
ARC 8010B
HUMAN SERVICES DEPARTMENT[441]

Adopted and Filed

Pursuant to the authority of Iowa Code sections 237.3 and 234.6, the Department of Human
Services amends Chapter 112, “Licensing and Regulation of Child Foster Care Facilities,” Chapter 113,
“Licensing and Regulation of Foster Family Homes,” Chapter 117, “Foster Parent Training,” Chapter
156, “Payments for Foster Care and Foster Parent Training,” Chapter 200, “Adoption Services,” and
Chapter 202, “Foster Care Services,” Iowa Administrative Code.

These amendments update provisions for foster family home licensing and training and for foster care
and adoption services to:

• Reflect the Department’s current contracting arrangements and procedures.
• Incorporate changes to comply with federal law and regulations and support the Department’s

position for federal Child and Family Service Reviews.
• Incorporate changes suggested by Department staff and stakeholders.
• Insert numbering to comply with current standards for administrative rules.
The amendments to Chapter 112:
• Clarify application provisions for both foster family and group care licenses.
• Extend the time limit for a decision on an initial foster family home license application from 120

days to 140 days if the applicant must complete the 30-hour preservice training course. The Department’s
experience is that current requirements for training and for national criminal record checks often cannot
be completed within 120 days of the application date.

• Provide that the Department shall not act on a family’s reapplication for licensing if the family’s
license has been denied or revoked within the last 12 months.

• Add refusal of the foster family to engage as a resource to the foster child’s birth parents as grounds
for denial of a renewal application.

• Clarify that mandatory child abuse reporter training must be approved by the Iowa Department of
Public Health.

• Clarify that a foster family’s training documentation shall be submitted to theDepartment’s statewide
contractor for the recruitment and retention of resource (foster and adoptive) families.

• Update organizational terminology.
The amendments to Chapter 113:
• Rescind definitions of unused terms and add new definitions.
• Add an overview of the steps in the licensing process, including a list of forms and documentation

that the applicant family must submit.
• Allowwaiver of any licensing standard that can be waived without a negative impact on the safety or

well-being of the foster child. Public Law 110-351, the Fostering Connections to Success and Increasing
Adoptions Act, requires this waiver provision. (The Department does not have the authority to waive
standards set in state or federal law.)

• Add more physical requirements for bedrooms used by foster children and for family sleeping
arrangements.

• Prohibit smoking in the foster family home or vehicle when foster children are present, based on a
recommendation from the Department’s Child Death Review Team.

• Require foster parent applicants to make a visual inspection for lead-paint hazards and apply interim
controls to mitigate any potential hazard identified as required by 2008 Iowa Acts, chapter 1187, section
35.

• Add a minimum temperature requirement for bedrooms and prohibit use of kerosene heaters or
gas-fired space heaters in the foster family home.

• Waive the water-testing requirement after a family has made alternative arrangements for safe water
for three consecutive years.
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• Require each floor where foster children would sleep to have a working smoke detector and carbon
monoxide detector as well as a window exit that meets specified dimensions.

• Add safety requirements related to combustion hazards, safety plans, medications and poisonous
substances, weapons and firearms, transporting and supervising foster children, and pets or outdoor
animals with which a foster child may come into contact.

• Move foster parent training standards to Chapter 117, except for a summary list of requirements.
• Require the foster family to actively ensure that the foster child stays connected to the child’s kin,

culture, and community as required in the child’s case permanency plan.
• Require that records about the foster child be provided to the Department or to the child’s parent or

guardian when the child leaves the placement.
• Allow the licensing worker discretion to request an updated health report from the foster family.
• Set a minimum age requirement of 21 and make minor changes to the requirements for the personal

characteristics of the foster parents.
• Clarify the scope of assessment and the timing for the required unannounced visit, which is now

made by the recruitment and retention contractor. Deficiencies found will be referred to the Department’s
licensing worker for joint planning with the foster family on improvement.

• Clarify the requirements on working with the foster child’s school and consulting with the child’s
parents about participation in the child’s culture and religion.

• Clarify the requirements on training and discipline of foster children and provide that if the child’s
treatment plan includes the use of restraints, the foster parents shall receive training in the safe and
appropriate use of restraints.

• Add requirements for alternative care during a foster parent’s emergency absence and reporting
absences and other changes of circumstances that could affect the health, safety or welfare of a foster
child in the family’s care.

The amendments to Chapter 117:
• Incorporate the training requirements previously included in Chapter 113.
• Require approval of the area social work administrator or designee for a preservice training session

to an individual family instead of a group.
• Clarify that the Department’s recruitment and retention contractor is responsible for providing

orientation and managing preservice training.
• Clarify requirements for approval and crediting of in-service training, including designating a

training cycle that is offset from the licensing period, so that license renewal will not be delayed when
the foster parent needs to complete the annual training requirement.

• Require training in medication management, CPR, first aid, and child abuse reporting during the
first year of licensing. The Child Death Review Team has recommended that training in first aid and
CPR be mandatory.

• Require completion of the course “Caring for Children With HIV” before placement of an
HIV-infected child with the family.

• Incorporate the rules on training stipends and trainer fees that were previously in Chapter 156.
The amendments to Chapter 156:
• Change the chapter title to reflect the removal of foster parent training provisions.
• Update definitions to remove obsolete references and terminology.
• Provide for recovery of overpayments made to a foster family.
• Require a foster family that provides child care to be registered pursuant to Chapter 110 and prohibit

the family from displacing the foster child to another child care facility.
• Clarify provisions for payment in a preadoptive placement.
• Update language on the contracts required for provider payment.
The amendments to Chapter 200:
• Amend and add definitions and update form references.
• Clarify the role of the recruitment and retention contractor in doing adoptive home studies, preparing

families for adoption, and providing support to adoptive families.
• Clarify the role of the Department adoption worker in preplacement and postplacement services.
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• Rescind rules on the methods of service provision, fees for services, and international adoptions.
Since the Department will accept applications for adoption only for special needs children, fees do not
apply. International adoptions are handled through private child-placing agencies.

The amendments to Chapter 202:
• Update the definition of “foster care” to match the definition in Chapter 156.
• Add new definitions of “family safety, risk, and permanency service,” “foster family adoption,”

“resource family,” and “social history.”
• Require a genogram of the child’s family as part of the assessment of the need for foster care

placement.
• Add requirements on record checks for relatives who may accept placement of the child.
• Prohibit placement of a child who has asthma or other respiratory disease in a foster family home

where any member of the household smokes.
• Add requirements for furnishing information to the foster care provider which were previously

included in Chapter 113.
• Require monthly visits by the caseworker to the child’s parents.
• Clarify the provision of services to children in foster family placement.
Notice of Intended Action on these amendments was published in the Iowa Administrative Bulletin

on April 8, 2009, as ARC 7712B. The Department received comments on the Notice of Intended Action
from 39 people. In response to these comments, the Department has made the following changes to the
amendments as published under Notice of Intended Action:

• Revised subrule 113.3(1) to delete the proposed requirements for submission of marriage certificates
and divorce decrees (published as paragraphs “f” and “g”) and to reletter the final paragraph.

• Revised subparagraph 113.3(4)“b”(3) to remove the reference to verification of marriages and
divorces.

• Revised paragraph 113.5(3)“a” to add criteria for approving an exception to policy when a bedroom
currently used by a foster child does not have an operable window.

• Revised paragraph 113.5(3)“b” to reinstate the minimum bedroom area of 40 square feet per child
and to allow the service area manager or designee to approve a waiver of the minimum size for placement
of a specific child or children.

• Corrected the form number in subrule 113.5(7).
• Changed the reference in paragraph 113.7(7)“a” from “recreational vehicles” to “motorized

vehicles” to clarify the intent of the rule.
• Reworded subrule 113.7(8) to clarify that veterinary certificates for animals are required only to the

extent that vaccination is required by local ordinances.
• Removed the reference to the “supervisory agency” in subrules 113.9(1), 113.10(2), 113.17(2), and

113.8(3) and in paragraph 113.19(1)“a,” since the Department no longer contracts for supervision.
• Deleted the proposed sentence in subparagraph 117.7(2)“b”(6) allowing repetition of an Internet

training course every five years.
• Revised subparagraph 117.7(2)“c”(5) to allow one hour of training credit for each program hour of

Internet training.
• Revised the wording of subparagraph 117.7(3)“a”(3) to clarify the transition period to the new

training cycles.
• Adjusted the dates in subparagraph 117.7(3)“a”(3), paragraphs 117.8(1)“c” and 117.8(2)“b,” and

subrule 117.8(3) to reflect an October 1, 2009, implementation date.
• Revised paragraph 156.8(1)“a” to clarify that, if needed, children may receive one replacement

clothing allowance during each calendar year that they are in foster care.
• Deleted the proposed sentence in subparagraph 156.8(8)“b”(2) prohibiting foster families from

displacing a foster child to another child care facility to benefit their child care businesses.
• Further amended subrule 156.10(2) to eliminate responsibilities of a supervising private agency,

since the Department no longer purchases supervision.
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• Did not adopt the revisions to the definition of “Foster family adoption” in rule 441—200.1(600) or
the proposed definition of “Foster family adoption” in rule 441—202.1(234). The existing definition in
rule 441—200.1(600) is adequate.

• Added language to subparagraph 200.4(3)“b”(2) to clarify that race is considered in adoption of
Indian children under the provisions of the Indian Child Welfare Act.

• Revised subparagraph 200.4(3)“b”(4) to provide that foster parents shall be considered for adoptive
placement when the child has been in their care for six months or longer, instead of one year.

• Revised subparagraph 202.3(3)“a”(3) to remove the requirement that continued caremust have taken
place inside Iowa and to add the requirement that the voluntary placement must be in foster family or
supervised apartment living in Iowa, in compliance with Iowa Code section 234.35(3).

• Removed the language about placement outside Iowa from paragraph 202.3(3)“a.”
• Added new subparagraph (12) to paragraph 202.6(1)“a” to require that when an Indian child is

placed in foster care, the foster care provider shall be informed of the name and contact information of
the child’s tribe and tribal social services agency.

No changes were made in response to comments about the amount and cost of training required,
whether new safety standards were justified, and how much foster parents should be required to work
with children’s birth families.

Other than the licensing waivers mentioned above, these amendments do not provide for waivers
in specified situations. Requests for the waiver of any rule may be submitted under the Department’s
general rule on exceptions at 441—1.8(17A,217).

