2.45 Committees of the legislative council.

The legislative council shall be divided into committees, which shall include but not be limited to:

1. The legislative service committee which shall be composed of six members of the legislative council, consisting of three members from each house, to be appointed by the legislative council. The legislative service committee shall select a chairperson from its membership, and shall determine policies relating to the operation of the legislative services agency, subject to the approval of the legislative council.

2. The legislative fiscal committee, composed of the chairpersons or their designated committee member and the ranking minority party members or their designated committee member of the committees of the house and senate responsible for developing a state budget and appropriating funds, the chairpersons or their designated committee member and the ranking minority party members or their designated committee member of the committees on ways and means, and two members, one appointed from the majority party of the senate by the majority leader of the senate and one appointed from the majority party of the house by the speaker of the house of representatives. In each house, unless one of the members who represent the committee on ways and means is also a member of the legislative council, the person appointed from the membership of the membership arty in that house shall also be appointed from the membership of the legislative council.

3. The legislative administration committee which shall be composed of six members of the legislative council, consisting of three members from each house, to be appointed by the legislative council. The legislative administration committee shall perform such duties as are assigned it by the legislative council.

4. *a*. The legislative capital projects committee which shall be composed of ten members appointed as follows:

(1) Two senate members of the legislative fiscal committee or the senate committee on appropriations, one to be appointed by the majority leader of the senate and one to be appointed by the minority leader of the senate.

(2) Two house members of the legislative fiscal committee or the house committee on appropriations, one to be appointed by the speaker of the house and one to be appointed by the minority leader of the house.

(3) The chairpersons of the senate and house committees on appropriations.

(4) Four members of the legislative council, one appointed by the speaker of the house, one by the majority leader of the senate, one by the minority leader of the house, and one by the minority leader of the senate.

b. The chairperson of the legislative council shall designate the chairperson or chairpersons of the legislative capital projects committee.

5. *a*. The legislative tax expenditure committee which shall be composed of ten members of the general assembly, consisting of five members from each house, to be appointed by the legislative council. In appointing the five members of each house to the committee, the council shall appoint three members from the majority party and two members from the minority party.

b. The legislative tax expenditure committee shall have the powers and duties described in section 2.48.

[C97, §181; S13, §181; C24, 27, 31, 35, 39, §**39, 40;** C46, 50, §2.41, 2.42; C54, 58, 62, 66, 71, 73, §2.41; C75, 77, 79, 81, §2.45]

86 Acts, ch 1245, §2006; 89 Acts, ch 298, §1; 2002 Acts, ch 1162, §74; 2003 Acts, ch 35, §11, 44, 49; 2006 Acts, ch 1153, §16; 2008 Acts, ch 1032, §201; 2009 Acts, ch 86, §1; 2010 Acts, ch 1138, §2