352.3 County land preservation and use commissions established.

- 1. a. In each county a county land preservation and use commission is created composed of the following members:
 - (1) One member appointed by and from the county agricultural extension council.
- (2) Two members appointed by the district soil and water conservation commissioners, one of whom must be a member of the district soil and water conservation board of commissioners and one must be a person who is not a commissioner, but is actively operating a farm in the county.
- (3) One member appointed by the board of supervisors from the residents of the county who may be a member of the board.
- (4) One member appointed by and from a convention of the mayors and councilpersons of the cities of the county. If a participating city contains fifty percent or more of the total population of the participating cities, that city may appoint the member appointed under this paragraph.
- b. However, if a city contains more than fifty percent of the population of a county which has a population exceeding fifty thousand persons, that city shall not participate in the convention of mayors and councilpersons and the members appointed under paragraph "a", subparagraph (4), shall be one member appointed by and from the mayor and councilpersons of that city and one member appointed by and from the convention of mayors and councilpersons and the member appointed under paragraph (a), subparagraph (3), shall be a resident of the county engaged in actual farming operations appointed by the board of supervisors.
- 2. The county commission shall meet and organize by the election of a chairperson and vice chairperson from among its members by October 1, 1982. A majority of the members of the county commission constitutes a quorum. Concurrence of a quorum is required to determine any matter relating to its official duties.
- 3. The state agricultural extension service shall provide county commissions with technical, informational, and clerical assistance.
- 4. A vacancy in the county commission shall be filled in the same manner as the appointment of the member whose position is vacant. The term of a county commissioner is four years. However, in the initial appointments to the county commission, the members appointed under subsection 1, paragraph "a", subparagraphs (1) and (2) shall be appointed to terms of two years. Members may be appointed to succeed themselves.

[C79, 81, \$93A.3(1, 2, 4); 82 Acts, ch 1245, \$4] C87, \$176B.3 87 Acts, ch 23, \$6 C93, \$352.3 2010 Acts, ch 1061, \$141