designed to serve five persons if both of the following
conditions are met:
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(1) Approval will not result in an overconcentration of supported community living units in a
geographic area.

(2) The county in which the living unit is located provides to the bureau of long-term care
verification in writing that the approval is needed to address one or more of the following issues:

1. The quantity of services currently available in the county is insufficient to meet the need;

2. The quantity of affordable rental housing in the county is insufficient to meet the need; or

3. Approval will result in a reduction in the size or quantity of larger congregate settings.

77.39(14) Respite service providers. Respite providers are eligible to be providers of respite service
in the HCBS brain injury waiver if they have documented training or experience with persons with a
brain injury.

a. The following agencies may provide respite services:

(1) Respite providers certified under the HCBS intellectual disability waiver.

(2) Adult day care providers that meet the conditions of participation set forth in subrule 77.39(20).

(3) Group living foster care facilities for children licensed by the department according to
441—Chapters 112 and 114 to 116 and child care centers licensed according to 441—Chapter 109.

(4) Camps certified by the American Camping Association.

(5) Home care agencies that meet the conditions of participation set forth in subrule 77.30(1).

(6) Nursing facilities, intermediate care facilities for the mentally retarded, and hospitals enrolled
as providers in the lowa Medicaid program.

(7) Residential care facilities for persons with mental retardation licensed by the department of
inspections and appeals.

(8) Home health agencies that are certified to participate in the Medicare program.

(9) Agencies certified by the department to provide respite services in the consumer’s home that
meet the requirements of subrules 77.39(1) and 77.39(3) through 77.39(7).

(10) Assisted living programs certified by the department of inspections and appeals.

b.  Respite providers shall meet the following conditions:

(1) Providers shall maintain the following information that shall be updated at least annually:

1. The consumer’s name, birth date, age, and address and the telephone number of each parent,
guardian or primary caregiver.

2. An emergency medical care release.

3. Emergency contact telephone numbers such as the number of the consumer’s physician and the
parents, guardian, or primary caregiver.

4. The consumer’s medical issues, including allergies.

5. The consumer’s daily schedule which includes the consumer’s preferences in activities or foods
or any other special concerns.

(2) Procedures shall be developed for the dispensing, storage, authorization, and recording of all
prescription and nonprescription medications administered. Home health agencies must follow Medicare
regulations for medication dispensing.

All medications shall be stored in their original containers, with the accompanying physician’s or
pharmacist’s directions and label intact. Medications shall be stored so they are inaccessible to consumers
and the public. Nonprescription medications shall be labeled with the consumer’s name.

In the case of medications that are administered on an ongoing, long-term basis, authorization shall
be obtained for a period not to exceed the duration of the prescription.

(3) Policies shall be developed for:

1. Notifying the parent, guardian or primary caregiver of any injuries or illnesses that occur during
respite provision. A parent’s, guardian’s or primary caregiver’s signature is required to verify receipt of
notification.

2. Requiring the parent, guardian or primary caregiver to notify the respite provider of any injuries
or illnesses that occurred prior to respite provision.

3. Documenting activities and times of respite. This documentation shall be made available to the
parent, guardian or primary caregiver upon request.
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4. Ensuring the safety and privacy of the individual. Policies shall at a minimum address threat
of fire, tornado, or flood and bomb threats.

c. A facility providing respite under this subrule shall not exceed the facility’s licensed capacity,
and services shall be provided in locations consistent with licensure.

d. Respite provided outside the consumer’s home or the facility covered by the licensure,
certification, accreditation, or contract must be approved by the parent, guardian or primary caregiver
and the interdisciplinary team and must be consistent with the way the location is used by the general
public. Respite in these locations shall not exceed 72 continuous hours.

77.39(15) Supported employment providers.

a. The following agencies may provide supported employment services:

(1) Anagency that is accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities as
an organizational employment service provider, a community employment service provider or a provider
of a similar service.

(2) An agency that is accredited by the Council on Accreditation for similar services.

(3) An agency that is accredited by the Joint Commission for similar services.

(4) An agency that is accredited by the Council on Quality and Leadership for similar services.

(5) An agency that is accredited by the International Center for Clubhouse Development.

b.  Providers responsible for the payroll of members shall have policies that ensure compliance
with state and federal labor laws and regulations, which include, but are not limited to:

(1) Subminimum wage laws and regulations, including the Workforce Investment Opportunity Act.

(2) Member vacation, sick leave and holiday compensation.

(3) Procedures for payment schedules and pay scale.

(4) Procedures for provision of workers’ compensation insurance.

(5) Procedures for the determination and review of commensurate wages.

c¢.  Individuals may not provide supported employment services except when the services are
purchased through the consumer choices option.

d.  Direct support staff providing individual or small-group supported employment or long-term
job coaching services shall meet the following minimum qualifications in addition to other requirements
outlined in administrative rule:

(1) Individual supported employment: bachelor’s degree or commensurate experience, preferably
in human services, sociology, psychology, education, human resources, marketing, sales or business. The
person must also hold a nationally recognized certification (ACRE or College of Employment Services
(CES) or similar) as an employment specialist or must earn this credential within 24 months of hire.

(2) Long-term job coaching: associate degree, or high school diploma or equivalent and 6 months’
relevant experience. A person providing direct support shall, within 6 months of hire or within 6
months of May 4, 2016, complete at least 9.5 hours of employment services training as offered through
DirectCourse or through the ACRE certified training program. The person must also hold or obtain,
within 24 months of hire, nationally recognized certification in job training and coaching.

(3) Small-group supported employment: associate degree, or high school diploma or equivalent
and 6 months’ relevant experience. A person providing direct support shall, within 6 months of hire or
within 6 months of May 4, 2016, complete at least 9.5 hours of employment services training as offered
through DirectCourse or through the ACRE certified training program. The person must also hold or
obtain, within 24 months of hire, nationally recognized certification in job training and coaching.

(4) Supported employment direct support staff shall complete 4 hours of continuing education in
employment services annually.

77.39(16) Home and vehicle modification providers. The following providers may provide home
and vehicle modification:

a. Providers eligible to participate as home and vehicle modification providers under the elderly
or health and disability waiver, enrolled as home and vehicle modification providers under the physical
disability waiver, or certified as home and vehicle modification providers under the physical disability
waiver.
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b.  Community businesses that have all necessary licenses and permits to operate in conformity
with federal, state, and local laws and regulations and that submit verification of current liability and
workers’ compensation insurance.

77.39(17) Personal emergency response system providers. Personal emergency response system
providers shall be agencies which meet the conditions of participation set forth in subrule 77.33(2).

a. Providers shall be certified annually.

b. The service provider shall submit documentation to the department supporting continued
compliance with the requirements set forth in subrule 77.33(2) 90 days before the expiration of the
current certification.

77.39(18) Transportation service providers. This service is not to be provided at the same time as
supported community service, which includes transportation. The following providers may provide
transportation:

a. Area agencies on aging as designated in rule 17—4.4(231) or with letters of approval from the
area agencies on aging stating the organization is qualified to provide transportation services.

b.  Community action agencies as designated in lowa Code section 216A.93.

c¢.  Regional transit agencies as recognized by the lowa department of transportation.

d.  Providers with purchase of service contracts to provide transportation pursuant to 441—Chapter

e.  Nursing facilities licensed pursuant to lowa Code chapter 135C.

f- Transportation providers contracting with the nonemergency medical transportation contractor.

77.39(19) Specialized medical equipment providers. The following providers may provide
specialized medical equipment:

a. Medical equipment and supply dealers participating as providers in the Medicaid program.

b.  Retail and wholesale businesses participating as providers in the Medicaid program which
provide specialized medical equipment as defined in 441—subrule 78.43(8).

77.39(20) Adult day care providers. Adult day care providers shall be agencies that are certified
by the department of inspections and appeals as being in compliance with the standards for adult day
services programs at 481—Chapter 70.

77.39(21) Family counseling and training providers. Family counseling and training providers shall
be one of the following:

a. Providers certified under the community mental health center standards established by the
mental health and developmental disabilities commission, set forth in 441—Chapter 24, Divisions I and
III, and that employ staff to provide family counseling and training who meet the definition of qualified
brain injury professional as set forth in rule 441—S83.81(249A).

b.  Providers licensed as meeting the hospice standards and requirements set forth in department of
inspections and appeals rules in 481—Chapter 53 or certified to meet the standards under the Medicare
program for hospice programs, and that employ staff who meet the definition of qualified brain injury
professional as set forth in rule 441—83.81(249A).

¢.  Providers accredited under the mental health service provider standards established by the
mental health and developmental and disabilities commission, set forth in 441—Chapter 24, Divisions
I and IV, and that employ staff to provide family counseling and training who meet the definition of
qualified brain injury professional as set forth in rule 441—83.81(249A).

d. Individuals who meet the definition of qualified brain injury professional as set forth in rule
441—83.81(249A).

e. Agencies certified as brain injury waiver providers pursuant to rule 441—77.39(249A) that
employ staff to provide family counseling who meet the definition of a qualified brain injury professional
as set forth in rule 441—83.81(249A).

£ Agencies which are accredited by a department-approved, nationally recognized accreditation
organization as specialty brain injury rehabilitation service providers.

77.39(22) Prevocational services providers.

a. Providers of prevocational services must be accredited by one of the following:
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(1) The Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities as an organizational employment
service provider or a community employment service provider.

(2) The Council on Quality and Leadership accreditation in supports for people with disabilities.

b.  Providers responsible for the payroll of members shall have policies that ensure compliance
with state and federal labor laws and regulations, which include, but are not limited to:

(1) Subminimum wage laws and regulations, including the Workforce Investment Opportunity Act.

(2) Member vacation, sick leave and holiday compensation.

(3) Procedures for payment schedules and pay scale.

(4) Procedures for provision of workers’ compensation insurance.

(5) Procedures for the determination and review of commensurate wages.

c.  Direct support staff providing prevocational services shall meet the following minimum
qualifications in addition to other requirements outlined in administrative rule:

(1) A person providing direct support without line-of-sight supervision shall be at least 18 years of
age and possess a high school diploma or equivalent. A person providing direct support with line-of-sight
supervision shall be 16 years of age or older.

(2) A person providing direct support shall not be an immediate family member of the member.

(3) A person providing direct support shall, within 6 months of hire or within 6 months of May 4,
2016, complete at least 9.5 hours of employment services training as offered through DirectCourse or
through the Association of Community Rehabilitation Educators (ACRE) certified training program.

(4) Supported employment direct support staff shall complete 4 hours of continuing education in
employment services annually.

77.39(23) Behavioral programming providers. Behavioral programming providers shall be required
to have experience with or training regarding the special needs of persons with a brain injury. In addition,
they must meet the following requirements.

a. Behavior assessment, and development of an appropriate intervention plan, and periodic
reassessment of the plan, and training of staff who shall implement the plan must be done by a qualified
brain injury professional as defined in rule 441—83.81(249A). Formal assessment of the consumers’
intellectual and behavioral functioning must be done by a licensed psychologist or a psychiatrist who
is certified by the American Board of Psychiatry.

b. Implementation of the plan and training and supervision of caregivers, including family
members, must be done by behavioral aides who have been trained by a qualified brain injury
professional as defined in rule 441—83.81(249A) and who are employees of one of the following:

(1) Agencies which are certified under the community mental health center standards established
by the mental health and developmental disabilities commission, set forth in 441—Chapter 24, Divisions
I and IIL.

(2) Agencies which are licensed as meeting the hospice standards and requirements set forth in
department of inspections and appeals rules 481—Chapter 53 or which are certified to meet the standards
under the Medicare program for hospice programs.

(3) Agencies which are accredited under the mental health service provider standards established
by the mental health and disabilities commission, set forth in 441—Chapter 24, Divisions I and IV.

(4) Home health aide providers meeting the standards set forth in subrule 77.33(3). Home health
aide providers certified by Medicare shall be considered to have met these standards.

(5) Brain injury waiver providers certified pursuant to rule 441—77.39(249A).

(6) Agencies which are accredited by a department-approved, nationally recognized accreditation
organization as specialty brain injury rehabilitation service providers.

