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CHAPTER 10
INTEREST, PENALTY, EXCEPTIONS TO PENALTY, AND JEOPARDY ASSESSMENTS

[Prior to 12/17/86, Revenue Department[730]]
Rules 701—10.20(421) to 701—10.111(422A) are excerpted from 701—Chs 12, 30, 44, 46, 52, 58, 63, 81, 86, 88, 89, 104, IAB 1/23/91

701—10.1(421) Definitions. As used in the rules contained herein, the following definitions apply unless
the context otherwise requires:

10.1(1) “Department” means the department of revenue.

10.1(2) “Director” means the director of the department or authorized representative.

10.1(3) “Taxes” means all taxes and charges arising under Title X of the lowa Code, which
include but are not limited to individual income, withholding, corporate income, franchise, sales, use,
hotel/motel, railroad fuel, equipment car, replacement tax, statewide property tax, motor vehicle fuel,
inheritance, estate and generation skipping transfer taxes and the environmental protection charge
imposed upon petroleum diminution due and payable to the state of lowa.

701—10.2(421) Interest. Except where a different rate of interest is provided by Title X of the lowa
Code, the rate of interest on interest-bearing taxes and interest-bearing refunds arising under Title X is
fixed for each calendar year by the director. In addition to any penalty computed, there shall be added
interest as provided by law from the original due date of the return. Any portion of the tax imposed by
statute which has been erroneously refunded and is recoverable by the department shall bear interest as
provided in lowa Code section 421.7, subsection 2, from the date of payment of the refund, considering
each fraction of a month as an entire month. Interest which is not judgment interest is not payable on
sales and use tax, local option tax, and hotel and motel tax refunds. Herman M. Brown v. Johnson, 248
Iowa 1143, 82 N.W.2d 134 (1957); United Telephone Co. v. lowa Department of Revenue, 365 N.W.2d
647 (Iowa 1985). However, interest which is not judgment interest accrues on such refunds on or after
January 1, 1995, and is payable on sales and use tax, local option tax and hotel and motel tax refunds on
or after January 1, 1995.

10.2(1) Calendar year 1982. The rate of interest upon all unpaid taxes which are due as of January
1, 1982, will be 17 percent per annum (1.4% per month). This interest rate will accrue on taxes which
were due and unpaid as of, or after, January 1, 1982. In addition, this interest rate will accrue on tax
refunds which by law accrue interest, regardless of whether the tax to be refunded is due before, on, or
after January 1, 1982. This interest rate of 17 percent per annum, whether for unpaid taxes or tax refunds,
will commence to accrue in 1982.

EXAMPLES:

1. The taxpayer, X corporation, owes corporate income taxes assessed to it for the year 1975. The
assessment was made by the department in 1977. On January 1, 1982, that assessment had not been paid.
The rate of interest on the unpaid tax assessed has accrued at the rate of 9 percent per annum (0.75%
per month) through December 31, 1981. Commencing on January 1, 1982, the rate of interest on the
unpaid tax will thereafter accrue at the rate of 17 percent per annum for 1982 (1.4% per month). If the
tax liability is not paid in 1982, the rate of interest will then accrue in 1983 in accordance with the rate
fixed by the director as set forth in lowa Code section 421.7.

2. The taxpayer, Y, owes retail sales taxes assessed to it for the audit period January 1, 1979,
through December 31, 1982. The assessment is made on March 1, 1983. For the tax periods in which
the tax became due prior to January 1, 1982, the interest rate on such unpaid sales taxes accrued at 9
percent per annum (0.75% per month). Commencing on January 1, 1982, the entire unpaid portion of
the tax assessed which was delinquent at that time will begin to accrue interest at the rate of 17 percent
per annum. Those portions of the tax assessed first becoming delinquent in 1982 will bear interest at the
rate of 17 percent per annum (1.4% per month). In the event that any portion of the tax assessed remains
unpaid on January 1, 1983, the rate of interest will then accrue in 1983 in accordance with the rate fixed
by the director as set forth in lowa Code section 421.7.

3. The taxpayer, Z, files a refund claim for 1978 individual income taxes in March 1982. The
refund claim is allowed in May 1982, and is paid. Z is entitled to receive interest at the rate of 9 percent
per annum (0.75% per month) upon the refunded tax accruing through December 31, 1981, and is entitled
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to interest at the rate of 17 percent per annum (1.4% per month) upon such tax from January 1, 1982,
until the refund is paid.

4. A’s 1981 individual income tax liability becomes delinquent on May 1, 1982. A owes interest,
commencing on May 1, 1982, at the rate of 17 percent per annum (1.4% per month). In the event that
A does not pay the liability in 1982, the rate of interest will then accrue in 1983 in accordance with the
rate fixed by the director as set forth in Iowa Code section 421.7.

5. Decedent died December 15, 1976. The inheritance tax was due 12 months after death, or
December 15, 1977. Prior to the due date, the estate was granted an extension of time, until September
1, 1978, to file the return and pay the tax due. The tax, however, was paid March 15, 1982. Interest
accrues on the unpaid tax during the period of the extension of time (December 15, 1977, to September
1, 1978) at the rate of 6 percent per annum. Interest accrues on the delinquent tax from September 1,
1978, through December 31, 1981, at the rate of 8 percent per annum. Interest accrues on the delinquent
tax from January 1, 1982, to the date of payment on March 15, 1982, at the rate of 17 percent per annum.

6. Bfiles arefund for sales taxes paid for the periods January 1, 1979, through December 31, 1982,
in March 1983. The refund is allowed in May 1983. Since no interest is payable on sales tax refunds,
B is not entitled to any interest. Herman M. Brown Co. v. Johnson, 248 Towa 1143 (1957). However,
interest accrues and is payable on and after January 1, 1995.

The examples set forth in these rules are not meant to be all-inclusive. In addition, other rules set
forth the precise circumstance when interest begins to accrue and whether interest accrues for each month
or fraction of a month or annually as provided by law. Interest accrues as provided by law, regardless of
whether the department has made a formal assessment of tax.

10.2(2) Calendar year 1983. The rate of interest upon all unpaid taxes which are due as of January
1, 1983, will be 14 percent per annum (1.2% per month). This interest rate will accrue on taxes which
were due and unpaid as of, or after January 1, 1983. In addition, this interest rate will accrue on tax
refunds which by law accrue interest, regardless of whether the tax to be refunded is due before, on, or
after January 1, 1983. This interest rate of 14 percent per annum, whether for unpaid taxes or tax refunds,
will commence to accrue in 1983.

10.2(3) Calendar year 1984. The rate of interest upon all unpaid taxes which are due as of January
1, 1984, will be 9 percent per annum (0.8% per month). This interest rate will accrue on taxes which are
due and unpaid as of, or after, January 1, 1984. In addition, this interest rate will accrue on tax refunds
which by law accrue interest, regardless of whether the tax to be refunded is due before, on, or after
January 1, 1984. This interest rate of 9 percent per annum, whether for unpaid taxes or tax refunds, will
commence to accrue in 1984.

10.2(4) Calendar year 1985. The rate of interest upon all unpaid taxes which are due as of January
1, 1985, will be 10 percent per annum (0.8% per month). This interest rate will accrue on taxes which are
due and unpaid as of, or after, January 1, 1985. In addition, this interest rate will accrue on tax refunds
which by law accrue interest, regardless of whether the tax to be refunded is due before, on, or after
January 1, 1985. This interest rate of 10 percent per annum, whether for unpaid taxes or tax refunds,
will commence to accrue in 1985.

10.2(5) Calendar year 1986. The interest upon all unpaid taxes which are due as of January 1, 1986,
will be 9 percent per annum (0.8% per month). This interest rate will accrue on taxes which are due and
unpaid as of, or after, January 1, 1986. In addition, this interest rate will accrue on tax refunds which
by law accrue interest, regardless of whether the tax to be refunded is due before, on, or after January 1,
1986. This interest rate of 9 percent per annum, whether for unpaid taxes or tax refunds, will commence
to accrue in 1986.

10.2(6) Calendar year 1987. The interest upon all unpaid taxes which are due as of January 1, 1987,
will be 9 percent per annum (0.8% per month). This interest rate will accrue on taxes which are due and
unpaid as of, or after January 1, 1987. In addition, this interest rate will accrue on tax refunds which by
law accrue interest, regardless of whether the tax to be refunded is due before, on, or after January 1,
1987. This interest rate of 9 percent per annum, whether for unpaid taxes or tax refunds, will commence
to accrue in 1987.
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10.2(7) Calendar year 1988. The interest upon all unpaid taxes which are due as of January 1, 1988,
will be 8 percent per annum (0.7% per month). This interest rate will accrue on taxes which are due and
unpaid as of, or after January 1, 1988. In addition, this interest rate will accrue on tax refunds which by
law accrue interest, regardless of whether the tax to be refunded is due before, on, or after January 1,
1988. This interest rate of 8 percent per annum, whether for unpaid taxes or tax refunds, will commence
to accrue in 1988.

10.2(8) Calendar year 1989. The interest upon all unpaid taxes which are due as of January 1, 1989,
will be 9 percent per annum (0.8% per month). This interest rate will accrue on taxes which are due and
unpaid as of, or after January 1, 1989. In addition, this interest rate will accrue on tax refunds which by
law accrue interest, regardless of whether the tax to be refunded is due before, on, or after January 1,
1989. This interest rate of 9 percent per annum, whether for unpaid taxes or tax refunds, will commence
to accrue in 1989.

10.2(9) Calendar year 1990. The interest upon all unpaid taxes which are due as of January 1, 1990,
will be 11 percent per annum (0.9% per month). This interest rate will accrue on taxes which are due
and unpaid as of, or after January 1, 1990. In addition, this interest rate will accrue on tax refunds which
by law accrue interest, regardless of whether the tax to be refunded is due before, on, or after January 1,
1990. This interest rate of 11 percent per annum, whether for unpaid taxes or tax refunds, will commence
to accrue in 1990.

10.2(10) Calendar year 1991. The interest upon all unpaid taxes which are due as of January 1,
1991, will be 12 percent per annum (1.0% per month). This interest rate will accrue on taxes which are
due and unpaid as of, or after, January 1, 1991. In addition, this interest rate will accrue on tax refunds
which by law accrue interest, regardless of whether the tax to be refunded is due before, on, or after
January 1, 1991. This interest rate of 12 percent per annum, whether for unpaid taxes or tax refunds,
will commence to accrue in 1991.

10.2(11) Calendar year 1992. The interest upon all unpaid taxes which are due as of January 1,
1992, will be 11 percent per annum (0.9% per month). This interest rate will accrue on taxes which are
due and unpaid as of, or after, January 1, 1992. In addition, this interest rate will accrue on tax refunds
which by law accrue interest, regardless of whether the tax to be refunded is due before, on, or after
January 1, 1992. This interest rate of 11 percent per annum, whether for unpaid taxes or tax refunds, will
commence to accrue in 1992.

10.2(12) Calendar year 1993. The interest upon all unpaid taxes which are due as of January 1,
1993, will be 9 percent per annum (0.8% per month). This interest rate will accrue on taxes which are
due and unpaid as of, or after, January 1, 1993. In addition, this interest rate will accrue on tax refunds
which by law accrue interest, regardless of whether the tax to be refunded is due before, on, or after
January 1, 1993. This interest rate of 9 percent per annum, whether for unpaid taxes or tax refunds, will
commence to accrue in 1993.

10.2(13) Calendar year 1994. The interest upon all unpaid taxes which are due as of January 1,
1994, will be 8 percent per annum (0.7% per month). This interest rate will accrue on taxes which are
due and unpaid as of, or after, January 1, 1994. In addition, this interest rate will accrue on tax refunds
which by law accrue interest, regardless of whether the tax to be refunded is due before, on, or after
January 1, 1994. This interest rate of 8 percent per annum, whether for unpaid taxes or tax refunds, will
commence to accrue in 1994.

10.2(14) Calendar year 1995. The interest upon all unpaid taxes which are due as of January 1,
1995, will be 9 percent per annum (0.8% per month). This interest rate will accrue on taxes which are
due and unpaid as of, or after, January 1, 1995. In addition, this interest rate will accrue on tax refunds
which by law accrue interest, regardless of whether the tax to be refunded is due before, on, or after
January 1, 1995. This interest rate of 9 percent per annum, whether for unpaid taxes or tax refunds, will
commence to accrue in 1995.

