15E102 Vision Iowa board.

- 1. The vision Iowa board is established consisting of thirteen members and is located for administrative purposes within the authority. The director of the authority shall provide office space, staff assistance, and necessary supplies and equipment for the board. The director shall budget funds to pay the compensation and expenses of the board. In performing its functions the board is performing a public function on behalf of the state and is a public instrumentality of the state.
 - 2. The membership of the board shall be appointed as follows:
- α . Three members of the general public, one member from each of the three tourism regions.
 - b. One mayor of a city with a population of less than twenty thousand.
- c. One county supervisor from a county that has a population ranking in the bottom thirty-three counties according to the 1990 census.
 - d. Four members of the general public.
 - e. One mayor of a city with a population of twenty thousand or more.
 - f. The director of the economic development authority or the director's designee.
 - g. The treasurer of state or the treasurer of state's designee.
 - h. The auditor of state or the auditor of state's designee.
- 3. All appointments, except the director of the economic development authority, the treasurer of state, and the auditor of state, shall be made by the governor, shall comply with sections 69.16 and 69.16A, and shall be subject to confirmation by the senate. All appointed members of the board shall have demonstrable experience or expertise in the field of tourism development and promotion, public financing, architecture, engineering, or major facility development or construction.
- 4. All members of the board, except the director of the economic development authority, the treasurer of state, and the auditor of state, shall be residents of different counties.
- 5. The chairperson and vice chairperson of the board shall be designated by the governor from the board members listed in subsection 2, paragraphs "a" through "e". In case of the absence or disability of the chairperson and vice chairperson, the members of the board shall elect a temporary chairperson by a majority vote of those members who are present and voting.
- 6. The members, except the director of the economic development authority, the treasurer of state, and the auditor of state, shall be appointed to three-year staggered terms and the terms shall commence and end as provided by section 69.19. If a vacancy occurs, a successor shall be appointed to serve the unexpired term. A successor shall be appointed in the same manner and subject to the same qualifications as the original appointment to serve the unexpired term.
 - 7. A majority of the board constitutes a quorum. 2000 Acts, ch 1174, $\S2$; 2008 Acts, ch 1122, $\S1$; 2011 Acts, ch 118, $\S85$, 89 Referred to in $\S12.71$, 15E.101, 15E.203, 15E.304 [P] Confirmation, see $\S2.32$