(7) Individuals who meet the definition of “qualified brain injury professional” as set forth in rule
441—83.81(249A).

77.39(24) Consumer-directed attendant care providers. The following providers may provide
consumer-directed attendant care service:

a.  An individual who contracts with the member to provide attendant care service and who is:

(1) At least 18 years of age.


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/441.83.81.pdf
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(2) Qualified by training or experience to carry out the member’s plan of care pursuant to the
department-approved case plan or individual comprehensive plan.

(3) Not the spouse of the member or a parent or stepparent of a member aged 17 or under.

(4) Not the recipient of respite services paid through home- and community-based services on
behalf of a member who receives home- and community-based services.

b.  Agencies authorized to provide similar services through a contract with the department of public
health (IDPH) for local public health services. The agency must provide a current IDPH local public
health services contract number.

c.  Home health agencies which are certified to participate in the Medicare program.

d.  Chore providers subcontracting with area agencies on aging or with letters of approval from
the area agencies on aging stating that the organization is qualified to provide chore services.

e. Community action agencies as designated in lowa Code section 216A.93.

/- Providers certified under an HCBS waiver for supported community living.

g Assisted living programs that are certified by the department of inspections and appeals under
481—Chapter 69.

h.  Adult day service providers that are certified by the department of inspections and appeals under
481—Chapter 70.

77.39(25) Interim medical monitoring and treatment providers.

a. The following providers may provide interim medical monitoring and treatment services:

(1) Home health agencies certified to participate in the Medicare program.

(2) Supported community living providers certified according to subrule 77.37(14) or 77.39(13).

b.  Staffrequirements. Staff members providing interim medical monitoring and treatment services
to members shall meet all of the following requirements:

(1) Be at least 18 years of age.

(2) Not be the spouse of the member or a parent or stepparent of the member if the member is aged
17 or under.

(3) Not be a usual caregiver of the member.

(4) Be qualified by training or experience to provide medical intervention or intervention in a
medical emergency necessary to carry out the member’s plan of care. The training or experience
required must be determined by the member’s usual caregivers and a licensed medical professional on
the member’s interdisciplinary team and must be documented in the member’s service plan.

c.  Service documentation. Providers shall maintain clinical and fiscal records necessary to fully
disclose the extent of services furnished to members. Records shall specify by service date the procedures
performed, together with information concerning progress of treatment.

77.39(26) Financial management service. Consumers who elect the consumer choices option shall
work with a financial institution that meets the qualifications in subrule 77.30(13).

77.39(27) Independent support brokerage. Consumers who elect the consumer choices option shall
work with an independent support broker who meets the qualifications in subrule 77.30(14).

77.39(28) Self-directed personal care. Consumers who elect the consumer choices option may
choose to purchase self-directed personal care services from an individual or business that meets the
requirements in subrule 77.30(15).

77.39(29) Individual-directed goods and services. Consumers who elect the consumer choices
option may choose to purchase individual-directed goods and services from an individual or business
that meets the requirements in subrule 77.30(16).

77.39(30) Self-directed community supports and employment. Consumers who elect the consumer
choices option may choose to purchase self-directed community supports and employment from an
individual or business that meets the requirements in subrule 77.30(17).

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A .4.
[ARC 7936B, IAB 7/1/09, effective 9/1/09; ARC 9314B, IAB 12/29/10, effective 3/1/11; ARC 0191C, IAB 7/11/12, effective 7/1/12;
ARC 0359C, IAB 10/3/12, effective 12/1/12; ARC 0757C, IAB 5/29/13, effective 8/1/13; ARC 1071C, IAB 10/2/13, effective
10/1/13; ARC 1149C, 1AB 10/30/13, effective 1/1/14; ARC 1445C, 1AB 4/30/14, effective 7/1/14; ARC 1638C, IAB 10/1/14,
effective 11/5/14; ARC 2361C, IAB 1/6/16, effective 1/1/16; ARC 2471C, IAB 3/30/16, effective 5/4/16; ARC 3874C, IAB 7/4/18,
effective 8/8/18; ARC 4792C, IAB 12/4/19, effective 1/8/20]
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441—77.40(249A) Lead inspection agencies. The lowa department of public health and agencies
certified by the lowa department of public health pursuant to 641—subrule 70.5(5) are eligible to
participate in the Medicaid program as providers of lead inspection services.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A .4.

441—77.41(249A) HCBS physical disability waiver service providers. Providers shall be eligible to
participate in the Medicaid physical disability waiver program if they meet the requirements in this rule
and the subrules applicable to the individual service. Enrolled providers shall maintain the certification
listed in the applicable subrules in order to remain eligible providers. The integrated, community-based
settings standards in subrule 77.25(5) apply to all HCBS physical disability waiver service providers.

Services shall be rendered by a person who is at least 16 years old (except as otherwise provided
in this rule) and is not the spouse of the consumer served or the parent or stepparent of a consumer
aged 17 or under. People who are 16 or 17 years old must be employed and supervised by an enrolled
HCBS provider unless they are employed to provide self-directed personal care services through the
consumer choices option. A person hired for self-directed personal care services need not be supervised
by an enrolled HCBS provider. A person hired through the consumer choices option for independent
support brokerage, self-directed personal care, individual-directed goods and services, or self-directed
community support and employment is not required to enroll as a Medicaid provider and is not subject
to the requirements of subrule 77.41(1).

77.41(1) Enrollment process. Reviews of compliance with standards for initial enrollment shall be
conducted by the department’s quality assurance staff. Enrollment carries no assurance that the approved
provider will receive funding.

Review of a provider may occur at any time.

The department may request any information from the prospective service provider that is pertinent
to arriving at an enrollment decision. This may include, but is not limited to:

a.  Current accreditations, evaluations, inspection reports, and reviews by regulatory and licensing
agencies and associations.

b.  Fiscal capacity of the prospective provider to initiate and operate the specified programs on an
ongoing basis.

77.41(2) Consumer-directed attendant care providers. The following providers may provide
consumer-directed attendant care service:

a.  Anindividual who contracts with the member to provide consumer-directed attendant care and
who is:

(1) At least 18 years of age.

(2) Qualified by training or experience to carry out the member’s plan of care pursuant to the
department-approved case plan or individual comprehensive plan.

(3) Not the spouse or guardian of the member or a parent or stepparent of a member aged 17 or
under.

(4) Not the recipient of respite services paid through home- and community-based services on
behalf of a member who receives home- and community-based services.

b.  Agencies authorized to provide similar services through a contract with the department of public
health (IDPH) for local public health services. The agency must provide a current IDPH local public
health services contract number.

c¢.  Home health agencies that are certified to participate in the Medicare program.

d.  Chore providers subcontracting with area agencies on aging or with letters of approval from
the area agencies on aging stating that the organization is qualified to provide chore services.

e. Community action agencies as designated in lowa Code section 216A.103.

£ Providers certified under an HCBS waiver for supported community living.

g Assisted living programs that are certified by the department of inspections and appeals under
481—Chapter 69.

h.  Adult day service providers that are certified by the department of inspections and appeals under
481—Chapter 70.
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77.41(3) Home and vehicle modification providers. The following providers may provide home and
vehicle modifications:

a. Providers eligible to participate as home and vehicle modification providers under the elderly
or health and disability waiver or certified as home and vehicle modification providers under the home-
and community-based services intellectual disability or brain injury waiver.

b.  Community businesses that have all necessary licenses and permits to operate in conformity
with federal, state, and local laws and regulations and that submit verification of current liability and
workers’ compensation insurance.

77.41(4) Personal emergency response system providers. Personal emergency response system
providers shall be agencies which meet the conditions of participation set forth in subrule 77.33(2).

77.41(5) Specialized medical equipment providers. The following providers may provide
specialized medical equipment:

a. Medical equipment and supply dealers participating as providers in the Medicaid program.

b.  Retail and wholesale businesses participating as providers in the Medicaid program which
provide specialized medical equipment as defined in 441—subrule 78.46(4).

77.41(6) Transportation service providers. The following providers may provide transportation:

a. Area agencies on aging as designated in 17—4.4(231) or with letters of approval from the area
agencies on aging stating the organization is qualified to provide transportation services.

b.  Community action agencies as designated in lowa Code section 216A.93.

¢.  Regional transit agencies as recognized by the lowa department of transportation.

d.  Nursing facilities licensed pursuant to lowa Code chapter 135C.

e.  Transportation providers contracting with the nonemergency medical transportation contractor.

77.41(7) Financial management service. Consumers who elect the consumer choices option shall
work with a financial institution that meets the qualifications in subrule 77.30(13).

77.41(8) Independent support brokerage. Consumers who elect the consumer choices option shall
work with an independent support broker who meets the qualifications in subrule 77.30(14).

77.41(9) Self-directed personal care. Consumers who elect the consumer choices option may
choose to purchase self-directed personal care services from an individual or business that meets the
requirements in subrule 77.30(15).

77.41(10) Individual-directed goods and services. Consumers who elect the consumer choices
option may choose to purchase individual-directed goods and services from an individual or business
that meets the requirements in subrule 77.30(16).

77.41(11) Self-directed community supports and employment. Consumers who elect the consumer
choices option may choose to purchase self-directed community supports and employment from an
individual or business that meets the subrule requirements in 77.30(17).

77.41(12) Incident management and reporting. As a condition of participation in the medical
assistance program, HCBS physical disability waiver service providers must comply with the
requirements of lowa Code sections 232.69 and 235B.3 regarding the reporting of child abuse and
dependent adult abuse and with the incident management and reporting requirements in this subrule.
EXCEPTION: The conditions in this subrule do not apply to providers of goods and services purchased
under the consumer choices option or providers of home and vehicle modification, specialized medical
equipment, personal emergency response, and transportation.

a.  Definitions.

“Major incident” means an occurrence involving a consumer during service provision that:

1.  Results in a physical injury to or by the consumer that requires a physician’s treatment or
admission to a hospital;

2. Results in the death of any person;

3. Requires emergency mental health treatment for the consumer;

4. Requires the intervention of law enforcement;

5. Requires a report of child abuse pursuant to lowa Code section 232.69 or a report of dependent
adult abuse pursuant to lowa Code section 235B.3;
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6. Constitutes a prescription medication error or a pattern of medication errors that leads to the
outcome in paragraph “1,” “2,” or “3”; or

7. Involves a consumer’s location being unknown by provider staff who are assigned protective
oversight.

“Minor incident” means an occurrence involving a consumer during service provision that is not a
major incident and that:

1. Results in the application of basic first aid;

Results in bruising;

Results in seizure activity;

Results in injury to self, to others, or to property; or
Constitutes a prescription medication error.

b.  Reporting procedure for minor incidents. Minor incidents may be reported in any format
designated by the provider. When a minor incident occurs or a staff member becomes aware of a minor
incident, the staff member involved shall submit the completed incident report to the staff member’s
supervisor within 72 hours of the incident. The completed report shall be maintained in a centralized
file with a notation in the consumer’s file.

¢.  Reporting procedure for major incidents. When a major incident occurs or a staff member
becomes aware of a major incident:

(1) The staff member involved shall notify the following persons of the incident by the end of the
next calendar day after the incident:

1.  The staff member’s supervisor.

2. The consumer or the consumer’s legal guardian. EXCEPTION: Notification to the consumer is
required only if the incident took place outside of the provider’s service provision. Notification to the
guardian, if any, is always required.

3. The consumer’s case manager.

(2) By the end of the next calendar day after the incident, the staff member who observed or first
became aware of the incident shall also report as much information as is known about the incident to
the member’s managed care organization in the format defined by the managed care organization. If the
member is not enrolled with a managed care organization, the staff member shall report the information
to the department’s bureau of long-term care either:

1. By direct data entry into the lowa Medicaid Provider Access System, or

2. By faxing or mailing Form 470-4698, Critical Incident Report, according to the directions on
the form.

(3) The following information shall be reported:

1. The name of the consumer involved.

2. The date and time the incident occurred.

3. A description of the incident.

4. The names of all provider staff and others who were present at the time of the incident or
who responded after becoming aware of the incident. The confidentiality of other waiver-eligible or
non-waiver-eligible consumers who were present must be maintained by the use of initials or other
means.