10.2(15) Calendar year 1996. The interest upon all unpaid taxes which are due as of January 1,
1996, will be 11 percent per annum (0.9% per month). This interest rate will accrue on taxes which are
due and unpaid as of, or after, January 1, 1996. In addition, this interest rate will accrue on tax refunds
which by law accrue interest, regardless of whether the tax to be refunded is due before, on, or after
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January 1, 1996. This interest rate of 11 percent per annum, whether for unpaid taxes or tax refunds, will
commence to accrue in 1996.

10.2(16) Calendar year 1997. The interest rate upon all unpaid taxes which are due as of January
1, 1997, will be 10 percent per annum (0.8% per month). This interest rate will accrue on taxes which
are due and unpaid as of, or after, January 1, 1997. In addition, this interest rate will accrue on tax
refunds which by law accrue interest, regardless of whether the tax to be refunded is due before or after
January 1, 1997. This interest rate of 10 percent per annum, whether for unpaid taxes or tax refunds,
will commence to accrue in 1997.

10.2(17) Calendar year 1998. The interest rate upon all unpaid taxes which are due as of January
1, 1998, will be 10 percent per annum (0.8% per month). This interest rate will accrue on taxes which
are due and unpaid as of, or after, January 1, 1998. In addition, this interest rate will accrue on tax
refunds which by law accrue interest, regardless of whether the tax to be refunded is due before or after
January 1, 1998. This interest rate of 10 percent per annum, whether for unpaid taxes or tax refunds,
will commence to accrue in 1998.

10.2(18) Calendar year 1999. The interest rate upon all unpaid taxes which are due as of January
1, 1999, will be 10 percent per annum (0.8% per month). This interest rate will accrue on taxes which
are due and unpaid as of, or after, January 1, 1999. In addition, this interest rate will accrue on tax
refunds which by law accrue interest, regardless of whether the tax to be refunded is due before or after
January 1, 1999. This interest rate of 10 percent per annum, whether for unpaid taxes or tax refunds,
will commence to accrue in 1999.

10.2(19) Calendar year 2000. The interest rate upon all unpaid taxes which are due as of January
1, 2000, will be 10 percent per annum (0.8% per month). This interest rate will accrue on taxes which
are due and unpaid as of, or after, January 1, 2000. In addition, this interest rate will accrue on tax
refunds which by law accrue interest, regardless of whether the tax to be refunded is due before or after
January 1, 2000. This interest rate of 10 percent per annum, whether for unpaid taxes or tax refunds,
will commence to accrue in 2000.

10.2(20) Calendar year 2001. The interest rate upon all unpaid taxes which are due as of January
1, 2001, will be 11 percent per annum (0.9% per month). This interest rate will accrue on taxes which
are due and unpaid as of, or after, January 1, 2001. In addition, this interest rate will accrue on tax
refunds which by law accrue interest, regardless of whether the tax to be refunded is due before or after
January 1, 2001. This interest rate of 11 percent per annum, whether for unpaid taxes or tax refunds, will
commence to accrue in 2001.

10.2(21) Calendar year 2002. The interest rate upon all unpaid taxes which are due as of January
1, 2002, will be 10 percent per annum (0.8% per month). This interest rate will accrue on taxes which
are due and unpaid as of, or after, January 1, 2002. In addition, this interest rate will accrue on tax
refunds which by law accrue interest, regardless of whether the tax to be refunded is due before or after
January 1, 2002. This interest rate of 10 percent per annum, whether for unpaid taxes or tax refunds,
will commence to accrue in 2002.

10.2(22) Calendar year 2003. The interest rate upon all unpaid taxes which are due as of January 1,
2003, will be 7 percent per annum (0.6% per month). This interest rate will accrue on taxes which are
due and unpaid as of, or after, January 1, 2003. In addition, this interest will accrue on tax refunds which
by law accrue interest, regardless of whether the tax to be refunded is due before or after January 1,
2003. This interest rate of 7 percent per annum, whether for unpaid taxes or tax refunds, will commence
to accrue in 2003.

10.2(23) Calendar year 2004. The interest rate upon all unpaid taxes which are due as of January 1,
2004, will be 6 percent per annum (0.5% per month). This interest rate will accrue on taxes which are
due and unpaid as of, or after, January 1, 2004. In addition, this interest will accrue on tax refunds which
by law accrue interest, regardless of whether the tax to be refunded is due before or after January 1,
2004. This interest rate of 6 percent per annum, whether for unpaid taxes or tax refunds, will commence
to accrue in 2004.

10.2(24) Calendar year 2005. The interest rate upon all unpaid taxes which are due as of January 1,
2005, will be 6 percent per annum (0.5% per month). This interest rate will accrue on taxes which are
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due and unpaid as of, or after, January 1, 2005. In addition, this interest will accrue on tax refunds which
by law accrue interest, regardless of whether the tax to be refunded is due before or after January 1,
2005. This interest rate of 6 percent per annum, whether for unpaid taxes or tax refunds, will commence
to accrue in 2005.

10.2(25) Calendar year 2006. The interest rate upon all unpaid taxes which are due as of January 1,
2006, will be 8 percent per annum (0.7% per month). This interest rate will accrue on taxes which are
due and unpaid as of, or after, January 1, 2006. In addition, this interest will accrue on tax refunds which
by law accrue interest, regardless of whether the tax to be refunded is due before or after January 1,
2006. This interest rate of 8 percent per annum, whether for unpaid taxes or tax refunds, will commence
to accrue in 2006.

10.2(26) Calendar year 2007. The interest rate upon all unpaid taxes which are due as of January 1,
2007, will be 10 percent per annum (0.8% per month). This interest rate will accrue on taxes which are
due and unpaid as of, or after, January 1, 2007. In addition, this interest will accrue on tax refunds which
by law accrue interest, regardless of whether the tax to be refunded is due before or after January 1, 2007.
This interest rate of 10 percent per annum, whether for unpaid taxes or tax refunds, will commence to
accrue in 2007.

10.2(27) Calendar year 2008. The interest rate upon all unpaid taxes which are due as of January 1,
2008, will be 10 percent per annum (0.8% per month). This interest rate will accrue on taxes which are
due and unpaid as of, or after, January 1, 2008. In addition, this interest will accrue on tax refunds which
by law accrue interest, regardless of whether the tax to be refunded is due before or after January 1, 2008.
This interest rate of 10 percent per annum, whether for unpaid taxes or tax refunds, will commence to
accrue in 2008.

10.2(28) Calendar year 2009. The interest rate upon all unpaid taxes which are due as of January 1,
2009, will be 8 percent per annum (0.7% per month). This interest rate will accrue on taxes which are
due and unpaid as of, or after, January 1, 2009. In addition, this interest will accrue on tax refunds which
by law accrue interest, regardless of whether the tax to be refunded is due before or after January 1,
2009. This interest rate of 8 percent per annum, whether for unpaid taxes or tax refunds, will commence
to accrue in 2009.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 421.7.

701—10.3(422,450,452A) Interest on refunds. For those taxes on which interest accrues on refunds
under Towa Code sections 422.25(3), 422.28, 450.94, and 452A.65, interest shall accrue through the
month in which the refund is mailed to the taxpayer and no further interest will accrue unless the
department did not use the most current address as shown on the latest return or refund claim filed with
the department.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 422.25(3), 422.28, 450.94 and 452A.65.

701—10.4(421) Frivolous return penalty. A $500 civil penalty is imposed on the return of a taxpayer
that is considered to be a “frivolous return.” A “frivolous return” is: (1) A return which lacks sufficient
information from which the substantial correctness of the amount of tax liability can be determined or
contains information that on its face indicates that the amount of tax shown is substantially incorrect,
or (2) a return which reflects a position of law which is frivolous or is intended to delay or impede the
administration of the tax laws of this state.

If the frivolous return penalty is applicable, the penalty will be imposed in addition to any other
penalty which has been assessed. If the frivolous return penalty is relevant, the penalty may be imposed
even under circumstances when it is determined that there is no tax liability on the return.

The frivolous return penalty is virtually identical to the penalty for frivolous income tax returns
which is authorized in Section 6702 of the Internal Revenue Code. The department will follow federal
guidelines and court cases when determining whether or not the frivolous return penalty should be
imposed.
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The frivolous return penalty may be imposed on all returns filed with the department and not just
individual income tax returns. The penalty may be imposed on an amended return as well as an original
return. The penalty may be imposed on each return filed with the department.

10.4(1) Nonexclusive examples of circumstances under which the frivolous return penalty may be
imposed. The following are examples of returns filed in circumstances under which the frivolous return
penalty may be imposed:

a. A return claiming a deduction against income or a credit against tax liability which is clearly
not allowed such as a “war,” “religious,” “conscientious objector” deduction or tax credit.

b. A blank or partially completed return that was prepared on the theory that filing a complete
return and providing required financial data would violate the Fifth Amendment privilege against
self-incrimination or other rights guaranteed by the Constitution.

¢.  An unsigned return where the taxpayer refused to sign because the signature requirement was
“incomprehensible or unconstitutional” or the taxpayer was not liable for state tax since the taxpayer had
not signed the return.

d. A return which contained personal and financial information on the proper lines but where
the words “true, correct and complete” were crossed out above the taxpayer’s signature and where the
taxpayer claimed the taxpayer’s income was not legal tender and was exempt from tax.

e. A return where the taxpayer claimed that income was not “constructively received” and the
taxpayer was the nominee-agent for a trust.

£ A return with clearly inconsistent information such as when 99 exemptions were claimed but
only several dependents were shown.

g A document filed for refund of taxes erroneously collected with the contention that the
document was not a return and that no wage income was earned. This was inconsistent with attached
W-2 Forms reporting wages.

10.4(2) Nonexclusive examples where the frivolous return penalty is not applicable. The following
examples illustrate situations where the frivolous return penalty would not be applicable:

a. A return which includes a deduction, credit, or other item which may constitute a valid item of
dispute between the taxpayer and the department.

b. A return which includes innocent or inadvertent mathematical or clerical errors, such as an
error in addition, subtraction, multiplication, or division or the incorrect use of a table provided by the
department.

¢. A return which includes a statement of protest or objection, provided the return contains all
required information.

d. A return which shows the correct amount of tax due, but the tax due is not paid.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 421.8.

99 ¢

701—10.5(421) Exceptions from penalty provisions for taxes due and payable on or after January
1, 1987, and for tax periods ending on or before December 31, 1990. Rescinded IAB 11/10/04,
effective 12/15/04.

PENALTY FOR TAX PERIOD BEGINNING AFTER JANUARY 1, 1991

701—10.6(421) Penalties. A penalty shall be assessed upon all tax and deposits due under the following
circumstances:

1. For failure to timely file a return or deposit form there is a 10 percent penalty. This penalty, once
imposed, will be assessed on all subsequent amounts due or required to be shown due on the return or
deposit form.

EXAMPLE: The taxpayer fails to timely file a return and fails to timely pay the tax due. The department
will assess a 10 percent penalty for failure to timely file the return but will not assess a 5 percent penalty
for failure to timely pay. The department subsequently audits the untimely filed return and determines
additional tax is due. The department shall assess a 10 percent penalty on the additional tax found due
by an audit.
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2. For failure to timely pay the tax due on a return or deposit form, there is a 5 percent penalty.

3. Foradeficiency of tax due on a return or deposit form found during an audit, there is a 5 percent
penalty. For purposes of this penalty, the audit deficiency shall be assessed only when there is a timely
filed return or deposit form.

Audit deficiency occurs when the department determines additional tax is due.

4. For willful failure to file a return or deposit form with the intent to evade tax, or in the case of
willfully filing a false return or deposit form with the intent to evade tax, there is a 75 percent penalty.

The penalty rates are uniform for all taxes and deposits due under this chapter.

The penalty for failure to timely file will take precedence over the penalty for failure to timely pay
or an audit deficiency when more than one penalty is applicable.

5. Examples to illustrate the computation of penalty for tax periods beginning on or after January 1,
1991.

The following are examples to illustrate the computation of penalties imposed under rule 10.7(421).
For purposes of these examples, interest has been computed at the rate of 12 percent per year or 1 percent
per month. The tax due amounts are assumed to be the total amounts required to be shown due when
considering whether the failure to pay penalty should be assessed on the basis that less than 90 percent
of the tax was paid.

Example (a) — Failure to File

a. Tax due is $100.

b. Return filed 3 months and 10 days after the due date.
c. $100 paid with the return.

The calculation for additional tax due is shown below:

Tax $100

Penalty 10 (10% failure to timely file)
Interest 4 (4 months interest)

Total W

Less payment 100

Additional tax due $14

Example (b) — Failure to Pay

a. Tax due is $100.

b. Return is timely filed.

c. $0 paid.