The Council on Human Services adopted these amendments on July 8, 2009.
These amendments are intended to implement Iowa Code chapters 234, 237, and 600.
These amendments shall become effective on October 1, 2009.
The following amendments are adopted.
ITEM 1. Amend rule 441—112.1(237) as follows:

441—112.1(237) Applicability.   This chapter relates to licensing procedures for all child foster care
facilities authorized by Iowa Code chapter 237. Rules relating to specific types of facilities are located
in 441—Chapter 113, “Licensing and Regulation of Foster Family Care Homes,” 441—Chapter 114,
“Licensing and Regulation of All Group Living Foster Care Facilities for Children,” 441—Chapter 115,
“Licensing and Regulation of Comprehensive Residential Facilities for Children,” and 441—Chapter
116, “Licensing and Regulation of Residential Facilities for Mentally Retarded Children.”

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code chapter 237.
ITEM 2. Amend rule 441—112.3(237) as follows:

441—112.3(237) Application for license.
112.3(1) Right to apply. Any adult individual or agency has the right to make application apply for

a license.
a. Foster family care. Apersonwishing to apply to be a foster parent shall contact the department’s

recruitment and retention contractor at 1-800-243-0756 to request an application packet. This procedure
also applies to:

(1) Persons wishing to care for children placed through a any public or private agency shall make
application through that agency.

b. (2) Persons wishing to care for children A relative who is caring for a child directly placed
by the child’s parents, guardians, or other relatives shall make application to the department of human
services another relative and who wishes to be licensed as a foster parent.

b. Group care. A person wishing to apply for a group care license shall contact the department:
(1) Through the “Child Welfare” link on the department’s Web site, www.dhs.iowa.gov; or
(2) By mail to the DHS Division of Child and Family Services, Attn: Group Care Licensing, 1305

East Walnut Street, Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0114.
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112.3(2) Decision to operate a facility.
a. When an applicant has reached a decision to operate a facility for child foster care family home,

the applicant shall complete Form 470-0689, Foster Family Home License Application. or
b. When an applicant has reached a decision to operate a group facility, the applicant shall

complete Form 470-0723, Application for License or Certificate of Approval. Requests for renewal
shall be made on the same form.

112.3(3) to 112.3(5) No change.
112.3(6) Applications for renewal.
a. The department or its agent shall send the licensee an application for renewal 90 days before the

license expires. Applications for license renewal shall be made on the form specified in subrule 112.3(2).
b. Applications for renewal shall be made to the department at least 30 but no more than 90 days

before the license expires. Applications for renewal of a group care license shall be submitted to the
address in subparagraph 112.3(1)“b”(2). Applications for renewal of a foster family home license shall
be submitted to the recruitment and retention contractor.

c. The department shall approve or deny an application for license renewal through the same
process as that used for the original application.

112.3(7) Notification.
a. Foster family homes.
(1) The department shall notify an applicant of the approval or denial of an initial license within

140 days of the date that the applicant begins the preservice training required in 441—subrule 113.8(1).
When preservice training is waived, the department shall notify the applicant of approval or denial within
120 days of the date that the training waiver is granted.

(2) The department shall notify a licensee of the approval or denial of license renewal within 90
days of reapplication.

b. Group facilities. Facilities shall be notified The department shall notify a group facility of
approval or denial of a license within 90 days of application or reapplication.

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code section 237.5.
ITEM 3. Amend subrule 112.5(2) as follows:
112.5(2) Reapplications will shall be denied:
a. For the same reasons as original applications.
b. For the same reasons as listed in the grounds for revocation.
c. When the foster family applicant’s license has been denied or revoked within the 12 months

before the date of reapplication. Denial for this reason does not require a licensing study.
d. If the foster family refuses to engage as a resource to a foster child’s birth parents when

engagement can be done in a way that does not put the foster family or the foster child at risk of harm.
ITEM 4. Strike “commissioner” wherever it appears in subrules 112.9(2) and 112.9(3) and insert

“director” in lieu thereof.
ITEM 5. Amend subrule 112.10(1), catchwords, as follows:
112.10(1) Mandatory reports reporters.
ITEM 6. Amend paragraph 112.10(3)“b” as follows:
b. If the foster care provider is a licensed foster parent, the foster parent shall be responsible for

obtaining the required two-hour training in child abuse identification and reporting as part of a continuing
education program required under Iowa Code section 232.69 and chapter 258A 272C , or from any of
the following: and approved by the department of human services public health , the department of
education, an area education agency, a school district, the Iowa law enforcement academy, or a similar
public agency.

ITEM 7. Amend paragraph 112.10(5)“b” as follows:
b. If the foster care provider is a licensed foster parent, the foster parent shall be responsible

for securing documentation of the training content, amount, and provider, and shall forward the
documentation to the department’s district office recruitment and retention contractor, which will
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provide a copy to the department licensing worker for the service area where the family resides for
inclusion in the licensing file.

ITEM 8. Rescind the definition of “Relative” in rule 441—113.2(237).
ITEM 9. Adopt the following new definitions of “Corporal punishment,” “Department,”

“Reasonable force,” “Recruitment and retention contractor,” “Service area manager” and “Social
work administrator” in rule 441—113.2(237):

“Corporal punishment” means the intentional physical punishment of a foster child.
“Department” means the Iowa department of human services.
“Reasonable force”means that force, and no more, which a reasonable person in like circumstances

would judge to be necessary to prevent an injury or loss.
“Recruitment and retention contractor” means the entity that contracts with the department

statewide to recruit foster and adoptive parents, complete home studies, and perform activities to
support and encourage retention of foster and adoptive parents, or any of its subcontractors.

“Service area manager” means the department employee responsible for managing department
offices within a department service area.

“Social work administrator”means the department employee responsible for supervising the social
work staff within a department service area and for implementing service policies and procedures of the
department.

ITEM 10. Rescind rule 441—113.3(237) and adopt the following new rule in lieu thereof:

441—113.3(237) Licensing procedure.
113.3(1) Application. Applications for an initial license to operate a foster family home shall be

submitted and processed as directed in rule 441—112.3(237). In addition to the application form, the
applicant shall submit the following:

a. Form 595-1396, DHS Criminal History Record Check, for each person living in the home who
is 14 years of age or older, as required by rule 441—113.13(237).

b. Form 470-0720, Physician’s Report for Foster and Adoptive Parents, to satisfy the requirements
of rule 441—113.11(237).

c. Form 470-3226, HIV General Agreement, to indicate choices about caring for children who
have or are at risk for HIV infection.

d. Form 470-0693, Foster Care Private Water Supply Survey, if applicable.
e. A drawing of the floor plan of the family’s home.
f. If licensed to drive, a copy of the driver’s license and motor vehicle insurance.
113.3(2) Orientation. Applicants shall attend an orientation provided by the recruitment and

retention contractor as described in rule 441—117.2(237).
113.3(3) Record checks. Before beginning preservice training, applicants shall pass at least the local

record check procedures as specified in rule 441—113.13(237).
113.3(4) Home study. The worker for the recruitment and retention contractor shall complete a

family home study.
a. Process. Information for the home study is gathered primarily through the required preservice

training as described in rule 441—117.1(237). In addition:
(1) The worker shall hold at least two face-to-face interviews with the applicant.
(2) The worker shall hold at least one face-to-face interview with each member of the household.
(3) At least one of the interviews shall take place at the applicant’s home. A physical inspection of

the home is required to verify compliance with the standards in this chapter.
(4) Reference checks shall be conducted as described at rule 441—113.14(237).
b. Family assessment topics. The assessment of the prospective foster family shall evaluate the

family’s ability to parent a special needs child. The assessment shall include the following:
(1) The applicant’s motivation for foster care and whether the family has biological, adopted, or

foster children.
(2) The attitude of the family and the extended family toward accepting a foster child.
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(3) The applicant’s emotional stability; marital relationship and history, including verification of
marriages and divorces; family relationships; and compatibility.

(4) The applicant’s ability to cope with problems, stress, frustrations, crisis, separation, and loss.
(5) Medical, mental, and emotional conditions that may affect the applicant’s ability to parent a

child; treatment history; current status of treatment; and the evaluation of the treatment.
(6) The applicant’s willingness to accept a child who has medical problems (such as HIV), mental

retardation, or emotional or behavioral problems.
(7) The applicant’s ability to provide for a child’s physical, medical, and emotional needs and

respect the child’s ethnic and religious identity.
(8) The safety of foster children in relation to any animals that live on the applicant’s property.
(9) The adjustment of any children in the home, including their attitudes toward foster care and

adoption, relationships with others, and school performance.
(10) An assessment of the applicant’s disciplinary techniques and practices.
(11) The applicant’s financial information and ability to provide for a child.
(12) The applicant’s attitude toward the foster child’s birth parents and siblings.
(13) The applicant’s commitment to and capacity to maintain a foster child’s significant relationships

and work with the child’s parents when the permanency goal is reunification.
(14) Any history of substance use or substance abuse by family members or members of the

household, including treatment history and current status of treatment.
(15) Any history of abuse by family members or members of the household, including treatment

history, current status of treatment, and how this issue would affect the applicant’s ability to be a foster
parent.

(16) Any criminal convictions of family members or adults in the household and the evaluation of
the criminal record.

c. Written report. The recruitment and retention contractor shall prepare a written report of the
family assessment using Form 470-4029, PS-MAPP Family Profile Summary, and RC-0025, Home
Study Summary and Recommendation Outline. The summary shall include a recommendation for the
number, age, sex, characteristics, and special needs of a child or children the family can best parent,
and any other pertinent information in making the licensing recommendation. The home study shall be
maintained in the foster family record.

113.3(5) Decision. The department worker shall use the home study to approve or deny a prospective
family as an appropriate placement for a child or children. The department worker shall notify the family
of the licensing decision using Form 470-0709, Notice of Action: Foster Family Home.

a. Upon approval, the department shall issue the applicant a license as described at rule
441—112.4(237) to care for the number of foster children allowed under subrule 113.4(1).

b. If the department worker does not approve the home study, the notice shall state the reasons for
that decision, as listed in rule 441—112.5(237). A license denial may be appealed as described at rule
441—112.8(237).

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code section 237.5.
ITEM 11. Amend rule 441—113.4(237), introductory paragraph, as follows:

441—113.4(237) Provisions pertaining to the license.   On a case-by-case basis, the service area
manager or area social work administrator may waive any standard in this chapter unless:

1. The requirement is set in state or federal law; or
2. The waiver could have a negative impact on the safety and well-being of a child placed in the

foster family home.
ITEM 12. Amend rule 441—113.5(237) as follows:

441—113.5(237) Physical standards.
113.5(1)  No change.
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113.5(2)  Grounds.
a. No change.
b. The foster child shall be protected against such hazards as including, but not limited to, traffic,

pools, railroads, waste material, and contaminated water.
113.5(3) Sleeping rooms Bedrooms for foster children.
a. Sleeping rooms Bedrooms shall either have been constructed for the purpose of providing

sleeping accommodation or remodeled for sleeping to provide proper heat and ventilation. Bedroom
additions to a home shall meet building code requirements.

