418.5 Flood mitigation board.

- 1. The flood mitigation board is established consisting of nine voting members and five ex officio, nonvoting members, and is located for administrative purposes within the department. The director of the department shall provide office space, staff assistance, and necessary supplies and equipment for the board. The director shall budget funds to pay the necessary expenses of the board. In performing its functions, the board is performing a public function on behalf of the state and is a public instrumentality of the state.
 - 2. The voting membership of the board shall include all of the following:
- a. Four members of the general public. Two general public members shall have demonstrable experience or expertise in the field of natural disaster recovery and two general public members shall have demonstrable experience or expertise in the field of flood mitigation.
 - b. The director of the department of natural resources or the director's designee.
 - c. The secretary of agriculture or the secretary's designee.
 - d. The treasurer of state or the treasurer's designee.
 - e. The director of the department or the director's designee.
 - f. The director of the Iowa finance authority or the director's designee.
- 3. The general public members shall be appointed by the governor, subject to confirmation by the senate. The appointments shall comply with sections 69.16 and 69.16A.
- 4. The chairperson and vice chairperson of the board shall be designated by the governor from the board members listed in subsection 2. In case of the absence or disability of the chairperson and vice chairperson, the members of the board shall elect a temporary chairperson by a majority vote of those members who are present and voting.
- 5. The members appointed under subsection 2, paragraph "a", shall be appointed to three-year staggered terms and the terms shall commence and end as provided by section 69.19. If a vacancy occurs, a successor shall be appointed to serve the unexpired term. A successor shall be appointed in the same manner and subject to the same qualifications as the original appointment.
 - 6. The board's ex officio membership shall be comprised of the following:
- a. Four members of the general assembly with one each appointed by the majority leader of the senate, the minority leader of the senate, the speaker of the house of representatives, and the minority leader of the house of representatives. A legislative member serves for a term as provided in section 69.16B in an ex officio, nonvoting capacity and is eligible for per diem and expenses as provided in section 2.10.
 - b. The director of revenue or the director's designee.
 - 7. A majority of the voting members constitutes a quorum.

2012 Acts, ch 1094, §6, 18; 2012 Acts, ch 1138, §69, 84, 85; 2013 Acts, ch 29, §51, 52; 2013 Acts, ch 140, §65; 2015 Acts, ch 116, §26; 2023 Acts, ch 19, §2150

Referred to in §418.1, 418A.1

Subsection 2, paragraph f amended