The calculation for the total amount due 5 months after the due date is shown below:

Tax $100

Penalty 5

Interest 5 (5 months interest)
Total W

Example (¢) — Failure to File and Failure to Pay

a. Tax due is $100.

b. Return is filed 2 months and 10 days after the due date.

c. $0 paid.

The calculation for the total amount due 3 months after the due date is shown below:
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Tax
Penalty
Interest

Total due in 3rd month
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$100

10 (10% for failure to file)

3 (3 months interest)

$113

Example (d) — Audit on Timely Filed Return

a. $100 in additional tax found due.

b. Timely filed return.

c¢. Audit completed 8 months after the due date of the return.

d. Return showed $100 as the computed tax, which was paid with the return.

The calculation for the total amount due is shown below:

Computed tax after audit $200

Less tax paid with return
Additional tax due
Penalty

Interest

Total due

100
$100
5 (5% for audit deficiency)

8 (8 months interest)

$113

Example (¢) — Audit on Late Return Granted an Exception From Failure to File

a. Tax due is $100.

b. Return filed 3 months and 10 days after the due date.

c. $100 paid with the return.

d. Taxpayer is granted an exception from penalty for failure to file. (Return is then considered timely

filed.)

e. Audit completed 8 months after the due date of the return. $100 additional tax found due.
f. Return showed $100 as the computed tax which was paid with the return.
The computation for the total amount due is shown below:

Computed tax after audit
Less tax paid with return
Additional tax due
Penalty

Interest

Total due

$200

100

$100
5 (5% for audit deficiency. No penalty for failure to file.)

8 (8 months interest)
$113

Example (f) — Audit on Late Filed Return No Pay Return
a. $100 claimed as tax on the return.

b. $100 in additional tax found due.

c. Return filed 3 months and 10 days after the due date.

d. Audit completed 8 months after the due date.

The computation for the total amount due is shown below:

Computed tax after audit
Penalty

Interest

Total due

$200
20 (10% for failure to file)
16 (8 months interest)

$236

701—10.7(421) Waiver of penalty—definitions. A penalty, if assessed, shall be waived by the
department upon a showing of the circumstances stated below.
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10.7(1) For purposes of these rules, the following definitions apply:

“Act of God” means an unusual and extraordinary manifestation of nature which could not
reasonably be anticipated or foreseen and cannot be prevented by human care, skill, or foresight. There
is a rebuttable presumption that an “act of God” that precedes the due date of the return or form by 30
days is not an act of God for purposes of an exception to penalty.

“Immediate family” includes the spouse, children, or parents of the taxpayer. There is a rebuttable
presumption that relatives of the taxpayer beyond the relation of spouse, children, or parents of the
taxpayer are not within the taxpayer’s immediate family for purposes of the waiver exceptions.

“Sanctioned self-audit program” means an audit performed by the taxpayer with forms provided
by the department as a result of contact by the department to the taxpayer prior to voluntary filing or
payment of the tax. Filing voluntarily without contact by the department does not constitute a sanctioned
self-audit.

“Serious, long-term illness or hospitalization” means an illness or hospitalization, documented by
written evidence, which precedes the due date of the return or form by no later than 30 days and continues
through the due date of the return or form and interferes with the timely filing of the return or form. There
is a rebuttable presumption that an illness or hospitalization that precedes the due date of the return or
form by more than 30 days is not an illness or hospitalization for purposes of an exception to penalty.
The taxpayer will be provided an automatic extension of 30 days from the date the return or form is
originally due or the termination of the serious, long-term illness or hospitalization whichever is later
without incurring penalty. The taxpayer has the burden of proof on whether or not a serious, long-term
illness or hospitalization has occurred.

“Substantial authority” means the weight of authorities for the tax treatment of an item is substantial
in relation to the weight of authorities supporting contrary positions.

In determining whether there is substantial authority, only the following will be considered
authority: applicable provisions of Iowa statutes; the Internal Revenue Code; lowa administrative rules
construing those statutes; court cases; administrative rulings; legal periodicals; department newsletters
and tax return and deposit form instruction booklets; tax treaties and regulations; and legislative intent
as reflected in committee reports.

Conclusions reached in treaties, legal opinions rendered by other tax professionals, descriptions of
statutes prepared by legislative staff, legal counsel memoranda, and proposed rules and regulations are
not authority.

There is substantial authority for the tax treatment of an item if there is substantial authority at the
time the return containing the item is due to be filed or there was substantial authority on the last day of
the taxable year to which the return relates.

The taxpayer must notify the department at the time the return, deposit form, or payment is originally
due of the substantial authority the taxpayer is relying upon for not filing the return or deposit form or
paying the tax due.

10.7(2) Reserved.

701—10.8(421) Penalty exceptions. Under certain circumstances the penalty for failure to timely file a
return or deposit, failure to timely pay the tax shown due, or the tax required to be shown due with the
filing of a return or a deposit form, or failure to pay following an audit by the department is waived.

When an exception is granted under subrule 10.9(1), the return or deposit form is considered timely
filed for purposes of nonimposition of penalty only.

10.8(1) For failure to timely file a return or deposit form, the 10 percent penalty is waived upon a
showing of the following exceptions:

a.  Atleast 90 percent of the tax required to be shown due has been paid by the due date of the tax
return or deposit form.

b.  One late return allowed. A taxpayer required to file a return or deposit form quarterly, monthly,
or semimonthly is allowed one untimely filed return or deposit form within a three-year period. The use
by the taxpayer of any other penalty exception under this subrule will not count as a late return or deposit
form for purposes of this subrule.
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The exception for one late return in a three-year period is determined on the basis of the tax period
for which the return or form is due and not the date on which the return is filed.

c¢.  Death of a taxpayer, member of the immediate family of the taxpayer, or death of the person
directly responsible for filing the return and paying the tax, when the death interferes with timely filing.
There is a rebuttable presumption that a death which occurs more than 30 days before the original date
the return or form is due does not interfere with timely filing.

d. The onset of serious, long-term illness or hospitalization of the taxpayer, a member of the
taxpayer’s immediate family, or the person directly responsible for filing the return and paying the tax.

e. Destruction of records by fire, flood, or act of God.

f The taxpayer presents proof that the taxpayer at the due date of the return, deposit form, or
payment relied upon applicable, documented, written advice made specifically to the taxpayer, the
taxpayer’s preparer, or to an association representative of the taxpayer from the department, state
department of transportation, county treasurer, or federal Internal Revenue Service. The advice should
be relevant to the agency offering the advice and not beyond the scope of the agency’s area of expertise
and knowledge. The advice must be current and not superseded by a court decision, ruling of a
quasi-judicial body such as an administrative law judge, the director, or the state board of tax review, or
by the adoption, amendment, or repeal of a rule or law.

g Reliance upon the results of a previous audit was a direct cause for failure to file or pay where
the previous audit expressly and clearly addressed the issue and the previous audit results have not been
superseded by a court decision or by adoption, amendment, or repeal of a rule or law.

h.  The taxpayer presents documented proof of substantial authority to rely upon a particular
position or upon proof that all facts and circumstances are disclosed on a return or deposit form.
Mathematical, computation, or transposition errors are not considered as facts and circumstances
disclosed on a return or deposit form. These types of errors will not be considered as penalty exceptions.

i.  The return, deposit form, or payment is timely, but erroneously, mailed with adequate postage
to the Internal Revenue Service, another state agency, or a local government agency and the taxpayer
provides proof of timely mailing with adequate postage. The taxpayer must provide competent evidence
of the mailing as stated in lowa Code section 622.105.

j. The tax has been paid by the wrong licensee and the payments were timely remitted to the
department for one or more tax periods prior to notification by the department.

k. The failure to file was discovered through a sanctioned self-audit program conducted by the
department.

10.8(2) For failure to timely pay the tax due on a return or deposit form, the 5 percent penalty is
waived upon a showing of the following exceptions:

a. Atleast 90 percent of the tax required to be shown due has been paid by the due date of the tax
return or deposit form.

b.  The taxpayer voluntarily files an amended return and pays all tax shown to be due on the return
prior to any contact by the department, except under a sanctioned self-audit program conducted by the
department.

c¢.  The taxpayer provides written notification to the department of a federal audit while it is in
progress and voluntarily files an amended return which includes a copy of the federal document showing
the final disposition or final federal adjustments within 60 days of the final disposition of the federal
government’s audit.

d. The taxpayer presents proof that the taxpayer relied upon applicable, documented, written
advice specifically made to the taxpayer, to the taxpayer’s preparer, or to an association representative
of the taxpayer from the department, state department of transportation, county treasurer, or federal
Internal Revenue Service, whichever is appropriate, that has not been superseded by a court decision,
ruling by a quasi-judicial body, or the adoption, amendment, or repeal of a rule or law.

e. Reliance upon results in a previous audit was a direct cause for the failure to pay the tax required
to be shown due where the previous audit expressly and clearly addressed the issue and the previous audit
results have not been superseded by a court decision, or the adoption, amendment, or repeal of a rule or
law.
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f The taxpayer presents documented proof of substantial authority to rely upon a particular
position or upon proof that all facts and circumstances are disclosed on a return or deposit form.
Mathematical, computation, or transposition errors are not considered as facts and circumstances
disclosed on a return or deposit form. These types of errors will not be considered as penalty exceptions.

g The return, deposit form, or payment is timely, but erroneously, mailed with adequate postage
to the Internal Revenue Service, another state agency, or a local government agency and the taxpayer
provides proof of timely mailing with adequate postage. The taxpayer must provide competent evidence
of the mailing as stated in lowa Code section 622.105.

h.  The tax has been paid by the wrong licensee and the payments were timely remitted to the
department for one or more tax periods prior to notification by the department.

10.8(3) For a deficiency of tax due on a return or deposit form found during an audit, the 5 percent
penalty is waived under the following exceptions:

a. At least 90 percent of the tax required to be shown due has been paid by the due date.

b.  The taxpayer presents proof that the taxpayer relied upon applicable, documented, written
advice specifically made to the taxpayer, to the taxpayer’s preparer, or to an association representative
of the taxpayer from the department, state department of transportation, county treasurer, or federal
Internal Revenue Service, whichever is appropriate, that has not been superseded by a court decision,
ruling by a quasi-judicial body, or the adoption, amendment, or repeal of a rule or law.

¢.  Reliance upon results in a previous audit was a direct cause for the failure to pay the tax shown
due or required to be shown due where the previous audit expressly and clearly addressed the issue and
the previous audit results have not been superseded by a court decision, or the adoption, amendment, or
repeal of a rule or law.

d. The taxpayer presents documented proof of substantial authority to rely upon a particular
position or upon proof that all facts and circumstances are disclosed on a return or deposit form.
Mathematical, computation, or transposition errors are not considered as facts and circumstances
disclosed on a return or deposit form. These types of errors will not be considered as penalty exceptions.

701—10.9(421) Notice of penalty exception for one late return in a three-year period. The penalty
exception for one late return in a three-year period will automatically be applied to a return or deposit
form by the department if the taxpayer is eligible for the exception.

The exception for one late return in a three-year period is applied to the returns or deposit forms in
the order they are processed and not in the order which the returns or deposit forms should have been
filed.

701—10.10 to 10.19 Reserved.

RETAIL SALES
[Prior to 1/23/91, see 701—12.10(422,423) and 12.11(422, 423)]

701—10.20(422,423) Penalty and interest computation.

10.20(1) Computations for tax periods where the due date occurs after December 31, 1980. The
filing of the tax return within the period prescribed by law and the payment of the tax required to be shown
thereon are simultaneous acts and if either condition is not met, a penalty shall be assessed, unless it is
shown that such failure was due to reasonable cause. lowa Code section 422.58(1) provides a penalty for
failure to file a permit holder’s semimonthly or monthly tax deposit or a return or, if a permit holder fails
to remit at least 90 percent of the tax due with the filing of the return or pay less than 90 percent of any
tax required to be shown on the return, excepting the period between the completion of an examination
of the books and records of a taxpayer and the giving of notice to the taxpayer that a tax or additional tax
is due. The rate of penalty shall be 5 percent per month or fraction thereof, not to exceed 25 percent in
the aggregate for failure to file a deposit or return and for failure to pay at least 90 percent of the tax due.

