## 181.3 Executive committee — creation and operation.

1. An executive committee of the Iowa beef cattle producers association is created. The executive committee consists of ten members, including all of the following:

*a*. Five producers elected by the Iowa beef cattle producers association pursuant to section 181.6A.

b. Two producers appointed by the Iowa cattlemen's association.

c. One livestock market representative appointed pursuant to subsection 2.

d. The secretary of agriculture or a designee, who shall serve as an ex officio, voting member.

*e*. The dean of the college of agriculture and life sciences of Iowa state university of science and technology or a designee, who shall serve as an ex officio, voting member.

2. The Iowa livestock auction market association shall nominate two livestock market representatives. The secretary of agriculture shall appoint one of the nominees or another livestock market representative of the secretary's choice, who shall serve at the pleasure of the secretary.

3. The executive committee shall elect a chairperson, secretary, and other officers it deems necessary.

4. *a*. A member who is a producer or livestock market representative described in subsection 1, paragraphs "*a*" through "c", shall serve a three-year term. The member shall not serve more than two consecutive full terms.

b. Except for an ex officio member, a vacancy in the executive committee resulting from death, inability or refusal to serve, or failure to meet the qualifications of this chapter shall be filled by the executive committee. If the executive committee fails to fill a vacancy, the secretary shall fill it. A vacancy appointment shall be filled only for the remainder of the unexpired term.

[C24, 27, 31, 35, 39, §**2951;** C46, 50, 54, 58, 62, 66, 71, 73, 75, 77, 79, 81, §181.3]

86 Acts, ch 1100, §3; 97 Acts, ch 30, §1; 2004 Acts, ch 1037, §3, 4, 19; 2008 Acts, ch 1032, §30; 2016 Acts, ch 1043, §4, 21 Referred to in §181.1

Section amended