(1) All bedrooms used by foster children must have:
1. Permanent walls;
2. A door that closes;
3. A working window that opens from the inside; and
4. A closet, wardrobe, armoire, or dresser.
(2) If a currently licensed home has a bedroomwith no window, foster children cannot use the room

for a bedroom. If a bedroom currently occupied by a foster child does not have an operable window, an
exception to policy may be requested for that specific child under the following conditions:

1. The recruitment and retention contractor has evaluated the situation and has determined there
is no other option for sleeping arrangements for the child;

2. The recruitment and retention contractor has determined there is no reasonable way to make
the window operable; and

3. The child would have to be moved to another placement if the exception were not granted.
b. For multiple occupancy the The minimum bedroom area per child shall be 40 square feet.

However, the service area manager or designee may approve a smaller room size when approval is in
the best interest of specific children placed or to be placed in the home. Such approvals shall:

(1) Be in writing;
(2) Contain the names and birth dates of the children for whom issued; and
(3) Be reviewed at each license renewal.
c. No change.
113.5(4)  All rooms aboveground.
a. No change.
b. The ceiling height for rooms aboveground shall be seven feet or more adequate for the child.
113.5(5) Rooms belowground.
a. No change.
b. Sleeping rooms Bedrooms for foster children located belowground shall:
(1) Have access to at least one direct exit to the outside on that level and one inside stairway exit

on that level, and
(2) conform Conform to standards listed in 113.5(3) and 113.7(1)“a.”.
113.5(6) Physical care standards for foster children.
a. Grouping children in sleeping rooms bedrooms shall take into consideration the age and sex of

children.
(1) Children over six 6 years of age shall not share a room bedroom with a child of the opposite

sex.
(2) Foster children over the age of 2 shall not share a bedroom with any person over the age of 18

in the home unless approved by the social work administrator or designee.
(3) Foster children shall not share a bed with any other child.
b. Foster parents shall have a designated bedroom. Children two 2 years of age or older shall be

provided bedroom space other than in the foster parents’ bedroom. Foster children under the age of 2
may share a bedroom with the foster parent.

c. to h. No change.
i. Children under the age of 1 year shall be placed on their backs when sleeping unless otherwise

authorized in writing by a physician.
j. Smoking shall be prohibited in the foster home or any vehicle when the foster child is present.
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113.5(7) Household pets Lead-based paint. Household pets which have access to the outdoors shall
be inoculated for rabies. If the applicant lives in a home built before 1960, the applicant shall submit
Form 470-4819, Lead Paint Assessment, certifying that the applicant:

a. Has conducted a visual assessment for lead hazards that exist in the form of peeling or chipping
paint; and

b. Has applied interim controls using safe work methods if the presence of peeling or chipping
paint is found, unless an inspector certified pursuant to department of public health rules at 641—Chapter
70 has determined that the paint is not lead-based. “Interim controls” are measures designed to
temporarily reduce human exposure or likely exposure to lead-based paint hazards, such as repairing
deteriorated lead-based paint, specialized cleaning, maintenance, painting, and temporary containment.

113.5(8)  No change.
113.5(9) Toilet facilities.
a. No change.
b. All toilet facilities, including privies, shall be maintained in a clean and working condition.
113.5(10) Heating plant.
a. The heating plant shall have a capacity to maintain a temperature of approximately 65 degrees

Fahrenheit:
(1) at At a point 24 inches from the floor during the day in severe weather, and
(2) In the bedrooms with the door closed.
b. Gas-fired space heaters, other stoves, fireplaces Fireplaces and water heaters shall be vented to

the outside atmosphere. Kerosene heaters and gas-fired space heaters shall not be used to heat any space
in the home.

113.5(11)  No change.
This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code section 237.3.
ITEM 13. Amend paragraph 113.6(4)“e” as follows:
e. When the water sample is not approved, no license shall be issued until the foster parents

provide a written statement that foster children will be provided potable water, where it will be obtained,
and how it will be transported and stored.

(1) The statement shall be provided on Form 470-0699, Provisions for Alternate Water Supply.
(2) Annual testing of the water may be waived after three consecutive years when the family has

made ongoing alternative arrangements for the use of safe, potable water.
ITEM 14. Amend rule 441—113.7(237) as follows:

441—113.7(237) Fire safety Safety.
113.7(1) Fire protection for bedrooms. Any floor of a house, including the basement, used for the

sleeping of foster children shall be equipped with at least one of the following:
a. A working smoke detector approved by the Underwriters Laboratory.
b. A window exit providing the window exit that meets all of the following criteria:
(1) The window opens from the inside and is large enough to allow the foster child to pass easily

through it. The window shall have an opening height of at least 24 inches, a width of at least 20 inches,
and a finished sill height of not more than 44 inches above the floor.

(2) Provisions are made to ensure that the foster child can easily reach, open, and climb through
the window.

(3) Provisions are made to ensure that the foster child can safely reach the ground from the window.
This may include the need for secure steps or stairs.

(4) The foster child is aware of the window exit and how to utilize use it.
c. A path of exit to the outside from the sleeping room which does not require the passage

through more than one additional room, excluding hallways, stairs, and entryways Hallways that allow
unrestricted access to an exit.

d. A working carbon monoxide detector.
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113.7(2) Combustible materials Combustion hazards.
a. Combustible materials shall be kept away from furnaces, stoves, or space heaters, and water

heaters.
b. Explosives and flammable substances shall be stored securely and be inaccessible to a child.
c. The home shall have at least one operable 2A-10BC-rated or ABC-rated fire extinguisher.
113.7(3) Safety plan. The family shall have a safety plan to be used in case of fire, tornado, or

blizzard, flood, other natural or manmade disasters, accidents, medical issues, and other life-threatening
situations for children in out-of-home placements.

a. Safety plans for fire and tornadoes shall be documented and reviewed with foster children at
the time of placement and practiced with the foster children throughout the year.

b. In the case of a disaster requiring evacuation of the home, the foster parents shall notify the
department of the address and telephone number of the parents’ temporary residence within 48 hours.

113.7(4) Medications and poisonous substances. All prescription medications and poisonous
substances shall be kept in a locked storage container out of the reach of children.

a. All prescription medication shall be administered as prescribed and documented in a
prescription medication log.

b. All over-the-counter medications shall be administered according to label directions or as
directed by a physician.

113.7(5) Weapons. All weapons, firearms, and ammunition shall be inaccessible to a child of any
age.

a. Weapons and firearms shall be maintained in a locked place, such as a gun case.
b. Ammunition shall be maintained in a locked place separate from the firearms.
c. Any motor vehicles used to transport foster children shall not contain a loaded gun, and any

ammunition in the vehicle shall be kept in a separate, locked container.
d. Foster parents who have a permit to carry a firearm shall sign Form 470-4657, Firearms Safety

Plan.
113.7(6) Transporting foster children.
a. Foster parents shall have a valid Iowa driver’s license and adequate motor vehicle insurance

when the foster parents transport foster children in a motor vehicle.
b. Foster parents shall ensure that appropriate child safety restraints, as required by Iowa law, are

used for all foster children when the foster parents transport the children in a motor vehicle.
c. Any motor vehicles used to transport foster children shall be smoke-free when foster children

are being transported.
113.7(7) Supervision. The foster parents shall provide reasonable supervision of foster children to

ensure their safety.
a. Foster parents shall monitor foster children while the children are using hazardous items. All

dangerous objects or equipment, including but not limited to trampolines, motorized vehicles, and power
tools, shall be inaccessible to a child unless:

(1) There is reasonable supervision by the foster parent, and
(2) Permission has been obtained from the parent or guardian for the foster child to use the

equipment or vehicle.
b. Foster parents shall monitor foster children while they are using the Internet.
113.7(8) Household pets. Household pets and any outdoor animals or pets accessible to foster

children shall have a current veterinary health certificate verifying that the animal has had routine
vaccinations that are required by local ordinance.

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code section 237.3.
ITEM 15. Rescind rule 441—113.8(237) and adopt the following new rule in lieu thereof:

441—113.8(237) Foster parent training.
113.8(1) Preservice training. All foster parent applicants shall complete the following training

before licensure and the placement of a child in foster care in their home:
a. Orientation pursuant to rule 441—117.2(237); and
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b. Preservice training pursuant to rule 441—117.1(237).
113.8(2) In-service training. All licensed foster parents shall complete six hours of in-service

training annually as required by rule 441—117.7(237).
a. All foster parents shall complete training in medication management, cardiopulmonary

resuscitation, and first aid in their first year of licensure as required by rule 441—117.8(237).
b. All licensed foster parents shall complete training on child abuse identification and reporting

in their first year of licensure and every five years thereafter as required by rule 441—112.10(232) and
441—subrule 117.8(4).

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code section 237.5A.
ITEM 16. Amend rule 441—113.9(237) as follows:

441—113.9(237) Policy for involvement Involvement of biological or adoptive parents kin.
113.9(1) Acceptance Support by foster parents. Foster parents shall accept support the involvement

of biological or adoptive parents and other relatives of the foster child unless this involvement is
evaluated and documented by the department or supervising agency to be detrimental to the child’s
well-being.

113.9(2)  No change.
113.9(3) Cultural connections. Throughout the provision of care, the foster family shall actively

ensure that the foster child stays connected to the child’s kin, culture, and community as required in the
child’s case permanency plan.

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code section 237.3.
ITEM 17. Rescind and reserve subrule 113.10(1).
ITEM 18. Amend subrule 113.10(2) as follows:
113.10(2) Additional Foster child information. The following Foster parents shall maintain a

separate folder of information shall be maintained on each foster children child placed in the foster
family home. This folder shall be provided to the department or the child’s parent or guardian when the
child leaves the placement. The folder shall contain:

a. Names and addresses of all doctors, mental health professionals, and dentists who have treated
the child and the type of treatment received while in the foster home.

b. School reports including report cards and pictures.
c. Date of discharge the child left the placement.
d. Name, and address, and telephone number of the person to whom the child is discharged.
ITEM 19. Rescind subrule 113.10(3) and adopt the following new subrule in lieu thereof:
113.10(3) Confidentiality. Foster parents shall maintain confidentiality regarding a child in

placement except as required to comply with rules on mandatory reporting of child abuse and with the
child’s case permanency plan. Foster parents shall not post pictures or information concerning a foster
child on any Internet Web site.

ITEM 20. Amend rule 441—113.11(237) as follows:

441—113.11(237) Health of foster family.
113.11(1) Prior to initial licensure Health report required. The foster parents shall furnish the

licensing agency with a health report on the family completed no more than six months prior to before
the application for licensure. The report shall include information on all family members. An updated
report shall be provided upon request of the department licensing worker or the recruitment and
retention contractor.