5. The action that the provider staff took to manage the incident.

6. The resolution of or follow-up to the incident.

7. The date the report is made and the handwritten or electronic signature of the person making
the report.

(4) Submission of the initial report will generate a workflow in the Individualized Services
Information System (ISIS) for follow-up by the case manager. When complete information about the
incident is not available at the time of the initial report, the provider must submit follow-up reports until
the case manager is satisfied with the incident resolution and follow-up. The completed report shall be
maintained in a centralized file with a notation in the consumer’s file.

e
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d.  Tracking and analysis. The provider shall track incident data and analyze trends to assess
the health and safety of consumers served and determine if changes need to be made for service
implementation or if staff training is needed to reduce the number or severity of incidents.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A .4.
[ARC 7936B, IAB 7/1/09, effective 9/1/09; ARC 9314B, IAB 12/29/10, effective 3/1/11; ARC 0191C, IAB 7/11/12, effective 7/1/12;
ARC 0359C, IAB 10/3/12, effective 12/1/12; ARC 0757C, IAB 5/29/13, effective 8/1/13; ARC 1071C, IAB 10/2/13, effective
10/1/13; ARC 2361C, IAB 1/6/16, effective 1/1/16; ARC 3874C, IAB 7/4/18, effective 8/8/18]

441—77.42(249A) Public health agencies. Public health agencies are eligible to participate in the
medical assistance program when they serve as a public health entity within the local board of health
jurisdiction pursuant to 641—subrule 77.3(3).

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A .4.
[ARC 0358C, 1AB 10/3/12, effective 11/7/12]

441—77.43(249A) Infant and toddler program providers. An agency is eligible to participate
in the medical assistance program as a provider of infant and toddler program services under rule
441—78.49(249A) if the agency:

1. TIs in good standing under the infants and toddlers with disabilities program administered by
the department of education, the department of public health, the department of human services, and
the lowa Child Health Specialty Clinics pursuant to the interagency agreement between these agencies
under Subchapter III of the federal Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA); and

2. Meets the following additional requirements.

77.43(1) Licensure. Covered services shall be provided by personnel who are licensed, endorsed,
registered, recognized, or qualified as provided in this subrule and shall be within the scope of the
applicable license, endorsement, registration, recognition, or qualification.

a. Personnel providing audiological or speech-language services shall be licensed by the
Towa board of speech pathology and audiology as a speech pathologist or audiologist pursuant to
645—Chapters 299, 300 and 303 through 305.

b.  Personnel providing physical therapy shall be licensed by the Iowa board of physical and
occupational therapy as a physical therapist pursuant to 645—Chapters 199 through 204.

c¢.  Personnel providing occupational therapy shall be licensed by the lowa board of physical and
occupational therapy as an occupational therapist pursuant to 645—Chapters 205 through 210.

d.  Personnel providing psychological evaluations and counseling or psychotherapy services shall
be:

(1) Endorsed by the Iowa board of educational examiners as a school psychologist pursuant to rule
282—15.11(272);

(2) Licensed by the Iowa board of psychology as a psychologist pursuant to 645—Chapters 239
through 243;

(3) Licensed by the Iowa board of social work as a social worker pursuant to 645—Chapters 279
through 284;

(4) Licensed by the lowa board of medicine as a physician pursuant to 653—Chapters 9 through
11; or

(5) Registered by the Iowa nursing board as an advanced registered nurse practitioner pursuant to
655—Chapter 7.

e.  Personnel providing nursing services shall be licensed by the lowa nursing board as a registered
or licensed practical nurse pursuant to 655—Chapters 3 through 6.

f Personnel providing vision services shall be:

(1) Licensed by the lowa nursing board as a registered or licensed practical nurse pursuant to
655—Chapters 3 through 6;

(2) Licensed by the lowa board of medicine as a physician pursuant to 653—Chapters 9 through
11; or

(3) Licensed by the lowa board of optometry as an optometrist pursuant to 645—Chapter 180.
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g Developmental services shall be provided by personnel who meet standards established
pursuant to department of education rule 281—120.19(34CFR303).

h.  Medical transportation shall be provided by licensed drivers.

i.  Other services shall be provided by staff who are:

(1) Recognized as a special education paraprofessional pursuant to department of education rule
281—41.403(256B);

(2) Endorsed by the Iowa board of educational examiners as a school psychologist pursuant to rule
282—15.11(272);

(3) Endorsed by the Iowa board of educational examiners as a speech-language pathologist
pursuant to rule 282—15.12(272);

(4) Endorsed by the Iowa board of educational examiners as an orientation and mobility specialist
pursuant to rule 282—15.15(272);

(5) Endorsed by the Iowa board of educational examiners as a school occupational therapist
pursuant to rule 282—15.16(272);

(6) Endorsed by the Iowa board of educational examiners as a school physical therapist pursuant
to rule 282—15.17(272);

(7) Endorsed by the Iowa board of educational examiners as a special education nurse pursuant to
rule 282—15.18(272);

(8) Endorsed by the lowa board of educational examiners as a school social worker pursuant to
rule 282—15.19(272);

(9) Licensed by the lowa nursing board as a registered or licensed practical nurse pursuant to
655—Chapters 3 through 6; or

(10) Licensed by the Iowa board of medicine as a physician pursuant to 653—Chapters 9 through
11.

77.43(2) Documentation requirements. As a condition of participation, the provider shall be
responsible for maintaining accurate and current documentation of services provided in the child’s
record. Documentation of all services performed is required and must include:

a. Date, time, location, and description of each service provided and identification of the individual
rendering the service by name and professional or paraprofessional designation.

b.  An assessment and response to interventions and services.

¢.  Anindividual family service plan (IFSP) including all changes and revisions, as developed by
the service coordinator pursuant to rule 281—41.5(256B,34CFR300).

d.  Documentation of progress toward achieving the child’s or family’s action steps and outcomes
as identified in the individual family service plan (IFSP).

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A 4.

441—77.44(249A) Local education agency services providers. School districts accredited by the
department of education pursuant to 281—Chapter 12, the Iowa Braille and Sight Saving School
governed by the state board of regents pursuant to lowa Code section 262.7(4), and the State School for
the Deaf governed by the state board of regents pursuant to lowa Code section 262.7(5) are eligible to
participate in the medical assistance program as providers of local education agency (LEA) services
under rule 441—78.50(249A) if the following conditions are met.

77.44(1) Licensure. Covered services shall be provided by personnel who are licensed, endorsed,
registered, recognized, or qualified as provided in this subrule and shall be within the scope of the
applicable license, endorsement, registration, recognition, or qualification.

a. Personnel providing audiological or speech-language services shall be licensed by the
Iowa board of speech pathology and audiology as a speech pathologist or audiologist pursuant to
645—Chapters 299, 300 and 303 through 305.

b.  Personnel providing physical therapy shall be licensed by the Iowa board of physical and
occupational therapy as a physical therapist pursuant to 645—Chapters 199 through 204.

c.  Personnel providing occupational therapy shall be licensed by the lowa board of physical and
occupational therapy as an occupational therapist pursuant to 645—Chapters 205 through 210.
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d.  Personnel providing psychological evaluations and counseling or psychotherapy services shall
be:

(1) Endorsed by the lowa board of educational examiners as a school psychologist pursuant to rule
282—15.11(272);

(2) Licensed by the Iowa board of psychology as a psychologist pursuant to 645—Chapters 239
through 243;

(3) Licensed by the Iowa board of social work as a social worker pursuant to 645—Chapters 279
through 284;

(4) Licensed by the lowa board of medicine as a physician pursuant to 653—Chapters 9 through
11; or

(5) Registered by the Iowa nursing board as an advanced registered nurse practitioner pursuant to
655—Chapter 7.

e.  Personnel providing nursing services shall be licensed by the lowa nursing board as a registered
or licensed practical nurse pursuant to 655—Chapters 3 through 6.

/. Personnel providing vision services shall be:

(1) Licensed by the lowa nursing board as a registered or licensed practical nurse pursuant to
655—Chapters 3 through 6;

(2) Licensed by the lowa board of medicine as a physician pursuant to 653—Chapters 9 through
11; or

(3) Licensed by the lowa board of optometry as an optometrist pursuant to 645—Chapter 180.

g Developmental services shall be provided by personnel who meet standards established
pursuant to department of education rule 281—120.19(34CFR303).

h.  Medical transportation shall be provided by licensed drivers.

i.  Other services shall be provided by staff who are:

(1) Recognized as a special education paraprofessional pursuant to department of education rule
281—41.403(256B);

(2) Endorsed by the lowa board of educational examiners as a school psychologist pursuant to rule
282—15.11(272);

(3) Endorsed by the Iowa board of educational examiners as a speech-language pathologist
pursuant to rule 282—15.12(272);

(4) Endorsed by the Iowa board of educational examiners as an orientation and mobility specialist
pursuant to rule 282—15.15(272);

(5) Endorsed by the Iowa board of educational examiners as a school occupational therapist
pursuant to rule 282—15.16(272);

(6) Endorsed by the Iowa board of educational examiners as a school physical therapist pursuant
to rule 282—15.17(272);

(7) Endorsed by the Iowa board of educational examiners as a special education nurse pursuant to
rule 282—15.18(272);

(8) Endorsed by the lowa board of educational examiners as a school social worker pursuant to
rule 282—15.19(272);

(9) Licensed by the lowa nursing board as a registered or licensed practical nurse pursuant to
655—Chapters 3 through 6; or

(10) Licensed by the Iowa board of medicine as a physician pursuant to 653—Chapters 9 through
11.

77.44(2) Documentation requirements. As a condition of participation, the provider shall be
responsible for maintaining accurate and current documentation in the child’s record. Documentation
of all services performed is required and must include:

a. Date, time, duration, location, and description of each service delivered and identification of
the individual rendering the service by name and professional or paraprofessional designation.

b.  An assessment and response to interventions and services.
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c¢.  Progress toward goals in the individual education plan (IEP) or individual health plan (IHP)
pursuant to 281—Chapter 41, Division VIII, or 281—subrule 41.96(1).
This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A.4.

441—77.45(249A) Indian health facilities. A health care facility operated by the U.S. Indian Health
Service or under the Indian Self-Determination and Education Assistance Act (P.L. 93-638) by an “Indian
tribe,” “tribal organization,” or “Urban Indian organization,” as those terms are defined in 25 U.S.C.
1603, is eligible to participate in the medical assistance program if the following conditions are met:

77.45(1) Licensure. Services must be rendered by practitioners who meet applicable professional
licensure requirements.

77.45(2) Documentation. Medical records must be maintained at the same standards as are required
for the applicable licensed medical practitioner.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A.4.
[ARC 2930C, IAB 2/1/17, effective 4/1/17]

441—77.46(249A) HCBS children’s mental health waiver service providers. HCBS children’s
mental health waiver services shall be rendered by provider agencies that meet the general provider
standards in subrule 77.46(1) and the integrated, community-based settings standards in subrule
77.25(5) and also meet the standards in subrules 77.46(2) to 77.46(5) that are specific to the waiver
services provided. A provider that is approved for the same service under another HCBS Medicaid
waiver shall be eligible to enroll for that service under the children’s mental health waiver.

77.46(1) General provider standards. All providers of HCBS children’s mental health waiver
services shall meet the following standards:

a. Fiscal capacity. Providers must demonstrate the fiscal capacity to provide services on an
ongoing basis.

b.  Direct care staff.

(1) Direct care staff must be at least 18 years of age.

(2) Providers must complete child abuse, dependent adult abuse, and criminal background
screenings pursuant to Iowa Code section 249A.29 before employment of a staff member who will
provide direct care.

(3) Direct care staff may not be the spouse of the consumer or the parent or stepparent of the
consumer.

c¢.  Outcome-based standards and quality assurance.

(1) Providers shall implement the following outcome-based standards for the rights and dignity of
children with serious emotional disturbance:

1. Consumers are valued.

Consumers are a part of community life.

Consumers develop meaningful goals.

Consumers maintain physical and mental health.

Consumers are safe.

Consumers and their families have an impact on the services received.

