# PROFESSIONAL LICENSURE DIVISION[645]

#### **Notice of Intended Action**

# Proposing rulemaking related to continuing education for athletic trainers and providing an opportunity for public comment

The Board of Athletic Training hereby proposes to rescind Chapter 352, "Continuing Education for Athletic Trainers," Iowa Administrative Code, and to adopt a new chapter with the same title.

Legal Authority for Rulemaking

This rulemaking is proposed under the authority provided in Iowa Code chapter 152D and sections 147.36, 272C.3 and 272C.10.

State or Federal Law Implemented

This rulemaking implements, in whole or in part, Iowa Code chapters 17A, 147, 152D and 272C.

#### Purpose and Summary

This proposed rulemaking sets forth continuing education requirements for athletic trainers in Iowa. It includes definitions related to continuing education, the required number of hours of continuing education that licensees are required to obtain, the standards that licensees need to meet in order to comply with the rules, and the types of continuing education courses that are permissible. The intended benefit of this rulemaking is to provide the licensees, schools, continuing education providers, and employers clarity regarding the processes licensees must complete for renewal or reactivation of licensure. The intended benefit of continuing education is to ensure that athletic trainers maintain up-to-date practice standards and, as a result, provide high-quality services to Iowans.

No public comment was received during the November 21, 2023, public hearing. During the December 12, 2023, meeting, the Board voted to amend subrules 352.2(1) and 352.2(2) by reducing the continuing education hours from 50 hours to 40 hours, stating that maintenance of a Board of Certification (BOC) certification is acceptable in lieu of completing those hours each biennium. The Board removed rule 645—352.4(152D,272C), which is now redundant language.

Fiscal Impact

This rulemaking has no fiscal impact to the State of Iowa.

Jobs Impact

After analysis and review of this rulemaking, no impact on jobs has been found.

Waivers

Any person who believes that the application of the discretionary provisions of this rulemaking would result in hardship or injustice to that person may petition the Board for a waiver of the discretionary provisions, if any, pursuant to 645—Chapter 18.

#### Public Comment

Any interested person may submit written or oral comments concerning this proposed rulemaking. Written or oral comments in response to this rulemaking must be received by the Board no later than 4:30 p.m. on February 14, 2024. Comments should be directed to:

Venus Vendoures Walsh Division of Licensing Iowa Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing 6200 Park Avenue, Suite 100 Des Moines, Iowa 50321-1270

Phone: 515.242.6529

Email: venus.vendoures-walsh@dia.iowa.gov

#### Public Hearing

Public hearings at which persons may present their views orally or in writing will be held as follows:

February 13, 2024 6200 Park Avenue 2:50 to 3:10 p.m. Des Moines, Iowa

Video call link: meet.google.com/jji-jaoj-uqy

More phone numbers:

tel.meet/yxd-hmkw-ppo?pin=1779851586643

February 14, 2024 6200 Park Avenue 2:50 to 3:10 p.m. Des Moines, Iowa

Video call link: meet.google.com/jji-jaoj-uqy

More phone numbers:

tel.meet/yxd-hmkw-ppo?pin=1779851586643

Persons who wish to make oral comments at a public hearing may be asked to state their names for the record and to confine their remarks to the subject of this proposed rulemaking.

Any persons who intend to attend a public hearing and have special requirements, such as those related to hearing or mobility impairments, should contact the Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing and advise of specific needs.

#### Review by Administrative Rules Review Committee

The Administrative Rules Review Committee, a bipartisan legislative committee which oversees rulemaking by executive branch agencies, may, on its own motion or on written request by any individual or group, review this rulemaking at its regular monthly meeting or at a special meeting. The Committee's meetings are open to the public, and interested persons may be heard as provided in Iowa Code section 17A.8(6).