113.11(2) Contents of report. This report shall include a statement from the health practitioner that
there are no physical or mental health problems which would be a hazard to foster children placed in the
home, and a statement that the foster parents’ health would not prevent needed care from being furnished
provided to the foster child.
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113.11(3) Capability for caring for the child. If there is evidence that the foster parent is unable
to provide necessary care for the child, the department licensing worker, the recruitment and retention
contractor, or the physician may require additional medical and mental health reports.

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code section 237.7.
ITEM 21. Amend rule 441—113.12(237) as follows:

441—113.12(237) Characteristics of foster parents.
113.12(1) Age.
a. Foster parents shall be at least 18 21 years of age.
b. No change.
113.12(2) to 113.12(4) No change.
113.12(5) Personal characteristics. The foster parents shall:
a. to c. No change.
d. Be able to accept and deal with acting out behavior with realistic expectations and good

judgment.
e. Treat Include foster children in a manner similar to natural or adoptive children in the home as

far as participation in normal family life is concerned.
f. No change.
g. Be able to separate from support the case permanency plan for the foster child and not hamper

return be willing to the natural home cooperate with visits, transportation, or other activities that support
the child’s connection to and reunification with the child’s family.

h. No change.
113.12(6) Determination of characteristics. The areas discussed in 113.12(4) and 113.12(5) shall

be explored through observation of the family and interviews with family members and documented
in a foster home study, using the PS-MAPP family profile format as described in subrule 113.3(4). The
home study shall bemaintained in the foster family record. Any additional areas that the family or worker
identifies as a possibility for creating problems shall also be documented in the foster family record.

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code section 237.3.
ITEM 22. Amend subrule 113.14(1) as follows:
113.14(1) At least three additional unsolicited references shall be checked for all foster family home

applicants in addition to the a minimum of three references provided by the applicant.
ITEM 23. Amend rule 441—113.15(237) as follows:

441—113.15(237) Unannounced visits.
113.15(1) The department’s recruitment and retention contractor shall make unannounced visit shall

occur visits during periods of the day when the child and foster parents would normally be at home and
awake, unless there has been a specific complaint about the family and care of the child.

113.15(2) The unannounced visit may shall include, but is not limited to, assessment of the following
areas:

a. Cleanliness of the home Home environment.
b. Cleanliness and appropriateness of the child’s clothing Who was present at the time of the visit.
c. Interaction between the foster child and foster family and their children.
d. and e. No change.
f. Any previously or currently cited deficiencies, corrective action plans and progress.
g. Any previous or current concerns from department workers.
h. Discussion of placements during the licensing year and, if none, the reason why.
i. Progress on completing training in the foster parents’ training plan.
j. Awareness of the foster parents’ license capacity and compliance.
k. Recommended action.
113.15(3) Impressions of the unannounced visit shall be shared with foster parents. An unannounced

visit to the foster home:
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a. Shall be completed annually;
b. Shall not be waived; and
c. Shall not occur in conjunction with license renewal.
113.15(4) A written report summarizing The findings from the unannounced visit shall be

summarized on Form 470-4512, Unannounced Visit Report.
a. The report shall be sent to the department licensing worker and the foster parents within two

weeks after the visit.
b. A copy of the report shall be retained in the foster parents’ record.
113.15(5) Actions after the unannounced visit.
a. When deficiencies are cited that do not appear likely to cause immediate physical or mental

harm to the child, an additional visit may be scheduled. The department licensing worker and the
recruitment and retention contractor shall discuss the deficiencies with the foster parents and make
suggestions for improving the deficiencies.

b. When the reported deficiencies raise questions of concern as to the quality of care provided, the
licensing worker recruitment and retention contractor shall:

(1) report Report deficiencies to the department licensing worker and to the placement worker, for
each foster child currently placed in the home;

(2) suggesting Hold a meeting with the department licensing worker and the foster parents to
discuss deficiencies and suggestions for improving the deficiencies, and following the discussion
obtaining complete a written commitments from the foster parents corrective action plan as to how the
foster parents intend to correct address the deficiencies.

c. When the reported deficiencies appear likely to cause immediate physical or mental harm to
the child, the service area manager immediately shall or designee shall immediately:

(1) and (2) No change.
113.15(6) When the foster parents refuse to make a written commitment to improve the deficiencies,

the department licensing worker shall do conduct a complete review of the foster home to determine if
the license should be revoked according to rule 441—112.6(237).

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code section 237.7.
ITEM 24. Amend subrules 113.16(3), 113.16(4) and 113.16(6) as follows:
113.16(3) Educational opportunity. Every foster child shall be given the opportunity to complete

high school or vocational training in accordance with the child’s aptitude case permanency plan. The
foster parent shall be an advocate for the foster child by working with the foster child’s school.

113.16(4) Religious training Religion and culture. Each child shall be given an opportunity, for
religious training in consultation with the child’s parents, to participate in the child’s culture and religion.
Whenever practicable, the child shall be placed with foster parents of the child’s own religious faith, or
in accordance with the wishes of the biological or adoptive parents. Children shall not be required
to participate in religious training or observances contrary to the wishes of the biological, or adoptive
family, or the religious beliefs of the child.

113.16(6) Work assignments. Work assignments shall be in keeping with the total healthy child’s
age and development of the child.

a. Exploitation of the child is prohibited. No child shall be permitted to do any hazardous tasks
or to engage in any work which is in violation of the child labor laws of the state.

b. Each child shall have the opportunity to learn to assume some responsibility for self and for
household duties in accordance with the child’s age, health and ability. However, assigned tasks shall
not deprive the child of school, sleep, play or study periods.

ITEM 25. Amend subrule 113.17(2) as follows:
113.17(2) Medical and dental supervision. Each child shall be under regular medical and dental

supervision. Foster parents shall keep the supervising agency worker informed of any health problems.
In case of sickness or accident, immediate medical care shall be secured for the child in accordance with
the supervising agency’s worker’s directions given at the time of placement.
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ITEM 26. Amend rule 441—113.18(237) as follows:

441—113.18(237) Training and discipline of foster children.
113.18(1) Foster parents’ methods of training and discipline. The evaluation of the foster parent

shall include a discussion and written report of the foster parents’ methods of training and discipline.
Discipline shall be designed to help the child develop self-control, self-esteem, and respect for the rights
of others.

113.18(2) Restrictions on training and discipline. Child training and discipline shall be handled with
kindness and understanding.

a. A child shall not be locked in a room, closet, box, or other device.
b. No child shall be deprived of food as punishment.
c. No child shall be subjected to verbal abuse, threats or derogatory remarks about the child or the

child’s family.
d. Use The use of corporal punishment is prohibited.
e. Restraints shall not be used as a form of discipline.
(1) Reasonable physical force may be used to restrain a child only in order to prevent injury to the

child, injury to others, the destruction of property, or extremely disruptive behavior.
(2) The foster parent shall receive training on the safe and appropriate use of restraints which has

been approved as a part of the treatment plan by a licensed practitioner of the healing arts who is working
with the child.

113.18(3) Reports of mistreatment. Reports of mistreatment coming to the attention of the
supervising agency worker shall be investigated promptly and referred to the proper authorities when
necessary.

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code sections 234.40 and 237.3.
ITEM 27. Amend subrule 113.19(1) as follows:
113.19(1) Supervision and arrangements for emergency care.
a. Foster parents shall provide supervision of foster children and children in preadoptive

placement as dictated by the individual child’s specific needs and in agreement with the supervising
agency.

b. In case of emergency requiring the foster parents’ temporary absence from the home,
arrangements shall be made with other licensed foster parents or with designated, responsible persons
for the care of the children during the period of absence. The child’s placement worker shall be notified
of all emergency absences of the foster parents.

ITEM 28. Amend rule 441—113.20(237) as follows:

441—113.20(237) Changes in foster family home.   Foster parents shall notify the department and the
recruitment and retention contractor within 30 seven working days of any change in the number of
persons living in the home or of a move to a new home.:

1. Any change in the number of persons living in the home (except for foster children);
2. A move to a new home; or
3. Any circumstances in the home that could negatively affect the health, safety or welfare of a

child in the family’s care.
This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code section 237.3.
ITEM 29. Amend 441—Chapter 117 as follows:

CHAPTER 117
FOSTER PARENT TRAINING

PREAMBLE
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These rules describe required foster parent orientation, preservice training and preplacement
orientation in-service training. Their purpose is to ensure that the training and orientation is are effective
in preparing foster parents for their role.

These rules also describe the standards for training and orientation and the procedure to be approved
as a training provider.

441—117.1(237) Required preservice training.   Foster parent preservice training shall be offered by
the department or by a licensed child-placing agency through a training program that has been approved
by the department pursuant to rule 441—117.5(237).

117.1(1) Providers of preservice Preservice training requirement. The required foster parent
preservice training program shall be offered by the department or by a licensed child-placing agency
with a training program that has been approved by the department. Each individual foster parent
applicant shall complete the entire “Partnering for Safety and Permanence: Model Approach to
Partnership in Parenting” (PS-MAPP) curriculum developed by the Child Welfare Institute.

a. Applicants shall complete PS-MAPP training before receiving a license for the first time.
b. Applicants shall retake PS-MAPP if they do not complete the curriculum within 24 months

after initially commencing it.
c. The department may waive the PS-MAPP training requirement in whole or in part when the

department finds that:
(1) The applicant has completed relevant training or has a combination of relevant training and

experience that is an acceptable equivalent to all or a portion of the required preservice training; or
(2) There is good cause for the waiver based upon the circumstances of the child and the applicant.
117.1(2) Preservice training program approval requirements:.
a. Content. The program shall be designed to assist prospective foster parents in developing the

understanding the philosophy and goals of foster care and the skills required of a foster parent and abilities
that are essential to promote children’s safety, permanence, and well-being. The program shall address
the following topics:

(1) to (11) No change.
The curriculum developed by the Child Welfare Institute “Partnering for Safety and Permanence:

Model Approach to Partnership in Parenting” (PS-MAPP) shall be considered as meeting this
requirement.

b. Length. The entire PS-MAPP program shall total at least 30 hours of contact between leaders
and participants. The department and each licensed child-placing agency offering the mandatory 30
hours of PS-MAPP training department’s recruitment and retention contractor shall devise a procedure
for parents applicants to make up any portions of training which are missed.

c. No change.
d. Group method. The program shall be provided in groups that consist of six or more persons.

The training shall be offered to a foster family individually only when the foster family is unable to
attend group training for reasons such as serious medical conditions, as approved by the social work
administrator or designee.

e. and f. No change.
g. Training records. A record of the foster parents applicants who begin and complete the training

and of the training program evaluations shall be submitted to the department office for the location
in which the training was provided recruitment and retention contractor at the end of each 30-hour
PS-MAPP session.