(2) The department’s quality assurance staff shall conduct random quality assurance reviews to
assess the degree to which the outcome-based standards have been implemented in service provision.
Results of outcome-based quality assurance reviews shall be forwarded to the certifying or accrediting
entity.

(3) A quality assurance review shall include interviews with the consumer and the consumer’s
parents or legal guardian, with informed consent, and interviews with designated targeted case managers.

(4) A quality assurance review may include interviews with provider staff, review of case files,
review of staff training records, review of compliance with the general provider standards in this subrule,
and review of other organizational policies and procedures and documentation.
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(5) Corrective action shall be required if the quality assurance review demonstrates that service
provision or provider policies and procedures do not reflect the outcome-based standards. Technical
assistance for corrective action shall be available from the department’s quality assurance staff.

d.  Incident management and reporting. As a condition of participation in the medical assistance
program, HCBS children’s mental health waiver service providers must comply with the requirements of
Iowa Code sections 232.69 and 235B.3 regarding the reporting of child abuse and dependent adult abuse
and must comply with the following incident management and reporting requirements. EXCEPTION:
The conditions in this paragraph do not apply to providers of environmental modifications and adaptive
devices.

(1) Definitions.

“Major incident” means an occurrence involving a consumer during service provision that:

1. Results in a physical injury to or by the consumer that requires a physician’s treatment or
admission to a hospital;

2. Results in the death of any person;

3. Requires emergency mental health treatment for the consumer;

4. Requires the intervention of law enforcement;

5. Requires a report of child abuse pursuant to lowa Code section 232.69 or a report of dependent
adult abuse pursuant to lowa Code section 235B.3;

6. Constitutes a prescription medication error or a pattern of medication errors that leads to the
outcome in paragraph “1,” “2,” or “3”; or

7. Involves a consumer’s location being unknown by provider staff who are assigned protective
oversight.

“Minor incident” means an occurrence involving a consumer during service provision that is not a
major incident and that:

1. Results in the application of basic first aid;

Results in bruising;

Results in seizure activity;

Results in injury to self, to others, or to property; or
Constitutes a prescription medication error.

(2) Reporting procedure for minor incidents. Minor incidents may be reported in any format
designated by the provider. When a minor incident occurs or a staff member becomes aware of a minor
incident, the staff member involved shall submit the completed incident report to the staff member’s
supervisor within 72 hours of the incident. The completed report shall be maintained in a centralized
file with a notation in the consumer’s file.

(3) Notification procedure for major incidents. When a major incident occurs or a staff member
becomes aware of a major incident, the staff member involved shall notify the following persons of the
incident by the end of the next calendar day after the incident:

1. The staff member’s supervisor.

2. The consumer or the consumer’s legal guardian. EXCEPTION: Notification to the consumer is
required only if the incident took place outside of the provider’s service provision. Notification to the
guardian, if any, is always required.

3. The consumer’s case manager.

(4) Reporting procedure for major incidents. By the end of the next calendar day after a major
incident, the staff member who observed or first became aware of the incident shall also report as
much information as is known about the incident to the member’s managed care organization in the
format defined by the managed care organization. If the member is not enrolled with a managed care
organization, the staff member shall report the information to the department’s bureau of long-term
care either:

1. By direct data entry into the lowa Medicaid Provider Access System, or

2. By faxing or mailing Form 470-4698, Critical Incident Report, according to the directions on
the form.

(5) Information to be reported. The following information shall be reported about a major incident:
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The name of the consumer involved.

The date and time the incident occurred.

A description of the incident.

The names of all provider staff and others who were present at the time of the incident or
who responded after becoming aware of the incident. The confidentiality of other waiver-eligible or
non-waiver-eligible consumers who were present must be maintained by the use of initials or other
means.

5. The action that the provider staff took to manage the incident.

6. The resolution of or follow-up to the incident.

7. The date the report is made and the handwritten or electronic signature of the person making
the report.

(6) Response to report. Submission of the initial report will generate a workflow in the
Individualized Services Information System (ISIS) for follow-up by the case manager. When complete
information about a major incident is not available at the time of the initial report, the provider must
submit follow-up reports until the case manager is satisfied with the incident resolution and follow-up.
The completed report shall be maintained in a centralized file with a notation in the consumer’s file.

(7) Tracking and analysis. The provider shall track incident data and analyze trends to assess
the health and safety of consumers served and determine if changes need to be made for service
implementation or if staff training is needed to reduce the number or severity of incidents.

77.46(2) Environmental modifications, adaptive devices, and therapeutic resources providers. The
following agencies may provide environmental modifications, adaptive devices, and therapeutic
resources under the children’s mental health waiver:

a. A community business that:

(1) Possesses all necessary licenses and permits to operate in conformity with federal, state, and
local statutes and regulations, including lowa Code chapter 490; and

(2) Submits verification of current liability and workers’ compensation insurance.

b.  Aretail or wholesale business that otherwise participates as a provider in the Medicaid program.

¢. A home and vehicle modification provider enrolled under another HCBS Medicaid waiver.

d. A provider enrolled under the HCBS home- and community-based services intellectual
disability or brain injury waiver as a supported community living provider.

e.  Aprovider enrolled under the HCBS children’s mental health waiver as a family and community
support services provider.

77.46(3) Family and community support services providers.

a.  Qualified providers. The following agencies may provide family and community support
services under the children’s mental health waiver:

(1) Behavioral health intervention providers qualified under 441—77.12(249A).

(2) Community mental health centers accredited in good standing as providers of outpatient
psychotherapy and counseling under 441—Chapter 24.

b.  Staff training. The agency shall meet the following training requirements as a condition of
providing family and community support services under the children’s mental health waiver:

(1) Within one month of employment, staff members must receive the following training:

1. Orientation regarding the agency’s mission, policies, and procedures; and

2. Orientation regarding HCBS philosophy and outcomes for rights and dignity found in
77.36(1) “c” for the children’s mental health waiver.

(2) Within four months of employment, staff members must receive training regarding the
following:

1. Serious emotional disturbance in children and provision of services to children with serious
emotional disturbance;

2. Confidentiality;

3. Provision of medication according to agency policy and procedure;

4. Identification and reporting of child abuse;

5. Incident reporting;
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6. Documentation of service provision;

7.  Appropriate behavioral interventions; and

8.  Professional ethics.

(3) Until a staff member receives the training identified in subparagraphs (1) and (2), the staff
member shall not provide any direct service without the presence of experienced staff.

(4) Within the first year of employment, staff members must complete 24 hours of training in
children’s mental health issues.

(5) During each consecutive year of employment, staff members must complete 12 hours of training
in children’s mental health issues.

c.  Support of crisis intervention plan. As a condition of providing services under the children’s
mental health waiver, a family and community support provider shall develop and implement policies
and procedures for maintaining the integrity of the individualized crisis intervention plan as defined
in 441—24.1(225C) that is developed by each consumer’s interdisciplinary team. The policies and
procedures shall address:

(1) Sharing with the case manager and the interdisciplinary team information pertinent to the
development of the consumer’s crisis intervention plan.

(2) Training staff before service provision, in cooperation with the consumer’s parents or legal
guardian, regarding the consumer’s individual mental health needs and individualized supports as
identified in the crisis intervention plan.

(3) Ensuring that all staff have access to a written copy of the most current crisis intervention plan
during service provision.

(4) Ensuring that the plan contains current and accurate information by updating the case manager
within 24 hours regarding any circumstance or issue that would have an impact on the consumer’s mental
health or change the consumer’s crisis intervention plan.

d. Intake, admission, and discharge. As a condition of providing services under the children’s
mental health waiver, a family and community support provider shall have written policies and
procedures for intake, admission, and discharge.

77.46(4) In-home family therapy providers.

a.  Qualified providers. The following agencies may provide in-home family therapy under the
children’s mental health waiver:

(1) Community mental health centers accredited in good standing as providers of outpatient
psychotherapy and counseling under 441—Chapter 24.

(2) Mental health professionals licensed pursuant to 645—Chapter 31, 240, or 280 or possessing
an equivalent license in another state.

b.  Staff training. The agency shall meet the following training requirements as a condition of
providing in-home family therapy under the children’s mental health waiver:

(1) Within one month of employment, staff members must receive the following training:

1. Orientation regarding the agency’s mission, policies, and procedures; and

2. Orientation regarding HCBS philosophy and outcomes for rights and dignity found in
77.46(1)“c” for the children’s mental health waiver.

(2) Within four months of employment, staff members must receive training regarding the
following:

1. Serious emotional disturbance in children and service provision to children with serious
emotional disturbance;

2. Confidentiality;

Provision of medication according to agency policy and procedure;
Identification and reporting of child abuse;

Incident reporting;

Documentation of service provision;

Appropriate behavioral interventions; and

Professional ethics.
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(3) Until a staff member receives the training identified in subparagraphs (1) and (2), the staff
member shall not provide any direct service without the presence of experienced staff.

(4) Within the first year of employment, staff members must complete 24 hours of training in
children’s mental health issues.

(5) During each consecutive year of employment, staff members must complete 12 hours of training
in children’s mental health issues.

c.  Support of crisis intervention plan. As a condition of providing services under the children’s
mental health waiver, an in-home family therapy provider shall develop and implement policies and
procedures for maintaining the integrity of the individualized crisis intervention plan as defined in
441—24.1(225C) that is developed by each consumer’s interdisciplinary team. The policies and
procedures shall address:

(1) Sharing with the case manager and the interdisciplinary team information pertinent to the
development of the consumer’s crisis intervention plan.

(2) Training staff before service provision, in cooperation with the consumer’s parents or legal
guardian, regarding the consumer’s individual mental health needs and individualized supports as
identified in the crisis intervention plan.

(3) Ensuring that all staff have access to a written copy of the most current crisis intervention plan
during service provision.

(4) Ensuring that the plan contains current and accurate information by updating the case manager
within 24 hours regarding any circumstance or issue that would have an impact on the consumer’s mental
health or change the consumer’s crisis intervention plan.

d. Intake, admission, and discharge. As a condition of providing services under the children’s
mental health waiver, an in-home family therapy provider shall have written policies and procedures for
intake, admission, and discharge.

77.46(5) Respite care providers.

a.  Qualified providers. The following agencies may provide respite services under the children’s
mental health waiver:

(1) Providers certified or enrolled as respite providers under another Medicaid HCBS waiver.

(2) Group living foster care facilities for children licensed in good standing by the department
according to 441—Chapters 112 and 114 to 116.

(3) Camps certified in good standing by the American Camping Association.

(4) Home health agencies that are certified in good standing to participate in the Medicare program.

(5) Agencies authorized to provide similar services through a contract with the department of public
health (IDPH) for local public health services. The agency must provide a current IDPH local public
health services contract number.

(6) Adult day care providers that are certified in good standing by the department of inspections
and appeals as being in compliance with the standards for adult day services programs at 481—Chapter
70.

(7) Assisted living programs certified in good standing by the department of inspections and
appeals.

(8) Residential care facilities for persons with mental retardation licensed in good standing by the
department of inspections and appeals.

(9) Nursing facilities, intermediate care facilities for the mentally retarded, and hospitals enrolled
as providers in the lowa Medicaid program.

b.  Staff training. The agency shall meet the following training requirements as a condition of
providing respite care under the children’s mental health waiver:

(1) Within one month of employment, staff members must receive the following training:

1. Orientation regarding the agency’s mission, policies, and procedures; and

2. Orientation regarding HCBS philosophy and outcomes for rights and dignity for the children’s
mental health waiver in 77.46(1) “c.”

(2) Within four months of employment, staff members must receive training regarding the
following:
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1.  Serious emotional disturbance in children and provision of services to children with serious
emotional disturbance;

2. Confidentiality;

Provision of medication according to agency policy and procedure;
Identification and reporting of child abuse;

Incident reporting;

Documentation of service provision;

Appropriate behavioral interventions; and

. Professional ethics.

(3) Until a staff member receives the training identified in subparagraphs (1) and (2), the staff
member shall not provide any direct service without the oversight of supervisory staff and shall obtain
feedback from the family within 24 hours of service provision.

(4) Within the first year of employment, staff members must complete 24 hours of training in
children’s mental health issues.

