135N.4 Membership.

1. The following persons shall serve as nonvoting members of the committee:

a. The director of public health or a designee.

b. The director of the department of human services or a designee.

c. The commissioner of insurance or a designee.

2. The following voting members shall be appointed by the director, serving three-year terms:

a. One member who is a board-certified physician licensed, practicing, and currently treating individuals with hemophilia or other bleeding and clotting disorders.

b. One member who is a nurse licensed, practicing, and currently treating individuals with hemophilia or other bleeding and clotting disorders.

c. One member who is a social worker licensed, practicing, and currently treating individuals with hemophilia or other bleeding and clotting disorders.

d. One member who is a representative of a federally-funded hemophilia treatment center.

e. One member who is a representative of an organization established under the Iowa insurance code for the purpose of providing health insurance.

f. One member who is a representative of a voluntary health organization who currently services the hemophilia and other bleeding and clotting disorders community.

g. One member who is a patient, or caregiver of a patient, with hemophilia.

h. One member who is a patient, or caregiver of a patient, with a bleeding disorder other than hemophilia.

i. One member who is a patient, or caregiver of a patient, with a clotting disorder.

3. At least one of the appointments made pursuant to subsection 2, paragraphs "g", "h", and "i" shall be a patient with hemophilia, a bleeding disorder that is not hemophilia, or a clotting disorder. The committee appointments may be made notwithstanding sections 69.16 and 69.16A.

4. If there is a vacancy on the committee, such position shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment.

2007 Acts, ch 31, §4, 7