In case there is both a failure to file and a failure to pay, the penalty for failure to file shall be in lieu of
the penalty for failure to pay. However, the imposition of the penalty for failure to file does not preclude
the imposition of a penalty for failure to pay if, after the return is filed, there is a continued failure to
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pay during the five-month period after the tax was due (taking into consideration any extensions of time
to file and pay). The combined penalties for failure to file or pay shall not exceed 25 percent of the
tax due. The penalties are computed on the amount of the tax remaining unpaid that is required to be
shown as due on the return as distinguished from the amount of the tax shown to be due on the return.
Therefore, if an audit results in an additional tax which was required to be shown as due on the return,
the additional tax is subject to the penalty for failure to pay, unless the failure was due to reasonable
cause. See 701—subrule 44.3(3) for examples of the penalty computation. These examples would also
apply to sales and use tax unless 90 percent of the tax is remitted timely, then no penalty applies.

All payments shall be first applied to the penalty and then to the interest, and the balance, if any, to
the amount of tax then due in the order specified.

In addition to the penalty, interest accrues on the tax or additional tax at the rate of three-fourths of
one percent per month, counting each fraction of a month as an entire month, computed from the date
the return or deposit was required to be filed until December 31, 1981. See rule 701—10.2(421) for the
statutory interest rate commencing on or after January 1, 1982.

10.20(2) Computations for tax periods for taxes initially due and payable on or after January 1,
1985, but before January 1, 1987.

a.  Penalty for failure to file return. Subsequent to December 31, 1984, a permit holder or other
person who fails to file a semimonthly or monthly tax deposit form or a quarterly or annual return shall
be subject to penalty for this failure only if the failure to file is willful. The penalty for willful failure
to file a deposit form or return is 50 percent of the amount required to be shown on the deposit form
or return, see lowa Code section 422.58(1). When it is appropriate to impose this 50 percent penalty, it
shall be in lieu of the penalty described in 701—subrule 12.10(4), paragraph “b.”

b.  Penalty for failure to timely remit tax. If a permit holder or other person fails to remit with the
deposit form or pay with the return at least 90 percent of the tax due and owing, there shall be added to
the amount of tax required to be shown on the deposit form or return a penalty of 10 percent of the tax
due. Under Iowa Code section 422.58(1), the director cannot waive payment of this penalty. Thus, the
equitable doctrine of waiver is not available to a permit holder or other person seeking relief from the
penalty.

Also, that portion of the statute allowing the right to demonstrate that failure to timely pay has been
due to reasonable cause has been repealed, House File 2507 supra. No statutory basis for remission of
the 10 percent penalty now exists. Therefore, if it is shown that a fixed amount of tax was due to be
paid upon a date certain and less than 90 percent of that amount has been paid, the director may not
excuse payment of penalty. The penalty described in this subrule shall include a penalty for additional
tax shown to be due and owing as the result of an audit. See 701—subrule 44.3(5) for examples which
illustrate the computation of penalty for tax due on or after January 1, 1985.

c.  Application of payments. All payments shall be first applied to penalty, then interest, and the
balance, if any, to the amount of tax then due in the order specified. If penalty, interest, and tax are
due and owing for more than one tax period, any payment shall be applied first to the penalty, then
the interest, then the tax for the oldest tax period; then to the penalty, interest and tax to the period
immediately subsequent, and so on until the payment is exhausted.

EXAMPLE: A permit holder is an annual filer. As a result of audit, it is determined that the permit
holder owes penalty, interest, and tax for the years 1984, 1983, and 1982. The total amount owed for
tax, penalty and interest for the three years is $1,200. $200 of this amount is tax for the year 1984. The
permit holder remits a single payment of $1,000. The payment would be applied first to the penalty, then
interest, then tax owing for 1982. The same application would then be made to penalty, interest and tax
owing for 1983. Any amount remaining would be applied first to penalty and then interest owing for
1984. The $200 in tax due for the year 1984 would remain to be paid.

d.  Computation of penalty for taxes initially due and payable prior to January 1, 1985, and
overdue and payable on that date. The date upon which the tax initially became delinquent (taking into
consideration any extension of time to pay the tax due) determines which penalty applied. If the initial
delinquency occurs prior to January 1, 1985, the aggregating penalty applies. If the initial delinquency
occurs on or after January 1, 1985, only the flat rate penalties of 5 or 10 percent apply.
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10.20(3) Computations for tax periods for taxes initially due and payable on or after January 1,
1987, but for tax periods ending before January 1, 1991.

a. Penalty for failure to file return. Subsequent to December 31, 1986, a permit holder or other
person who willfully fails to file a semimonthly or monthly tax deposit form or a quarterly or annual
return will be subject to penalty for this failure. The penalty for willful failure to file a deposit form or
return is 75 percent of the amount required to be shown on the deposit form or return, see lowa Code
section 422.58(1). When it is appropriate to impose this 75 percent penalty, it will be in lieu of the
penalty described in paragraph 10.20(3) “b.”

b.  Penalty for failure to timely remit tax. If a permit holder or other person fails to remit with the
deposit form or pay with the return at least 90 percent of the tax due and owing on or before the due date
of the deposit or return, there will be added to the amount of tax required to be shown on the deposit
form or return a penalty of 15 percent of the tax due. Under lowa Code section 422.58(1), the director
cannot waive payment of this penalty. Thus, the equitable doctrine of waiver is not available to a permit
holder or other person seeking relief from the penalty.

Also, that portion of the statute allowing the right to demonstrate that failure to timely pay has been
due to reasonable cause has been repealed. No statutory basis for remission of the 15 percent penalty
now exists. Therefore, if it is shown that a fixed amount of tax was due to be paid upon a date certain
and less than 90 percent of that amount has been paid, the director may not excuse payment of penalty.
The penalty described in this subrule will include a penalty for additional tax shown to be due and owing
as the result of an audit. See subrule 10.41(6) for examples which illustrate the computation of penalty
for tax due on or after January 1, 1987, but for tax years ending before January 1, 1991.

c.  Application of payments. All payments must be first applied to penalty, then interest, and
the balance, if any, to the amount of tax then due in the order specified. See Ashland Oil Inc. v. lowa
Department of Revenue and Finance, 452 N.W.2d 162 (Iowa 1990). If penalty, interest, and tax are
due and owing for more than one tax period, any payment must be applied first to the penalty, then
the interest, then the tax for the oldest tax period; then to the penalty, interest, and tax to the period
immediately subsequent, and so on until the payment is exhausted.

EXAMPLE: A permit holder is an annual filer. As a result of audit, it is determined that the permit
holder owes penalty, interest, and tax for the years 1984, 1983, and 1982. The total amount owed for
tax, penalty, and interest for the three years is $1,200. $200 of this amount is tax for the year 1984. The
permit holder remits a single payment of $1,000. The payment would be applied first to the penalty, then
interest, then tax owing for 1982. The same application would then be made to penalty, interest, and
tax owing for 1983. Any amount remaining would be applied first to penalty and then interest owing
for 1984. The $200 in tax due for the year 1984 would remain to be paid and would continue to accrue
interest.

d.  Computation of penalty for taxes initially due and payable prior to January 1, 1987, and overdue
and payable on that date. The date upon which the tax initially became delinquent determines which
penalty applied. If the initial delinquency occurs prior to January 1, 1987, the 10 percent penalty applies.
If the initial delinquency occurs on or after January 1, 1987, but for tax periods ending before January
1, 1991, only the flat rate penalties of 7.5 or 15 percent apply. See rule 701—10.6(421) for penalty for
tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 1991.

See rule 701—10.5(421) for statutory exemptions to penalty for tax due and payable on or after
January 1, 1987. See rule 701—10.8(421) for exceptions to penalty for tax periods beginning on or after
January 1, 1991.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 422.58(1).

701—10.21(422,423) Request for waiver of penalty. Any taxpayer who has good reason to object to
any penalty imposed by the department for failure to timely file returns, monthly deposits or pay the tax
may submit a request for waiver seeking that the penalty be waived for taxes initially due and payable
prior to January 1, 1985. If it can be shown to the director’s satisfaction that the failure was due to
reasonable cause, the penalty will be adjusted accordingly. The request must be in the form of an affidavit
and must contain all facts alleged as reasonable cause for the taxpayer’s failure to file the return, monthly
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deposit or pay the tax as required by law. The following are examples of situations that may be accepted
by the director as being reasonable cause:

1. Where the return, monthly deposit or payment was filed on time, but filed erroneously with
another state agency or the Internal Revenue Service.

2. A showing that the completed return, monthly deposit was mailed in time to reach the
department in the normal course of mails, within the legal period. If the due date is a Saturday, Sunday
or legal holiday, the following business day is within the legal period.

3. Where the delay was caused by death or serious illness of the taxpayer responsible for filing.

4.  Where the delay was caused by prolonged unavoidable absence of the taxpayer responsible for
filing.

5. Where the delinquency was caused by destruction by fire or other casualty of the taxpayer’s
records.

6. A showing that the delay or failure was due to erroneous information given the taxpayer by an
employee of the department.

7. The department will allow without penalty one late return or monthly deposit, or one timely
filed return containing a mathematical error if the taxpayer has had no reported delinquencies in the past
36 months. (Not applicable to penalty established by audit.)

8.  Where the taxpayer exercised ordinary business care and prudence and was nevertheless unable
to file the return or monthly deposit within the prescribed time, then the delay is due to reasonable cause.
A failure to pay will be considered to be due to reasonable cause to the extent that the taxpayer has made a
satisfactory showing that ordinary business care and prudence were exercised in providing for payment
of the taxpayer’s liability and was nevertheless either unable to pay the tax or would suffer an undue
hardship if the taxpayer paid on the due date. What constitutes ordinary business care and prudence
must be determined by the particular facts of a particular case, Armstrongs Inc. v. lowa Department of
Revenue, 320 N.W.2d 623 (Iowa 1982).

A request for waiver of penalty on an assessment will be treated as timely filed with the department,
if filed no later than 30 days following the date of the notice of assessment. See rule 701—11.6(422,423)
regarding notices of adjustment and assessment.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 422.58 and 423.18.

701—10.22 to 10.29 Reserved.

USE
[Prior to 1/23/91, see 701—30.10(423)]

701—10.30(423) Penalties for late filing of a monthly tax deposit or use tax returns. Use tax monthly
deposits shall be filed on or before the twentieth of the month following the month in which the tax was
collected. Use tax quarterly returns shall be required to be filed on or before the last day of the month
following the close of each quarterly period.

10.30(1) For taxes initially due and payable prior to January 1, 1985, failure to file a monthly deposit
or use tax return or a corrected return or to pay use tax due on or before the due date shall result in a
delinquent deposit or return and be subject to penalty and interest. See subrules 10.20(1), 10.20(2), and
10.20(3) for computation of penalty.

10.30(2) For taxes initially due and payable on or after January 1, 1985, but before January 1, 1987,
only willful failure to file a monthly deposit or use tax return or a corrected return will be subject to
penalty. Persons who fail to timely pay use tax are subject to a penalty which cannot be waived by the
director and may not be excused for reasonable cause. If the person who fails to timely pay use tax is a
retailer maintaining a place of business in this state, the penalty for failure to pay will be 10 percent of
the tax required to be paid. Rule 701—30.1(423) describes in detail the persons who are subject to this
10 percent penalty. For any person who is not a retailer, the penalty for failure to timely pay use tax is 5
percent of the tax required to be paid.
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See rule 10.20(422,423) for computation of penalty and interest before January 1, 1991. See rule
701—10.6(421) for penalty for tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 1991.

10.30(3) For taxes initially due and payable on or after January 1, 1987, but for tax periods ending
before January 1, 1991, only willful failure to file a monthly deposit or use tax return or a corrected
return will be subject to penalty. Persons who fail to timely pay use tax are subject to a penalty which
cannot be waived by the director and may not be excused for reasonable cause. If the person who fails
to timely pay use tax is a retailer maintaining a place of business in this state, the penalty for failure to
pay is 15 percent of the tax required to be paid. Rule 701—30.1(423) describes in detail the persons
who are subject to this 15 percent penalty. For any person who is not a retailer, the penalty for failure
to timely pay use tax is 7.5 percent of the tax required to be paid. See rule 701—10.5(421) for statutory
exemptions to penalty for taxes due and payable on or after January 1, 1987, but for tax periods ending
before January 1, 1991. See rule 10.20(422,423) for computation of penalty and interest for taxes due
and payable on or after January 1, 1987, but for tax periods ending before January 1, 1991. See rule
701—10.6(421) for penalty for tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 1991.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 422.58 and 423.18.

701—10.31 to 10.39 Reserved.

