159A.13 Renewable fuel infrastructure board.

A renewable fuel infrastructure board is established within the department.

1. The department shall provide the infrastructure board with necessary facilities, items, and clerical support. The department shall perform administrative functions necessary for the management of the infrastructure board and the renewable fuel infrastructure programs as provided in sections 159A.14 and 159A.15, all under the direction of the infrastructure board.

2. The infrastructure board shall be composed of eleven members who shall be appointed by the governor as follows:

a. One person representing insurers who is knowledgeable about issues relating to underground storage tanks.

b. One person representing the petroleum industry who is knowledgeable about issues relating to petroleum refining, terminal operations, and petroleum or motor fuel distribution.

c. Nine persons based on nominations made by the titular heads of all of the following:

- (1) The agribusiness association of Iowa.
- (2) The Iowa corn growers association.
- (3) The Iowa farm bureau federation.
- (4) The Iowa biodiesel board.
- (5) The Iowa soybean association.
- (6) The petroleum marketers and convenience stores of Iowa.
- (7) The Iowa petroleum equipment contractors association.
- (8) The Iowa renewable fuels association.
- (9) The Iowa grocery industry association.

3. Appointments of voting members to the infrastructure board are subject to the requirements of sections 69.16 and 69.16A. In addition, the appointments shall be geographically balanced. The governor's appointees shall be confirmed by the senate, pursuant to section 2.32.

4. The members of the infrastructure board shall serve five-year terms beginning and ending as provided in section 69.19. However, the governor shall appoint initial members to serve for less than five years to ensure members serve staggered terms. A member is eligible for reappointment. A vacancy on the board shall be filled for the unexpired portion of the regular term in the same manner as regular appointments are made.

5. The infrastructure board shall elect a chairperson from among its members each year on a rotating basis as provided by the infrastructure board. The infrastructure board shall meet on a regular basis and at the call of the chairperson or upon the written request to the chairperson of six or more members.

6. The infrastructure board shall meet with three or more members of the underground storage tank fund board who shall represent the underground storage tank fund board. The representatives shall be available to advise the infrastructure board when the infrastructure board makes decisions regarding the awarding of financial incentives to a person under a renewable fuel infrastructure program provided in section 159A.14 or 159A.15.

7. Members of the infrastructure board are not entitled to receive compensation but shall receive reimbursement of expenses from the department as provided in section 7E.6.

8. Six members of the infrastructure board constitute a quorum and the affirmative vote of a majority of the members present is necessary for any substantive action to be taken by the infrastructure board. The majority shall not include any member who has a conflict of interest and a statement by a member that the member has a conflict of interest is conclusive for this purpose. A vacancy in the membership does not impair the duties of the infrastructure board.

2006 Acts, ch 1142, §29 C2007, §15G.202 2011 Acts, ch 113, §43, 55, 56 CS2011, §159A.13 Referred to in §159A.11, 159A.14, 159A.15, 159A.16