CHAPTER 3 LICENSURE TO PRACTICE REGISTERED NURSE/LICENSED PRACTICAL NURSE

[Prior to 5/23/84, IAC, appeared as separate Chapters 3 and 4] [Prior to 8/26/87, Nursing Board[590] Ch 3]

655—3.1(17A,147,152,272C) Definitions.

Accredited or approved nursing program. An accredited or approved nursing program means a nursing education program whose status has been recognized by the board or by a similar board in another state that prepares individuals for licensure as a licensed practical nurse, registered nurse, or registration as an advanced registered nurse practitioner; or grants a baccalaureate, master's, or doctorate degree with a major in nursing.

Applicant. Applicant means a person who is qualified to take the examination or apply for licensure.

Delinquent licensee. Delinquent licensee means a registered nurse/licensed practical nurse who has failed to renew the license or place it on inactive status as provided by subrule 3.7(5) by the fifteenth day of the month following the expiration date.

Endorsement. Endorsement means the process by which a registered nurse/licensed practical nurse licensed in another state becomes licensed in Iowa.

Examination. Examination means any of the tests used to determine minimum competency prior to the issuance of a registered nurse/licensed practical nurse license.

Fees. Fees means those fees collected which are based upon the cost of sustaining the board. The nonrefundable fees set by the board are as follows:

- 1. For the original license based on the registered nurse examination, \$60.
- 2. For the original license based on the practical nurse examination, \$55.
- 3. For a registered nurse/licensed practical nurse license by endorsement, \$78.
- 4. For a certified statement that a registered nurse/licensed practical nurse is licensed in this state or registered as an advanced registered nurse practitioner, \$12.
- 5. For reactivation of a license to practice as a registered nurse/licensed practical nurse, based on \$21 per year, or any portion thereof, totals \$63 for a license lasting more than 24 months up to 36 months.
- 6. For the renewal of a license to practice as a registered nurse/licensed practical nurse, \$63 for a three-year period.
- 7. For a duplicate or reissued license/original certificate to practice as a registered nurse/licensed practical nurse, or registration card/original certification to practice as an advanced registered nurse practitioner, \$15.
- 8. For a registered nurse/licensed practical nurse late renewal, \$50, plus the renewal fee as specified in paragraph "6" of this rule.
- 9. For a registered nurse/licensed practical nurse delinquent license fee, \$100, plus all renewal fees to date due.

- 10. For a check returned for any reason, \$10. If licensure/registration had been issued by the board office based on a check for the payment of fees and the check is later returned by the bank, the board shall request payment by certified check or money order. If the fees are not paid within two weeks of notification by certified mail of the returned check, the license/registration is no longer in effect. The licensee's status returns to what it would have been had this license/registration not been issued.
 - 11. For a copy of the Law of Iowa as it Pertains to the Practice of Nursing, \$2.
 - 12. For a copy of the Iowa Administrative Code, Nursing Board[655], \$2.
 - 13. For a certified copy of an original document, \$15.
 - 14. Reserved.
 - 15. For special licensure, \$62.
- 16. For a subscription to Notices of Intended Action for the period July 1 to June 30, \$25 or for the period January 1 to June 30, \$12.50.

Inactive licensee. Inactive licensee means a registered nurse/licensed practical nurse who has requested to be placed on inactive status.

Lapsed license. A lapsed license means an expired license which is either late or delinquent.

Late licensee. Late licensee means a registered nurse/licensed practical nurse who has failed to renew the license or place it on inactive status as provided by subrule 3.7(5) by the expiration date on the license. The time between the expiration date and the fifteenth day of the month following the expiration date is considered a grace period or late period.

NCLEX. NCLEX means National Council Licensure Examination, the currently used examination. Reactivation. Reactivation means that process whereby an inactive licensee obtains a current license.

Reinstatement. Reinstatement means that process by which a delinquent licensee obtains a current license.

Temporary license. Temporary license means a license issued on a short-term basis for a specified time pursuant to subrule 3.5(3).

Verification. Verification means that process whereby the board will provide a certified statement that a registered nurse/licensed practical nurse is licensed, inactive, or lapsed, or an advanced registered nurse practitioner is registered in this state.

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code section 147.80.

655—3.2(17A,147,152,272C) Mandatory licensure.

- **3.2(1)** A person who practices nursing in the state of Iowa as defined in Iowa Code section 152.1, outside of one's family, shall have a current Iowa license, whether or not the employer is in Iowa and whether or not the person receives compensation. The license shall be available for public inspection.
- a. A person denied licensure or not having a current active Iowa license because of disciplinary action by the board, or having an encumbered license in another state, may not take a nursing course with a clinical component.
- b. A nurse who has been licensed in another country and does not hold a current active license because of disciplinary action may not take a nursing course with a clinical component.