INDIVIDUAL INCOME
[Prior to 1/23/91, see 44.1(422), 44.3(422), 44.7(422) and 44.8(422)]

701—10.40(422) General rule. Rescinded IAB 11/24/04, effective 12/29/04.

701—10.41(422) Computation for tax payments due on or after January 1, 1981, but before
January 1, 1982. Rescinded IAB 11/24/04, effective 12/29/04.

701—10.42(422) Interest commencing on or after January 1, 1982. Rescinded TAB 11/24/04,
effective 12/29/04.

701—10.43(422) Request for waiver of penalty. Rescinded IAB 11/24/04, effective 12/29/04.
701—10.44 to 10.49 Reserved.

WITHHOLDING
[Prior to 1/23/91, see 701—46.5(422)]

701—10.50(422) Penalty and interest. Rescinded IAB 11/24/04, effective 12/29/04.
701—10.51 to 10.55 Reserved.

CORPORATE
[Prior to 1/23/91, see subrule 701—52.5(3) and rule 701—52.10(422)]

701—10.56(422) and 10.57(422) Penalty and interest. Rescinded IAB 11/24/04, effective 12/29/04.
701—10.58(422) Waiver of penalty and interest. Rescinded IAB 11/24/04, effective 12/29/04.
701—10.59 to 10.65 Reserved.

FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS
[Prior to 1/23/91, see 701—58.6(422)]

701—10.66(422) Penalty and interest. Rescinded IAB 11/24/04, effective 12/29/04.

701—10.67 to 10.70 Reserved.
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MOTOR FUEL
[Prior to 1/23/91, see 701—63.8(324) and 63.10(324)]

701—10.71(421) Penalty and enforcement provisions.

10.71(1) lllegal use of dyed fuel. The illegal use of dyed fuel in the supply tank of a motor vehicle
shall result in a civil penalty assessed against the owner or operator of the motor vehicle as follows:

a. A $200 fine for the first violation.

b. A $500 fine for a second violation within three years of the first violation.

c. A $1,000 fine for third and subsequent violations within three years of the first violation.

10.71(2) Illegal importation of untaxed fuel. A person who illegally imports motor fuel or undyed
special fuel without a valid importer’s license or supplier’s license shall be assessed a civil penalty as
stated below. However, the owner or operator of the importing vehicle shall not be guilty of violating
the illegal import provision if it is shown by the owner or operator that the owner or operator reasonably
did not know or reasonably should not have known of the illegal importation.

a. For a first violation, the importing vehicle shall be detained and a fine of $2,000 shall be paid
before the vehicle will be released. The owner or operator of the importing vehicle or the owner of the
fuel may be held liable for payment of the fine.

b.  For a second violation, the importing vehicle shall be detained and a fine of $5,000 shall be
paid before the vehicle will be released. The owner or operator of the importing vehicle or the owner of
the fuel may be held liable to pay the fine.

c.  For third and subsequent violations, the importing vehicle and the fuel shall be seized and a
fine of $10,000 shall be paid before the vehicle will be released. The owner or operator of the importing
vehicle or the owner of the fuel may be held liable to pay the fine.

d.  If the owner or operator of the importing vehicle or the owner of the fuel fails to pay the tax
and fine for a first or second offense, the importing vehicle and the fuel may be seized. The lowa
department of revenue, the lowa department of transportation, or any peace officer, at the request of
either department, may seize the vehicle and the fuel.

e.  If the operator or owner of the importing vehicle or the owner of the fuel moves the vehicle or
the fuel after the vehicle has been detained and a sticker has been placed on the vehicle stating that “this
vehicle cannot be moved until the tax, penalty, and interest have been paid to the department of revenue,”
an additional penalty of $5,000 shall be assessed against the operator or owner of the importing vehicle
or the owner of the fuel.

10.71(3) Improper receipt of fuel credit or refund. If a person files an incorrect refund claim, in
addition to the amount of the excess claim, a penalty of 10 percent shall be added to the amount by which
the amount claimed and refunded exceeds the amount actually due and shall be paid to the department.
If a person knowingly files a fraudulent refund claim with the intent to evade the tax, the penalty shall be
75 percent in lieu of the 10 percent. The person shall also pay interest on the excess refunded at the rate
per month specified in lowa Code section 421.7, counting each fraction of a month as an entire month,
computed from the date the refund was issued to the date the excess refund is repaid to the state.

10.71(4) lllegal heating of fuel. The deliberate heating of taxable motor fuel or special fuel by dealers
prior to consumer sale is a simple misdemeanor.

10.71(5) Prevention of inspection. The lowa department of revenue or the lowa department of
transportation may conduct inspections for coloration, markers, and shipping papers at any place where
taxable fuel is or may be loaded into transport vehicles, produced, or stored. Any attempts by a person to
prevent, stop, or delay an inspection of fuel or shipping papers by authorized personnel shall be subject
to a civil penalty of not more than $1,000 per occurrence. Any law enforcement officer requested by
the Iowa department of revenue or lowa department of transportation may physically inspect, examine,
or otherwise search any tank, fuel supply tank of a vehicle, reservoir, or other container that can or may
be used for the production, storage, or transportation of any type of fuel.

10.71(6) Failure to conspicuously label a fuel pump. A retailer who does not conspicuously label a
pump or other delivery facility as required by the Internal Revenue Service, that dispenses dyed diesel
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fuel so as to notify customers that it contains dyed fuel, shall pay to the department of revenue a penalty
of $100 per occurrence.

10.71(7) False or fraudulent return. Any person, including an officer of a corporation or a manager
of a limited liability company, who is required to make, render, sign, or verify any report or return
required by this chapter and who makes a false or fraudulent report, or who fails to file a report or return
with the intent to evade the tax, shall be guilty of a fraudulent practice. Any person who aids, abets, or
assists another person in making any false or fraudulent return or false statement in any return with the
intent to evade payment of tax shall be guilty of a fraudulent practice.

This rule is intended to implement 1995 Iowa Acts, chapter 155, section 36.

701—10.72(452A) Interest. Interest at the rate of three-fourths of one percent per month, based on the
tax due, shall be assessed against the taxpayer for each month such tax remains unpaid prior to January 1,
1982. The interest shall accrue from the date the return was required to be filed. Interest shall not apply
to penalty. Each fraction of a month shall be considered a full month for the computation of interest. See
rule 701—10.2(421) for the statutory interest rate commencing on or after January 1, 1982.

Refunds on reports or returns filed on or after July 1, 1986, but before July 1, 1997, will accrue
interest beginning on the first day of the third calendar month following the date of payment or the date
the return was filed or due to be filed, whichever is later, at the rate in effect under Iowa Code section
421.7, counting each fraction of a month as an entire month. Refunds on reports or returns filed on or
after July 1, 1997, will accrue interest beginning on the first day of the second calendar month following
the date of payment or the date the return was filed or due to be filed, whichever is later. Claims for
refund filed under [owa Code sections 452A.17 and 452A.21 will accrue interest beginning with the first
day of the second calendar month following the date the refund claim is received by the department. See
rule 10.3(422,450,452A).

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 452A.65 as amended by 1997 Iowa Acts,
House File 266.

701—10.73 to 10.75 Reserved.

CIGARETTES AND TOBACCO
[Prior to 1/23/91, see 701—81.8(98), 81.9(98), and 81.15(98)]

701—10.76(453A) Penalties.

10.76(1) Cigarettes. The following is a list of offenses which subject the violator to a penalty:

1. The failure of a permit holder to maintain proper records;

2. The sale of taxable cigarettes without a permit;

3. The filing of a late, false or incomplete report with the intent to evade tax by a cigarette
distributor, distributing agent or wholesaler;

4. Acting as a distributing agent without a valid permit; and

5. A violation of any provision of lowa Code chapter 453A or these rules.

Penalties for these offenses are as follows:

e A $200 penalty for the first violation.

e A $500 penalty for a second violation within three years of the first violation.

e A $1,000 penalty for a third or subsequent violation within three years of the first violation.

Penalties for possession of unstamped cigarettes are as follows:

e A $200 penalty for the first violation if a person is in possession of more than 40 but not more
than 400 unstamped cigarettes.

e A $500 penalty for the first violation if a person is in possession of more than 400 but not more
than 2,000 unstamped cigarettes.

e A $1,000 penalty for the first violation if a person is in possession of more than 2,000 unstamped
cigarettes for violations occurring prior to July 1, 2004. A $25 per pack penalty for the first violation
if a person is in possession of more than 2,000 unstamped cigarettes for violations occurring on or after
July 1, 2004.
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e For a second violation within three years of the first violation, the penalty is $400 if a person
is in possession of more than 40 but not more than 400 unstamped cigarettes; $1,000 if a person is in
possession of more than 400 but not more than 2,000 unstamped cigarettes; and $2,000 if a person is
in possession of more than 2,000 unstamped cigarettes for violations occurring prior to July 1, 2004. A
$35 per pack penalty applies if a person is in possession of more than 2,000 unstamped cigarettes for
violations occurring on or after July 1, 2004.

e  For a third or subsequent violation within three years of the first violation, the penalty is $600 if
a person is in possession of more than 40 but not more than 400 unstamped cigarettes; $1,500 if a person
is in possession of more than 400 but not more than 2,000 unstamped cigarettes; and $3,000 if a person
is in possession of more than 2,000 unstamped cigarettes for violations occurring prior to July 1, 2004.
A $45 per pack penalty applies if a person is in possession of more than 2,000 unstamped cigarettes for
violations occurring on or after July 1, 2004.

See rule 701—10.6(421) for penalties related to failure to timely file a return, failure to timely pay
the tax due, audit deficiency, and willful failure to file a return with the intent to evade the tax. If, upon
audit, it is determined that any person has failed to pay at least 90 percent of the tax imposed by lowa
Code chapter 453 A, division I, which failure was not the result of a violation enumerated above, a penalty
of 5 percent of the tax deficiency shall be imposed. This penalty is not subject to waiver for reasonable
cause.

See rule 701—10.8(421) for statutory exceptions to penalty.

10.76(2) Tobacco.

See rule 701—10.6(421) for penalties related to failure to timely file a return, failure to timely pay
the tax due, audit deficiency, and willful failure to file a return with the intent to evade the tax.

See rule 701—10.8(421) for statutory exceptions to penalty.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 453A.28, 453A.31 and 453A.46 as amended
by 2004 Iowa Acts, Senate File 2296.

701—10.77(453A) Interest.

10.77(1) Cigarettes. There shall be assessed interest at the rate established by rule 701—10.2(421)
from the due date of the tax to the date of payment counting each fraction of a month as an entire month.
For the purpose of computing the due date of any unpaid tax, a FIFO inventory method shall be used for
cigarettes and stamps. See rule 701—10.6(421) for examples of penalty and interest.

10.77(2) Tobacco. The interest rate on delinquent tobacco tax is the rate established by rule
701—10.2(421) counting each fraction of a month as an entire month. If an assessment for taxes due
is not allocated to any given month, the interest shall accrue from the date of assessment. See rule
701—10.6(421) for examples of penalty and interest.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 453A.28 and 453A.46.

701—10.78(453A) Waiver of penalty or interest. Rescinded IAB 11/10/04, effective 12/15/04.

701—10.79(453A) Request for statutory exception to penalty. Any taxpayer who believes there is a
good reason to object to any penalty imposed by the department for failure to timely file returns or pay
the tax may submit a request for exception seeking that the penalty be waived. The request must be in
the form of a letter or affidavit and must contain all facts alleged by the taxpayer and a reason for why
the taxpayer qualifies for the exceptions. See rule 701—10.8(421).

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 453A.31 and 453A.46.

701—10.80 to 10.84 Reserved.

INHERITANCE
[Prior to 1/23/91, see 701—subrules 86.2(14) to 86.2(20)]

701—10.85(422) Penalty—delinquent returns and payment. This subrule only applies to returns and
taxes due and payable prior to January 1, 1985. Effective for estates of decedents dying on or after
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January 1, 1981, a penalty of 5 percent per month, not to exceed 25 percent in the aggregate, is imposed
for failure to file the return or failure to pay 90 percent of the tax required to be shown as due within the
time prescribed by law (taking into consideration any extensions of time to file and pay), unless failure
is due to reasonable cause. In case there is both a failure to file and a failure to pay, the penalty for
failure to file shall be in lieu of the penalty for failure to pay. A request for waiver of penalty must be in
writing and submitted to the lowa Department of Revenue, Hoover State Office Building, Des Moines,
Iowa 50319 and must identify the estate and set forth the reasons for the failure. Delinquent returns draw
interest at the rate of 8 percent per annum until December 31, 1981. See rule 701—10.2(421) for the
statutory interest rate commencing on or after January 1, 1982. All payments are first credited to penalty
and interest and the balance, if any, to the tax due. For estates of decedents dying prior to January 1,
1981, all tax not paid within the time prescribed by law (taking into consideration any extensions of
time to file and pay) shall draw interest at the rate of 8 percent per annum until December 31, 1981. See
rule 701—10.2(421) for the statutory interest rate commencing on or after January 1, 1982. There is no
penalty for failure to file and pay the tax for estates of decedents dying prior to January 1, 1981.

