## 216A.113 Deaf services commission established.

1. The commission of deaf services is established, and shall consist of seven voting members appointed by the governor, subject to confirmation by the senate pursuant to section 2.32. Membership of the commission shall include at least four members who are deaf and who cannot hear human speech with or without use of amplification and at least one member who is hard of hearing. All members shall reside in Iowa.

2. Members of the commission shall serve four-year staggered terms which shall begin and end pursuant to section 69.19. Members whose terms expire may be reappointed. Vacancies on the commission may be filled for the remainder of the term in the same manner as the original appointment. Members shall receive actual expenses incurred while serving in their official capacity, subject to statutory limits. Members may also be eligible to receive compensation as provided in section 7E.6.

3. Members of the commission shall appoint a chairperson and vice chairperson and other officers as the commission deems necessary. The commission shall meet at least quarterly during each fiscal year. A majority of the members currently appointed to the commission shall constitute a quorum. A quorum shall be required for the conduct of business of the commission, and the affirmative vote of a majority of the currently appointed members is necessary for any substantive action taken by the commission. A member shall not vote on any action if the member has a conflict of interest on the matter, and a statement by the member of a conflict of interest shall be conclusive for this purpose.

86 Acts, ch 1245, §1252 C87, §601K.113 C93, §216A.113 2010 Acts, ch 1031, §139, 170; 2010 Acts, ch 1193, §42, 80