256.32 Council for agricultural education.

1. An advisory council for agricultural education is established, which consists of nine members appointed by the governor. The nine members shall include the following:

a. Five persons representing all areas of agriculture and diverse geographical areas.

b. An individual representing agriculture on a council created to advise the state on career and technical education matters.

c. A secondary school program instructor, a postsecondary school program instructor, and a teacher educator.

2. The council may also include as ex officio members the following persons, as determined by the voting members of the council:

a. The state future farmers of America president.

- b. The current state future farmers of America alumni association president.
- c. The current postsecondary agriculture student organization of Iowa president.
- d. A state consultant in agricultural education.
- e. The secretary of agriculture or the secretary's designee.

f. Two members of each house of the general assembly. This membership shall be bipartisan in composition and one member each shall be selected by the president of the senate, after consultation with the majority leader of the senate, and by the minority leader of the senate, and one member each shall be selected by the speaker of the house of representatives and by the minority leader of the house of representatives.

3. The duties of the council are to review, develop, and recommend standards for secondary and postsecondary agricultural education. The council shall annually issue a report to the state board of education and the chairpersons of the house and senate agriculture and education committees regarding both short-term and long-term curricular standards for agricultural education and the council's activities. The council shall meet a minimum of twice annually, and must have a quorum consisting of a majority of voting members present to hold an official meeting and to take any final council action. However, hearings may be held without a quorum. The chairperson shall be elected annually by and from the voting membership. The initial organizational meeting shall be called by the director of the department of education.

4. The term of membership is three years. The terms shall be staggered so that three of the terms end each year, but no member serving on the initial council shall serve less than one year. The governor shall determine the length of the initial terms of office. However, the terms of office for members of the general assembly shall be as provided in section 69.16B.

2011 Acts, ch 85, §1; 2012 Acts, ch 1021, §55; 2012 Acts, ch 1023, §33; 2016 Acts, ch 1108, §31