10.85(1) What constitutes reasonable cause. This subrule only applies to returns and taxes due and
payable prior to January 1, 1985. What constitutes reasonable cause for failure to timely file the return
and pay the tax due depends on the facts and circumstances in each particular case. Factors which tend
to establish reasonable cause are, but not limited to:

a.  When the return and payment of the tax was timely filed, but filed erroneously with the Internal
Revenue Service or another state agency.

b.  When the return and payment were timely mailed, but were not received by the department
until after the due date (if the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or holiday, the due date shall be the
next day which is not a Saturday, Sunday or holiday).

c.  When the delay was caused by the death or serious illness of the taxpayer.

d.  When the delay was caused by the prolonged unavoidable absence of the taxpayer.

e.  When the delay was caused by the destruction of the taxpayer’s records due to fire or other
unavoidable casualty.

- When the taxpayer has good reason to believe that the gross share of none of the heirs,
beneficiaries, transferees or joint tenants is of a sufficient amount for a tax to be owing.

g When the taxpayer exercised ordinary business care and prudence in providing for the timely
filing of the return and payment of the tax due. What constitutes ordinary business care and prudence
must be determined by the particular facts and circumstances in each case. See Armstrong v. Department
of Revenue, 320 N.W.2d 623 (Iowa 1982).

10.85(2) What does not constitute reasonable cause. This subrule only applies to returns and taxes
due and payable prior to January 1, 1985. Factors which do not tend to establish reasonable cause are,
but not limited to:

a. Lack of sufficient liquid assets to timely pay the tax due and file the return, when the taxpayer
had ample time to request an extension of time to file the return and pay the tax, but failed to do so.

b.  Failure to exercise ordinary business care and prudence in providing for the filing of the return
and payment of the tax liability within the time prescribed by law.

10.85(3) Interest—during an extension of time. During the period of an extension of time, any
unpaid tax shall draw interest at the rate of 6 percent per annum until December 31, 1981. See rule
701—10.2(421) for the statutory interest rate commencing on or after January 1, 1982. Payments
made during an extension of time shall first be credited to interest and the balance, if any, to the tax
due. See Ashland Oil Co. v. lowa Department of Revenue and Finance, 452 N.W.2d 162 (Iowa 1990).
Any outstanding tax obligation remaining after the expiration of an extension of time shall be deemed
delinquent and shall be subject to penalty and draw interest at the rate of 8 percent per annum from
the date of the extension expiration until paid, if paid on or before December 31, 1981. See rule
701—10.2(421) for the statutory interest rate commencing on or after January 1, 1982.

10.85(4) Computation of interest. Beginning May 1, 1985, interest accruing on tax due and on
refunds of excessive tax paid is computed on a calendar monthly basis with each fraction of a month
considered a full month. Interest accrued through April 30, 1985, both on tax due and on refunds of



Ch 10, p.20 Revenue[701] IAC 12/31/08

excessive tax paid, is computed on a daily basis using a 365-day year. If interest accrues for periods of
time both before and after May 1, 1985, the rule applicable for the respective period of time before and
after May 1, 1985, shall govern the interest computation.

This subrule can be illustrated by the following:

EXAMPLE:

For the purpose of illustration only the interest rate used for 1985 is 10 percent per year or 0.8 percent
per month. The original due date of January 15, 1985, was extended to May 31, 1985. The tax due is
$100. The amount due for tax and interest is $103.68 with interest computed through May 31, 1985.
The interest is computed as follows:

1. Interest from January 15, 1985, through April 30, 1985 (105 days) is computed on a daily basis.

$100 times 10% times 105
— =$2.88

2. Interest for May 1985 (one month) is computed on a monthly basis.

$100 times .8% times 1 = $.80

3. Total interest is $3.68 ($2.88 plus $.80)

In this example interest is charged for the full month of May even though the tax and interest may be
paid anytime during the month.

10.85(5) Penalty—failure to pay the tax due on or after January 1, 1985, but before January I,
1987. Effective for tax due and payable on or after January 1, 1985, the cumulative dual penalties for
failure to timely file the return and pay 90 percent of the tax required to be shown as due, without
reasonable cause, are abolished. In lieu of the dual penalties, a single noncumulative penalty of 5 percent
is imposed for failure to timely pay at least 90 percent of the tax due with the filing of the return. The 5
percent penalty is computed on the amount of the tax that is required to be shown as due (as distinguished
from tax shown to be due) that is not timely paid, taking into consideration any extensions of time granted
to pay the tax due. Reasonable cause for the delinquency is not relevant. The fact the tax is delinquent
alone determines the imposition of the penalty. The director cannot waive the penalty.

While the penalty for failure to file the return is abolished, the duty of the personal representative
and the taxpayer, as defined in lowa Code section 450.5, to file the return and pay the tax due remains in
full force and effect. The noncumulative penalty of 5 percent only applies to tax that is initially due and
payable (taking into consideration any extensions of time granted to file the return and pay the tax due)
after December 31, 1984.

However, the repeal of the cumulative penalties for tax that is initially delinquent after December
31, 1984, does not preclude the imposition of the cumulative penalties for failure to timely file or pay
90 percent of the tax due, if the tax was initially delinquent prior to January 1, 1985, even though the
delinquency continues for periods of time after December 31, 1984. When the tax initially became
delinquent (taking into consideration any extensions of time granted to file the return and pay the tax
due) determines which penalty applies. If the initial delinquency occurs prior to January 1, 1985,
the cumulative penalties apply. If the initial delinquency occurs after December 31, 1984, only the
noncumulative penalty of 5 percent applies.

10.85(6) Penalty—failure to pay the tax due on or after January 1, 1987, but for deaths occurring
before January 1, 1991. A penalty of 7.5 percent is imposed for failure to timely pay at least 90 percent
of the tax due with the filing of the return. The 7.5 percent penalty is computed on the amount of tax that
is required to be shown due (as distinguished from the tax shown due) that is not timely paid, taking into
consideration any extensions of time granted to pay the tax due. Reasonable cause for the delinquency is
not relevant. The fact the tax is delinquent alone determines the imposition of the penalty. The director
cannot waive the penalty.

While the penalty for failure to file the return is abolished, the duty of the personal representative
and the taxpayer as defined in lowa Code section 450.5 to file a return and pay the tax due remains in
full force and effect.
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See rule 701—10.5(421) for statutory exceptions to penalty for tax due and payable on or after
January 1, 1987, but for deaths occurring before January 1, 1991. See rule 701—10.8(421) for statutory
exceptions for deaths occurring on or after January 1, 1991.

701—10.86 to 10.89 Reserved.

IOWA ESTATE
[Prior to 1/23/91, see 701—subrules 87.3(9) to 87.3(12)]

701—10.90(451) Penalty—delinquent return and payment. This rule applies only to Iowa estate tax
due and payable prior to January 1, 1985. Effective for estates of decedents dying on or after January 1,
1981, a penalty of 5 percent per month, not to exceed 25 percent in the aggregate, is imposed for failure
to file the return or failure to pay the tax due within the time prescribed by law (taking into consideration
any extensions of time to file and pay), unless the failure is due to reasonable cause. In case there is both
a failure to file and a failure to pay, the penalty for failure to file shall be in lieu of the penalty for failure
to pay. The penalty imposed is based on the tax due and is in addition to the penalties imposed by lowa
Code chapter 450 for failure to file or pay the inheritance tax due. A request for waiver of penalty must
be in writing and submitted to Fiduciary and Inheritance Tax Processing, P.O. Box 10467, Des Moines,
Iowa 50306, and must identify the estate and set forth the reasons for the failure. All tax not paid within
the time prescribed by law (taking into consideration any extensions of time to pay) draws interest at the
rate of 8 percent per annum. All payments are first credited to penalty and interest and the balance, if any,
to the tax due. See Ashland Oil Co. v. lowa Department of Revenue and Finance, 452 N.W.2d 162 (Iowa
1990). For estates of decedents dying prior to January 1, 1981, all tax not paid within the time prescribed
by law (taking into consideration any extensions of time to file and pay) shall draw interest at the rate
of 8 percent per annum. There is no penalty for failure to file and pay the tax for estates of decedents
dying prior to January 1, 1981. For interest accruing after January 1, 1982, see rule 701—10.2(421) for
the statutory interest rate.

10.90(1) What constitutes reasonable cause. This subrule applies only to lowa estate tax due and
payable prior to January 1, 1985. What constitutes reasonable cause for failure to timely file the return
and pay the tax due depends on the facts and circumstances in each particular case. Factors which tend
to establish reasonable cause are, but not limited to:

a.  When the return and payment of the tax was timely filed, but filed erroneously with the Internal
Revenue Service or another state agency.

b.  When the return and payment were timely mailed, but were not received by the department
until after the due date (if the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or holiday, the due date shall be the
next day which is not a Saturday, Sunday or holiday).

c.  When the delay was caused by the death or serious illness of the taxpayer.

d.  When the delay was caused by the prolonged unavoidable absence of the taxpayer.

e.  When the delay was caused by the destruction of the taxpayer’s records due to fire or other
unavoidable casualty.

f When no Iowa estate tax was shown to be due when the federal estate tax return was filed and
the taxpayer had reasonable cause to believe none was due, but then as a result of either a federal audit
or an audit of the inheritance tax return, an estate tax, or additional estate tax, was due.

g When the taxpayer exercised ordinary business care and prudence in providing for the timely
filing of the return and payment of the tax due. What constitutes ordinary business care and prudence
must be determined by the particular facts and circumstances in each case. See Armstrong v. Department
of Revenue, 320 N.W.2d 623 (Iowa 1982).

10.90(2) What does not constitute reasonable cause. This subrule applies only to lowa estate tax
due and payable prior to January 1, 1985. Factors which do not tend to establish reasonable cause are,
but not limited to:

Failure to exercise ordinary business care and prudence in providing for the filing of the return and
payment of the tax liability within the time prescribed by law.
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10.90(3) Penalty—failure to pay the tax due on or after January 1, 1985. Department of revenue
subrules 10.85(5) and 10.85(6) implementing the penalty for failure to timely pay the inheritance tax
due are also the rules implementing the penalty for failure to pay the lowa estate tax due. See rule
701—10.6(421) for penalty for failure to pay the tax due for deaths occurring on or after January 1,
1991.

701—10.91 to 10.95 Reserved.

GENERATION SKIPPING
[Prior to 1/23/91, see 701—subrules 88.3(14) and 88.3(15)]

701—10.96(450A) Penalty—delinquent return and payment for deaths occurring before January
1, 1991. Effective for generation skipping transfers which are eligible for the federal credit for state
generation skipping transfer tax under Section 2604 of the Internal Revenue Code, a penalty of 7.5
percent of the tax due is imposed for failure to pay at least 90 percent of the tax due on or before the date
prescribed for payment, taking into consideration any extension of time granted to pay the tax due. The
penalty imposed cannot be waived by the director. However, penalty cannot be imposed if any of the
five exceptions enumerated in Iowa Code section 421.27 are established by the taxpayer. The term “tax
due” means the correct amount of tax due which may, due to an audit or an adjustment in the amount
of the federal generation skipping transfer tax, be a different amount than the tax shown as due on the
return. If a penalty is applicable, it is computed on the amount of the tax that has not been timely paid,
taking into consideration any extension of time granted to pay the tax due. See rule 701—10.6(421) for
penalty for delinquent return and payment of tax due for deaths occurring on or after January 1, 1991.

701—10.97(422) Interest on tax due. All tax which has not been paid on or before the last day of
the ninth month following the death of the individual whose death is the event imposing the federal
generation skipping transfer tax draws interest at the rate prescribed by Iowa Code section 421.7,
to be computed on a monthly basis with each fraction of a month counted as a full month. See rule
701—10.2(421) for the interest rate to use for a specific calendar year. Interest applies equally to tax
that is delinquent and tax that is due under an extension of time to pay.

701—10.98 to 10.100 Reserved.