- **3.2(2)** Current Iowa licensure is mandatory except when:
- a. A nurse who resides out of state, holds an active out-of-state license, and provides only intermittent consultation which shall not include patient care.
- b. A nurse who holds an active license in another state provides services to patients in Iowa only during interstate transit.
- c. A nurse who holds an active license in another state provides emergency services while serving on a Red Cross disaster team.
- d. A nurse who holds an active license in any state or who has completed a nursing education course of study in another country provides nursing services incidental to a course of study while enrolled in an approved nursing education program.

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code section 147.2.

655—3.3(17A,147,152,272C) Qualifications for licensure.

- **3.3(1)** Applicants shall meet the requirements as set forth in Iowa Code sections 147.3 and 152.7.
- a. Graduation from an accredited high school or its equivalent prior to the examination. High school equivalency shall be in conformity with the requirements of the department of education, state of Iowa.
- b. Graduation from an approved nursing program as defined in Iowa Code section 152.5(1) or completion of a course of study as defined in Iowa Code section 152.7(3), prior to the examination. Theory and clinical experience shall be completed before the examination and shall include medical nursing, surgical nursing, obstetric nursing, and nursing of children. In addition, registered nurse applicants shall have had theory and clinical experience in psychiatric nursing prior to the examination.
 - c. Passing the examination by the standards determined by the board.
- d. Approval by the board of those with a past felony record. The board determines the eligibility for licensure of a felony applicant on the felony's relationship to nursing.
- **3.3(2)** Exceptions to the qualifications for licensure. Applicants for licensure in Iowa must meet the qualifications in effect in Iowa at the time of the applicant's graduation from nursing school. The relevant requirements listed in subrule 3.3(1) are subject to the following exceptions:
- a. Graduation from high school or its equivalent was not required of registered nurse applicants until 1930 or of licensed practical nurse applicants until 1963.
- b. If graduation from a nursing program was prior to 1952, a license will be granted according to board-approved guidelines.
- c. Registered nurse graduates prior to 1951 are not required to have psychiatric nursing or be tested in psychiatric nursing.
- d. A person licensed as a registered nurse in another state by waiver shall be accepted for Iowa licensure only if the waiver period corresponds to that in Iowa.
 - e. Exceptions related to examinations:
- (1) Before 1946, the registered nurse applicant shall have passed a written test prepared by a licensing board of another state.
- (2) A practical nurse applicant must have written the same examination as that administered in Iowa and achieved a score established as passing for that test by the board unless the applicant was graduated and licensed prior to July 1951.

- (3) After June 1976, an applicant who took the State Board Test Pool Examination (SBTPE) shall have passed that examination within four writings in order to be eligible for an Iowa license. Prior to that date, there was no limit on the number of writings. An applicant who failed the SBTPE but wrote it less than four times is eligible to take the NCLEX an unlimited number of times.
- (4) An applicant whose national examination scores do not meet the Iowa requirements in effect at the time of the examination and who wishes to become licensed in Iowa shall appeal to the board. The board may require the applicant to produce evidence of working experience or successful completion of a refresher course. The board may require the applicant to rewrite the current examination.

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code sections 147.2 and 152.7(3).

655—3.4(17A,147,152,272C) Licensure by examination.

- **3.4(1)** *Qualifications for licensure by examination.* Applicants shall meet qualifications for licensure as set forth in subrule 3.3(1).
- **3.4(2)** *Examination.* The board contracts with the National Council of State Boards of Nursing, Inc., to utilize the examination.
 - a. The passing standard for the examination is determined by the board.
 - (1) NCLEX-PN results will be reported to the candidates as pass or fail.
 - (2) NCLEX-RN results will be reported to the candidates as pass or fail.
 - b. The examination shall be administered in Iowa.
- c. The examination shall be administered in accordance with the manual prepared by the National Council of State Boards of Nursing, Inc., for the administration of the NCLEX.
- d. The candidate shall present identification for admission to the testing center in accordance with the policies of the National Council of State Boards of Nursing, Inc.
 - e. Licensure examination statistics are available to the public.
- **3.4(3)** Application—Iowa graduates. Application for licensure by examination to practice as a registered nurse in Iowa shall be made according to the following process.
 - a. The board is responsible for the following:
- (1) At least twice a year, the board staff shall request the head of each nursing program in Iowa to submit information about the students who are anticipated to complete the program.
- (2) Upon return of the information about the students who are anticipated to complete the program, an adequate supply of application forms and instructions for filing shall be sent to the head of the nursing program.
- (3) The board shall confirm or deny the eligibility of each applicant upon receipt of the following materials:

Completed application form (submitted by the applicant).

Original license fee (submitted by the applicant).

Notification of completion of the NCLEX registration process (confirmed by NCLEX).

Official nursing transcript denoting the date of entry and date of graduation from an approved nursing education program.

