## 30.2 Iowa emergency response commission established.

- 1. The Iowa emergency response commission is established. The commission is responsible directly to the governor. The commission is attached to the department of public defense for routine administrative and support services only.
- 2. a. The commission is composed of fifteen members appointed by the governor. One member shall be appointed to represent the department of agriculture and land stewardship, one to represent the department of workforce development, one to represent the department of justice, one to represent the department of natural resources, one to represent the department of public defense, one to represent the Iowa department of public health, one to represent the department of public safety, one to represent the state department of transportation, one to represent the state fire service and emergency response council, one to represent a local emergency planning committee, one to represent the Iowa hazardous materials task force, and one to represent the office of the governor. Three representatives from private industry shall also be appointed by the governor, subject to confirmation by the senate.
- b. The commission members representing the departments of workforce development, natural resources, public defense, public safety, and transportation, a local emergency planning committee, and one private industry representative designated by the commission shall be voting members of the commission. The remaining members of the commission shall serve as nonvoting, advisory members.
- 3. The commission members shall be appointed for staggered terms of three years each, beginning and ending as provided in section 69.19. Vacancies shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointments were made.

89 Acts, ch 204, \$3; 96 Acts, ch 1186, \$23; 2000 Acts, ch 1020, \$7; 2000 Acts, ch 1232, \$45; 2011 Acts, ch 69, \$13

Referred to in §29.1 [P] Confirmation, see §2.32