REAL ESTATE COMMISSION[193E]

Notice of Intended Action

Proposing rulemaking related to fees and providing an opportunity for public comment

The Real Estate Commission hereby proposes to rescind Chapter 9, "Fees," Iowa Administrative Code, and to adopt a new chapter with the same title.

Legal Authority for Rulemaking

This rulemaking is proposed under the authority provided in Iowa Code chapter 543B.

State or Federal Law Implemented

This rulemaking implements, in whole or in part, Iowa Code chapters 17A, 272C and 543B.

Purpose and Summary

This proposed chapter sets standards for fees for the Commission. Iowa licensees, future licensees and employers will benefit from the rules since the rules articulate the process that individuals will need to follow to pay for initial licensure, renewal, and reinstatement.

Fiscal Impact

This rulemaking has no fiscal impact to the State of Iowa.

Jobs Impact

After analysis and review of this rulemaking, no impact on jobs has been found.

Waivers

Any person who believes that the application of the discretionary provisions of this rulemaking would result in hardship or injustice to that person may petition the Department of Inspections, Appeals, and Licensing for a waiver of the discretionary provisions, if any, pursuant to 481—Chapter 6.

Public Comment

Any interested person may submit written comments concerning this proposed rulemaking. Written comments in response to this rulemaking must be received by the Commission no later than 4:30 p.m. on January 30, 2024. Comments should be directed to:

Renee Paulsen Real Estate Commission 6200 Park Avenue Des Moines, Iowa 50321

Email: renee.paulsen@iowa.gov

Public Hearing

Public hearings at which persons may present their views orally or in writing will be held as follows:

January 30, 2024 11 to 11:20 a.m.

6200 Park Avenue Des Moines, Iowa January 31, 2024 11 to 11:20 a.m.

6200 Park Avenue Des Moines, Iowa

Persons who wish to make oral comments at a public hearing may be asked to state their names for the record and to confine their remarks to the subject of this proposed rulemaking.

Any persons who intend to attend a public hearing and have special requirements, such as those related to hearing or mobility impairments, should contact the Commission and advise of specific needs.

Review by Administrative Rules Review Committee

The Administrative Rules Review Committee, a bipartisan legislative committee which oversees rulemaking by executive branch agencies, may, on its own motion or on written request by any individual or group, review this rulemaking at its regular monthly meeting or at a special meeting. The Committee's meetings are open to the public, and interested persons may be heard as provided in Iowa Code section 17A.8(6).

The following rulemaking action is proposed:

ITEM 1. Rescind 193E—Chapter 9 and adopt the following **new** chapter in lieu thereof:

CHAPTER 9 FEES

193E—9.1(543B) Fees.

9.1(1) Original license or renewal.

Broker license	\$170
Additional officer or partner license	\$ 50
Firm license	\$170
Branch office license	\$ 50
Trade name license	\$ 50
Salesperson license	\$125

9.1(2) Fee for renewal of broker and salesperson license between January 1 and January 30 following expiration of license is the regular renewal fee plus \$25 reinstatement fee.

Broker license	\$195
Salesperson license	\$150

Reinstatement fee is not applicable to a firm license, additional officer license, additional partner license, trade name license, or branch office license.

9.1(3) Fee for certification of license is \$25.

193E—9.2(543B) Refunds and bad payments.

- **9.2(1)** Fees remitted with an application for license will be refunded if the commission finds the applicant is not qualified for a license.
- **9.2(2)** Fees will not be refunded for the unexpired term of a license that has been issued and is in effect.
- **9.2(3)** A fee remitted in error will be refunded if it is received as a separate check. If not received as a separate check, a fee remitted in error will be refunded if a written request is received within 30 days of receipt of the fee.
- **9.2(4)** Payment of a fee with a bad payment is prima facie evidence of a violation of Iowa Code section 543B.29(1) or 543B.34(8) or both.

- **9.2(5)** If a bad payment is received for an original license, the application for license is deemed incomplete and the license null and void.
- **9.2(6)** If a bad payment is received for renewal of a license, the application is deemed incomplete and the license issued for the new term is deemed null and void. If a replacement payment is not received by the commission by the date of expiration of the license (December 31), the appropriate reinstatement fee is added to the unpaid renewal fee.
- 193E—9.3(543B) Examination fee. The examination fee is paid directly to the testing service at the prevailing rate established by contract between the commission and the testing service.

These rules are intended to implement Iowa Code section 543B.27.