80.15 Examination — oath — probation — discipline — dismissal.

- 1. An applicant to be a peace officer in the department shall not be appointed as a peace officer until the applicant has passed a satisfactory physical and mental examination. In addition, the applicant must be a citizen of the United States and be not less than twenty-two years of age. However, an applicant applying for assignment to provide protection and security for persons and property on the grounds of the state capitol complex or a peace officer candidate shall not be less than eighteen years of age. The mental examination shall be conducted under the direction or supervision of the commissioner and may be oral or written or both. An applicant shall take an oath on becoming a peace officer of the department, to uphold the laws and Constitution of the United States and Constitution of the State of Iowa.
- 2. During the period of twelve months after appointment, a peace officer of the department is subject to dismissal at the will of the commissioner. After the twelve months' service, a peace officer of the department, who was appointed after having passed the examinations, is not subject to dismissal, suspension, disciplinary demotion, or other disciplinary action resulting in the loss of pay unless charges have been filed with the department of inspections, appeals, and licensing and a hearing held by the employment appeal board created by section 10A.601, if requested by the peace officer, at which the peace officer has an opportunity to present a defense to the charges. The decision of the appeal board is final, subject to the right of judicial review in accordance with the terms of the Iowa administrative procedure Act, chapter 17A. However, these procedures as to dismissal, suspension, demotion, or other discipline do not apply to a peace officer who is covered by a collective bargaining agreement which provides otherwise, and do not apply to the demotion of a division head to the rank which the division head held at the time of appointment as division head, if any. A division head who is demoted has the right to return to the rank which the division head held at the time of appointment as division head, if any.
- 3. All rules, except employment provisions negotiated pursuant to chapter 20, regarding the enlistment, appointment, and employment affecting the personnel of the department shall be established by the commissioner in consultation with the director of the department of administrative services, subject to approval by the governor.

[C27, 31, §5017-a1; C35, §5018-g3, -g5; C39, §**1225.19**; C46, 50, 54, 58, 62, 66, 71, 73, 75, 77, 79, 81, §80.15]

86 Acts, ch 1245, \$241; 88 Acts, ch 1235, \$2; 98 Acts, ch 1074, \$7; 2003 Acts, ch 44, \$114; 2003 Acts, ch 145, \$286; 2005 Acts, ch 35, \$11; 2020 Acts, ch 1062, \$20; 2023 Acts, ch 19, \$1738

Referred to in §20.3, 80.25A, 97A.1, 97A.3 Subsection 2 amended