117.1(3) Universal precautions. Before licensure, each individual foster parent shall complete one
hour of training related to the use and practice of universal precautions. Training shall be completed
through the approved individual self-study course, “Universal Precautions in Foster and Adoptive
Resource Family Homes.”
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441—117.2(237) Required preplacement orientation.   All foster parent applicants shall attend
orientation before attending PS-MAPP training and before a foster child is placed in their home.
Orientation shall not count toward the required 30 hours of preservice training.

117.2(1) Method of provision. The recruitment and retention contractor may provide orientationmay
be provided:

a. in In an individual meeting of the worker with one set of foster parents parent applicants; or
b. in In a group setting.
117.2(2) Provider. Orientation shall be provided by the department or licensed child-placing agency

recruitment and retention contractor completing the family’s licensing study. The agency intending to
place children in foster care in the home shall review the orientation with the foster parent prior to
placement.

117.2(3) Content. Orientation shall be designed to acquaint provide the foster parent applicant with
information on the policies and procedures of the foster care program, and adoption programs and shall
include the following:

a. and b. No change.
c. Reimbursement Foster family reimbursement information and adoption subsidy information if

applicable.
d. and e. No change.

441—117.3(237) Application materials for in-service training.   Applications for approval of an
in-service training program shall be submitted on Form 470-2541, Foster Parent Training Application,
with the following materials: and must be approved before the delivery of the training. Applications
submitted after a training is completed shall not be approved.

117.3(1) A detailed program description, including objectives, agenda, content, participant materials
and time frames or a statement that the Child Welfare Institute “Partnering for Safety and Permanence:
Model Approach to Partnership in Parenting” (PS-MAPP), as described in paragraph 117.1(2)“a,” will
be the preservice program taught. Except for cardiopulmonary resuscitation and first-aid training, foster
parent in-service training shall meet the requirements in rule 441—117.7(237).

117.3(2) Applications shall be submitted with the following materials:
a. Adetailed training program description relative to a foster parent, including objectives, program

agenda, content, participant materials, and time frames.
b. Names of program instructors and their qualifications to provide the training.
117.3(3) Rescinded IAB 8/9/89, effective 10/1/89.
117.3(4) Rescinded IAB 8/9/89, effective 10/1/89.
117.3(5) A sample of the evaluation tool to be used (for preservice training only).

441—117.4(237) Application process for in-service training.
117.4(1)  No change.
117.4(2) Individual training. Applications for approval for individual training, college credit,

written materials, or movies DVDs or videotapes shall be submitted to the department office for the
service area in which the foster family resides.

441—117.5(237) Application decisions.   The department shall notify the applicant of its decision
regarding the application for approval of in-service training within 30 days of receipt of the training
materials described in rule 441—117.3(237). This notification shall include the reason for not giving
approval if approval is denied.

117.5(1) Approval. Foster parent training programs which meet the criteria in rule 441—117.1(237)
or in rule 441—117.7(237), and which are submitted pursuant to rules 441—117.3(237) and
441—117.4(237) shall be approved by the department. In-service training completed before the
program has received department approval shall not count toward the required six credit hours of
in-service training. In-service training approvals are valid for one year.

117.5(2) to 117.5(4) No change.
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441—117.6(237) Application conference available.   If an applicant or provider of training objects in
writing within seven days after the notification of the department’s decision to deny or revoke approval,
the service area manager social work administrator shall review the decision to determine if the original
decision shall stand. The decision of the service area manager social work administrator is final and is
not subject to an appeal.

441—117.7(237) Required in-service training.   Training is required to assist foster parents in
confidently and effectively addressing the needs of children placed in foster care. The Foster Parent
Training Plan, Form 470-3341, shall be used to address in-service training needs. The training plan
shall be developed with the department or retention and recruitment contractor and the foster parent
at annual licensing renewal.

117.7(1) Providers of in-service training. Foster parent in-service training may be provided by the
department, a licensed child-placing or child-caring agency, or an agency, institution, or association with
expertise in any of the training content. areas in subrule 117.7(2), paragraph “a.” Agencies, institutions,
or associations wishing to have a foster parent in-service training program or workshop approved shall
submit application materials pursuant to rules 441—117.3(237) and 441—117.4(237).

117.7(2) In-service training program approval requirements:.
a. Content. The program shall relate to the foster parent’s role in providing foster care and the

skills needed by a foster parent. Training shall address one or more of the following topics: be specific
to developing each foster parent’s skills for addressing the needs of foster children.

Adolescence.
Adoption issues.
Cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) or first aid.
Child abuse dynamics and effects.
Child abuse identification and reporting.
Child development.
Communication.
Confidentiality.
Conflict resolution in the family.
Crisis intervention.
Discipline and behavior management.
Educational needs of all children in foster care and working with the educational system.
Emotional and mental health needs of children and working with the mental health system.
Family dynamics.
Health needs of children in foster care and working with the medical system.
Identification, utilization and role of support systems.
Impact of physical abuse, neglect and sexual abuse.
Independent living skill training.
Juvenile court process.
Lifebooks.
Medical management for children.
Mental retardation and developmental disabilities in childhood.
Parenting.
Participation in juvenile court hearings.
Participation in foster care reviews.
Passive restraint of children.
Permanency planning.
Physical disabilities in children.
Physical therapy with children.
Record keeping for foster care.
Role of guardian ad litem and court appointed special advocate (CASA).
Self-care skill training with children.
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Separation and attachment.
Sexuality of children.
Sign language.
Stress and foster parenting.
Substance abuse in children.
Suicide prevention with children.
Teamwork and team approach to foster care case planning.
Understanding, supporting, and working with the child’s birth family.
Use of community resources for children and families.
Other topics related to foster parenting or the needs of a child in placement.
b. Method. The training shall be provided through one or more of the following methods:
(1) to (3) No change.
(4) Movies DVDs or videotapes.
(5) Internet training classes offered through the Iowa Foster and Adoptive Parents Association

(IFAPA).
(6) Internet training classes offered through www.fosterparents.com, except for cardiopulmonary

resuscitation and first-aid trainings, which are not approved.
c. Credit hours. Credit hours for approved training shall be as follows:
(1) and (2) No change.
(3) Movies DVDs or videotapes shall receive one credit hour for each two program hours.
(4) No change.
(5) Self Instructional Pieces shall receive one credit hour per piece. Internet training classes shall

receive one credit hour for each program hour. A maximum of three hours of training credit per year
may be earned through the Web site www.fosterparents.com.

d. Approved training. The following training programs shall be considered as meeting the
in-service training requirements:

(1) to (3) No change.
(4) Self Instructional Piece Series (SIPS) published by American Foster Care Resources, Inc.
117.7(3) Foster parent training requirements. Each individual foster parent shall complete six credit

hours of department-approved in-service training annually. Failure tomeet the requirement for in-service
training hours will result in denial of the license renewal.

a. Training cycle. “Annually” means within the annual training cycle as described in this
paragraph.

(1) Initial license. For a newly licensed foster parent, the initial training cycle shall be the 10-month
period ending 2 months before the license expires. EXAMPLE: The initial training cycle for a new license
effective June 1 is June 1 through March 31.

(2) Renewal license. For a license renewal, the annual training cycle shall be the 12-month period
beginning 2 months before the expiration of the previous license and ending 2 months before the
expiration of the subsequent license. EXAMPLE: Subsequent training cycles for a license effective June
1 will be April 1 through March 31.

(3) Transition period. For foster parents whose licenses are renewed between October 1, 2009, and
September 1, 2010, the transition to the new training cycle shall take place through a 10-month training
cycle that begins at license renewal.

b. Content. The choice of in-service training shall be based upon an assessment of the foster
parent’s training needs made by the foster parent and the recruitment and retention contractor in
collaboration with the department licensing worker.

(1) Each foster parent must complete the specific training required in rule 441—117.8(237).
(2) At least three credit hours of the annual training shall be group training.
(3) Except for the classes for mandatory reporters, cardiopulmonary resuscitation, and first aid,

training credit will not be allowed for any in-service training class that is repeated.
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c. Documentation. Each individual foster parent shall submit Form 470-2540, Foster Parent
Training Report, to the recruitment and retention contractor within 30 days after completion of each
in-service training.

441—117.8(237)Advisory committee Specific in-service training required.   Rescinded IAB 12/11/02,
effective 2/1/03.

117.8(1) Medication management. Within the initial training cycle, each individual foster parent
shall complete one hour of training related to the use and practice of medication management.

a. Training shall be completed through the approved individual self-study course, “Medication
Management.”

b. One hour of in-service training credit shall be allowed for completion of this self-study course.
This course cannot be repeated for in-service training credit.

c. Foster parents who are already licensed on October 1, 2009, shall complete this training by
October 1, 2010.

117.8(2) Cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR). All foster parents shall be certified in CPR every
three years and shall maintain a certificate indicating the date of training and expiration.

a. The training shall be provided by:
(1) A nationally recognized training organization, such as the American Red Cross, the American

Heart Association, the National Safety Council, or Emergency Medical Planning (Medic First Aid), or
(2) An equivalent certified trainer and curriculum approved by the department.
b. Newly licensed foster parents shall complete the training before the end of their initial training

cycle. Foster parents who are already licensed onOctober 1, 2009, shall complete this training byOctober
1, 2010.

117.8(3) First aid. All foster parents shall be certified in first aid every three years and shall maintain
a certificate indicating the date of training and expiration. Newly licensed foster parents shall complete
the training before the end of their initial training cycle. Foster parents who are already licensed on
October 1, 2009, shall complete this training by October 1, 2010.

117.8(4) Child abuse reporting. Each foster parent shall complete approved training relating to the
identification of child abuse and requirements and procedures for the reporting of child abuse pursuant
to Iowa Code section 232.68.

a. Training cycle. Newly licensed foster parents shall complete mandatory reporter training before
the end of their initial training cycle. The training shall be repeated every five years thereafter.

b. Training provider. The foster parent shall be responsible for obtaining the required
two-hour mandatory reporter training in child abuse identification and reporting as approved by
the Iowa department of public health. A list of approved training opportunities is available at:
http://www.idph.state.ia.us/bh/abuse_ed_review.asp.

c. Documentation. The foster parent shall secure documentation of the training content, amount,
and provider and shall forward the documentation to the recruitment and retention contractor, who will
provide the documentation to the department for inclusion in the foster parent’s licensing file.

117.8(5) Caring for children with HIV. Before placement of an HIV-infected child occurs, the foster
parents shall complete the course “Caring for Children With HIV” or an approved alternative course that
contains information on the unique aspects of pediatric HIV disease, transmission and infection control,
the spectrum of HIV disease, confidentiality, death and bereavement, and self-care for the caregiver.

441—117.9(237) Foster parent training expenses.   No expense stipend is provided for orientation or
preservice training.

117.9(1) Training stipend. Each family that is issued an initial or renewal foster home license
shall receive a $100 stipend to be used for the family’s annual in-service training. The department’s
recruitment and retention contractor shall issue one stipend per license on or after the date that the
license is issued. Foster families who elect not to receive the $100 stipend shall notify the department.

