272B.2 Education commission of the states.

Article III, paragraph "a", of the compact for education established in section 272B.1 notwithstanding, the members of the education commission of the states representing this state consist of the governor, two nonlegislative members appointed by the governor, two members of the senate with one member appointed by the majority leader of the senate and one member appointed by the minority leader of the senate, and two members of the house of representatives with one member appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives and one member appointed by the minority leader of the house of representatives. Nonlegislative members shall serve four-year terms and legislative members shall serve terms as provided in section 69.16B. Nonlegislative members shall serve on the education commission of the states without compensation, but shall receive their actual and necessary expenses and travel. Legislative members shall receive per diem and actual and necessary expenses and travel pursuant to sections 2.10 and 2.12. Vacancies on the commission shall be filled for the unexpired portion of the term in the same manner as the original appointments. If a member ceases to be a member of the general assembly, the member shall no longer serve as a member of the education commission of the states.

[C75, 77, 79, 81, §272B.2] 86 Acts, ch 1245, §2033; 2008 Acts, ch 1032, §201; 2008 Acts, ch 1156, §41, 58