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Adopted and Filed

Pursuant to the authority of Iowa Code section 169.5, the Board of Veterinary Medicine hereby
amends Chapter 1, “Description of Organization and Definitions,” Chapter 6, “Application for
Veterinary Licensure,” Chapter 8, “Auxiliary Personnel,” and Chapter 11, “Continuing Education,”
Iowa Administrative Code.

These amendments allow the Board of Veterinary Medicine to waive state fees and continuing
education requirements upon request for an individual who has been on active military duty during the
12 months preceding the request. These amendments also provide a waiver for the spouse of the person
who has been on active military duty during the 12 months preceding the request.

Notice of Intended Action was published in the Iowa Administrative Bulletin on December 10, 2014,
as ARC 1756C. No comments were received from the public. In a nonsubstantive change from the
Notice, references to 2014 Iowa Acts, chapter 1116, section 34, have been changed to Iowa Code section
272C.4 to reflect incorporation of the legislation in the 2015 Iowa Code.

After analysis and review of this rule making, these amendments may have a positive impact on jobs
by helping recruit veterans to the state.

These amendments are intended to implement Iowa Code section 272C.4.
These amendments will become effective June 3, 2015.
The following amendments are adopted.
ITEM 1. Adopt the following new definition in rule 811—1.4(17A,169):
“Qualifying military service personnel” means a person, or the spouse of that person, who is

currently or who has been during the past 12 months on federal active duty, state active duty, or national
guard duty and has provided sufficient documentation to the board concerning the service and, if
applicable, marriage.

ITEM 2. Amend rule 811—6.2(169) as follows:

811—6.2(169) Fee schedule for veterinarians. The following fees shall be collected by the board and
shall not be refunded except by board action in unusual instances such as documented illness of the
applicant, death of the applicant, inability of the applicant to comply with the rules of the board, or
withdrawal of an examination application provided withdrawal is received in writing 45 days prior to
the examination date. However, the state fees may be waived for qualifying military service personnel
upon request. Examination fees shall be nontransferable from one examination to another.

The fee for the NAVLE, which is utilized by the board as a part of the licensure process, shall be the
fee charged that year by NBVME, plus an administrative fee payable to the board.

Based on the board’s anticipated financial requirements, the following fees are hereby adopted:

License—application fee . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $50
NBVME NAVLE examination fee . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . set by NAVLE NBVME
Board administrative fee for NAVLE. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $25
State veterinary examination fee . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . set by board
State veterinary administration fee . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . set by board
Triennial license . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $60
Late renewal penalty . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $100
License by endorsement—application fee . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $50
Reactivation fee for lapsed or inactive license . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $100
Reinstatement fee . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $100
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Duplicate license . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $15
Temporary permit . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $35
Temporary permit application fee . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $15
Official licensure verification . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $15
Charge for insufficient funds or returned checks . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $25
Senior student certificate . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . $0

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code section sections 169.5 and 169.12.
ITEM 3. Amend rule 811—8.3(169) as follows:

811—8.3(169) Examination. An application fee of $25 shall accompany the application to take
the examination; and both must be received by the board at least 60 days before the examination.
An additional fee shall be submitted for the national board written examination as provided by the
professional examination service, when utilized by the board as part of their examination process,
which shall be the fees charged for the examination by the professional examination service plus $10
for the costs of administration. Examinations shall be given annually in June at a site to be designated
by the board at least 30 days before the date of the examination. The fee may be waived for qualifying
military service personnel upon request.

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code sections 169.5(8), 169.9, and 169.12 and 272C.4.
ITEM 4. Adopt the following new subrule 8.10(5):
8.10(5) The board may waive continuing education requirements for qualifying military service

personnel upon request.
ITEM 5. Amend 811—Chapter 8, implementation sentence, as follows:
These rules are intended to implement Iowa Code sections 17A.3, 169.4, 169.5, 169.9, and 169.20

and 272C.4.
ITEM 6. Adopt the following new subrule 11.1(5):
11.1(5) The board may waive continuing education requirements for qualifying military service

personnel upon request.

[Filed 4/10/15, effective 6/3/15]
[Published 4/29/15]

EDITOR’S NOTE: For replacement pages for IAC, see IAC Supplement 4/29/15.
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