- b. The head of the nursing program is responsible for the following:
- (1) Submission to the board of a list of the students/number of students who are anticipated to complete the program, at least twice a year.
 - (2) Distribution of the board application form and NCLEX registration materials.
 - (3) Submission to the board of a list of persons who have failed to complete the program.
 - c. The applicant is responsible for the following:
- (1) Submission of a completed board application form. The applicant may obtain the board application form and the NCLEX registration materials from the head of the nursing program or the board office.
- (2) Submission of the original license fee, made payable to the Iowa Board of Nursing. The fee, as outlined in rule 3.1(17A,147,152,272C), is not refundable.
 - (3) Submission to NCLEX of a completed NCLEX registration and registration fee.
- (4) Having the nursing program forward an official nursing transcript denoting the date of entry and date of graduation.
 - (5) Informing the board of the applicant's current mailing address.
- (6) Self-scheduling the NCLEX examination at an approved testing center. Applicants who do not test within 95 days of NCLEX authorization shall be required to submit a new application for licensure and license fee.
- (7) Completion of NCLEX registration within 12 months of receipt of the application for licensure and license fee. The board reserves the right to destroy the documents after 12 months.
- **3.4(4)** Application—out-of-state graduates. Application for the examination to practice as a registered nurse/licensed practical nurse in Iowa shall be made according to the following process:
 - a. The board is responsible for the following:
- (1) Upon request, application forms and instructions for filing shall be sent to the out-of-state applicant.
- (2) The board shall confirm or deny the eligibility of each applicant upon receipt of the following materials:

Completed application form (submitted by the applicant).

Original license fee (submitted by the applicant).

Notification of completion of the NCLEX registration process (confirmed by NCLEX).

Official nursing transcript denoting the date of entry and date of graduation from an approved nursing education program.

- b. The out-of-state applicant is responsible for the following:
- (1) Submission of a completed board application form.
- (2) Submission of the original license fee, made payable to the Iowa Board of Nursing. The fee, as outlined in rule 3.1(17A,147,152,272C), is not refundable.
 - (3) Submission to NCLEX of a completed NCLEX registration and registration fee.
- (4) Having the nursing program forward an official nursing transcript denoting the date of entry and date of graduation.
 - (5) Informing the board of the applicant's current mailing address.

- (6) Self-scheduling the NCLEX examination at an approved testing center. Applicants who do not test within 95 days of NCLEX authorization shall be required to submit a new application for licensure and license fee.
- (7) Completion of NCLEX registration within 12 months of receipt of the application for licensure and license fee. The board reserves the right to destroy the documents after 12 months.
- **3.4(5)** Application—individuals enrolled in an academic course of study for registered nurses on *June 30, 1995.* Individuals who are eligible for the practical nurse examination in Iowa under the provisions of Iowa Code section 152.7 may be required to complete additional continuing education requirements as prescribed by the board. Application for the examination to practice as a licensed practical nurse in Iowa shall be made according to the following process:
 - a. The board is responsible for the following:
 - (1) Upon receipt of a written request, instructions for filing shall be sent to the applicant.
- (2) Determination of the eligibility of the applicant by evaluation of the nursing transcript. The applicant is or has enrolled in a registered nurse program(s) for at least one year and has received a minimum grade of "C" in theory and clinical training in each of the following: medical nursing, surgical nursing, obstetric nursing, and nursing of children.
- (3) Sending an application to the applicant if the above requirements have been met. If the application revealed grounds for which a license may be refused as set forth in Iowa Code section 147.4, the application shall be reviewed in closed session, and a decision in regard to the application shall be made. Issuance of the board's decision to the applicant shall be by certified mail.
- (4) Notification of the applicant that other states may not grant licensure by endorsement to persons who have obtained licensure under this subrule.
- (5) The board shall confirm or deny the eligibility of each applicant upon receipt of the following materials:

Completed application form (submitted by the applicant).

Original license fee (submitted by the applicant).

Notification of completion of the NCLEX registration process (confirmed by NCLEX).

Official nursing transcript denoting the date of entry and length of enrollment.

- b. The applicant is responsible for the following:
- (1) Submission of a completed board application form.
- (2) Submission of the original license fee, made payable to the Iowa Board of Nursing. The fee, as outlined in rule 3.1(17A,147,152,272C), is not refundable.
 - (3) Submission to NCLEX of a completed NCLEX registration and registration fee.
- (4) Having the nursing program forward an official nursing transcript denoting the date of entry and length of enrollment.
 - (5) Informing the board of the applicant's current mailing address.
- (6) Self-scheduling the NCLEX examination at an approved testing center. Applicants who do not test within 95 days of NCLEX authorization shall be required to submit a new application for licensure and license fee.
- (7) Completion of NCLEX registration within 12 months of receipt of the application for licensure and license fee. The board reserves the right to destroy the documents after 12 months.

