161D.5 Loess hills alliance created.

- 1. A loess hills alliance is created. The alliance shall carry out its responsibilities under the general direction of the loess hills development and conservation authority. The alliance shall encompass the geographic region including the counties of Plymouth, Woodbury, Monona, Harrison, Pottawattamie, Mills, and Fremont. Membership and participation in projects of the alliance is not required. The alliance shall be governed by a board of directors appointed as follows:
- a. Three members appointed by the board of supervisors of each county participating in the alliance and at least one of the appointees shall be a member of the board of supervisors of a county participating in the alliance.
- b. Seven additional voting members who shall be persons with experience in the fields of environmental affairs, conservation, finance, development, tourism, or related fields, and who shall be appointed by the authority.
- c. The voting members of the board of directors appointed pursuant to paragraphs "a" and "b" shall include agricultural producers owning real property within the loess hills landform.
- 2. Each voting member of the board of directors shall be a resident of a county which is eligible for membership in the authority pursuant to section 161D.1 and shall be appointed to a term of office as determined by the authority. The directors of the alliance shall carry out their responsibilities pursuant to bylaws approved by the authority.

99 Acts, ch 119, §5; 2000 Acts, ch 1111, §3 Referred to in §161D.3