602.2102 Commission on judicial qualifications.

1. A seven-member "Commission on Judicial Qualifications" is established. The commission consists of one district judge and two members who are practicing attorneys in Iowa and who do not belong to the same political party, to be appointed by the chief justice; and four electors of the state who are not attorneys, no more than two of whom belong to the same political party, to be appointed by the governor, subject to confirmation by the senate. The commission members shall serve for six-year terms, are ineligible for a second term, and except for the judicial member shall not hold any other office of and shall not be employed by the United States or the state of Iowa or its political subdivisions. Members appointed by the chief justice shall serve terms beginning January 1 of the year for which the appointments are made and members appointed by the governor shall serve staggered terms beginning and ending as provided by section 69.19. Vacancies shall be filled by appointment by the chief justice or governor as provided in this subsection, for the unexpired portion of the term.

2. If the judicial member is the subject of a charge before the commission, the chief justice shall appoint a district judge of another judicial district to act as the judicial member of the commission until the person charged is exonerated, or for the unexpired portion of the term if the person charged is not exonerated. If the judicial member is a resident judge of the same judicial district as the judicial officer who is the subject of a charge before the commission, the chief justice shall appoint a district judge of another judicial district to act as the judicial member during that proceeding.

3. The commission shall elect its own chairperson, and the state court administrator or a designee of the state court administrator is the executive secretary of the commission.

83 Acts, ch 186, §3102, 10201 Confirmation, see §2.32