216A.142 Commission on the status of African Americans established.

1. The commission on the status of African Americans is established and shall consist of seven members appointed by the governor, subject to confirmation by the senate. All members shall reside in Iowa. At least five members shall be individuals who are African American.

2. Terms of office are staggered four-year terms. Members whose terms expire may be reappointed. Vacancies on the commission shall be filled for the remainder of the term of and in the same manner as the original appointment. The commission shall meet quarterly and may hold special meetings on the call of the chairperson. The members of the commission shall be reimbursed for actual expenses while engaged in their official duties. Members may also be eligible to receive compensation as provided in section 7E.6.

3. Members of the commission shall appoint a chairperson and vice chairperson and other officers as the commission deems necessary. A majority of members of the commission shall constitute a quorum. A quorum shall be required for the conduct of business of the commission, and the affirmative vote of a majority of the currently appointed members is necessary for any substantive action taken by the commission. A member shall not vote on any action if the member has a conflict of interest on the matter, and a statement by the member of a conflict of interest shall be conclusive for this purpose.

88 Acts, ch 1201, §2 C89, §601K.142 91 Acts, ch 50, §4 C93, §216A.142 2010 Acts, ch 1031, §150, 170 Confirmation, see §2.32