CHAPTER 3

IOWA WORKFORCE DEVELOPMENT BOARD NONVOTING MEMBERS

S.F. 82

AN ACT adding four nonvoting members to the Iowa workforce development board.

Be It Enacted by the General Assembly of the State of Iowa:

Section 1. Section 84A.1A, subsection 1, Code 2009, is amended to read as follows:

1. An Iowa workforce development board is created, consisting of nine voting members appointed by the governor and eight twelve ex officio, nonvoting members. The ex officio, nonvoting members are four legislative members; one president, or the president's designee, of the university of northern Iowa, the university of Iowa, or Iowa state university of science and technology, designated by the state board of regents on a rotating basis; one representative from the largest statewide public employees' organization representing state employees; one president, or the president's designee, of an independent Iowa college, appointed by the Iowa association of independent colleges and universities; and one superintendent, or the superintendent's designee, of a community college, appointed by the Iowa association of community college presidents; one representative of the vocational rehabilitation community appointed by the state rehabilitation council in the division of Iowa vocational rehabilitation services; one representative of the department of education appointed by the state board of education; one representative of the department of economic development appointed by the director; and one representative of the United States department of labor, office of apprenticeship. The legislative members are two state senators, one appointed by the president of the senate after consultation with the majority leader of the senate, and one appointed by the minority leader of the senate from their respective parties; and two state representatives, one appointed by the speaker of the house of representatives after consultation with the majority leader of the house of representatives, and one appointed by the minority leader of the house of representatives from their respective parties. The legislative members shall serve for terms as provided in section 69.16B. Not more than five of the voting members shall be from the same political party. Of the nine voting members, one member shall represent a nonprofit organization involved in workforce development services, four members shall represent employers, and four members shall represent nonsupervisory employees. Of the members appointed by the governor to represent nonsupervisory employees, two members shall be from statewide labor organizations, one member shall be an employee representative of a labor management council, and one member shall be a person with experience in worker training programs. The governor shall consider recommendations from statewide labor organizations for the members representing nonsupervisory employees. The governor shall appoint the nine voting members of the workforce development board for a term of four years beginning and ending as provided by section 69.19, subject to confirmation by the senate, and the governor's appointments shall include persons knowledgeable in the area of workforce development.

Approved February 26, 2009