117.9(2) Trainer fees. Foster parents and social workers who serve as trainers for approved
preservice training programs shall each be paid a contract fee per class hour appropriate to community
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standards based upon the education and experience of each trainer. These rates shall be negotiated
between the recruitment and retention contractor and the trainer.

These rules are intended to implement Iowa Code section 237.5A.

ITEM 30. Amend 441—Chapter 156, title, as follows:
PAYMENTS FOR FOSTER CARE AND FOSTER PARENT TRAINING

ITEM 31. Rescind the definitions of “Basic family foster care,” “Basic maintenance payment,”
“Difficulty of care maintenance payment,” “Mentally retarded,” “Personal allowance,” “Required
school fees” and “Substance abuse treatment supervisor” in rule 441—156.1(234).

ITEM 32. Amend rule 441—156.1(234), definitions of “Cost of foster care,” “Foster care,”
“Foster family care,” “Mental health professional,” “Mental retardation professional” and “Special
needs child,” as follows:

“Cost of foster care” means the maintenance and supervision costs of foster family care, the
maintenance costs and child welfare service costs of group care, and the maintenance and service
costs of supervised apartment living and shelter care. The cost for foster family care supervision and
for supervised apartment living services, when provided directly by the department caseworker rather
than purchased from a provider, shall be $250 per month. When using this average monthly charge
results in unearned income or parental liability being collected in excess of the cost of foster care, the
excess funds shall be placed in the child’s escrow account. The cost for foster family supervision and
supervised apartment living services purchased from a private provider shall be the actual costs paid by
the department.

“Foster care” means substitute care furnished on a 24-hour-a-day basis to an eligible child, in a
licensed or approved facility, by a person or agency other than the child’s parent or guardian, but does
not include care provided in a family home through an informal arrangement for a period of less than 20
days or less. Child foster care shall include but is not limited to the provision of food, lodging, training,
education, supervision and health care.

“Foster family care” means foster care provided in a single family living unit by a foster family
licensed by the department according to 441—Chapter 113 or licensed or approved by the placing state in
which it is located. The care includes the provision of food, lodging, clothing, transportation, recreation,
and training that is appropriate for the child’s age and mental and physical capacity.

“Mental health professional” means the same as defined in rule 441—24.61(225C,230A). a person
who meets all of the following conditions:

1. Holds at least amaster’s degree in amental health field including, but not limited to, psychology,
counseling and guidance, psychiatric nursing and social work; or is a doctor of medicine or osteopathic
medicine; and

2. Holds a current Iowa license when required by the Iowa professional licensure laws (such as
a psychiatrist, a psychologist, a marital and family therapist, a mental health counselor, an advanced
registered nurse practitioner, a psychiatric nurse, or a social worker); and

3. Has at least two years of postdegree experience supervised by a mental health professional
in assessing mental health problems, mental illness, and service needs and in providing mental health
services.

“Mental retardation professional” means the same as defined in the department of inspections
and appeals subrule 481—57.1(15) a psychologist, physician, registered nurse, educator, social
worker, physical or occupational therapist, speech therapist or audiologist who meets the educational
requirements for the profession, as required in the state of Iowa, and has one year of experience working
with persons with mental retardation.

“Special needs child” means a child with one or more of the following conditions: needs for
emotional care, behavioral care, or physical and personal care which require additional skill, knowledge,
or responsibility on the part of the foster parents, as measured by Form 470-4401, Foster Child
Behavioral Assessment. See subrule 156.6(4).
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1. The child has been diagnosed by a physician to have a disability which substantially limits one
or more major life activities; and requires professional treatment, assistance in self-care, or the purchase
of special adaptive equipment.

2. The child has been determined by a qualified mental retardation professional to have mental
retardation.

3. The child has been diagnosed by a qualified mental health professional to have a psychiatric
condition which impairs the child’s mental, intellectual, or social functioning.

4. The child has been diagnosed by a qualified mental health professional to have a behavioral
or emotional disorder characterized by situationally inappropriate behavior, which deviates substantially
from behavior appropriate to the child’s age or which significantly interferes with the child’s intellectual,
social, or personal adjustment.

5. The child has been diagnosed by a qualified medical professional, mental health professional,
or substance abuse treatment supervisor as having a substance abuse problem.

6. The child is an unaccompanied refugee minor.
7. The child has been adjudicated delinquent.
8. The child has been diagnosed as HIV-infected or has had an HIV-positive test result by a

qualified medical professional.
ITEM 33. Adopt the following new definition of “Family foster care supervision” in rule

441—156.1(234):
“Family foster care supervision” means the support, assistance, and oversight provided by

department caseworkers to children in family foster care and directed toward achievement of the child’s
permanency plan goals.

ITEM 34. Amend subrule 156.6(5) as follows:
156.6(5) Payment method. All foster family maintenance payments to foster families supervised by

the department or a licensed private child caring agency shall be made directly to the foster family by
the department.

ITEM 35. Adopt the following new subrule 156.6(6):
156.6(6) Return of overpayments. When a foster family has received payments in excess of

those allowed under this chapter, the department caseworker shall ask the foster family to return the
overpayment. If the foster family is returning the overpayment to the department, the caseworker will
note the monthly amount the foster family agrees to pay in the family’s case file. The amount returned
shall not be less than $50 per month.

ITEM 36. Amend rule 441—156.8(234), catchwords, as follows:

441—156.8(234) Special needs Additional payments.

ITEM 37. Amend paragraph 156.8(1)“a” as follows:
a. A second Once during each calendar year that the child remains in foster care, the department

worker may authorize another clothing allowance, not to exceed $200 for family foster care and $100
for all other levels, may be approved, not more than once within a calendar year, by the worker when a:

(1) The child in foster care needs clothing to replace lost clothing or because of unusual growth or
weight change, and

(2) the The child does not have escrow funds to cover the cost.
ITEM 38. Amend subrules 156.8(6) to 156.8(8) as follows:
156.8(6) School fees. Payment for required school fees of a child in foster family care or supervised

apartment living exceeding that exceed $5 may be authorized by the department worker in an amount
not to exceed $50 per calendar year if the child does not have sufficient escrow funds to cover the cost.
Required school fees shall include:

a. Fees required for participation in school or extracurricular activities; and
b. Fees related to enrolling a child in preschool when a mental health professional or a mental

retardation professional has recommended school attendance.
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156.8(7) Respite care. The service area manager or designee may authorize respite for a child in
family foster care for up to 24 days per calendar year per placement. Respite shall be provided by a
licensed foster family. The payment rate to the respite foster family shall be the rate authorized under
rule 441—156.6(234) to meet the needs of the child, with the exception of paragraphs 156.6(4)“b” and
“c.”.

a. Rescinded IAB 11/8/06, effective 11/1/06.
b. Rescinded IAB 11/8/06, effective 11/1/06.
c. Rescinded IAB 11/8/06, effective 11/1/06.
156.8(8) Tangible goods, child care, and ancillary services. To the extent that a foster child’s escrow

funds are not available, the service area manager or designee may authorize reimbursement to foster
parents for the following:

a. No change.
b. Child care services when the foster parents are working, the child is not in school, and the

provision of child care is identified in the child’s case permanency plan.
(1) Child care services shall be provided by a licensed foster parent or a licensed or registered child

care provider when available.
(2) When foster parents elect to become child care providers, they shall be registered pursuant to

441—Chapter 110.
c. to f. No change.
ITEM 39. Amend subrule 156.10(2) as follows:
156.10(2) Foster family care.
a. Family visits. Reserve bed payment shall be made for days a foster child is absent from the

foster family home for family visits when the absence is in accord with the following:
(1) and (2) No change.
(3) In cases supervised by a private agency, the agency shall notify the worker of each visit and its

planned length prior to the visit.
(4) (3) Payment shall be canceled and payments returned if the foster family refuses to accept the

child back.
(5) (4) If the department and the foster family agree that the return would not be in the child’s

best interest, payment shall be canceled effective the day after the joint decision not to return the child.
(6) (5) Payment shall be canceled effective the day after a decision is made by the court or parent

in a voluntary placement not to return the child.
(7) (6) Payment shall not exceed 14 consecutive days, except upon prior written approval of the

service area manager. In no case shall payment exceed 30 consecutive days.
(8) In cases supervised by a private agency, the agency shall document the use of reserve bed days

in the daily log and report the number of reserve bed days claimed in the quarterly report.
b. Hospitalization. Reserve bed payment shall be made for days a foster child is absent from the

foster family home for hospitalization when the absence is in accord with the following:
(1) In cases supervised by a private agency, the agency shall notify the worker at least 48 hours in

advance of a planned hospitalization and within 24 hours after an unplanned hospitalization.
(2) (1) The intent of the department and the foster family shall be for the child to return to the

foster family home after the hospitalization.
(3) (2) Payment shall be canceled and payments returned if the foster family refuses to accept the

child back.
(4) (3) If the department and the foster family agree that the return would not be in the child’s

best interest, payment shall be canceled effective the day after the joint decision not to return the child.
(5) (4) Payment shall be canceled effective the day after a decision is made by the court or parent

in a voluntary placement not to return the child.
(6) (5) Payment shall not exceed 14 consecutive days, except upon prior written approval of the

service area manager. In no case shall payment exceed 30 consecutive days.
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(7) In cases supervised by a private agency, the agency shall document the use of reserve bed days
in the daily log and report the number of reserve bed days claimed in the quarterly report.

c. Runaways. Reserve bed payment shall be made for days a foster child is absent from the foster
family home after the child has run away when the absence is in accord with the following:

(1) In cases supervised directly by the department, the The foster family shall notify the worker
within 24 hours after the child runs away. In cases supervised by a private agency, the agency shall
notify the worker within 24 hours after the child runs away.

(2) to (6) No change.
(7) In cases supervised by a private agency, the agency shall document the use of reserve bed days

in the daily log and report the number of reserve bed days claimed in the quarterly report.
d. Preplacement visits. Reserve bed payment shall be made when a foster child is making a

planned preplacement visit to another foster care placement or an adoptive placement when the absence
is in accord with the following:

(1) and (2) No change.
(3) Staff from the foster family home shall be available to provide support to the child and provider

during the visit.
(4) (3) Payment shall be canceled and payment returned if the foster family home refuses to

accept the child back.
(5) (4) Payment shall not exceed two consecutive days.
(6) If services are purchased, the provider shall document the use of reserve bed days in the daily

log and report the number of reserve bed days claimed in the quarterly report.
ITEM 40. Amend rule 441—156.17(234) as follows:

441—156.17(234) Adoptive Preadoptive homes.   Payment for a foster care for a child placed in
an adoptive a preadoptive home will only be made when the placement is made in anticipation of a
subsidized adoption. The payment shall be limited to the amount anticipated for subsidy, and shall
terminate when the adoption decree is granted negotiated pursuant to rule 441—201.5(600) and shall
not exceed the foster care maintenance amount paid in family foster care.

