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281—21.31 (321J) Course.
21.31(1) A course provided in accordance with Division III of this chapter shall be offered on a

regular basis at each community college or by a substance abuse treatment program licensed under Iowa
Code chapter 125. However, a community college shall not be required to offer the course if a substance
abuse treatment program licensed under Iowa Code chapter 125 offers the course within the merged area
served by the community college. A course provided in accordance with Division III of this chapter may
be offered at a state correctional facility listed in Iowa Code section 904.102.

21.31(2) The department of education shall maintain a listing of all providers of approved courses
in the state and publish this listing on the department’s Web site.

21.31(3) Individuals who reside outside the state of Iowa andwho are required by the state of Iowa to
take a course for drinking drivers shall have the opportunity to take the course in another state, provided:

a. The out-of-state course is comparable to those courses approved to be offered in the state of
Iowa.

b. The course is delivered in a classroom setting and not online.
21.31(4) Enrollment in the course is not limited to persons ordered to enroll, attend, and successfully

complete the course required under Iowa Code sections 321J.1 and 321J.17, subsection 2. Any person
under the age of 18 who is required to attend the courses for violation of Iowa Code section 321J.2 or
321J.17 must attend a course offered by a substance abuse treatment program licensed under Iowa Code
chapter 125.

21.31(5) An instructional course shall be approved by the department of education in consultation
with the community colleges, substance abuse treatment programs licensed under Iowa Code chapter
125, the Iowa department of public health, and the Iowa department of corrections. The course shall be
delivered in a classroom setting with at least 12 hours of instructional time delivered over a minimum
of a two-day period. The course may be offered in blocks not to exceed 4 hours with a minimum of a
30-minute break between blocks. Each student in the class shall receive an individual workbook, and
workbooks shall not be reused. The course shall be taught by an instructor certified by the curriculum
provider to teach the course. Each course of instruction shall establish the following:

a. An understanding that alcohol-related problems could happen to anyone and that a person’s
drinking choices matter. The course illustrates common views of society that prevent people from taking
drinking choices seriously. Research is presented to challenge common views with an understanding that
alcohol problems are related to lifestyle choices.

b. An understanding that specific low-risk choices will help reduce the risk of experiencing
alcohol-related problems at any point in life. The course presents research-based, low-risk guidelines.

c. Methods of providing support for making low-risk choices.
d. An accurate description of the progression of drinking to the development of alcoholism to help

people weigh the risk involved with high-risk drinking and to see how high-risk choices may jeopardize
their lives and the lives of others.

e. Opportunities to develop a specific plan of action to follow through with low-risk choices. A
list of community resources is provided for ongoing support and treatment as needed.
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