## 123.180 Vintner's certificate of compliance — wholesale and retail restrictions — penalty.

- 1. A manufacturer, vintner, bottler, importer, or vendor of wine or an agent thereof desiring to ship, sell, or have wine brought into this state for resale by the division or for sale at wholesale by a class "A" permittee shall first make application for and shall be issued a vintner's certificate of compliance by the administrator for that purpose. The vintner's certificate of compliance shall expire at the end of one year from the date of issuance and shall be renewed for a like period upon application to the administrator unless otherwise revoked for cause. Each application for a vintner's certificate of compliance or renewal of a certificate shall be accompanied by a fee of one hundred dollars payable to the division. Each holder of a vintner's certificate of compliance shall furnish the information required by the administrator in the form the administrator requires. A vintner or wine bottler whose plant is located in Iowa and who otherwise holds a class "A" wine permit to sell wine at wholesale is exempt from the fee, but not the other terms and conditions. The holder of a vintner's certificate of compliance may also hold a class "A" wine permit.
- 2. At the time of applying for a vintner's certificate of compliance, each applicant shall file with the division a list of all class "A" wine permittees with whom it intends to do business. The listing of class "A" wine permittees as filed with the division may be amended from time to time by the holder of the certificate of compliance.
- 3. All class "A" wine permit holders shall sell only those brands of wine which are manufactured, bottled, fermented, shipped, or imported by a person holding a current vintner's certificate of compliance. An employee or agent working for or representing the holder of a vintner's certificate of compliance within this state shall register the employee's or agent's name and address with the division. These names and addresses shall be filed with the division's copy of the certificate of compliance issued except that this provision does not require the listing of those persons who are employed on the premises of a bottling plant, or winery where wine is manufactured, fermented, or bottled in Iowa or the listing of those persons who are thereafter engaged in the transporting of the wine.
- 4. It is unlawful for a holder of a vintner's certificate of compliance or the holder's agent, or any class "A" wine permittee or the permittee's agent, to discriminate between class "B" wine permittees authorized to sell wine at retail.
- 5. It is unlawful for a holder of a vintner's certificate of compliance or the vintner's agent who is engaged in the business of selling wine to class "A" wine permittees to discriminate between class "A" wine permittees authorized to sell wine at wholesale.
- 6. Regardless of any other penalties provided by this chapter, any holder of a certificate of compliance relating to wine or a class "A" permittee who violates this chapter or the rules adopted pursuant to this chapter is subject to a civil penalty not to exceed one thousand dollars or subject to suspension of the certificate of compliance or permit for a period not to exceed one year, or to both civil penalty and suspension. Civil penalties imposed under this section shall be collected and retained by the division.

85 Acts, ch  $32,\,\$71;\,89$  Acts, ch  $161,\,\$8;\,89$  Acts, ch  $252,\,\$4;\,2012$  Acts, ch  $1021,\,\$39$  Referred to in \$123.177

[T] Subsection 6 amended