(5) Duringeach consecutive year of employment, staff members must complete 12 hours of training
in children’s mental health issues.

c.  Consumer-specific information. The following information must be written, current, and
accessible to the respite provider during service provision:

(1) The consumer’s legal and preferred name, birth date, and age, and the address and telephone
number of the consumer’s usual residence.

(2) The consumer’s typical schedule.

(3) The consumer’s preferences in activities and foods or any other special concerns.

(4) The consumer’s crisis intervention plan.

d.  Written notification of injury. The respite provider shall inform the parent, guardian or usual
caregiver that written notification must be given to the respite provider of any recent injuries or illnesses
that have occurred before respite provision.

e. Medication dispensing. Respite providers shall develop policies and procedures for the
dispensing, storage, and recording of all prescription and nonprescription medications administered
during respite provision. Home health agencies must follow Medicare regulations regarding medication
dispensing.

1 Support of crisis intervention plan. As a condition of providing services under the children’s
mental health waiver, a respite provider shall develop and implement policies and procedures for
maintaining the integrity of the individualized crisis intervention plan as defined in 441—24.1(225C)
that is developed by each consumer’s interdisciplinary team. The policies and procedures shall address:

(1) Sharing with the case manager and the interdisciplinary team information pertinent to the
development of the consumer’s crisis intervention plan.

(2) Training staff before service provision, in cooperation with the consumer’s parents or legal
guardian, regarding the consumer’s individual mental health needs and individualized supports as
identified in the crisis intervention plan.

(3) Ensuring that all staff have access to a written copy of the most current crisis intervention plan
during service provision.

(4) Ensuring that the plan contains current and accurate information by updating the case manager
within 24 hours regarding any circumstance or issue that would have an impact on the consumer’s mental
health or change the consumer’s crisis intervention plan.

g Service documentation. Documentation of respite care shall be made available to the consumer,
parents, guardian, or usual caregiver upon request.

h.  Capacity. A facility providing respite care under this subrule shall not exceed the facility’s
licensed capacity, and services shall be provided in a location and for a duration consistent with the
facility’s licensure.

i.  Service provided outside home or facility. For respite care to be provided in a location other
than the consumer’s home or the provider’s facility:

(1) The care must be approved by the parent, guardian or usual caregiver;
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(2) The care must be approved by the interdisciplinary team in the consumer’s service plan;

(3) The care must be consistent with the way the location is used by the general public; and

(4) Respite care in these locations shall not exceed 72 continuous hours.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A.4 and 2005 Iowa Acts, chapter 167,

section 13, and chapter 117, section 3.

[ARC 7741B, 1AB 5/6/09, effective 7/1/09; ARC 7936B, 1AB 7/1/09, effective 9/1/09; ARC 9314B, 1AB 12/29/10, effective
3/1/11; ARC 9487B, 1AB 5/4/11, effective 7/1/11; ARC 1149C, IAB 10/30/13, effective 1/1/14; ARC 2361C, IAB 1/6/16, effective
1/1/16; ARC 3874C, 1AB 7/4/18, effective 8/8/18]

441—77.47(249A) Health home services providers. Subject to the requirements of this rule, a provider
may participate in the medical assistance program as a provider of health home services.

77.47(1) Definitions.

“Chronic condition” means, for purposes of this rule, one of the conditions outlined in
subparagraph 78.53(3) “a’(1).

“Chronic condition health home” means a provider enrolled to deliver personalized, coordinated
care for members with one chronic condition and at risk of developing another.

“Functional impairment” means the loss of functional capacity that (1) is episodic, recurrent,
or continuous; (2) substantially interferes with or limits the achievement of or maintenance of one
or more developmentally appropriate social, behavioral, cognitive, communicative, or adaptive
skills; and (3) substantially interferes with or limits the individual’s functional capacity with family,
employment, school, or community. “Functional impairment” does not include difficulties resulting
from temporary and expected responses to stressful events in a person’s environment. The level of
functional impairment must be identified by the assessment completed by a mental health professional
as defined in rule 441—24.1(225C).

“Health home” means a chronic condition health home or an integrated health home.

“Integrated health home” means a provider enrolled to integrate medical, social, and behavioral
health care needs for adults with a serious mental illness and children with a serious emotional
disturbance.

“Lead entity” means a managed care organization that supports and oversees the chronic condition
health home and the integrated health home network.

“Managed care organization” means an entity that (1) is under contract with the department to
provide services to Medicaid recipients and (2) meets the definition of “health maintenance organization”
as defined in Iowa Code section 514B.1.

“Serious emotional disturbance” means the same as defined in rule 441—83.121(249A).

“Serious mental illness” means, for an adult, a persistent or chronic mental health, behavioral, or
emotional disorder that (1) is specified within the most current Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of
Mental Disorders published by the American Psychiatric Association or its most recent International
Classification of Diseases, and (2) causes serious functional impairment and substantially interferes
with or limits one or more major life activities, including functioning in the family, school, employment
or community. “Serious mental illness” may co-occur with substance use disorder, developmental
disabilities, neurodevelopmental disabilities or intellectual disabilities, but those diagnoses may not be
the clinical focus for health home services.

77.47(2) Chronic condition health home provider qualifications.

a. A chronic condition health home must be one of the following:

(1) Physician(s).

(2) Clinical practice or clinical group practice.

(3) Rural health clinic.

(4) Community health center.

(5) Community mental health center accredited under 441—Chapter 24.

(6) Federally qualified health clinic.

b. A chronic condition health home may include multiple sites when those sites are identified as a
single organization or medical group that shares policies, procedures, and electronic systems across all
of the single organization’s or medical group’s practice sites.
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c¢. A chronic condition health home must achieve accreditation, recognition, or certification
as a patient-centered medical home (PCMH) through a national accreditation or certification entity
recognized by the department within the first year of operation and maintain the accreditation,
recognition, or certification for the duration of enrollment as a health home. A chronic condition health
home that fails to achieve accreditation, recognition, or certification within the first year of enrollment
will have the chronic condition health home enrollment terminated unless granted an extension by the
department.

d. A chronic condition health home must complete a self-assessment when enrolling as a new
health home and annually thereafter.

e. A chronic condition health home must meet the requirements, qualifications, and standards
outlined in the chronic condition health home state plan amendment.

f A chronic condition health home must participate in monthly, quarterly, and annual outcomes
data collection and reporting.

g Ataminimum, a chronic condition health home must fill the following roles:

(1) Designated practitioner. The chronic condition health home must have at least one physician
with an active lowa license and credentialed with at least one managed care organization. If a chronic
condition health home has multiple sites, a specific site may have a nurse practitioner or physician
assistant, so long as the chronic condition health home has as least one physician.

(2) Nurse care manager. The chronic condition health home must have at least one nurse care
manager who is a registered nurse or has a bachelor of science in nursing with an active lowa nursing
license in accordance with rule 655—3.3(17A,147,152,272C).

(3) Health coach. The chronic condition health home must have at least one trained health coach.

77.47(3) Integrated health home provider qualifications.

a. An integrated health home must be one of the following:

(1) Community mental health center accredited under 441—Chapter 24.

(2) Licensed mental health service provider.

(3) Licensed residential group care setting.

(4) Licensed psychiatric medical institution for children (PMIC).

(5) Provider accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Rehabilitation Facilities (CARF)
to provide behavioral health services.

(6) Provider accredited by the Council on Accreditation for behavioral health or child, youth and
family services.

(7) Provider accredited by the Joint Commission for behavioral health care services.

(8) Provider accredited under 441—Chapter 24 to deliver services to persons with mental illness.

b.  Anintegrated health home may include multiple sites when those sites are identified as a single
organization or medical group that shares policies, procedures, and electronic systems across all of the
single organization’s or medical group’s practice sites.

¢.  An integrated health home must complete a self-assessment when enrolling as a new health
home and annually thereafter.

d.  An integrated health home must meet the requirements, qualifications, and standards outlined
in the integrated health home state plan amendment.

e. An integrated health home must participate in monthly, quarterly, and annual outcomes data
collection and reporting.

/- At aminimum, an integrated health home must fill the following roles:

(1) If serving adults:

1.  Nurse care manager. The integrated health home must have a nurse care manager who is a
registered nurse or has a bachelor of science in nursing with an active lowa nursing license in accordance
with rule 655—3.3(17A,147,152,272C).

2. Care coordinator. The integrated health home must have a care coordinator who has a bachelor
of science in social work or a bachelor of science or bachelor of arts degree in a related field.
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3. Trained peer support specialist. The integrated health home must have a peer support specialist
who has completed a department-recognized training program and passed the competency examination
within six months of hire.

(2) If serving children:

1. Nurse care manager. The integrated health home must have a nurse care manager who is a
registered nurse or has a bachelor of science in nursing with an active lowa nursing license in accordance
with rule 655—3.3(17A,147,152,272C).

2. Care coordinator. The integrated health home must have a care coordinator who has a bachelor
of science in social work or a bachelor of science or bachelor of arts degree in a related field.

3. Family peer support specialist. The integrated health home must have a family peer support
specialist who has completed a department-recognized training program and passed the competency
examination within six months of hire.

77.47(4) Lead entity qualifications.

a. A lead entity must meet the following requirements:

(1) The lead entity must be licensed and in good standing in the state of Iowa as a health
maintenance organization in accordance with 191—Chapter 40.

(2) The lead entity must have a statewide integrated network of providers to serve members with
serious mental illness and serious emotional disturbance.

(3) The lead entity must complete a self-assessment at the time of enrollment and annually
thereafter.

(4) The lead entity must meet requirements, qualifications, and standards outlined in the state plan.

(5) The lead entity must participate in monthly, quarterly, and annual outcomes data collection and
reporting.

b. At a minimum, a lead entity must fill the following roles:

(1) Physician. The lead entity must have at least one physician to support the health home in
meeting provider standards. The physician must have an active lowa license to practice medicine in
accordance with 653—Chapter 9 and be credentialed with at least one managed care organization.

(2) Nurse care managers. The lead entity must have nurse care managers to support the
health home in meeting provider standards. A nurse care manager must be a registered nurse or
have a bachelor of science in nursing with an active lowa nursing license in accordance with rule
655—3.3(17A,147,152,272C).

(3) Social workers. The lead entity must have a care coordinator with a bachelor of science or
bachelor of arts degree in social work or a related field, including sociology, counseling, psychology,
or human services, to support the health home in meeting the provider standards and delivering health
home services.

(4) Behavioral health professionals. The lead entity must have a psychiatrist to support the health
home in meeting provider standards and to deliver health home services. The psychiatrist must have an
active lowa license to practice medicine in accordance with 653—Chapter 9 and be credentialed with at
least one managed care organization.

77.47(5) Health home general requirements.

a.  Whole person orientation. The health home is responsible for providing whole person care.

(1) The health home must provide or take responsibility for appropriately arranging care with other
qualified professionals for all the member’s health care needs. This includes care for all stages of life,
including acute care, chronic care, preventive services, long-term care, and end-of-life care.

(2) The health home must complete status reports to document the member’s housing, legal status,
employment status, education, custody, and other social determinants of health, as applicable.

(3) The health home must implement a formal screening tool to assess behavioral health, including
mental health and substance abuse treatment needs, along with physical health care needs.

(4) The health home must work with the lead entity or lowa Medicaid to develop capacity to
receive members redirected from emergency departments, engage in planning transitions in care with
area hospitals, and follow up on hospital discharges, including psychiatric medical institutions for
children.
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(5) The health home must provide bidirectional and integrated primary care and behavioral health
services through use of a contract, memoranda of agreement, or other written agreements approved by
the department.

(6) The health home must, at the time of enrollment and reenrollment, provide letters of support
from at least one area hospital and two area primary care practices that agree to collaborate with the
health home on care coordination and hospital and emergency department notification.

(7) The health home must advocate in the community on behalf of health home members, as needed.

(8) The health home must be responsible for preventing fragmentation or duplication of services
provided to members.

b.  Coordinated integrated care. The health home must provide coordinated integrated care.

(1) The health home must ensure that the nurse care manager is responsible for oversight of the
service, including assisting members with medication adherence, appointments, referral scheduling,
tracking follow-up results from referrals, understanding health insurance coverage, reminders, transition
of care, wellness education, health support or lifestyle modification, and behavior changes.