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code section 234.38.
ITEM 41. Rescind and reserve rule 441—156.18(237).
ITEM 42. Amend subrule 156.20(2) as follows:
156.20(2) Provider eligibility for payment. Except for payments for foster parents or youth in

supervised apartment living, payment shall be limited to providers with a purchase of service contract
in force.

a. Providers of shelter care services and supervised apartment living services shall have a purchase
of service contract under 441—Chapter 150 in force.

b. Providers of group care services shall have a purchase of rehabilitative treatment and supportive
foster group care services contract under 441—Chapter 152 in force.

ITEM 43. Rescind the definition of “Easy-to-place child” in rule 441—200.1(600).
ITEM 44. Amend rule 441—200.1(600), definitions of “Postadoption services” and “Preadoptive

family,” as follows:
“Postadoption services” includes those services that an adoptive family may access after the

adoption is finalized. These services may be obtained through community resources, the department, or
support groups, to assist the family in coping with and resolving problems within the family.

“Preadoptive family” means an approved adoptive family with a child placed in the home for
adoption whose adoption has not been finalized.

ITEM 45. Adopt the following new definitions in rule 441—200.1(600):
“Family safety, risk, and permanency service” means a service provided under 441—Chapter 172

that uses strategies and interventions designed to achieve safety and permanency for a child with an open
department child welfare case, regardless of the setting in which the child resides.
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“Recruitment and retention contractor” means the entity that contracts with the department
statewide to recruit foster and adoptive parents, complete home studies, and perform activities to
support and encourage retention of foster and adoptive parents, or any of its subcontractors.

“Relative within the fourth degree of consanguinity” means an adult who is related to a child as
follows:

1. The child’s parent, brother, or sister (first degree);
2. The child’s grandparent, aunt, uncle, niece, nephew, or first cousin (second degree);
3. The child’s great grandparent, great aunt, great uncle, great niece, great nephew, first cousin

once removed, or second cousin (third degree); or
4. The child’s great-great grandparent, great-grand aunt, great-grand uncle, great-grand niece,

great-grand nephew, first cousin twice removed, second cousin once removed, or third cousin (fourth
degree).

ITEM 46. Amend subrule 200.2(3) as follows:
200.2(3) Forms. Forms 470-3615, Background Report Part 1, and 470-3698, Background Report

Part 2, A child study shall be completed for all children who are adopted under Iowa Code chapter 600
using the outline RC-0027, Social History Format. All forms used to execute a release of custody shall
comply with the requirements of Iowa Code chapters 600 and 600A.

ITEM 47. Amend subrule 200.2(4), introductory paragraph, as follows:
200.2(4) Affidavit and documentation. The person providing the counseling shall complete Form

470-3164 or 470-3164(S), Counseling Affidavit, certifying that the counselor has provided the biological
parent with the requested counseling or that the biological parent has refused counseling. Form 470-3164
The Counseling Affidavit and documentation that the person providing the counseling is qualified to
provide the requested counseling shall be attached to the release of custody. Documentation shall include
one of the following:

ITEM 48. Amend rule 441—200.3(600) as follows:

441—200.3(600) Application.   Persons wishing to apply to adopt a child through the department shall
use Form 470-0771 470-0743 or 470-0743(S), Application for Adoption. An application for adoption
shall only be accepted for children who are under the guardianship of the department.

200.3(1) Limitations. No applications shall be accepted or approved in any department office for
the adoption of an easy-to-place child. The department and its recruitment and retention contractor shall
accept only applications for adoption of a special needs child. Those applicants Applications for adoption
of a child without special needs shall be referred to private child-placing agencies. Exceptions to this
rule may be made for:

a. relatives Relatives of a child under the guardianship of the department; or
b. foster Foster parents applying to adopt a child with whom the child has a significant relationship.
a. Foster parents. Foster parents shall be given consideration for selection as the adoptive family

for a child in the foster parent’s care who is legally available for adoption if the child has been in the
foster parent’s care for one year or longer, or the child has a significant relationship with the family.

b. Relatives. A relative who is within the fourth degree of consanguinity shall be given
consideration for selection as the adoptive placement for a child who is legally available for adoption
if the child has a significant relationship with the relative, or the child is aged 14 or over and elects
adoption by the relative.

200.3(2) Procedures. An application for a special needs child shall be accepted by any department
office or by the department’s recruitment and retention contractor. If a family assessment and home study
cannot be begun by a department worker within 90 days, a referral shall be made to purchase a home
study from a provider with whom the department has a purchase of service contract within available
funding. Prior to completion of Before a home study is completed, applicants shall:

a. complete Complete Form 470-0771, Foster Care and Adoption Home Study Packet, 470-0743
or 470-0743(S), Application for Adoption, and

24



b. ensure Ensure that Form 470-0720, Physician’s Report for Foster and Adoptive Parents, is
completed by their the applicant’s family physician.

ITEM 49. Amend rule 441—200.4(600) as follows:

441—200.4(600) Components of adoption Adoption services.   The components of adoption Adoption
services are as follows shall include: adoptive home study, preparation of child, selection of family,
preparation of family, preplacement visits, placement services, and postplacement services.

200.4(1) Adoptive home study. This component includes The recruitment and retention contractor
shall prepare an adoptive home study through the following activities:

a. to d. No change.
e. Procedure for foster parent adoptions. When a licensed foster parent applies for approval as

an adoptive home, home study activities that have been completed within the previous year as part of a
licensing study pursuant to 441—Chapter 113 need not be repeated.

200.4(2) Preparation of child. This component includes The department adoption worker shall
conduct specific activities designed to enable a child to make the transition to an adoptive placement
or refer the child to the family safety, risk, and permanency services contractor or other professionals.
The activities shall include, but are not limited to:

a. to e. No change.
200.4(3) Selection of family. This component includes the activities necessary to select the The

family which that can best meet the needs of the adoptive child. shall be selected as follows:
a. Prior to Before preplacement visits occur, a staffing of the child conference shall be held to select

an approved family. A minimum of two social workers and a supervisor shall be included in the staffing
conference. The child’s special needs, characteristics, and anticipated behaviors shall be reviewed in the
staffing conference to determine a family that can best meet the needs of the child. Approved families
shall also be reviewed in an effort to match the specific family’s parenting strengths with a particular
child’s needs.

b. The following selection criteria shall be observed:
a. (1) Preference shall be given to placing children from the same birth family together. If

placement together is not possible, or is not in the best interest of the children, the reasons shall be
identified and documented in each child’s case record. Efforts shall be made to ensure continuous
contact between siblings when the siblings are not placed together.

b. (2) Race, color, or national origin may not be routinely considered in placement selections
except when an Indian child is being placed pursuant to Iowa Code section 232.7 or Iowa Code chapter
232B. Placement decisions shall be made consistent with the best interests and special needs of the child.

c. (3) A child who is sexually active and at risk of or is HIV positive shall not be placed in a
family where other children reside due to the risk of transmission. A relative who is within the fourth
degree of consanguinity shall be given consideration for selection as the adoptive family for a child who
is legally available for adoption if the child has a significant relationship with the relative or the child is
aged 14 or older and elects adoption by the relative.

(4) Foster parents shall be given consideration for selection as the adoptive family for a child in
the foster parents’ care who is legally available for adoption if the child has been in the foster parents’
care for six months or longer or the child has a significant relationship with the family.

200.4(4) Preparation of family. This component includes The recruitment and retention contractor
and the department adoption worker shall conduct activities designed to assist the adoptive family in
expanding its knowledge and understanding of the child or children. This component These activities
should enhance the family’s readiness to accept the child or children into their family and encourage
their commitment. A referral may be made for family safety, risk, and permanency services if needed.
The activities shall include, but are not limited to:

a. to h. No change.
200.4(5) Preplacement visits. This component includes activities necessary to The department

worker shall plan, conduct and assess the transitional visits between the adoptive family and the child
or children prior to before the adoptive placement of the child in the home.
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200.4(6)  No change.
200.4(7) Postplacement services. Postplacement An adoptive family is eligible for postplacement

services include supervision, support, crisis intervention and required reports. Postplacement supervision
is provided from the time a child is placed with an adoptive the family until finalization of the adoption
occurs. The department adoption worker shall supervise the placement, provide ongoing support to the
child and family, perform crisis intervention, and complete required reports. Assistance with behavioral
interventions to strengthen the placement and prevent disruption may be provided through family safety,
risk, and permanency services.

a. No change.
b. A At a minimum, of three the department adoption worker shall make monthly adoptive home

visits are required or, until the adoption is final. if If the family is experiencing problems, the worker
shall make as many visits as are necessary to assess and support the placement.

Home visits shall be completed at a minimum as follows: one no later than 30 days after placement,
one no later than 90 days after placement, and a final visit before requesting a consent to adopt.
Supervisory reports based on observations shall be completed after the home visits using Form
470-0773, Supervisory Report.

c. A The department adoption worker shall prepare a written report based on the postplacement
visits with recommendations regarding the finalization of the adoption shall be submitted and submit the
report to the court prior to before the hearing to consider granting a decree of adoption.

200.4(8) Postadoption services. The department’s recruitment and retention contractor shall provide
postadoption services to families that are eligible for the department’s adoption subsidy program in
accordance with the contract. The goal of these services is to prevent adoption dissolution. The family
may obtain additional support through community resources or support groups.

ITEM 50. Rescind and reserve rules 441—200.6(600), 441—200.7(600) and 441—200.9(600).
ITEM 51. Amend rule 441—200.10(600) as follows:

441—200.10(600) Requests for home studies.
200.10(1) Court-ordered. Court-ordered home studies for adoption or custody of a child or children

under the authority of the department shall be completed by department workers the department’s
recruitment and retention contractor. When a department worker completes the court-ordered home
study, a fee shall be assessed the family based on subrule 200.7(2).

200.10(2) Interstate compact. Requests for an adoptive home study through the interstate compact
process shall be completed by a department worker and the family assessed a fee based on the
department’s current fee schedule the department’s recruitment and retention contractor. No fee shall
be charged the family if they are a relative of the child within the fourth degree of consanguinity, or the
family is the child’s foster family.

200.10(3) Referrals. Families wishing to adopt an easy-to-place child shall be referred to a
child-placing agency or a certified adoption investigator for completion of the home study. Payment of
a fee for completion of the home study shall be the family’s responsibility.

ITEM 52. Amend rule 441—200.15(600) as follows:

441—200.15(600) Requests for information for purposes other than research or
treatment.   Requests for information from department adoption records for purposes other than
research or treatment shall be made to the Department of Human Services, Division of Behavioral,
Developmental, Child and Protective Family Services, Adoption Program, Hoover State Office
Building, 1305 East Walnut Street, Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0114.