- **3.4(6)** Application—individuals educated in another country. Application for examination as a registered nurse/licensed practical nurse in Iowa shall be made according to the following process:
 - a. The board is responsible for the following:
- (1) Provision of a "Request to Apply for Iowa Licensure by Examination for Individuals Educated in Another Country" and filing instructions to applicants.
- (2) Evaluation of credentials to determine that the applicant has met all qualifications for licensure by examination.
- (3) Confirmation or denial of eligibility of each applicant for licensure upon receipt of the following:
 - 1. Application for licensure by examination.
 - 2. Original license fee.
 - 3. Confirmation of NCLEX registration by the national testing center.
- 4. Official nursing transcript denoting date of entry and date of graduation submitted by the applicant if the language of the original transcript is English or validated by the Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS). If it determines a waiver is warranted because of circumstances beyond the applicant's control, the board shall issue a waiver and designate conditions which must be met.
 - 5. Validation of licensure/registration in the native country submitted by CGFNS.
- 6. Official verification of certificate status for individuals applying for registered nurse licensure submitted by CGFNS.
- 7. A Nursing and Science Course Report for individuals applying for practical nurse licensure submitted by CGFNS.
- 8. Verification of ability to read, write, speak and understand the English language as determined by the results of the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) for individuals applying for practical nurse licensure. The TOEFL passing standard shall be determined by the board. Applicants will be exempt from the TOEFL examination when all the following criteria are met: native language is English, nursing education was in a college, university or professional school located in Australia, Canada (except Quebec), Ireland, New Zealand or the United Kingdom; language of instruction in the nursing program was English; and language of the textbooks in the nursing program was English.
- (4) Board of nursing approval shall be required prior to confirmation or denial of eligibility by the board office for individuals applying for practical nurse licensure.
 - b. The applicant educated in another country is responsible for the following:
 - (1) Submission of a completed licensure application form.
- (2) Submission of the original license fee, made payable to the Iowa Board of Nursing. The fee, as outlined in rule 3.1(17A,147,152,272C), is not refundable.
 - (3) Submission to NCLEX of a completed NCLEX registration and registration fee.
 - (4) Submission of an official nursing transcript in accord with 3.4(6) "a" (3)"4."
 - (5) Validation of licensure/registration in the native country by CGFNS.
- (6) Official verification of CGFNS certificate status for individuals applying for registered nurse licensure.

- (7) Submission of a "Nursing and Science Course Report" issued by the CGFNS Credentials Evaluation Service (CES) for individuals applying for practical nurse licensure.
- (8) Verification of ability to read, write, speak and understand the English language as determined by the TOEFL for individuals applying for practical nurse licensure. Applicants will be exempt from the TOEFL examination when all the criteria identified in 3.4(6) "a" (3) "8" are met.
 - (9) Informing the board of the applicant's current mailing address.
- (10) Self-scheduling the NCLEX examination at an approved testing center. Applicants who do not test within 95 days of NCLEX authorization shall be required to submit a new application for licensure and license fee.
- (11) Completion of NCLEX registration within 12 months of receipt of the application for licensure and license fee. The board reserves the right to destroy the documents after 12 months.
- **3.4(7)** Application—individuals with disabilities. Individuals with disabilities as defined in the Americans With Disabilities Act (1990), or as subsequently amended, shall be provided modifications in the examination or examination administration according to the following process:
 - a. The board is responsible for the following:
- (1) Notification of NCLEX applicants of the availability of modifications in the examination or examination administration for individuals with documented disabilities.
- (2) Upon request, notifying the applicant of the process for obtaining board approval for testing modifications as defined in subrule 3.4(7), paragraph "b."
 - (3) Determination of eligibility for testing modifications upon receipt of the following:

Written request for a specific modification(s) in the examination or examination administration (submitted by the applicant).

Written documentation of the applicant's disability and need for testing modifications, including results of diagnostic testing, when appropriate, submitted by a qualified professional with expertise in the area of the diagnosed disability or interpretation of results.

Written documentation of testing modifications provided to the applicant while enrolled in the nursing education program, when appropriate (submitted by the nursing program).

- b. The applicant is responsible for the following:
- (1) Submission to the board office of a written request for a specific modification(s) in the examination or examination administration.
- (2) Having a qualified professional with expertise in the area of the diagnosed disability or interpretation of test results submit to the board office written documentation of the applicant's disability and need for testing modifications, including the results of diagnostic testing, when appropriate.
- (3) Having the nursing program submit to the board office written documentation of testing modifications provided to the applicant while enrolled in the nursing education program, when appropriate.
- (4) Completion of all NCLEX application requirements defined in subrules 3.4(3), 3.4(4), 3.4(5), or 3.4(6).
- **3.4(8)** Reexamination. An applicant who fails the examination is eligible for reexamination as follows:
- a. An applicant who has graduated from an approved practical nurse program and has failed NCLEX-PN is eligible to take the NCLEX-PN an indefinite number of times.