FIDUCIARY INCOME
[Prior to 1/23/91, see 701—89.6(422) and 89.7(422)]

701—10.101(422) Penalties.

10.101(1) Negligence penalty—delinquent returns and payment. This subrule is only applicable to
tax that is due and payable prior to January 1, 1985. Effective for fiduciary income tax returns and tax due
on or after January 1, 1981, a penalty of 5 percent per month, not to exceed 25 percent in the aggregate,
is imposed for failure to file a fiduciary income tax return or to pay the tax required to be shown as
due, within the time prescribed by law (taking into consideration any extensions of time to file and pay),
unless the failure is due to reasonable cause. In case there is both a failure to file and a failure to pay, the
penalty for failure to file shall be in lieu of the penalty for failure to pay. However, the imposition of the
penalty for failure to file does not preclude the imposition of a penalty for failure to pay if, after the return
is filed, there is a continued failure to pay during the five-month period after the tax was due (taking into
consideration any extensions of time to file and pay). The combined penalties for failure to file or to
pay shall not exceed 25 percent of the tax due. The penalties are computed on the amount of the tax
remaining unpaid that is required to be shown as due on the return as distinguished from the amount of
the tax shown to be due on the return. Therefore, if an audit of a fiduciary return results in an additional
tax which was required to be shown as due on the return, the additional tax is subject to the penalty for
failure to pay, unless the failure was due to reasonable cause. See rules 10.40(422) and 10.41(422) for
individual income tax penalties and subrule 10.41(2) for examples of penalty computation for tax periods
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ending before January 1, 1991. See rule 701—10.6(421) for individual income tax penalties and subrule
10.6(5) for examples of penalty computation for tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 1991.

10.101(2) Fraud penalty for tax returns ending before January 1, 1991. If the failure to file the
fiduciary income tax return is willful or deliberate with the intention of evading tax or if a false return is
willfully or deliberately filed for the purpose of evading the correct tax due, a penalty of 50 percent of
the amount of the tax required to be shown as due is imposed. The penalty for fraud shall be in lieu of
the penalties provided in subrule 10.101(1).

10.101(3) Waiver of penalty. This subrule is only applicable to tax that is due and payable prior to
January 1, 1985. A request for waiver of penalty must be in writing, in the form of an affidavit, and be
submitted to Fiduciary and Inheritance Tax Processing, P.O. Box 10467, Des Moines, lowa 50306. It
must identify the fiduciary income tax return, the taxable year for which the delinquency occurred and
state the reasons for the failure. It is not sufficient for the taxpayer to simply establish that the failure
was not willful. The reasons why the failure was reasonable must also be established. The affidavit
must contain the facts on which a conclusion can be reached that the penalty should be waived. A mere
statement of conclusions is not sufficient. See rule 701—10.8(421) for exceptions to penalty for tax
periods beginning on or after January 1, 1991.

10.101(4) Reasonable cause. This subrule is only applicable to tax that is due and payable prior to
January 1, 1985. What constitutes reasonable cause for failure to timely file the fiduciary return and
pay the tax due depends on the facts and circumstances in each particular case. Factors which tend to
establish reasonable cause include, but are not limited to:

a.  The return filing and payment were timely, but erroneously submitted to the Internal Revenue
Service or another state agency.

b.  When the return and payment were mailed on or before the due date, but were not received by
the department until after the due date. If the due date falls on a Saturday, Sunday or holiday, the due
date is the next day which is not a Saturday, Sunday or holiday. See lowa Code section 622.106 for what
constitutes proof of the mailing date.

c.  The estate’s right to the income is subject to litigation and the personal representative of the
estate either has not received the income, or is prohibited from disbursing the income received.

d.  The condition of the decedent’s books and records prevent the compilation of the data necessary
to file a return.

e.  The delay was caused by the death or serious illness of the taxpayer.

£~ The delay was caused by the prolonged unavoidable absence of the taxpayer.

g The delay was caused by the destruction of the taxpayer’s records due to fire or other
unavoidable casualty.

h.  Ordinary business care and prudence was exercised to provide for the timely filing of the return
and payment of the tax due, but the filing or payment was nevertheless delinquent. What constitutes
ordinary business care and prudence must be determined by the particular facts and circumstances in
each case. See Armstrong v. Department of Revenue, 320 N.W.2d 623 (Iowa 1982).

10.101(5) What does not constitute reasonable cause. This subrule is only applicable to tax that
is due and payable prior to January 1, 1985. Factors which do not tend to establish reasonable cause
include, but are not limited to:

Failure to exercise the generally accepted standards of fiduciary responsibility in providing for the
timely filing of the return and payment of the tax due.

10.101(6) Interest cannot be waived. Interest due on unpaid tax is not a penalty, but rather it is
compensation to the government for the period it was deprived of the use of money. Therefore, interest
due cannot be waived. Vick v. Phinney, 414 F.2d 444, 448 (5th CA 1969); Time, Inc. v. United States,
226 F.Supp. 680, 686 (S.D. N.Y. 1964); In Re Jeffco Power Systems, Dep’t of Revenue Hearing Officer
decision, Docket No. 77-9-6A-A (1978).
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701—10.102(422) Penalty. Tax due and payable after December 31, 1984, but for tax periods ending
before January 1, 1991. See subrules 10.41(3) to 10.41(6) for the penalty for tax that is due and payable
after December 31, 1984, but for tax periods ending before January 1, 1991.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 4.1, 422.25, 622.106, and 1990 Iowa Acts,
chapter 1172. See rule 701—10.6(421) for penalty for tax periods beginning on or after January 1, 1991.

701—10.103(422) Interest on unpaid tax. Tax not paid within the time prescribed by law, including
the period during an extension of time, draws interest at the rate of three-fourths of one percent per
month for each month, or fraction of a month, that the tax liability remains unpaid until December 31,
1981. See rule 701—10.2(421) for the statutory interest rate commencing on or after January 1, 1982.
Payments made are first credited to penalty and interest due and then to the tax liability. See Ashland Oil
Co. v. lowa Department of Revenue and Finance, 452 N.W.2d 162 (Iowa 1990).

701—10.104 to 10.109 Reserved.

HOTEL AND MOTEL
[Prior to 1/23/91, see 701—104.8(422A) and 104.9(422A)]

701—10.110(423A) Interest and penalty.

10.110(1) Computation for tax due after December 31, 1979, but before January 1, 1985. The filing
of the tax return within the period prescribed by law and the payment of the tax required to be shown
thereon are simultaneous acts and if either condition is not met, a penalty shall be assessed. Section
422.58(1) of the lowa Code provides a penalty for failure to file a permitholder’s monthly tax deposit or
areturn or, if a permitholder fails to remit at least 90 percent of the tax due with the filing of the return or
pay less than 90 percent of any tax required to be shown on the return. Only the penalty for a failure to
file a return will be added when both a failure to file a return and a failure to remit at least 90 percent of
the tax due or to pay less than 90 percent of the tax required to be shown on the return occurs. The penalty
for failure to pay at least 90 percent of the tax due is 5 percent of the tax due. Penalty is computed on the
amount required to be shown as tax with the filing of the deposit or return. For purposes of computing
the penalty in case of failure to file or to pay at least 90 percent of the amount of tax required to be shown
on the return, the tax shall be reduced by the amount of any part of the tax which is paid on or before the
date prescribed for payment of the tax and by the amount of any credit against the tax which may legally
be claimed on the return. If a return is determined to be delinquent, then the penalty shall continue to
be assessed on any additional amounts of tax determined to be due. The percent of penalty applied to
additional amounts of tax determined to be due shall be the percentage which had accumulated when the
initial penalty was assessed and paid on the delinquent return.

All payments shall be first applied to the penalty and then to the interest, and the balance, if any, to
the amount of tax then due.

In addition to the penalty computed above, there shall be added interest as provided by law from
the due date of the return. Interest accrues on the tax or additional tax at the rate of three-fourths of
one percent per month, counting each fraction of a month as an entire month, computed from the date
the return or deposit was required to be filed until December 31, 1981. See rule 701—10.2(421) for the
statutory interest rate commencing on or after January 1, 1982.

10.110(2) Computation for tax due on or after January 1, 1985, but before January 1, 1987. lowa
Code section 422.58(1) provides for a penalty of 10 percent for the failure to remit at least 90 percent of
the tax due with the filing of the return or pay less than 90 percent of any tax required to be shown on the
return. For purposes of computing the penalty in case of failure to pay at least 90 percent of the amount
required to be shown on the return, the tax shall be reduced by the amount of any part of the tax which
is paid on or before the date prescribed for payment of the tax and by the amount of any credit against
the tax which may legally be claimed on the return.

The penalty for failure to pay at least 90 percent of the tax required to be shown on the return is not
subject to waiver.
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All payments shall be first applied to the penalty and then to the interest, and the balance, if any, to the
amount of tax due. See Ashland Oil Co. v. lowa Department of Revenue and Finance, 452 N.W.2d 162
(Iowa 1990). See subrule 10.41(4) for examples of computation of penalty and interest for tax periods
ending before January 1, 1991. See subrule 10.6(5) for examples of penalty computation for tax periods
beginning on or after January 1, 1991.

In addition to the penalty computed above, there shall be added interest as provided by law from the
due date of the return. See rule 701—10.2(421) for the statutory interest rate.

10.110(3) Computation for tax due on or after January 1, 1987, but for tax periods ending before
January 1, 1991. lowa Code section 422.58(1) provides for a penalty of 15 percent for the failure to
remit at least 90 percent of the tax due with the filing of the return or pay less than 90 percent of the tax
required to be shown on the return. For purposes of computing the penalty in case of failure to pay at
least 90 percent of the amount required to be shown on the return, the tax will be reduced by the amount
of any part of the tax which is paid on or before the date prescribed for payment of the tax and by the
amount of any credit against the tax which may legally be claimed on the return.

The penalty for failure to pay at least 90 percent of the tax required to be shown on the return is not
subject to waiver.

All payments must be first applied to the penalty and then to the interest, and the balance, if any, to
the amount of tax due. See Ashland Oil Co. v. lowa Department of Revenue and Finance, 452 N.W.2d
162 (Iowa 1990). See subrule 10.41(6) for examples of computation of penalty and interest.

In addition to the penalty computed above, there shall be added interest as provided by law from the
due date of the return. See rule 701—10.2(421) for the statutory interest rate.

See rule 701—10.5(421) for statutory exceptions to penalty for tax due on or after January 1, 1987,
but for tax periods ending before January 1, 1991. See rule 701—10.6(421) for penalty for tax periods
beginning on or after January 1, 1991.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code section 423.40 and 2005 Towa Code Supplement
section 423A.1.

701—10.111(423A) Request for waiver of penalty. This rule is only applicable to tax due on or before
December 31, 1984. Any taxpayer who believes there is good reason to object to any penalty imposed by
the department for failure to timely file returns, or pay the tax must submit a request for waiver seeking
that the penalty be waived. If it can be shown to the director’s satisfaction that the failure was due to
reasonable cause, the penalty will be adjusted accordingly. The request must be in the form of an affidavit
and must contain all facts alleged as reasonable cause for the taxpayer’s failure to file the return, or pay
the tax as required by law. The following are examples of situations that may be accepted by the director
as being reasonable cause:

1. Where the return, monthly deposit or payment was filed on time, but filed erroneously with
another state agency or the Internal Revenue Service.

2. A showing that the completed return was mailed in time to reach the department in the normal
course of mails, within the legal period. If the due date is a Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the
following business day is within the legal period.

3. Where the delay was caused by death or serious illness of the person responsible for filing.

4.  Where the delay was caused by prolonged unavoidable absence of the person responsible for
filing.

5. Where the delinquency was caused by destruction by fire or other casualty of the retailer’s
records.

6. A showing that the delay or failure was due to erroneous information given the retailer by an
employee of the department.

7. Where the retailer exercised ordinary business care and prudence and was nevertheless unable
to file the return within the prescribed time, then the delay is due to reasonable cause. A failure to pay will
be considered to be due to reasonable cause to the extent that the retailer has made a satisfactory showing
that ordinary business care and prudence were exercised in providing for payment of the liability and was
nevertheless either unable to pay the tax or would suffer an undue hardship if the retailer paid on the due
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date. What constitutes ordinary business care and prudence must be determined by the particular facts
of a particular case, Armstrong s Inc. v. lowa Department of Revenue, 320 N.W.2d 623 (Iowa 1982).

8. If the retailer has had no reported delinquencies or late payments in the past 36 months.
However, this does not apply to a penalty established by audit.

