NATURAL RESOURCE COMMISSION[571]

Notice of Intended Action

Twenty-five interested persons, a governmental subdivision, an agency or association of 25 or more persons may demand an oral presentation hereon as provided in Iowa Code section 17A.4(1)"b."

Notice is also given to the public that the Administrative Rules Review Committee may, on its own motion or on written request by any individual or group, review this proposed action under section 17A.8(6) at a regular or special meeting where the public or interested persons may be heard.

Pursuant to the authority of Iowa Code sections 455A.5(6), 481A.38, 481A.39, 481A.48(1), 483A.8, 483A.8B, 483A.8C, 483A.24, and 483A.24B, the Natural Resource Commission (Commission) hereby gives Notice of Intended Action to amend Chapter 106, "Deer Hunting by Residents," Iowa Administrative Code.

Chapter 106 sets regulations for deer hunting by residents and includes season dates, bag limits, possession limits, shooting hours, areas open to hunting, licensing procedures, means and methods of take, and transportation and reporting requirements. The proposed amendment keeps the antlerless-deer-only license quotas the same for 2016 as they were for the last two years. The regulation changes enacted for the 2014 season, which were maintained in the 2015 season, appear to have stabilized deer numbers at the levels agreed to in 2009 by the Deer Study Advisory Group (DSAG). The DSAG was created to review, analyze, and make recommendations on issues relating to the state's deer population.

Any interested person may make written suggestions or comments on the proposed amendment on or before June 1, 2016. Written comments may be directed to the Department of Natural Resources, Dale Garner, Wildlife Bureau Chief, Wallace State Office Building, 502 E. 9th Street, Des Moines, Iowa 50319-0034; by e-mail at <u>dale.garner@dnr.iowa.gov</u>; or by fax at (515)725-8201. Persons who wish to convey their comments orally may contact Mr. Garner at (515)725-8494 or by visiting the fourth floor of the Wallace State Office Building during regular business hours.

There will be a public hearing on Wednesday, June 1, 2016, at 2 p.m. in the Fourth Floor West Conference Room of the Wallace State Office Building, Des Moines, Iowa. At the public hearing, persons may present their views either orally or in writing. Participants will be asked to give their names and addresses for the record and to confine their remarks to the subject of the amendment.

Any persons who intend to attend the public hearing and have special requirements, such as those related to hearing or mobility impairments, should contact the Department and request specific accommodations.

The proposed amendment will have a neutral impact on jobs in the state. The following types of jobs are positively impacted by deer hunting generally and should see no noticeable change due to this rule making: hunting equipment retailers (weapons, ammunition, clothing, chairs, stands, binoculars, and other supporting equipment); field guides and outfitters; taxidermists; and restaurants, hotels, and gas stations for hunters traveling around the state.

This amendment is intended to implement Iowa Code sections 481A.38, 481A.39, 481A.48(1), 483A.8, 483A.8B, 483A.8C, 483A.24 and 483A.24B.

The following amendment is proposed.

Amend subrule 106.6(6) as follows:

106.6(6) Antlerless-deer-only licenses. Paid antlerless-deer-only licenses will be available by county for the 2015 2016 deer season as follows:

County	Quota	County	Quota	County	Quota
Adair	1025	Floyd	0	Monona	850
Adams	1450	Franklin	0	Monroe	1950
Allamakee	2975	Fremont	525	Montgomery	750
Appanoose	2200	Greene	0	Muscatine	775
Audubon	0	Grundy	0	O'Brien	0
Benton	325	Guthrie	1950	Osceola	0
Black Hawk	0	Hamilton	0	Page	750
Boone	450	Hancock	0	Palo Alto	0
Bremer	650	Hardin	0	Plymouth	0
Buchanan	200	Harrison	850	Pocahontas	0
Buena Vista	0	Henry	925	Polk	1350
Butler	0	Howard	200	Pottawattamie	850
Calhoun	0	Humboldt	0	Poweshiek	300
Carroll	0	Ida	0	Ringgold	2200
Cass	400	Iowa	450	Sac	0
Cedar	775	Jackson	675	Scott	200
Cerro Gordo	0	Jasper	775	Shelby	225
Cherokee	0	Jefferson	1650	Sioux	0
Chickasaw	375	Johnson	850	Story	150
Clarke	2100	Jones	525	Tama	200
Clay	0	Keokuk	450	Taylor	2200
Clayton	2775	Kossuth	0	Union	1500
Clinton	400	Lee	1275	Van Buren	3800
Crawford	150	Linn	850	Wapello	1825
Dallas	1875	Louisa	775	Warren	2200
Davis	2800	Lucas	2200	Washington	750
Decatur	2200	Lyon	0	Wayne	2200
Delaware	525	Madison	2100	Webster	0
Des Moines	800	Mahaska	475	Winnebago	0
Dickinson	0	Marion	1650	Winneshiek	1975
Dubuque	725	Marshall	150	Woodbury	850
Emmet	0	Mills	750	Worth	0
Fayette	1500	Mitchell	0	Wright	0