- b. An applicant who has graduated from an approved registered nurse program and has failed NCLEX-RN is eligible to take the NCLEX-RN an indefinite number of times.
- c. An applicant who has graduated from an approved practical nurse program and has failed the State Board Test Pool Examination less than four times is eligible to take the NCLEX-PN an indefinite number of times.
- d. An applicant who has graduated from an approved registered nurse program and has failed the State Board Test Pool Examination less than four times is eligible to take the NCLEX-RN an indefinite number of times.
- *e*. An applicant who fails the examination shall be required to refile the following before taking another examination:
 - (1) The board application form.
 - (2) The original license fee.
 - (3) The NCLEX registration.
 - (4) The NCLEX registration fee.
- **3.4(9)** Certificate of licensure by examination. Upon completion of the relevant qualifications for licensure by examination defined in these rules, the board shall issue a certificate of licensure by examination and a current license to practice as a registered nurse/licensed practical nurse.
- a. A licensee shall use the relevant title registered nurse/licensed practical nurse and relevant initials R.N./L.P.N.
- b. A licensee is required to hold a certificate and license. If a certificate or license is stolen or lost, the licensee shall apply for a duplicate as specified in subrule 3.7(7).

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code sections 147.36, 147.80, 152.7(3), and 152.9.

655—3.5(17A,147,152,272C) Licensure by endorsement.

- **3.5(1)** *Qualifications for licensure by endorsement.* The endorsee must meet the qualifications for licensure defined in subrule 3.3(1).
- **3.5(2)** Applicants currently licensed in another state. Application for licensure to practice as a registered nurse or licensed practical nurse by endorsement shall be made according to the following process:
 - a. The board is responsible for the following:
 - (1) Upon request, application forms and instructions shall be sent to the applicant.
- (2) Evaluation of credentials to determine that the applicant has met all qualifications for licensure.
- (3) Issuance of an original certificate and current license to practice following determination of eligibility and upon receipt of the following materials:

Completed application form (submitted by the applicant).

Endorsement fee (submitted by the applicant).

Official nursing transcript denoting date of entry and date of graduation (submitted by the nursing program).

Verification of licensure form (submitted by state of original licensure).

- b. The applicant is responsible for the following:
- (1) Submission of a completed board application form.
- (2) Submission of the endorsement fee, made payable to the Iowa Board of Nursing. The fee, as outlined in rule 3.1(17A,147,152,272C) is not refundable.
- (3) Having the nursing program forward an official nursing transcript which denotes the date of entry and date of graduation.
 - (4) Submission of the verification of licensure form from the original state of licensure.
- (5) Submission of the above documents within 12 months from the date of receipt of the written request. The board reserves the right to destroy the documents after 12 months.
- c. A license shall not be issued to an applicant whose license is under sanction by another state without approval of the board.
- d. An applicant for endorsement who has had disciplinary action in another state shall submit all the materials required for endorsement and appear before the board. The board shall review the reasons for the out-of-state sanction and determine whether to grant licensure in Iowa. The board may determine special conditions for licensure.
- *e*. A license shall not be issued to an applicant who fails to complete the application process within the allotted time. A license shall be issued when the application process is complete.
- **3.5(3)** *Temporary license.* A temporary license shall be issued to an applicant who is licensed in another state if the applicant meets the qualifications for licensure as outlined in subrule 3.3(1) and has applied for licensure as a registered nurse/licensed practical nurse in Iowa. The board application form and endorsement fee as outlined in rule 3.1(17A,147,152,272C) and verification of licensure form shall be on file in the office of the board prior to the issuance of the temporary license.
- a. A temporary licensee may use the appropriate title of registered nurse or licensed practical nurse and the appropriate abbreviation R.N. or L.P.N.
- b. The temporary license must be signed by the licensee to be valid. The temporary license shall be issued for a period of 30 days. A second temporary license may be issued for a period not to exceed 30 days or at the discretion of the executive director.
- c. A temporary license shall not be issued to an applicant whose license is under sanction by another state without approval of the board. The board may determine special conditions for licensure.
- d. A temporary license shall not be issued to an applicant who fails to complete the application process within the allotted time. A license shall be issued when the application process is complete.

3.5(4) Certificate of licensure by endorsement. Upon completion of the endorsement procedures defined in these rules, the board shall issue a certificate of licensure by endorsement and a current license to practice as a registered nurse/licensed practical nurse. If a certificate or license is stolen or lost, the licensee shall apply for a duplicate as specified in subrule 3.7(7).

This rule is intended to implement Iowa Code sections 147.2 and 152.9.

655—3.6(17A,147,152,272C) Special licensure.

3.6(1) Special licensure by endorsement. A short-term special license may be granted by the board on an individual basis. The intent of the special license is to allow nurses licensed in another state to be licensed and to practice in Iowa for a fixed period of time and only under certain conditions. The purpose of the license is to allow those nurses not previously licensed in Iowa to provide care in a specialty area, to provide consultation or teaching where care is directed, or to obtain clinically based continuing education.

