## 328.21 Aircraft registration fees.

An annual registration fee for each aircraft shall be paid to the department at the time of registration, to be computed as follows:

- 1. Unless otherwise provided in this section, for the first registration, a sum equal to one percent of the manufacturer's list price of the aircraft, not to exceed five thousand dollars.
- 2. The second year's registration fee is seventy-five hundredths of one percent of the manufacturer's list price of the aircraft; the third year's fee is fifty hundredths of one percent; and the fourth and subsequent year's fee is twenty-five hundredths of one percent. When an aircraft other than a new aircraft is registered in Iowa, the registration fee shall be based upon the number of years the aircraft was previously registered. However, an aircraft shall not be registered for a fee of less than thirty-five dollars or more than five thousand dollars.
- 3. The registration fee for an aircraft operated in scheduled interstate airline operation, owned by an Iowa person and operated part-time within this state shall be a fee of one hundred dollars. The application for registration shall be supported by such records as the department shall prescribe.
- 4. Should the department find and determine that no established manufacturer's list price exists for any such aircraft, the department is hereby authorized and empowered to determine and fix the fair value of such aircraft which fair value shall be used in lieu of a manufacturers' list price in computing the registration fee for each such aircraft as otherwise provided by this section. When the fee as so computed results in a fractional part of a dollar, it shall be computed to the nearest dollar.
- 5. An aircraft thirty years old or older, which is used exclusively for noncommercial purposes, shall be registered as an antique aircraft for a fee of thirty-five dollars.
- 6. An aircraft, unless exempt under section 328.35, which is not airworthy and is not in flying condition is not subject to registration fees if the owner of the aircraft submits information required by the department. Upon receipt of that information, the department shall issue a certificate that states that the registration fee has not been paid and that the aircraft shall not use the airports or the air space overlying the state until the fee has been paid.
- 7. The registration fee for a helicopter used exclusively as an air ambulance is one thousand dollars.
- 8. An aircraft owned and operated by an aviation business located at a publicly owned, public use airport and providing, under agreement with the governing body of the airport, a specified minimum level of aviation services to the general public, shall be registered for a fee of one hundred dollars.

```
[C46, 50, 54, 58, 62, 66, 71, 73, 75, 77, 79, 81, \$328.21] 88 Acts, ch 1063, \$3 – 5; 90 Acts, ch 1063, \$1 – 4; 98 Acts, ch 1182, \$1 – 3; 2002 Acts, ch 1112, \$6; 2010 Acts, ch 1069, \$114 Referred to in \$328.36
```