(2) The health home must utilize member-level information, member profiles, and care
coordination plans for high-risk individuals.

(3) The health home must incorporate tools and evidence-based guidelines designed for
identifying care opportunities across the age and diagnostic continuum, integrating clinical practices,
and coordinating care with other providers.

(4) The health home must conduct interventions as indicated based on the member’s level of risk.

(5) The health home must communicate with the member, authorized representative, and the
member’s family and caregivers in a culturally appropriate manner for the purposes of assessment of
care decisions, including the identification of authorized representatives.

(6) The health home must monitor, arrange, and evaluate appropriate evidence-based and
evidence-informed preventive services.

(7) The health home must coordinate or provide access to the following services:

1. Mental health.

Oral health.

Long-term care.

Chronic disease management.

Recovery services and social health services available in the community.

6. Behavior modification interventions aimed at supporting health management, including but not
limited to obesity counseling, tobacco cessation, and health coaching.

7. Comprehensive transitional care from inpatient to other settings, including appropriate
follow-up.

8.  Crisis services.

(8) The health home must assess social, educational, housing, transportation, and vocational needs
that may contribute to disease and present as barriers to self-management.

(9) The health home must coordinate with community-based case managers, case managers, and
service coordinators for members who receive service coordination activities.

(10) The health home must maintain a system and written standards and protocols for tracking
member referrals.

c¢.  Enhanced access. The health home must provide enhanced access for members and member
caregivers, including access to health home services 24 hours per day, seven days per week. The
health home must use email, text messaging, patient portals and other technology to communicate with
members based on the member’s preferred method of communication.

d.  Emphasis on quality and safety. The health home must emphasize quality and safety in the
delivery of health home services.

(1) The health home must have an ongoing quality improvement plan to address gaps and identify
opportunities for improvement.

(2) The health home must participate in ongoing process improvement on clinical indicators and
overall cost-effectiveness.

nhewbD



IAC 6/29/22 Human Services[441] Ch 77, p.77

(3) The health home must demonstrate continuing development of fundamental health home
functionality through an assessment process applied by the department.

(4) The health home must have strong, engaged organizational leadership that is personally
committed to and capable of:

1. Leading the health home through the transformation process and sustaining transformed
practice, and

2. Participating in learning activities including in-person sessions, webinars, and regularly
scheduled meetings.

(5) The health home must participate in or convene ad hoc or scheduled meetings with lead
entities and the department to plan and discuss implementation of goals and objectives for practice
transformation, with ongoing consideration of the unique practice needs for adult members with a
serious mental illness and child members with a serious emotional disturbance and those members’
families.

(6) The health home must participate in Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS)- and
department-required evaluation activities.

(7) The health home must submit information as requested by the department.

(8) The health home must maintain compliance with all of the terms and conditions of the integrated
health home or chronic condition health home provider agreement.

(9) The health home must use an interoperable patient registry and certified electronic health record
within a timeline approved by the lead entity or the department to input clinical information, track and
measure care of members, automate care reminders, and produce exception reports for care planning.

(10) The health home must complete web-based member enrollment, disenrollment, members’
consent to release of information, and health risk questionnaires for all members.

(11) The health home must use a certified electronic health record to support clinical
decision-making within the practice workflow and establish a plan to meaningfully use health
information in accordance with the federal law.

(12) The health home must implement state-required disease management programs based on
population-specific disease burdens. The health home may choose to identify and operate additional
disease management programs at any time.

e. Case management. The integrated health home must provide case management services
as defined in and required by 441—Chapter 90 to eligible members in an integrated health home.
Requirements in 441—Chapter 90 are the minimum criteria for intensive care management for members
enrolled in the 1915(i) Habilitation Program or the 1915(c) Children’s Mental Health Waiver.

f- Policies and procedures. The health home must have policies and processes in place to
ensure compliance with federal and state requirements, including but not limited to statutes, rules and
regulations, and sub-regulatory guidance. The health home must maintain documentation of its policies
and processes and make those policies and processes readily available to any state or federal officials
upon request.

g Report on quality measures. A health home must collect and report quality data to the lead
entity and the department as specified by the department.

h.  Health home termination. If the health home intends to stop providing health home services,
the health home must provide notice of termination a minimum of 60 days prior to the date of termination
by submitting Form 470-5465, Provider Request to Terminate Enrollment, to the department. The health
home must notify members of termination 60 days prior to the termination date and provide for a seamless
transition of enrollees to other health home providers.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A 4.
[ARC 6310C, IAB 5/4/22, effective 7/1/22]

441—77.48(249A) Speech-language pathologists. Speech-language pathologists who are enrolled in
the Medicare program are eligible to participate in Medicaid. Speech-language pathologists who are
not enrolled in the Medicare program are eligible to participate in Medicaid if they are licensed and in
independent practice, as an individual or as a group.
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77.48(1) Speech-language pathologists in another state are eligible to participate if they are licensed
in that state and meet the Medicare criteria for enrollment.

77.48(2) Speech-language pathologists who provide services to Medicaid members who are also
Medicare beneficiaries must be enrolled in the Medicare program.

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code section 249A.4 and 2012 Iowa Acts, Senate File 2158.
[ARC 0360C, IAB 10/3/12, effective 12/1/12]

441—77.49(249A) Physician assistants. All physician assistants licensed to practice in the state of lowa
are eligible for participation in the program. Physician assistants duly licensed to practice in other states
are also eligible for participation.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A 4.
[ARC 0580C, IAB 2/6/13, effective 4/1/13; ARC 5418C, 1AB 2/10/21, effective 4/1/21]

441—77.50(249A) Ordering and referring providers. A provider who provides services, including
orders and referrals, to a Medicaid member shall be enrolled as a Medicaid provider as a condition of
payment eligibility for services rendered to that Medicaid member. A provider who does not individually
bill for services rendered due to, for example, payment arrangements with a facility or supervising
provider, shall also be required to enroll. Enrollment will be for the purpose of ordering or referring items
and providing professional services to Medicaid members and will not affect the provider’s payment
arrangements with such facilities or supervising providers.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A 4.
[ARC 0580C, IAB 2/6/13, effective 4/1/13]

441—77.51(249A) Child care medical services. Child care centers are eligible to participate in the
medical assistance program when they comply with the standards of 441—Chapter 109. A child care
center in another state is eligible to participate when duly licensed in that state. The provider of child
care medical services implements a comprehensive protocol of care that is developed in conjunction with
the parent or guardian and specifies the medical, nursing, psychosocial, developmental therapies and
personal care required by the medically dependent or technologically dependent child served. Nursing
services must be provided.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A 4.
[ARC 1698C, TAB 10/29/14, effective 1/1/15; ARC 2361C, TAB 1/6/16, effective 1/1/16; ARC 6310C, TAB 5/4/22, effective 7/1/22]

441—77.52(249A) Community-based neurobehavioral rehabilitation services.

77.52(1) Definitions.

“Assessment” means the review of the current functioning of the member using the service in regard
to the member’s situation, needs, strengths, abilities, desires, and goals.

“Brain injury” means a diagnosis in accordance with rule 441—=83.81(249A).

“Health care” means the services provided by trained and licensed health care professionals to
restore or maintain the member’s health.

“Intermittent community-based neurobehavioral rehabilitation services ” means services provided to
a Medicaid member on an as-needed basis to support the member and the member’s family or caregivers
to assist the member to increase adaptive behaviors, decrease maladaptive behaviors, and adapt and
accommodate to challenging behaviors to support the member to remain in the member’s own home and
community.

“Member” means a person who has been determined to be eligible for Medicaid under 44 1—Chapter
75.

“Neurobehavioral rehabilitation” refers to a specialized category of neurorehabilitation provided by
a multidisciplinary team that has been trained in, and delivers, services individually designed to address
cognitive, medical, behavioral and psychosocial challenges, as well as the physical manifestations
of acquired brain injury. Services concurrently work to optimize functioning at personal, family and
community levels by supporting the increase of adaptive behaviors, decrease of maladaptive behaviors
and adaptation and accommodation to challenging behaviors to support a member to maximize the
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member’s independence in activities of daily living and ability to live in the member’s home and
community.

“Program’” means a set of related resources and services directed to the accomplishment of a fixed
set of goals for eligible members.

“Standardized assessment” means a valid, reliable, and comprehensive functional assessment tool(s)
or process, or both, approved by the department for use in the assessment of a member’s needs.

77.52(2) Eligible providers. The following agencies may provide community-based
neurobehavioral rehabilitation residential and intermittent services:

a. An organization that is accredited by a department-approved, nationally recognized
accreditation organization as a specialty brain injury rehabilitation service provider.

b. Agencies not accredited by a department-approved, nationally recognized accreditation
organization as a specialty brain injury rehabilitation service provider that have applied for accreditation
within the last 16 months to provide services may be enrolled. However, an organization that has not
received accreditation within 16 months after application shall no longer be a qualified provider.

77.52(3) Provider standards. All community-based neurobehavioral rehabilitation service providers
shall meet the following criteria:

a. The organization meets the outcome-based standards for community-based neurobehavioral
rehabilitation service providers as follows:

(1) The organization shall provide high-quality supports and services to members.

(2) The organization shall have a defined mission commensurate with members’ needs, desires,
and abilities.

(3) The organization shall be fiscally sound and shall establish and maintain fiscal accountability.

(4) The program administrator shall be a certified brain injury specialist trainer (CBIST) through
the Academy of Certified Brain Injury Specialists or a certified brain injury specialist under the direct
supervision of a CBIST or a qualified brain injury professional as defined in rule 441—83.81(249A) with
additional certification as approved by the department. The administrator shall be present in the assigned
location for 25 hours per week. In the event of an absence from the assigned location exceeding four
weeks, the organization shall designate a qualified replacement to act as administrator for the duration
of the assigned administrator’s absence.

(5) A minimum of 75 percent of the organization’s administrative and direct care personnel shall
meet one of the following criteria:

1. Have a bachelor’s degree in a human services-related field;

2. Have an associate’s degree in human services with two years of experience working with
individuals with brain injury;

3. Bean individual who is in the process of seeking a degree in the human services field with two
years of experience working with individuals with brain injury; or

4. Bea certified brain injury specialist (CBIS) certified through the Academy for the Certification
of Brain Injury Specialists (ACBIS) or have other nationally recognized brain injury certification as
approved by the department.

(6) The organization shall have qualified personnel trained in the provision of direct care services
to people with a brain injury. The training must be commensurate with the needs of the members served.
Employees shall receive training and demonstrate competency in performing assigned duties and in all
interactions with members, including but not limited to:

1. Promotion of a program structure and support for persons served so they can re-learn or regain
skills for community inclusion and access.

2. Compensatory strategies to assist in managing ADLS (activities of daily living).

Quality of life issues.

Behavioral supports and identification of antecedent triggers.
Health and medication management.

Dietary and nutritional programming.

Assistance with identifying and utilizing assistive technology.
Substance abuse and addiction issues.

XN W


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/rule/441.83.81.pdf

Ch 77, p.80 Human Services[441] IAC 6/29/22

9. Self-management and self-interaction skills.

10. Flexibility in programming to meet members’ individual needs.

11. Teaching adaptive and compensatory strategies to address cognitive, behavioral, physical,
psychosocial and medical needs.

12. Community accessibility and safety.

13. Household maintenance.

14. Service support to the member’s family or support system related to the member’s
neurobehavioral care.

b.  The organization provides training and supports to its personnel. Training shall be provided
before direct service provision and must be ongoing. At a minimum the training includes the following:

(1) Completion of the department-approved brain injury training modules.

(2) Member rights.

(3) Confidentiality and privacy.

(4) Dependent adult and child abuse prevention and mandatory reporter training.

(5) Individualized rehabilitation treatment plans.