The application process for those currently licensed in another state who are eligible for endorsement is as follows:

- Upon request the board shall send the application form and instructions to the applicant.
- b. The application shall include identifying information, history of felony conviction, history of any disciplinary action or pending action against the individual's nursing license in another state, reason and circumstances surrounding the request for special endorsement.
- c. The applicant shall submit the completed application form, special licensure fee as designated in rule 3.1(17A,147,152,272C), and evidence of current, active licensure in another state.
- d. The board staff shall determine the validity of the request for special licensure by endorsement based on the duration, location, and need for the short-term nursing license and the absence of sanctions against the applicant's current license and absence of any felony convictions.
 - (1) If the application is incomplete, the board staff shall return it to the applicant.
- (2) If the application shows a previous felony conviction or any disciplinary action or pending action against the individual's nursing license, the board staff shall return the application with an explanation that the applicant is not eligible for special licensure by endorsement. The applicant may be eligible for regular licensure by endorsement according to rule 3.5(17A,147,152,272C). The board staff shall send the regular endorsement application to the individual.
- (3) If the application is complete and the request is valid, the board staff shall send the information to the board for its review.
 - (4) The board shall review the need for the special license by endorsement.
- 1. If the board determines the need exists for special licensure by endorsement, it shall grant a license. The license shall indicate its special nature and the duration and location for which it can be used. The period of licensure by special endorsement shall be determined by the board. Upon written request extensions may be granted by the board. A second special license by endorsement shall not be issued to the same person. A person with need for repeated special licensure may seek a waiver of this restriction.
- 2. If the board denies special licensure by endorsement, the individual may still be eligible for regular licensure by endorsement according to rule 3.5(17A,147,152,272C). The regular endorsement application shall be sent to the individual along with a reason for the denial of special licensure by endorsement.

- *e*. This special licensure by endorsement shall be subject to all rules and regulations promulgated by the board except those pertaining to:
 - (1) Verification.
 - (2) Reactivation.
 - (3) Inactivation.
 - (4) Renewal.
 - (5) Late renewal.
 - (6) Continuing education requirements.
- **3.6(2)** Special licensure for those licensed in another country. A special license may be granted by the board on an individual basis. The intent of the special license is to allow nurses licensed in another country who are not eligible for endorsement to practice in Iowa for a fixed period of time and only under certain conditions. The purpose of the license is to allow those nurses not previously licensed in Iowa to provide care in a specialty area, to provide consultation or teaching where care is directed to serve as a research assistant, to serve as a teaching assistant or to obtain clinically based continuing education.
- a. Upon request the board shall send the application form and instructions to the applicant or sponsor.
- b. The application shall include identifying information, history of felony conviction, history of licensure in any other state, and reason and circumstances surrounding the request for special licensure.
- c. The applicant shall submit the completed application form, special licensure fee as designated in subrule 3.1(6), and a certificate by the Commission on Graduates of Foreign Nursing Schools (CGFNS), or evidence of a score of at least 500 on the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL).
- d. The board staff shall determine the validity of the request for special licensure based on the duration, location, and need for the nursing license and absence of any felony convictions.
 - (1) If the application is incomplete, the board staff shall return it to the applicant.
- (2) If the application shows a previous felony conviction, the board staff shall return the application with an explanation that the applicant is not eligible for special licensure. The applicant may be eligible for licensure by examination according to subrule 3.4(6). The board shall send the application for individuals educated in another country to the individual.
 - e. The board shall review the need for a special license.
- (1) If the board determines the need exists for special licensure, it shall grant a license. The license shall indicate its special nature and the duration and location for which it can be used. The period of special licensure shall be determined by the board. Upon written request extensions may be granted by the board. A second special license will not be issued to the same person. A person with need for repeated special licensure may seek a waiver of this restriction.
- (2) If the board denies a license, the individual may be eligible for licensure by examination according to subrule 3.4(6).
- f. This special licensure shall be subject to all rules and regulations promulgated by the board except those pertaining to:
 - (1) Verification.
 - (2) Reactivation.

- (3) Inactivation.
- (4) Renewal.
- (5) Late renewal.
- (6) Continuing education requirements.

655—3.7(17A,147,152,272C) License cycle.

