## 80.28 Statewide interoperable communications system board — established — members.

- 1. A statewide interoperable communications system board is established, under the joint purview of the department and the state department of transportation. The board shall develop, implement, and oversee policy, operations, and fiscal components of communications interoperability efforts at the state and local level, and coordinate with similar efforts at the federal level, with the ultimate objective of developing and overseeing the operation of a statewide integrated public safety communications interoperability system. For the purposes of this section and section 80.29, "interoperability" means the ability of public safety and public services personnel to communicate and to share data on an immediate basis, on demand, when needed, and when authorized.
  - 2. The board shall consist of fifteen voting members, as follows:
  - a. The following members representing state agencies:
  - (1) One member representing the department of public safety.
  - (2) One member representing the state department of transportation.
- (3) One member representing the department of homeland security and emergency management.
  - (4) One member representing the department of corrections.
  - (5) One member representing the department of natural resources.
  - (6) One member representing the Iowa department of public health.
- b. The governor shall solicit and consider recommendations from professional or volunteer organizations in appointing the following members:
  - (1) Two members who are representatives from municipal police departments.
  - (2) Two members who are representatives of sheriff's offices.
- (3) Two members who are representatives from fire departments. One of the members shall be a volunteer fire fighter and the other member shall be a paid fire fighter.
- (4) Two members who are law communication center managers employed by state or local government agencies.
  - (5) One at-large member.
- 3. In addition to the voting members, the board membership shall include four members of the general assembly with one member designated by each of the following: the majority leader of the senate, the minority leader of the senate, the speaker of the house of representatives, and the minority leader of the house of representatives. A legislative member serves for a term as provided in section 69.16B in an ex officio, nonvoting capacity and is eligible for per diem and expenses as provided in section 2.10.
- 4. The voting members of the board shall be appointed in compliance with sections 69.16 and 69.16A. Members shall elect a chairperson and vice chairperson from the board membership, who shall serve two-year terms. The members appointed by the governor shall be appointed to three-year staggered terms and the terms shall commence and end as provided by section 69.19. If a vacancy occurs among the voting members, a successor shall be appointed to serve the unexpired term. A successor shall be appointed in the same manner and subject to the same qualifications as the original appointment to serve the unexpired term. The voting members of the board are entitled to receive reimbursement for actual expenses incurred while engaged in the performance of official duties from funds appropriated to the department of public safety and the state department of transportation for that purpose. The departments shall enter into an agreement to provide administrative assistance and support to the board.

2007 Acts, ch 90, \$1; 2009 Acts, ch 14, \$1-4; 2009 Acts, ch 165, \$1, 4; 2013 Acts, ch 29, \$41 Referred to in \$34A.11, \$0.29

[T] Subsection 2, paragraph a, subparagraph (3) amended