(6) Major mental health disorder basics.

c.  Within 30 days of commencement of direct service provision, employees shall complete
nationally recognized cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) certification, a first-aid course, fire
prevention and reaction training and universal precautions training. These training courses shall be
completed no less than annually, with the exception of CPR certification, which must be renewed prior
to expiration of the certification.

d.  Within the first six months of commencement of direct service provision, employees shall
complete training required by subparagraph 77.52(3) “a (6).

e.  Within 12 months of the commencement of direct service provision, employees shall complete
a department-approved, nationally recognized certified brain injury specialist training. A majority of
eligible employees within 12 months of the commencement of direct service provision shall be CBISs
certified through ACBIS or have other nationally recognized brain injury certification as approved by
the department.

f The organization shall have in place an outcome management system which measures the
efficiency and effectiveness of service provision, including members’ preadmission location of service,
length of stay, discharge location, reason for discharge, member and stakeholder satisfaction, and access
to services.

g The organization shall have in place a systematic, organization-wide, planned approach to
designing, measuring, evaluating, and improving the level of its performance. The organization shall
be required to:

(1) Measure and analyze organizational activities and services quarterly.

(2) Conduct satisfaction surveys with members, family members, employees and stakeholders, and
share the information with the public.

(3) Conduct an internal review of member service records at regular intervals.

(4) Track major and minor incident data according to subrule 77.37(8) and unexpected occurrences
involving death or serious physical or psychological injury, or the risk thereof; and analyze the data to
identify trends annually to ensure the health and safety of members served by the organization.

(5) Continuously identify areas in need of improvement.

(6) Develop a plan to address the identified areas in need of improvement.

(7) Implement the plan, document the results, and report to the governing body annually.

h.  The organization shall have in place written policies and procedures and a personnel training
program for the identification and reporting of child and dependent adult abuse to the department pursuant
to 441—Chapters 175 and 176.

i.  The organization’s governing body shall have an active role in the administration of the
organization.
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j. The organization’s governing body shall receive and use input from local community
stakeholders, members participating in services, and employees and shall provide oversight that ensures
the provision of high-quality supports and services to members.

k. The organization shall implement the following outcome-based standards for rights and dignity:

(1) Members are valued.

(2) The member and the member’s treatment team mutually develop an individualized service
plan (ISP) that takes into account the member’s individual strengths, barriers and interests. The
service plan shall include goals which are based on the member’s need for services and shall address
the neurobehavioral challenges and environmental needs as identified in the member’s individual
standardized comprehensive functional neurobehavioral assessment.

(3) The member and the member’s treatment team evaluate the member’s progress towards
treatment goals regularly and no less than quarterly. Treatment plans are reviewed regularly, but not
less than quarterly, and are revised as the member’s status or needs change to reflect the member’s
progress and response to treatment.

(4) The member and the member’s legal representative have the right to file grievances regarding
the provider’s implementation of the organizational standards, or its employee’s or contractual person’s
action which affects the member. The provider shall provide to members the policies and procedures for
member grievances and appeals at the commencement of services and annually thereafter.

(5) When a member requires any restrictive interventions, the interventions will be implemented in
accordance with rules 481—63.21(135C), 481—63.27(135C), and 481—63.28(135C). When a member
has a guardian or legal representative, the guardian or legal representative shall provide informed consent
to treat and consent for any restrictive interventions that may be required to protect the health or safety
of the member. Restrictive interventions include but are not limited to:

1. Restraint, including chemical restraint, manual restraint or mechanical restraint;

2. Alarms added to a member’s natural environment including doors, windows, refrigerators,
cabinets, and other home appliances and fixtures;

3. Exclusionary time out;

4. Intensive staffing for control of behavior;

5. Limited access or contingency access to preferred items or activities naturally available in the
member’s environment;

6. Reprimand;

7. Response cost; and

8. Use of psychotropic medications to control the occurrence of an unwanted behavior.

(6) Members receive individualized services.

(7) Members or their legal representatives provide written consent regarding which personal
information is shared and with whom.

(8) Members receive assistance with accessing financial management services as needed.

(9) Members receive assistance with obtaining preventive, appropriate and timely medical and
dental care.

(10) The member’s living environment is reasonably safe and located in the community.

(11) The member’s desire for intimacy is respected and supported.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A.4.
[ARC 2341C, IAB 1/6/16, effective 2/10/16; ARC 4792C, IAB 12/4/19, effective 1/8/20; ARC 6310C, IAB 5/4/22, effective 7/1/22]

441—77.53(249A) Qualified Medicare beneficiary (QMB) providers. Any Medicare provider not
enrolled as an Iowa Medicaid provider for the general Medicaid population may enroll to be a QMB
provider.

77.53(1) Reimbursement. A QMB provider may only bill the department for the QMB-eligible
member’s Medicare cost-sharing obligations. Reimbursement is limited to coinsurance, copayments,
and deductibles for Medicare-covered services.

77.53(2) Definitions.

“Coinsurance” means a percentage of costs of a covered health care service that has to be paid.


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/section/249A.4.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/2341C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/4792C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/6310C.pdf
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“Copayment” means a fixed amount a member pays for a covered health care service.

“Deductible” means the amount paid for covered health care services before the insurance plan will
effect payment.

“Medicare cost sharing” means the Medicare member’s responsibility for a Medicare-covered
service. “Medicare cost sharing” includes coinsurance, copayments, and deductibles.

“Qualified Medicare beneficiary” or “OMB” means an individual who has been determined eligible
for the QMB program pursuant to 441—subrule 75.1(29). Under the QMB program, Medicaid pays the
individual’s Medicare Part A and B premiums; coinsurance; copayment; and deductible (except for Part
D).

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A .4.
[ARC 3494C, 1AB 12/6/17, effective 1/10/18]

441—77.54(249A) Health insurance premium payment (HIPP) providers. Any provider not enrolled
as an lowa Medicaid provider for the general Medicaid population may enroll to be a HIPP provider.
A HIPP provider may bill the department for the HIPP-eligible member’s out-of-pocket cost-sharing
obligations. Reimbursement is limited to in-network coinsurance, copayments, and deductibles of the
HIPP-eligible member’s health insurance paid for through the HIPP program.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A 4.
[ARC 3494C, IAB 12/6/17, effective 1/10/18]

441—77.55(249A) Crisis response services.

77.55(1) Definitions. The terms used in this rule shall have the same meaning as set out in
441—Chapter 24, Division II.

77.55(2) Eligible providers. Agencies which are accredited under the mental health service provider
standards established by the mental health and disability services commission, set forth in 441—Chapter
24, Division II, are eligible to participate in the program by providing crisis response services, crisis
stabilization community-based services, and crisis stabilization residential services.

77.55(3) Provider standards. All providers of crisis response services, crisis stabilization
community-based services, and crisis stabilization residential services shall meet the standards criteria
as set forth in 441—Chapter 24, Division II.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A 4.
[ARC 3551C, IAB 1/3/18, effective 2/7/18]

441—77.56(249A) Subacute mental health services.

77.56(1) Definitions. The terms used in this rule shall have the same meaning as set out in lowa
Code section 135G.1.

77.56(2) Subacute mental health services. Subacute mental health services are intended to be
short-term, intensive, recovery-oriented services designed to stabilize an individual who is experiencing
a decreased level of functioning due to a mental health condition.

77.56(3) Eligible provider. Subacute mental health care facilities which are licensed by the
department of inspections and appeals in accordance with 481—Chapter 71 are eligible to participate in
the program by providing subacute mental health services.

77.56(4) Provider standards. All providers of subacute mental health services shall meet the
standards criteria as set forth in 481—Chapter 71.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A 4.
[ARC 3551C, 1AB 1/3/18, effective 2/7/18]

441—77.57(249A) Pharmacists. An authorized pharmacist licensed to practice in the state of lowa is
eligible to participate in the program.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 249A 4.
[ARC 5175C, 1AB 9/9/20, effective 6/1/21]

[Filed 3/11/70, amended 6/21/73, 2/13/75, 3/21/75]
[Filed 6/25/76, Notice 5/17/76—published 7/12/76, effective 8/16/76]
[Filed 12/6/77, Notice 10/19/77—published 12/28/77, effective 2/1/78]


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/section/2017/249A.4.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/3494C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/section/2017/249A.4.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/3494C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/441.24.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/441.24.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/441.24.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/441.24.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/section/2017/249A.4.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/3551C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/section/2017/135G.1.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/481.71.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/iac/chapter/481.71.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/section/2017/249A.4.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/3551C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/ico/section/249A.4.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/5175C.pdf
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[Filed 2/8/78, Notice 12/28/78—published 3/8/78, effective 4/12/78]
[Filed without Notice 3/31/78—published 4/19/78, effective 7/1/78]
[Filed 2/26/82, Notice 10/14/81—published 3/17/82, effective 5/1/82]
[Filed 5/20/83, Notice 3/30/83—published 6/8/83, effective 8/1/83]
[Filed emergency 10/7/83—published 10/26/83, effective 11/1/83]
[Filed without Notice 10/7/83—published 10/26/83, effective 12/1/83]
[Filed 11/18/83, Notice 10/12/83—published 12/7/83, effective 2/1/84]
[Filed 4/29/85, Notice 2/27/85—published 5/22/85, effective 7/1/85]
[Filed 1/22/86, Notice 12/4/85—published 2/12/86, effective 4/1/86]
[Filed emergency 1/15/87—published 2/11/87, effective 1/15/87]
[Filed 3/3/87, Notice 12/31/86—published 3/25/87, effective 5/1/87]
[Filed emergency 8/28/87—published 9/23/87, effective 9/1/87]
[Filed emergency 6/9/88—published 6/29/88, effective 7/1/88]
[Filed 9/2/88, Notice 6/29/88—published 9/21/88, effective 11/1/88]
[Filed emergency 11/23/88 after Notices 7/13/88, 9/21/88—published 12/14/88, effective 1/1/89]
[Filed 12/8/88, Notice 10/19/88—published 12/28/88, effective 2/1/89]
[Filed 7/14/89, Notice 4/19/89—published 8/9/89, effective 10/1/89]
[Filed 9/15/89, Notice 8/9/89—published 10/4/89, effective 12/1/89]
[Filed emergency 12/15/89 after Notice 10/4/89—published 1/10/90, effective 1/1/90]
[Filed 4/13/90, Notice 11/29/90—published 5/2/90, effective 8/1/90]
[Filed 7/13/90, Notice 5/16/90—published 8/8/90, effective 10/1/90]
[Filed 10/12/90, Notice 8/8/90—published 10/31/90, effective 2/1/91]
[Filed emergency 1/17/91—published 2/6/91, effective 2/1/91]
[Filed 1/17/91, Notice 11/14/90—published 2/6/91, effective 4/1/91]
[Filed 3/14/91, Notice 2/6/91—published 4/3/91, effective 6/1/91]
[Filed 6/14/91, Notice 5/1/91—published 7/10/91, effective 9/1/91]
[Filed 7/10/91, Notice 5/29/91—published 8/7/91, effective 10/1/91]
[Filed 9/18/91, Notice 7/10/91—published 10/16/91, effective 12/1/91]

[Filed emergency 1/16/92 after Notice 11/27/91—published 2/5/92, effective 3/1/92]
[Filed emergency 5/13/92 after Notice 4/1/92—published 6/10/92, effective 5/14/92]
[Filed emergency 6/12/92—published 7/8/92, effective 7/1/92]

[Filed 8/14/92, Notice 7/8/92—published 9/2/92, effective 11/1/92]

[Filed 9/11/92, Notice 7/8/92—published 9/30/92, effective 12/1/92]

[Filed emergency 7/13/93 after Notice 5/12/93—published 8/4/93, effective 8/1/93]
[Filed without Notice 8/12/93—published 9/1/93, effective 11/1/93]

[Filed 8/12/93, Notices 4/28/93, 7/7/93—published 9/1/93, effective 11/1/93]
[Filed emergency 12/16/93 after Notice 10/27/93—published 1/5/94, effective 1/1/94]
[Filed 12/16/93, Notice 9/1/93—published 1/5/94, effective 3/1/94]

[Filed emergency 2/10/94 after Notice 1/5/94—published 3/2/94, effective 3/1/94]
[Filed 3/10/94, Notice 2/2/94—published 3/30/94, effective 6/1/94]

[Filed 11/9/94, Notice 9/14/94—published 12/7/94, effective 2/1/95]

[Filed 12/15/94, Notice 11/9/94—published 1/4/95, effective 3/5/95]