- **3.7(1)** Name and address changes. Written notification to the board office of name or address changes is mandatory as defined in Iowa Code section 147.9. All board correspondence is mailed to the licensee at the last known address on file with the board office. There is no charge for a change of name or address in board records. Reissuance of a license is optional as outlined in subrule 3.7(8).
- **3.7(2)** *New licenses.* Licenses issued by endorsement and examination shall be issued for more than 24 months up to 36 months until the licensee can be placed in the three-year renewal cycle based on birth month. Expiration shall be on the fifteenth day of the birth month.
- **3.7(3)** Renewal. At least 60 days prior to the expiration of the license, the board office shall mail a renewal application and continuing education report form to the licensee.
- a. The licensee shall submit to the board office, 30 days before licensure expiration, the application and continuing education report form with the renewal fee as specified in rule 3.1(17A, 147,152,272C).
- b. When the licensee has satisfactorily completed the requirements for renewal 30 days in advance of the expiration of the previous license, a renewal license shall be issued and mailed to the licensee before expiration of the previous license.
- c. A license to practice as a registered nurse/licensed practical nurse based on renewal shall expire every three years on the fifteenth day of the birth month.
- **3.7(4)** Late renewal. When the licensee has not satisfactorily completed the requirements for renewal before the previous license expired and prior to its becoming delinquent, the licensee shall be assessed a late fee, as specified in rule 3.1(17A,147,152,272C).
- a. A late licensee who wishes to reinstate to a current license shall complete the renewal requirements and submit the late fee prior to the fifteenth day of the month following the expiration date of the license.
- b. A late licensee who wishes to reinstate to an inactive status shall make the request in writing to the board office and submit the late fee. No continuing education shall be required.
 - c. A late license is considered lapsed until it is reinstated.
- **3.7(5)** Delinquent status. When the licensee has not satisfactorily completed the requirements for late renewal within the grace period after expiration of the licensee, the licensee shall be considered a delinquent licensee.
- a. A license is considered lapsed until reinstated. Immediately upon reaching a delinquent status, the delinquent licensee shall not practice nursing in Iowa until the license is reinstated to current status.
- b. If no action is taken by the delinquent licensee to reinstate, the license shall remain delinquent and fees shall accrue annually.
- c. If a delinquent licensee is found to be working without a current license, disciplinary proceedings may be started.

- d. A delinquent licensee who wishes to reinstate a current license shall make the request to the board office.
- (1) Upon receipt of the request, the board office shall send an application, continuing education report form, and statement of fees to the delinquent licensee.
- (2) A delinquent licensee shall have completed 15 contact hours of continuing education as specified in 655—Chapter 5. The continuing education shall have been earned within the 12 months prior to reinstatement.
- (3) Fees shall include all renewal fees to date due and a delinquent fee, as specified in rule 3.1(17A,147,152,272C).
- (4) Upon receipt of the completed application, required continuing education materials, and appropriate fees, the board shall issue a current license to practice in Iowa. The license shall be issued for more than 24 months up to 36 months until the license can be placed in the three-year renewal cycle based on birth month. Expiration shall be on the fifteenth day of the birth month.
- e. A delinquent licensee who wishes to reinstate to an inactive status shall make the request to the board office.
- (1) Upon receipt of the request, the board office shall send an application and statement of fees to the delinquent licensee.
 - (2) No continuing education shall be required.
- (3) Fees shall include all renewal fees to date due and a delinquent fee, as specified in 3.1(17A,147,152,272C). No current renewal fees shall be charged because a current license shall not be issued
- (4) Upon receipt of the completed application and appropriate fees, the board shall place the license on inactive status.
- **3.7(6)** Inactive status. Inactive status is a status where the licensee remains inactive indefinitely and is not required to obtain continuing education or pay fees. An inactive licensee shall not practice nursing in Iowa.
 - a. A licensee may request inactive status by one of the following methods:
- (1) The current license may be returned to the board office prior to the expiration of the license with a written request for inactive status. Inactive status becomes effective immediately upon the board's receipt of the license.
- (2) Prior to the expiration of the current license, the licensee may submit the renewal form marked "requesting inactive status." Inactive status becomes effective when the current license expires.
- (3) If the license is late, the license may be placed on inactive as described in subrule 3.7(4), paragraph "b."
- (4) If the license is delinquent, the license may be placed on inactive as described in subrule 3.7(5), paragraph "e."
- b. An inactive licensee who wishes to reactivate to a current license shall make the request to the board office.
- (1) Upon receipt of the request, the board office shall send an application and continuing education report form.

- (2) An inactive licensee shall have completed 15 contact hours of continuing education as specified in 655—Chapter 5. The continuing education shall have been earned within the 12 months prior to reactivation.
 - (3) The reactivation fee is specified in rule 3.1(17A,147,152,272C).
- (4) Upon receipt of the completed application, required continuing education materials, and fee, the board shall issue a current license to practice in Iowa. The license shall be issued for more than 24 months up to 36 months until the license can be placed in the three-year renewal cycle based on birth month. Expiration shall be on the fifteenth day of the birth month.
- **3.7(7)** Duplicate license or certificate. The board shall issue a duplicate of a current license or original certificate upon written request of the licensee and payment of the fee specified in rule 3.1(17A,147,152,272C). If the current license is destroyed, lost, or stolen, a duplicate license is required as replacement.
- **3.7(8)** Reissue of a license. If there is an error on the license or certificate made by the board office, no fee shall be charged for a reissued corrected license or certificate. A license may be reissued if a licensee desires to have a current name or address printed on the current license prior to renewal. Reissuance is optional; however, written notification to the board office of name or address change is mandatory as outlined in subrule 3.7(1). The board shall reissue a license per written request of the licensee and payment of the fee as specified in rule 3.1(17A,147,152,272C) or at the direction of the executive director.
- **655—3.8(17A,147,152,272C) Verification.** Upon written request from the licensee or other state and payment of the verification fee as specified in rule 3.1(17A,147,152,272C), the board shall provide a certified statement to another state that a registered nurse/licensed practical nurse is licensed, inactive, or lapsed in Iowa.