9. If the return is filed on time, but the face of the return contained a mathematical error, if
the retailer has had no reported delinquencies, including mathematical errors, in the past 36 months.
However, this does not apply to a penalty established by audit.

See rule 701—10.6(421) for exceptions to penalty for tax periods beginning on or after January 1,
1991.

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code section 423.40 and 2005 Iowa Code Supplement
section 423A.1.

701—10.112 to 10.114 Reserved.
ALL TAXES

701—10.115(421) Application of payments to penalty, interest, and then tax due for payments made
on or after January 1, 1995, unless otherwise designated by the taxpayer. The department will not
reapply prior payments made by the taxpayer to penalty or interest determined to be due after the date of
those prior payments. However, the department will apply payments to penalty and interest which were
due at the time the payment was made.

Example (a) — Delinquent Return

a. Tax due is $1,000.

b. Return filed two months late.

¢. $1,000 paid with the return.

d. The department bills the additional tax in the third month after the due date. The taxpayer pays
the assessment in the third month.

The computation of additional tax is shown below:

Tax $1,000.00

Penalty 100.00 (10% failure to file penalty)
Interest 14.00 (2 months interest)

Total $1,114.00

Less payment 1,000.00

Additional tax due $ 114.00

Interest .80 (1 month interest)

Total due $114.80

Two years after the due date, the Internal Revenue Service conducts an audit and increases the
taxpayer’s taxable income. The department redetermines the taxpayer’s liability 26 months after the
due date as follows:

Tax as redetermined by the department $1,100.00

Less paid with return 1,000.00

Additional tax $ 100.00

Penalty 10.00 (10% failure to file penalty)
Interest 18.20 (26 months interest)

Total due $ 128.20

Example (b) — Timely Filed No Remit
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a. Tax due is $1,000.

b. Return timely filed.

c. $0 paid.

The calculation for the total amount due five months after the due date is shown below:

Tax $1,000.00

Penalty 50.00 (5% failure to pay penalty)
Interest 35.00 (5 months interest)

Total due $1,085.00

The department bills the additional tax in the fifth month after the due date and the taxpayer pays the
additional amount in the eighth month after the due date. The payment is applied as follows:

Tax $1,000.00

Penalty 50.00 (5% failure to pay penalty)
Interest 56.00 (8 months interest)

Total due $1,106.00

Amount paid $1,085.00

Balance tax due $21.00 subject to interest until paid.

The balance due was not paid.

Three years after the due date the taxpayer forwards a copy of an Internal Revenue Service audit
which increases the taxpayer’s income to the department. The department recomputes the taxpayer’s
liability as follows:

Tax as redetermined by the department $1,200.00

Less paid per prior audit 979.00

Balance due $221.00 (includes the balance due of $21)

Penalty 10.00 (5% failure to pay penalty on $200, the
$21.00 already bears penalty)

Interest 54.52 (36 months interest on $200 and 28
months interest on $21)

Total due $285.52

10.115(1) Refunds. Inthose instances where an audit reduced the amount of tax, penalty, and interest
due over the amount paid, the department will reapply payments so that amount refunded is tax on which
interest will accrue as set forth in the lowa Code.

10.115(2) Partial payments made after notices of assessments issued. Where partial payments are
made after a notice of assessment is issued, the department will reapply payments to penalty, interest,
and then to tax due until the entire assessed amount is paid.

Where there are both agreed and unagreed to items as a result of an examination, the taxpayer and
the department may agree to apply payments to the penalty, interest, and then to tax due on the agreed
to items of the examination when all of the penalty, interest, and tax on the agreed to items are paid. In
these instances, subsequent payments will not be applied to penalty and interest accrued on the agreed
to items of the examination.

This rule is intended to implement 1994 Iowa Acts, chapter 1133, section 1.

JEOPARDY ASSESSMENTS

701—10.116(422,453B) Jeopardy assessments. A jeopardy assessment may be made where a return
has been filed and the director believes for any reason that assessment or collection of the tax will be
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jeopardized by delay, or where a taxpayer fails to file a return, whether or not formally called upon to file a
return. In addition, all assessments made pursuant to lowa Code chapter 453B are jeopardy assessments.
The department is authorized to estimate the applicable tax base and the tax upon the basis of available
information, add penalty and interest, and demand immediate payment.

A jeopardy assessment is due and payable when the notice of the assessment is served upon the
taxpayer. Proceedings to enforce the payment of the assessment by seizure or sale of any property of the
taxpayer may be instituted immediately.

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code sections 422.30 and 453B.9.

701—10.117(422,453B) Procedure for posting bond. In the event a taxpayer seeks to post a bond
in lieu of summary collection of a jeopardy assessment, pending final determination of the amount
of tax legally due, an original and four copies of a separate written bond application conspicuously
titled “Jeopardy Assessment Bond Request” must be filed with the clerk of the hearings section for the
department. Thereafter, if the taxpayer and the department agree on an appropriate bond, the clerk of the
hearings section for the department shall be notified and the bond shall be approved by the clerk of the
hearings section for the department.

If the clerk of the hearings section for the department has not been notified that an agreement on the
bond has been reached within ten days after the date upon which the bond request was filed, the clerk of
the hearings section for the department shall transfer the file to the director who shall promptly schedule
a hearing on the bond request with written notice to be given the taxpayer and the department at least ten
days prior to the hearing.

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code chapter 17A as amended by 1998 lowa Acts, chapter
1202, and sections 422.30 and 453B.9.

701—10.118(422,453B) Time limits. Bond requests may be made anytime after a timely protest to the
jeopardy assessment has been filed with the clerk of the hearings section for the department, except that
any bond request whereby the taxpayer seeks to postpone a scheduled sale of assets seized by or on behalf
of the department must be filed with the clerk of the hearings section for the department no later than ten
days from the date on which notice of the sale was mailed to, or otherwise served upon, the taxpayer.
Portions of an assessment which are undisputed must be paid in full at the time a bond request is filed.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code chapter 17A as amended by 1998 lowa Acts, chapter
1202, and sections 422.30 and 453B.9.

701—10.119(422,453B) Amount of bond. In the event no agreement on the bond is reached, bonds
must be posted in an amount to be determined by the director consistent with the following:

10.119(1) If property has been seized or a lien has been filed and the taxpayer seeks only to postpone
the sale of property, pending final determination of the amount of tax legally due, the bond shall be in an
amount equal to the expected depreciation loss, storage cost, insurance costs and any and all other costs
associated with the distraint and storage of the property pending such final determination.

10.119(2) If property has been seized or a lien has been filed and the taxpayer seeks to prevent the
sale of property and to have the property returned for the taxpayer’s own use, pending final determination
of the amount of tax legally due, the bond shall be in an amount equal to the sale price the department
can reasonably expect to realize on any property seized plus all costs related to the distraint and storage
of the property.

10.119(3) If a taxpayer seeks to prevent the department from seizing property or placing a lien upon
property, pending final determination of the amount of tax legally due, the bond shall be in an amount
equal to the total amount of the department’s assessment including interest to the date of the bond.

Bonds may not be required in excess of double the amount of the department’s jeopardy assessment.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code chapter 17A as amended by 1998 lowa Acts, chapter
1202, and sections 422.30 and 453B.9.
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701—10.120(422,453B) Posting of bond. If the taxpayer fails to post the bond as agreed upon within
15 days from the date the bond is approved by the clerk of the hearings section for the department, no
bond will be allowed and the director shall dismiss the bond request. If no agreement was reached and a
bond order is issued by the director, the taxpayer has ten days to post the bond. If the bond is not posted
within the ten-day period, the director shall dismiss the bond request.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code chapter 17A as amended by 1998 lowa Acts, chapter
1202, and sections 422.30 and 453B.9.

701—10.121(422,453B) Order. The director’s order shall be in writing and shall include findings of fact
based solely on the evidence in the record and on matters officially noticed in the record and shall include
conclusions of law. The findings of fact and conclusions of law shall be separately stated. Findings of
fact shall be prefaced by a concise and explicit statement of underlying facts supporting the findings.
Each conclusion of law shall be supported by cited authority or by a reasoned opinion.

Orders will be issued within a reasonable time after termination of the hearing. Parties shall be
promptly notified of each order by delivery to them of a copy of the order by personal service or by
ordinary mail.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code chapter 17A as amended by 1998 lowa Acts, chapter
1202, and sections 422.30 and 453B.9.

701—10.122(422,453B) Director’s order. The director’s order constitutes the final order of the
department for purposes of judicial review. Parties shall be promptly notified of the director’s order by
delivery to them of a copy of the order by personal service or by ordinary mail.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code chapter 17A as amended by 1998 lowa Acts, chapter
1202, and sections 422.30 and 453B.9.

701—10.123(422,453B) Type of bond. The bond shall be payable to the department for the use of the
state of lowa and shall be conditioned upon the full payment of the tax, penalty, interest, or fees that are
found to be due which remain unpaid upon the resolution of the contested case proceedings up to the
amount of the bond. Upon application of the taxpayer or the department, the director may, upon hearing,
fix a greater or lesser amount to reflect changed circumstances, but only after ten days’ prior notice is
given to the department or the taxpayer as the case may be.

A personal bond, without a surety, is only permitted if the taxpayer posts with the clerk of the hearings
section for the department, cash, a cashier’s check, a certificate of deposit, or other marketable securities
which are approved by the director with a readily ascertainable value which is equal in value to the total
amount of the bond required. If a surety bond is posted, the surety on the bond may be either personal
or corporate. The provisions of lowa Code chapter 636 relating to personal and corporate sureties shall
govern to the extent not inconsistent with the provisions of this subrule.

This rule is intended to implement lowa Code chapter 17A as amended by 1998 lowa Acts, chapter
1202, and sections 422.30 and 453B.9.

701—10.124(422,453B) Form of surety bond. The surety bond posted shall be in substantially the
following form:

BEFORE THE IOWA STATE DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
HOOVER STATE OFFICE BUILDING
DES MOINES, IOWA
IN THE MATTER OF *

%

(Taxpayer’s Name, Address and * SURETY BOND
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designate proceeding, e.g., *
income, sales, etc.) * DOCKET NO.

KNOW ALL PERSONS BY THESE PRESENTS:

That we (taxpayer) as principal, and (surety) , as surety, of the county
of , and State of lowa, are held and firmly bound unto the Iowa Department of
Revenue for the use of the State of Iowa, in the sum of $ dollars, lawful money of

the United States, for the payment of which sum we jointly and severally bind ourselves, our heirs,
devisees, successors and assigns firmly by these presents. The condition of the foregoing obligations
are, that, whereas the above-named principal has protested an assessment of tax, penalty, interest,
or fees or any combination of them, made by the lowa Department of Revenue, now if the principal
shall promptly pay the amount of the assessed tax, penalty, interest or
fees found to be due upon the resolution of the contested case proceedings, then this bond shall be void,
otherwise to remain in full force and effect.

Dated this day of ,

Principal

Surety

Surety
(corporate acknowledgment if surety is a corporation)

AFFIDAVIT OF PERSONAL SURETY

STATE OF IOWA )
COUNTY OF )

SS

I hereby swear or affirm that [ am a resident of lowa and am worth beyond my debts the amount set
opposite my signature below in the column entitled, “Worth Beyond Debts,” and that I have property
in the State of Iowa, liable to execution equal to the amount set opposite my signature in the column
entitled “Property in lowa Liable to Execution.”

Worth Property in lowa
Signature Beyond Debts Liable to Execution

$ $

Surety (type name)
$ $

Surety (type name)

Subscribed and sworn to before me the undersigned Notary Public this day of
(Seal) Notary Public in and

for the State of Iowa
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701—10.125(422,453B) Duration of the bond. The bond shall remain in full force and effect until the
conditions of the bond have been fulfilled or until the bond is otherwise exonerated as provided by law.
This rule is intended to implement lowa Code sections 422.30 and 453B.9.

701—10.126(422,453B) Exoneration of the bond. Upon conclusion of the contested case
administrative proceedings, the bond shall be exonerated by the director when any of the following
events occur: upon full payment of the tax, penalty, interest, costs or fees found to be due; upon filing
a bond for the purposes of judicial review which bond is sufficient to secure the unpaid tax penalty,
interest, costs and fees; or if no additional tax, penalty, interest, costs or fees are found to be due that
have not been previously paid, upon entry of a final unappealable order which resolves the underlying
protest.
This rule is intended to implement lowa Code chapter 17A as amended by 1998 lowa Acts, chapter
1202, and sections 422.30 and 453B.9.
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