## 28H.1 Councils of governments established.

For purposes of this chapter, a council of governments includes the following areas established by executive order number 11, 1968 or a chapter 28E agreement:

1. Upper explorerland regional planning commission serving Allamakee, Clayton, Fayette, Howard, and Winneshiek counties.

2. North Iowa area council of governments serving Cerro Gordo, Floyd, Franklin, Hancock, Kossuth, Mitchell, Winnebago, and Worth counties.

3. Northwest Iowa planning and development commission serving Buena Vista, Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Lyon, O'Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, and Sioux counties.

4. Siouxland interstate metropolitan planning council serving Ida, Monona, Plymouth, Woodbury, and Cherokee counties.

5. MIDAS council of governments serving Calhoun, Hamilton, Humboldt, Pocahontas, Webster, and Wright counties.

6. Region six planning commission serving Hardin, Poweshiek, Tama, and Marshall counties.

7. Iowa northland regional council of governments serving Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, Butler, Chickasaw, and Grundy counties.

8. East central intergovernmental association serving Cedar, Clinton, Delaware, Dubuque, and Jackson counties.

9. Bi-state metropolitan planning commission serving Scott and Muscatine counties.

10. East central Iowa council of governments serving Benton, Iowa, Johnson, Jones, Linn, and Washington counties.

11. Region twelve council of governments serving Audubon, Carroll, Crawford, Greene, Guthrie, and Sac counties.

12. Southwest Iowa planning council serving Cass, Fremont, Harrison, Montgomery, Page, and Shelby counties.

13. Southern Iowa council of governments serving Adair, Adams, Clarke, Decatur, Madison, Ringgold, Taylor, and Union counties.

14. Area fifteen regional planning commission serving Davis, Jefferson, Keokuk, Mahaska, Van Buren, and Wapello counties.

15. Southeast Iowa regional planning commission serving Des Moines, Henry, Lee, and Louisa counties.

16. Metropolitan area planning agency serving Mills and Pottawattamie counties.

17. Chariton valley council of governments serving Appanoose, Lucas, Monroe, and Wayne counties.

90 Acts, ch 1157, §1; 90 Acts, ch 1262, §40; 2007 Acts, ch 76, §1, 2; 2011 Acts, ch 34, §13 Referred to in §28H.3

[P] Boone, Dallas, Jasper, Marion, Polk, Story, and Warren counties, or combinations of these, may form councils of governments or associate with any existing councils of governments; 90 Acts, ch 1157, §6; 90 Acts, ch 1262, §41