40.1 Congressional districts.

The state of Iowa is hereby organized and divided into four congressional districts, which shall be composed, respectively, of the following counties:

- 1. The first district shall consist of the counties of Cedar, Clinton, Des Moines, Henry, Iowa, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Lee, Louisa, Mahaska, Marion, Muscatine, Scott, Van Buren, Warren, and Washington.
- 2. The second district shall consist of the counties of Allamakee, Benton, Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Clayton, Delaware, Dubuque, Fayette, Floyd, Grundy, Hardin, Howard, Linn, Mitchell, Poweshiek, Tama, Winneshiek, and Worth.
- 3. The third district shall consist of the counties of Adair, Adams, Appanoose, Cass, Clarke, Dallas, Davis, Decatur, Greene, Guthrie, Lucas, Madison, Monroe, Montgomery, Page, Polk, Ringgold, Taylor, Union, Wapello, and Wayne.
- 4. The fourth district shall consist of the counties of Audubon, Boone, Buena Vista, Calhoun, Carroll, Cherokee, Clay, Crawford, Dickinson, Emmet, Franklin, Fremont, Hamilton, Hancock, Harrison, Humboldt, Ida, Kossuth, Lyon, Marshall, Mills, Monona, O'Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pocahontas, Pottawattamie, Sac, Shelby, Sioux, Story, Webster, Winnebago, Woodbury, and Wright.

[C27, 31, 35, §526-a1; C39, §**526.1;** C46, 50, 54, 58, 62, 66, 71, 73, 75, 77, 79, 81, §40.1; 81 Acts 2d Ex, ch 1, §1]

91 Acts, ch 223, §1; 2001 Acts, 1st Ex, ch 1, §1, 6; 2011 Acts, ch 76, §1, 6; 2021 Acts, 2nd Ex, ch 2, §1, 6

Referred to in §8A,703, 15,105, 15F,102

Constitutional provision, Iowa Constitution, Art. III, §37

Membership beginning in 2023; vacancies prior to 2023; see 2021 Acts, 2nd Ex, ch 2, §3, 4