These rules are intended to implement Iowa Code chapters 17A, 152, and 272C and Iowa Code sections 147.2, 147.10, 147.11, 147.36, 147.76, 147.80, 147.100, 152.1, 152.5, 152.9, and 152.10.

[Filed 5/12/70]
 [Filed 5/12/70; amended 8/11/70]◊
 [Filed 2/20/76, Notice 12/29/75—published 3/8/76, effective 4/12/76]◊
 [Filed 5/3/76, Notices 1/12/76, 3/22/76—published 5/17/76, effective 6/21/76]◊
 [Filed 5/24/76, Notice 4/19/76—published 6/14/76, effective 7/19/76]◊
 [Filed 12/3/76, Notice 8/9/76—published 12/29/76, effective 2/2/77]◊
 [Filed 3/9/77, Notice 12/29/76—published 4/6/77, effective 5/11/77]◊
 [Filed 3/18/77, Notice 8/9/76—published 4/6/77, effective 5/11/77]
 [Filed 6/24/77, Notices 12/15/76, 4/20/77—published 7/13/77, effective 8/17/77]◊
 [Filed 10/3/77, Notice 8/24/77—published 10/19/77, effective 11/23/77]
 [Filed emergency 1/23/78—published 2/8/78, effective 1/23/78]
 [Filed 4/21/78, Notice 2/22/78—published 5/17/78, effective 6/21/78]
 [Filed 7/17/80, Notice 5/14/80—published 8/6/80, effective 9/10/80]◊

```
[Filed emergency after Notice 6/21/82, Notice 5/12/82—published 7/7/82, effective 6/21/82]
[Filed emergency after Notice 2/10/83, Notice 1/5/83—published 3/2/83, effective 2/10/83]◊
           [Filed 5/2/84, Notice 2/29/84—published 5/23/84, effective 6/27/84]
         [Filed 10/17/84, Notice 8/29/84—published 11/7/84, effective 12/12/84]
           [Filed without Notice 7/19/85—published 8/14/85, effective 9/18/85]
           [Filed 7/19/85, Notice 5/22/85—published 8/14/85, effective 9/18/85]
          [Filed 9/20/85, Notice 8/14/85—published 10/9/85, effective 11/13/85]
[Filed emergency after Notice 4/15/86, Notice 2/26/86—published 5/7/86, effective 4/18/86]
          [Filed 9/22/86, Notice 8/13/86—published 10/8/86, effective 11/12/86]
          [Filed 4/30/87, Notice 2/25/87—published 5/20/87, effective 6/24/87]
             [Filed emergency 7/29/87—published 8/26/87, effective 7/29/87]
         [Filed 10/2/87, Notice 7/15/87—published 10/21/87, effective 11/25/87]
           [Filed 2/17/88, Notice 12/16/87—published 3/9/88, effective 4/13/88]
            [Filed 3/10/88, Notice 9/9/87—published 4/6/88, effective 7/1/88]
   [Filed emergency 4/15/88 after Notice 2/24/88—published 5/4/88, effective 4/15/88]
           [Filed 8/4/88, Notice 4/20/88—published 8/24/88, effective 9/28/88]
          [Filed 8/4/88, Notice 6/15/88—published 8/24/88, effective 9/28/88]
          [Filed 9/12/88, Notice 6/29/88—published 10/5/88, effective 11/9/88]*
           [Filed 10/6/88, Notice 8/24/88—published 11/2/88, effective 12/7/88]
           [Filed 5/26/89, Notice 2/22/89—published 6/14/89, effective 7/19/89]
            [Filed 3/15/90, Notice 1/10/90—published 4/4/90, effective 5/9/90]
          [Filed 12/20/91, Notice 10/16/91—published 1/8/92, effective 2/12/92]
    [Filed emergency 2/10/93 after Notice 1/6/93—published 3/3/93, effective 2/10/93]
           [Filed 12/8/93, Notice 10/13/93—published 1/5/94, effective 2/9/94]
           [Filed 6/16/94, Notice 4/13/94—published 7/6/94, effective 8/10/94]
          [Filed 9/30/94, Notice 7/6/94—published 10/26/94, effective 11/30/94]
            [Filed 6/15/95, Notice 4/12/95—published 7/5/95, effective 8/9/95]
          [Filed 10/5/95, Notice 7/5/95—published 10/25/95, effective 11/29/95]
          [Filed 12/14/95, Notice 10/25/95—published 1/3/96, effective 2/7/96]
          [Filed 4/29/99, Notice 3/24/99—published 5/19/99, effective 6/23/99]
```