216.3 Commission appointed.

The Iowa state civil rights commission shall consist of seven members appointed by the governor subject to confirmation by the senate. Appointments shall be made to provide geographical area representation insofar as practicable. No more than four members of the commission shall belong to the same political party. Members appointed to the commission shall serve for four-year staggered terms beginning and ending as provided by section 69.19.

Vacancies on the commission shall be filled by the governor by appointment for the unexpired part of the term of the vacancy. Any commissioner may be removed from office by the governor for cause.

The governor subject to confirmation by the senate shall appoint a director who shall serve as the executive officer of the commission.

[C66, 71, \$105A.3; C73, 75, 77, 79, 81, \$601A.3] C93, \$216.3 Confirmation, see \$2.32