[Filed 5/11/95, Notice 3/29/95—published 6/7/95, effective 8/1/95]

[Filed 11/16/95, Notices 8/2/95, 9/13/95, 9/27/95—published 12/6/95, effective 2/1/96]
[Filed 7/10/96, Notice 4/24/96—published 7/31/96, effective 10/1/96]

[Filed 10/9/96, Notice 8/14/96—published 11/6/96, effective 1/1/97]

[Filed 2/12/97, Notice 12/18/96—published 3/12/97, effective 5/1/97]

[Filed 3/12/97, Notices 1/1/97, 1/29/97—published 4/9/97, effective 6/1/97]
[Filed emergency 5/14/97 after Notice 3/12/97—published 6/4/97, eftective 7/1/97]
[Filed 6/12/97, Notice 4/23/97—published 7/2/97, effective 9/1/97]

[Filed 11/12/97, Notice 9/10/97—published 12/3/97, effective 2/1/98]

[Filed 4/8/98, Notice 2/11/98—published 5/6/98, effective 7/1/98]
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[Filed emergency 6/10/98—published 7/1/98, effective 6/10/98]
[Filed 10/14/98, Notice 7/1/98—published 11/4/98, effective 12/9/98]
[Filed 1/13/99, Notice 11/4/98—published 2/10/99, effective 4/1/99]
[Filed 2/10/99, Notice 12/16/98—published 3/10/99, effective 5/1/99]
[Filed emergency 9/13/99—published 10/6/99, effective 10/1/99]
[Filed 11/10/99, Notice 10/6/99—published 12/1/99, effective 2/1/00]
[Filed emergency 6/8/00—published 6/28/00, effective 7/1/00]
[Filed 6/8/00, Notice 4/19/00—published 6/28/00, effective 8/2/00]
[Filed 9/12/00, Notice 6/14/00—published 10/4/00, effective 12/1/00]
[Filed emergency 12/14/00 after Notice 9/20/00—published 1/10/01, effective 1/1/01]
[Filed 12/14/00, Notice 11/1/00—published 1/10/01, effective 3/1/01]
[Filed 2/14/01, Notice 12/13/00—published 3/7/01, effective 5/1/01]
[Filed emergency 6/13/01 after Notice 4/18/01—published 7/11/01, effective 7/1/01]
[Filed emergency 6/13/01—published 7/11/01, effective 7/1/01]
[Filed 6/13/01, Notice 4/18/01—published 7/11/01, effective 9/1/01]
[Filed 11/14/01, Notice 10/3/01—published 12/12/01, effective 2/1/02]1
[Filed 12/12/01, Notice 7/11/01—published 1/9/02, effective 3/1/02]
[Filed 12/12/01, Notice 10/17/01—published 1/9/02, effective 3/1/02]1
[Filed emergency 1/9/02 after Notice 11/14/01—published 2/6/02, effective 2/1/02]
[Filed 1/9/02, Notice 11/14/01—published 2/6/02, effective 4/1/02]
[Filed 3/13/02, Notice 1/23/02—published 4/3/02, effective 6/1/02]
[Filed 7/15/02, Notice 5/1/02—published 8/7/02, effective 10/1/02]
[Filed emergency 11/18/02—published 12/11/02, effective 12/ 15/02]°
[Filed emergency 6/12/03—published 7/9/03, effective 7/1/03]
[Filed 9/22/03, Notice 7/9/03—published 10/15/03, effective 12/1/03]'
[Filed emergency 6/14/04 after Notice 4/28/04—published 7/7/04, effective 7/1/04]
[Filed 8/12/04, Notice 6/23/04—published 9/1/04, effective 11/1/04]
[Filed without Notice 5/4/05—published 5/25/05, effective 7/1/05]
[Filed emergency 9/21/05—published 10/12/05, effective 10/1/05]
[Filed 3/10/06, Notice 10/12/05—published 3/29/06, effective 5/3/06]
[Filed 4/17/06, Notice 2/15/06—published 5/10/06, effective 7/1/06]
[Filed emergency 8/10/06 after Notice 3/15/06—published 8/30/06, effective 10/1/06]
[Filed emergency 9/14/06—published 10/11/06, effective 10/1/06]
[Filed emergency 10/12/06 after Notice 8/30/06—published 11/8/06, effective 11/1/06]
[Filed emergency 12/13/06—published 1/3/07, effective 1/1/07]
[Filed emergency 3/14/07 after Notice 1/3/07—published 4/11/07, effective 4/1/07]
[Filed 3/14/07, Notice 10/11/06—published 4/11/07, effective 5/16/07]
[Filed 7/12/07, Notice 5/23/07—published 8/1/07, effective 9/5/07]
[Filed 8/9/07, Notice 6/20/07—published 8/29/07, effective 11/1/07]
[Filed 6/11/08, Notice 4/23/08—published 7/2/08, effective 9/1/08]
[Filed emergency 10/14/08 after Notice 7/16/08—published 11/5/08, effective 12/1/08]
[Filed 11/12/08, Notice 9/24/08—published 12/3/08, effective 2/1/09]
[Filed 12/11/08, Notice 10/22/08—published 1/14/09, effective 3/1/09]

[Filed ARC 7741B (Notice ARC 7526B, IAB 1/28/09), IAB 5/6/09, effective 7/1/09]
[Filed ARC 7936B (Notice ARC 7653B, IAB 3/25/09), IAB 7/1/09, effective 9/1/09]
[Filed ARC 9314B (Notice ARC 9112B, IAB 10/6/10), IAB 12/29/10, effective 3/1/11]
[Filed Emergency After Notice ARC 9440B (Notice ARC 9276B, IAB 12/15/10), IAB 4/6/11,
effective 4/1/11]

[Filed ARC 9487B (Notice ARC 9399B, IAB 2/23/11), IAB 5/4/11, effective 7/1/11]
[Filed Emergency After Notice ARC 9649B (Notice ARC 9538B, IAB 6/1/11), IAB 8/10/11, effective
8/1/11]

[Filed Emergency ARC 0191C, IAB 7/11/12, effective 7/1/12]


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/7741B.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/7526B.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/7936B.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/7653B.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/9314B.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/9112B.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/9440B.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/9276B.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/9487B.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/9399B.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/9649B.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/9538B.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/0191C.pdf
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[Filed Emergency After Notice ARC 0198C (Notice ARC 0117C, IAB 5/2/12), IAB 7/11/12, effective
7/1/12]

[Filed ARC 0358C (Notice ARC 0231C, IAB 7/25/12), IAB 10/3/12, effective 11/7/12]

[Filed ARC 0360C (Notice ARC 0203C, IAB 7/11/12), IAB 10/3/12, effective 12/1/12]

[Filed ARC 0359C (Notice ARC 0193C, IAB 7/11/12), IAB 10/3/12, effective 12/1/12]
[Filed ARC 0485C (Notice ARC 0259C, IAB 8/8/12), IAB 12/12/12, effective 2/1/13]
[Filed ARC 0545C (Notice ARC 0366C, IAB 10/3/12), IAB 1/9/13, effective 3/1/13]
[Filed ARC 0580C (Notice ARC 0434C, IAB 10/31/12), IAB 2/6/13, effective 4/1/13]
[Filed ARC 0757C (Notice ARC 0615C, IAB 2/20/13), IAB 5/29/13, effective 8/1/13]

[Filed Emergency After Notice ARC 0838C (Notice ARC 0667C, IAB 4/3/13; Amended Notice ARC
0748C, IAB 5/15/13), 1AB 7/24/13, effective 7/1/13]
[Filed Emergency ARC 0848C, IAB 7/24/13, effective 7/1/13]
[Filed Emergency After Notice ARC 1071C (Notice ARC 0887C, IAB 7/24/13), IAB 10/2/13,
effective 10/1/13]

[Filed ARC 1051C (Notice ARC 0847C, IAB 7/24/13), IAB 10/2/13, effective 11/6/13]
[Filed ARC 1149C (Notice ARC 0911C, 1AB 8/7/13), IAB 10/30/13, effective 1/1/14]
[Filed ARC 1445C (Notice ARC 1366C, IAB 3/5/14), IAB 4/30/14, effective 7/1/14]

[Filed ARC 1638C (Notice ARC 1553C, IAB 7/23/14), IAB 10/1/14, effective 11/5/14]
[Filed ARC 1698C (Notice ARC 1618C, IAB 9/3/14), IAB 10/29/14, effective 1/1/15]
[Filed ARC 1807C (Notice ARC 1707C, IAB 10/29/14), IAB 1/7/15, effective 3/1/15]

[Filed ARC 2165C (Notice ARC 2061C, IAB 7/22/15), IAB 9/30/15, effective 12/1/15]

[Filed Emergency After Notice ARC 2361C (Notice ARC 2242C, IAB 11/11/15), IAB 1/6/16, eftective
1/1/16]

[Filed ARC 2341C (Notice ARC 2113C, IAB 8/19/15), IAB 1/6/16, effective 2/10/16]
[Filed ARC 2471C (Notice ARC 2114C, TAB 8/19/15; Amended Notice ARC 2380C, IAB 2/3/16),
IAB 3/30/16, effective 5/4/16]

[Filed ARC 2930C (Notice ARC 2824C, IAB 11/23/16), IAB 2/1/17, effective 4/1/17]
[Filed ARC 3184C (Notice ARC 2920C, IAB 2/1/17), IAB 7/5/17, effective 8/9/17]
[Filed ARC 3494C (Notice ARC 3321C, IAB 9/27/17), IAB 12/6/17, effective 1/10/18]
[Filed ARC 3551C (Notice ARC 3439C, IAB 11/8/17), IAB 1/3/18, effective 2/7/18]
[Filed ARC 3789C (Notice ARC 3659C, IAB 2/28/18), IAB 5/9/18, effective 7/1/18]
[Filed ARC 3874C (Notice ARC 3784C, IAB 5/9/18), IAB 7/4/18, effective 8/8/18]
[Filed ARC 4165C (Notice ARC 4031C, IAB 9/26/18), IAB 12/5/18, effective 1/9/19]
[Filed ARC 4792C (Notice ARC 4628C, IAB 8/28/19), IAB 12/4/19, effective 1/8/20]
[Filed ARC 5175C (Notice ARC 4964C, IAB 3/11/20), IAB 9/9/20, effective 6/1/21]
[Filed ARC 5307C (Notice ARC 5166C, IAB 9/9/20), IAB 12/2/20, effective 2/1/21]
[Filed ARC 5361C (Notice ARC 5230C, IAB 10/21/20), IAB 12/30/20, effective 3/1/21]
[Filed ARC 5418C (Notice ARC 5276C, IAB 11/18/20), IAB 2/10/21, effective 4/1/21]
[Filed ARC 5809C (Notice ARC 5623C, IAB 5/19/21), IAB 7/28/21, effective 9/1/21]
[Filed ARC 5889C (Notice ARC 5706C, IAB 6/16/21), IAB 9/8/21, effective 11/1/21]
[Filed ARC 6310C (Notice ARC 6206C, IAB 2/23/22), IAB 5/4/22, effective 7/1/22]
[Filed ARC 6388C (Notice ARC 6300C, IAB 4/20/22), IAB 6/29/22, effective 9/1/22]

I Two ARCs

2 December 15, 2002, effective date of 77.37(14) “e”(2) and 77.39(13) “e” delayed 70 days by the Administrative Rules Review
Committee at its meeting held December 10, 2002; at its meeting held February 21, 2003, the Committee delayed the effective date
until adjournment of the 2003 Session of the General Assembly.


https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/0198C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/0117C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/0358C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/0231C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/0360C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/0203C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/0359C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/0193C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/0485C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/0259C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/0545C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/0366C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/0580C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/0434C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/0757C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/0615C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/0838C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/0667C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/0748C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/0748C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/0848C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/1071C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/0887C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/1051C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/0847C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/1149C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/0911C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/1445C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/1366C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/1638C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/1553C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/1698C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/1618C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/1807C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/1707C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/2165C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/2061C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/2361C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/2242C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/2341C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/2113C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/2471C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/2114C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/2380C.pdf
https://www.legis.iowa.gov/docs/aco/arc/2930C.pdf
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