465C.3 Membership.

The board shall be composed of seven members, six of which shall be appointed by the governor. The commission, the conservation committee of the Iowa academy of science, and the state historical society shall submit to the governor a list of possible appointments. Members shall be selected from persons with a demonstrated interest in the preservation of natural lands and waters, and historic sites. The director shall serve as one member of the board. Any vacancies on the board shall be filled, for the remainder of the term vacated, by appointment by the governor provided by this chapter.

The first members appointed after the effective date of this chapter shall serve as follows: Two members to serve until July 1, 1968; two members to serve until July 1, 1969; two members to serve until July 1, 1970, and the director shall serve as long as the director is director. Members shall serve until their successors are appointed and qualified. As terms of members so appointed expire, their successors shall be appointed for terms to expire three years thereafter. Any member who has served two consecutive full terms will not be eligible for reappointment for a period of one year following the expiration of the member's second term.

[C66, 71, 73, 75, 77, 79, 81, §111B.3] 86 Acts, ch 1245, §1877 C93, §465C.3