200.15(1) The department shall not release identifying information from sealed adoption records.
Adult adoptees, adoptive parents, birth parents, siblings or descendants of an adopted person, or legal
representatives of any of the above shall be provided:

a. an An adoption packet containing a sample affidavit for filing with the court,
b. directions Directions for filing the affidavit,
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c. a A list of county clerks of court, and
d. the The address of the bureau of vital statistics which retains, and
e. Instructions on how to obtain the name of the Iowa countywhere their the adoptionwas finalized

in Iowa, if necessary.
200.15(2) An adopted person who was a resident of the Annie Wittenmeyer Home (Iowa Soldier’s

and Sailor’s Home) may receive nonidentifying information from Annie Wittenmeyer records if the
information is available.

ITEM 53. Amend 441—Chapter 202, title, as follows:
FOSTER CARE PLACEMENT AND SERVICES

ITEM 54. Amend rule 441—202.1(234), definition of “Foster care,” as follows:
“Foster care” shall mean substitute care furnished on a 24-hour-a-day basis to an eligible child,

in a licensed foster care facility or approved shelter care facility, by a person or agency other than the
child’s parent or guardian, but does not include care provided in a family home through an informal
arrangement for a period of less than 30 20 days or less. Child foster care shall include but is not limited
to the provision of food, lodging, training, education, supervision, and health care.

ITEM 55. Adopt the following new definitions in rule 441—202.1(234):
“Family safety, risk, and permanency service” means a service provided under 441—Chapter 172

that uses strategies and interventions designed to achieve safety and permanency for a child with an open
department child welfare case, regardless of the setting in which the child resides.

“Resource family” means an individual person or married couple who is licensed to provide foster
family care or approved for adoption.

“Social history” or “child study”means a written description of the child that includes strengths and
needs; medical, mental, social, educational, placement and court history; and the child’s relationships
with the birth family and significant others.

ITEM 56. Amend subrules 202.2(2) and 202.2(3) as follows:
202.2(2) The need for foster care placement and social and other related services, including, but

not limited to, medical, psychiatric, psychological, and educational services, shall be determined by an
assessment of the child and family to determine their needs and the appropriateness of services.

a. Assessments shall include:
(1) the The educational, physical, psychological, social, family living, and recreational needs of

the child, and
(2) the The family’s ability to meet those needs., and
(3) A family genogram to determine relatives and other suitable support persons who have a kinship

bond with the child.
b. The assessment is a continual process to identify needed changes in service or placement for

the child.
202.2(3) With the exception of emergency care, a social history shall be completed on each child

prior to before a department recommendation for foster care placement, using the outline RC-0027,
Social History Format.

a. For voluntary emergency placements, a social history shall be completed before a decision is
made to extend the placement beyond 30 days.

b. For court-ordered emergency placements, a social history shall be completed before the
disposition hearing.

ITEM 57. Amend subrule 202.3(3) as follows:
202.3(3) Voluntary placement of a child aged 18 or older may be granted for six months at a time.
a. The department shall enter into the agreement only when the child:
(1) meets Meets the definition of “child” in rule 441—202.1(234) Iowa Code section 234.1,
(2) was Was in foster care or a state institution immediately before reaching the age of 18,
(3) has Has continued in foster care or a state institution since reaching the age of 18, and
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(4) has Has demonstrated a willingness to participate in case planning and to fulfill responsibilities
as defined in the case permanency plan., and

(5) Will be placed in foster family care or supervised apartment living in Iowa.
b. Payment shall be limited pursuant to 441—paragraph 156.20(1)“b.”
a. c. When the voluntary placement is of a child who is aged 18 or older and who has a

court-ordered guardian, the Voluntary Foster Care Placement Agreement, Form 470-0715, shall be
completed and signed by the guardian and the county local office where the guardian resides. Voluntary
Foster Care Placement Agreements shall not be used to place children outside Iowa and shall not be
signed with guardians who reside outside Iowa. Voluntary Foster Care Placement Agreements shall
terminate if the child’s guardian moves outside Iowa after the placement.

b. d. When the voluntary placement is of a child who is aged 18 or older and who does not have
a court-appointed guardian, the Voluntary Foster Care Placement Agreement, Form 470-0715, shall be
completed and signed by the child and the county local office where the child resides.

c. e. An exception to the requirement for continuous placement may be made for a youth who
leaves foster care at age 18 and voluntarily returns to supervised apartment living foster care before the
youth’s twentieth birthday in order to complete high school or obtain a general equivalency diploma
(GED).

ITEM 58. Amend subrules 202.4(3) to 202.4(6) as follows:
202.4(3) Staff The department shall first consider placing the child in a relative’s home unless to do

so would interfere with the permanency plan for the child, no relatives are available or willing to accept
placement, or to do so such placement would be detrimental to the child’s physical, emotional or mental
well-being.

a. If a relative or a suitable person who has a kinship bond with the child will accept placement
of the child:

(1) The person shall sign Form 595-1489, Non-Law Enforcement Record Check Request, and
(2) The department shall complete record checks as listed in 441—subrule 113.13(1) to evaluate if

the person’s home is appropriate for the child before making the placement.
b. Efforts to place the child in a relative’s home and reasons for using a nonrelative placement

shall be documented in the child’s case permanency plan.
202.4(4) If the child cannot be placed with a relative or a suitable person who has a kinship bond

with the child, foster family care shall be used for a child unless the child has problems requiring which
require specialized service which services that cannot be provided in a family setting. Reasons for using
a more restrictive placement shall be documented in the child’s case permanency plan.

202.4(5) A foster family shall be selected on the basis of compatibility with the child, taking into
consideration:

a. No change.
b. The child’s individual problems, medical needs, and plans for future care. The department shall

not place a child with asthma or other respiratory health issues in a foster home where any member of
the household smokes.

c. to f. No change.
202.4(6) A foster group care facility shall be selected on the basis of its ability to meet the needs of

the child, promote the child’s growth and development, and ensure physical, intellectual and emotional
progress during the stay in the facility. The department shall place a child only in a licensed or approved
facility which has a current purchase of service contract with the department pursuant to 441—Chapter
152.

ITEM 59. Amend subrule 202.5(1) as follows:
202.5(1) Except for emergency foster care placements made in less than 24 hours, a child placed in

a facility shall have a preplacement visit involving:
a. the The child,
b. the The foster parents or agency staff, if the child is placed in a public or private agency, and
c. the The department service worker., and
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d. The child’s parents shall be included in the preplacement visit, unless their presence would be
disruptive to the child’s placement.

ITEM 60. Amend subrules 202.6(1) and 202.6(2) as follows:
202.6(1) At the time of placement, the department worker shall provide the facility with specific

furnish to the foster care provider any available information regarding the child including.
a. The information provided shall include:
(1) The child’s full name and date of birth;
(2) The names, work addresses, and telephone numbers of the placement worker and the worker’s

supervisor, including a home telephone, cell phone, or on-call number;
(3) The names, addresses, and telephone numbers of the child’s physician and dentist;
(4) The names, addresses, and telephone numbers of significant relatives of the child, including

parents, grandparents, brothers and sisters, aunts and uncles, and any other significant persons (for an
adopted child, the adoptive parents and adoptive relatives);

(5) the The case permanency plan;
(6) the The results of a physical examination, including immunization history;
(7) the The child’s medical needs including allergies, physical limitations, dental and medical

recommendations, and special needs of HIV,;
(8) behavioral Behavioral patterns including safety-related information, and;
(9) educational Educational arrangements including, but not limited to, the school the child attends,

special education needs, and school contacts;
(10) the The placement contract or agreement including the date of acceptance for care; and
(11) medical Medical authorizations, service authorizations, and other releases as needed.; and
(12) If the child is an Indian, the identification of the child’s tribe and tribal social service agency

including telephone number and contact person.
a. b. Before releasing specific information about HIV, the department shall use Form 470-3225,

Authorization to Release HIV-Related Information, to obtain a release from the child or the child’s parent
or guardian, or a court order permitting the release of the information.

(1) and (2) No change.
b. c. Safety-related information shall be withheld only if:
(1) and (2) No change.
202.6(2) For each foster care placement in a foster family home supervised directly by department

staff, Form 470-0716 or 470-0716(S), Foster Family Placement Contract, shall be completed by the
provider foster family and department representatives the placement worker and supervisor. A new foster
family placement contract shall be completed when the rate of payment or special provisions change.

ITEM 61. Amend subrule 202.8(1) as follows:
202.8(1) The department shall make an out-of-state foster family care placement only with the

approval of the service area manager or designee. Approval shall be granted only when the placement
will not interfere with the goals of the child’s case permanency plan and when one of the following
conditions exists:

a. to d. No change.
ITEM 62. Adopt the following new subrules 202.11(5) and 202.11(6):
202.11(5) Throughout the provision of care, the foster care provider shall actively ensure that the

child stays connected to the child’s kin, culture, and community as documented in the child’s case
permanency plan.

202.11(6) When the child has reached the age of majority under state law, the department shall
provide a free copy of the child’s health and education records to the child when the child leaves foster
care.
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ITEM 63. Amend subrules 202.12(1) and 202.12(4) as follows:
202.12(1) Social Child welfare services and treatment services shall be made available to the parents

throughout the period of placement for the purpose of reuniting the family in an agreed-upon time frame.
Family safety, risk, and permanency services may be provided to:

a. Promote identification and enhancement of family strengths and protective capacities;
b. Address the factors that resulted in the child’s being removed from the family home; and
c. Strengthen family connections to community resources and informal supports.
202.12(4) Personal contact shall be made regularly with the parents and the progress towards goal

attainment reviewed and documented in the case record. The frequency of the personal contact shall be
at least monthly and shall be specified in the child’s case permanency plan.

ITEM 64. Amend subrule 202.13(3) as follows:
202.13(3) If a foster family objects in writing within seven days from the date that the information

department furnishes notice of plans to remove the child is mailed, the service area manager or designee
shall grant a conference to the foster family to determine that whether the removal is in the child’s best
interest.

a. This conference shall not be construed to be a contested case under the Iowa administrative
procedure Act, Iowa Code chapter 17A.

b. The conference shall be provided before the child is removed except in instances listed in
202.13(1)“a” to “c.” The service area manager or designee shall review the propriety of the removal
and explain the decision to the foster family.

c. The service area manager or designee, on finding that the removal is not in the child’s best
interests, may overrule the removal decision unless a court order or parental decision prevents the
department from doing so.

[Filed 7/9/09, effective 10/1/09]
[Published 7/29/09]

EDITOR’S NOTE: For replacement pages for IAC, see IAC Supplement 7/29/09.
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