322.7A Used motor vehicle dealer education program.

- 1. An applicant for a license as a used motor vehicle dealer shall complete a minimum of eight hours of prelicensing education program courses pursuant to this section prior to submitting an application to the department.
- 2. A person seeking renewal of a used motor vehicle dealer license shall complete a minimum of five hours of continuing education program courses over a two-year period pursuant to this section prior to submitting an application for license renewal. However, an applicant for renewal of a used motor vehicle dealer license who has met the prelicensing education requirement under subsection 1 within the preceding twenty-four months is exempt from the continuing education requirement for license renewal.
- 3. To meet the requirements of this section, at least one individual who is associated with the used motor vehicle dealer as an owner, principal, corporate officer, director, or member or partner of a limited liability company or limited liability partnership shall complete the education program courses.
- 4. The Iowa independent automobile dealers association, in consultation with the state department of transportation, the department of education, the attorney general, and the Iowa association of community college trustees, shall develop the prelicensing and continuing education course curricula for the used motor vehicle dealer education program, which shall include but not be limited to examination of federal and state laws applicable to the motor vehicle industry and federal and state regulations pertaining to used motor vehicle dealers. The education program courses shall be provided by community colleges as defined in section 260C.2 or by the Iowa independent automobile dealers association in conjunction with a community college. The department of education shall adopt rules establishing reasonable fees to be charged for the prelicensing education courses and the continuing education courses.
- 5. A community college shall issue a certificate to each person who successfully completes the prelicensing education program or a continuing education program under this section. The current certificate of completion, or a copy of the certificate, shall be posted conspicuously in the principal office of the licensee.
- 6. The provisions of this section apply to all used motor vehicle dealers, including but not limited to individuals, corporations, and partnerships, except for the following:
 - a. Motor vehicle rental companies having a national franchise.
 - b. National motor vehicle auction companies.
 - c. Wholesale dealer-only auction companies.
 - d. Used car dealerships owned by a franchise motor vehicle dealer.
 - e. Banks, credit unions, and savings associations.
- 7. Each community college providing used motor vehicle dealer education program courses shall transmit a report on the program annually by December 31 to the director of transportation, the director of the department of education, the attorney general, and the president of the Iowa association of community college trustees.

2007 Acts, ch 51, \$3; 2008 Acts, ch 1124, \$18, 40; 2012 Acts, ch 1017, \$71 Referred to in \$322.4, 322.7