15H.3 Volunteer service commission membership.

- 1. The Iowa commission on volunteer service shall consist of the following members:
- a. An individual with expertise in the educational training and developmental needs of youth.
- b. An individual with experience in promoting the involvement of older adults in service and volunteerism.
 - c. A representative of community-based agencies within the state.
 - d. The director of the department of education, or the director's designee.
 - e. The executive director of the state board of regents, or the executive director's designee.
 - f. A representative of local government.
 - g. A representative of a local labor organization.
 - h. A representative of a for-profit business.
- *i*. An individual between the ages of sixteen and twenty-five who is or has been a participant or supervisor in a volunteer or service program.
- j. A representative of the corporation for national and community service who shall serve as a nonvoting, ex officio member.
- k. Additional ex officio, nonvoting members selected by the commission to the extent that they are not in conflict with the provisions of the National Community Service Trust Act of 1993 or any related state or federal legislation.
- 2. No more than twenty-five percent of the commission members shall be employees of the state, though additional state agency representatives may sit on the commission as nonvoting, ex officio members.
- 3. A commission member shall not vote on issues affecting organizations for which the member has served as a staff person or as a volunteer at any time during the preceding twelve-month period.
- 4. The membership of the commission shall comply with sections 69.16 and 69.16A. The membership of the commission shall also reflect the diversity of the state's population.
- 5. Members shall serve staggered terms of three years beginning July 1. Members of the commission shall serve no more than two three-year terms. Any vacancy shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment.
- 6. The chairperson of the commission shall be selected by the members of the commission. 2005 Acts, ch 42, §3; 2005 Acts, ch 175, §54, 129; 2006 Acts, ch 1051, §1; 2011 Acts, ch 118, §29, 30, 89; 2012 Acts, ch 1021, §33