474.1 Creation of division and board — organization.

- 1. A utilities division is created within the department of commerce. The policymaking body for the division is the utilities board which is created within the division. The board is composed of three members appointed by the governor and subject to confirmation by the senate, not more than two of whom shall be from the same political party. Each member appointed shall serve for six-year staggered terms beginning and ending as provided by section 69.19. Vacancies shall be filled for the unexpired portion of the term in the same manner as full-term appointments are made.
- 2. The utilities board shall organize by appointing an executive secretary, who shall take the same oath as the members. The board shall set the salary of the executive secretary within the limits of the pay plan for exempt positions provided for in section 8A.413, subsection 3, unless otherwise provided by the general assembly. The board may employ additional personnel as it finds necessary. Subject to confirmation by the senate, the governor shall appoint a member as the chairperson of the board. The chairperson shall be the administrator of the utilities division. The appointment as chairperson shall be for a two-year term which begins and ends as provided in section 69.19.
- 3. As used in this chapter and chapters 475A, 476, 476A, 478, 479, 479A, and 479B, "division" and "utilities division" mean the utilities division of the department of commerce. [C97, §2111; C24, 27, 31, 35, 39, §7866; C46, 50, 54, 58, 62, 66, 71, 73, §474.2; C75, 77, 79, 81, §474.1]

83 Acts, ch 127, §6; 86 Acts, ch 1245, §740; 89 Acts, ch 296, §70; 95 Acts, ch 192, §3; 2003 Acts, ch 145, §265; 2008 Acts, ch 1031, §115 Referred to in §34A.15, §437A.3, §437B.2, §477C.2, §546.7 Confirmation, see §2.32