The following rulemaking action is proposed:

ITEM 1. Rescind 645—Chapter 352 and adopt the following **new** chapter in lieu thereof:

# CHAPTER 352 CONTINUING EDUCATION FOR ATHLETIC TRAINERS

## **645—352.1(272C) Definitions.** For the purpose of these rules, the following definitions shall apply:

- "Audit" means the selection of licensees for verification of satisfactory completion of continuing education requirements during a specified time period.
  - "Board" means the board of athletic training created under Iowa Code chapter 147.
  - "BOC" means the Board of Certification or its successor organization.
  - "Continuing education" means the same as defined in Iowa Code section 272C.1.
- "Hour of continuing education" means at least 50 minutes spent by a licensee completing an approved continuing education activity through live, virtual, online or prerecorded means where the instructor provides proof of completion by the licensee as set forth in these rules.
  - "License" means license to practice.
  - "Licensee" means any person licensed to practice as an athletic trainer in the state of Iowa.

### 645—352.2(152D) Continuing education requirements.

- **352.2(1)** The biennial continuing education compliance period shall extend for a two-year period beginning on March 1 of each odd-numbered year and ending on February 28 of the next odd-numbered year. Each biennium, each person who is licensed to practice as an athletic trainer in this state will have the responsibility to finance the cost and be required to maintain BOC certification or complete a minimum of 40 hours of continuing education approved by the board.
- **352.2(2)** Requirements for new licensees. Those persons licensed for the first time or being licensed for the first time after a temporary license shall not be required to complete continuing education as a prerequisite for the first renewal of their licenses. Continuing education hours acquired any time from the initial licensing until the second license renewal may be used. The new licensee will be required to maintain BOC certification or complete a minimum of 40 hours of continuing education per biennium for each subsequent license renewal.
- **352.2(3)** Hours of continuing education credit may be obtained by attending and participating in a continuing education activity. These hours must be in accordance with these rules.
- **352.2(4)** No hours of continuing education shall be carried over into the next biennium except as stated for the second renewal. A licensee whose license was reactivated during the current renewal compliance period may use continuing education earned during the compliance period for the first renewal following reactivation.

# 645—352.3(152D,272C) Standards.

- **352.3(1)** *General criteria.* A continuing education activity that meets all of the following criteria is appropriate for continuing education credit if the continuing education activity:
- a. Constitutes an organized program of learning that contributes directly to the professional competency of the licensee;
  - b. Pertains to subject matters that integrally relate to the practice of the profession;
- c. Is conducted by individuals who have specialized education, training and experience by reason of which said individuals should be considered qualified concerning the subject matter of the program. At the time of audit, the board may request the qualifications of presenters;
  - d. Fulfills stated program goals, objectives, or both; and
  - e. Provides proof of attendance to licensees in attendance including:
  - (1) Date(s), location, course title, presenter(s);
  - (2) Number of program contact hours; and
- (3) Certificate of completion or evidence of successful completion of the course provided by the course sponsor.
  - 352.3(2) Specific criteria. Continuing education may be obtained through any of the following:
  - a. Completing a course provided by a BOC-approved provider of continuing education.
  - b. Attending workshops, conferences, or symposiums.
- c. Authoring research, the results of which are published in a recognized professional publication. A licensee shall receive five hours of credit per page.
- d. Presenting professional programs that meet the criteria of this chapter. Two hours of credit will be awarded for each hour of presentation. A course schedule or brochure must be maintained for audit. Presenting at a professional program does not include teaching class at an institution of higher learning at which the applicant is regularly and primarily employed, nor does it include presentations to the lay public. A licensee may be granted no more than ten hours of continuing education credit per biennium for presenting professional programs.
- *e.* Completing academic courses that directly relate to the professional competency of the licensee. Official transcripts indicating successful completion of academic courses that apply to the field of athletic training must be maintained for audit. Continuing education credit equivalents are as follows:
  - 1 academic semester hour = 15 continuing education hours
  - 1 academic trimester hour = 12 continuing education hours

1 academic quarter hour = 10 continuing education hours These rules are intended to implement Iowa Code section 272C.2 and chapter 152D.